Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AMS

Founded 1977 • With Angi since June 2011

4.4

(30) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2331 Laurel Lane

North Fort Myers, FL 33917

Description

AMS is family owned and was founded by Mr. John Murray in 1977. His commitment has always been to provide quality home improvements, in a timely manner at an affordable price. All of our AMS installers and area managers are employees, not sub-contractors. AMS is fully licensed and insured including workers compensation for all employees and in good standing with the BBB. At AMS we use only the finest materials available with energy savings in mind and offer a lifetime warranty on select products. At AMS all jobs requiring permits and inspections are always obtained by AMS and included in your home improvement project. Estimates are free and evening and weekend appointments are available....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

11/08/2017


MICHAEL H.

Quoted 8-12 weeks...took 20 weeks! Several promised dates that didn't happen Very poor scheduling. Workers that did job were great. May hire again????

Description of Work
roof replaced

Category roofing

4.0

01/29/2016


Robert I.

Description of Work
Rebuilt lanai into Florida room. Some problems with the window vendor delayed progress by a month. The framers were excellent, the sheet rock subs were good installing the wall board, but needed to come back to rework the spackle. The electrician subs were excellent. Passed final inspection with no problems.

Category remodeling, roofing, sunrooms

1.0

01/15/2016


Darwin F.

Description of Work
I emailed them, they came out the same day (Central Florida Division). Spent time reviewing, giving an estimate then told me they would contact me soon and would send out a rep. from a subcontractor (for concrete work). I intended to have a majority of the work done. I never heard from anyone, Called and left messages twice.

Category roofing

5.0

12/03/2015


David M.

Description of Work
New roof

Category roofing

5.0

11/17/2015


Laura H.

Description of Work
Date of service 8-8-15. Cost of service $20000.00.

Category remodeling

5.0

10/04/2015


Kevin H.

the work crew came out right on time and started right away our sale man Manuel Tobar was there soon after and was wonderful answer any questions the job took only 1/2 a day and already - feel a difference inside

Description of Work
roof over on my Trailer home - office in Avon Park, FL was wonderful

Category roofing

5.0

08/18/2015


THomas M.

Description of Work
New roof on double wide home

Category decks, roofing

4.0

07/26/2015


John S.

The AMS representative was very professional and provided the estimate I requested. He walked me through all the things he would provide and the estimate was very competitive. Ultimately, I decided to get a rubber roof Many individuals in the park have used services provided by AMS and by all accounts are satisfied with the results especially for roof overs on travel trailers and park trailers. Even though I did not select their services, I would recommend them for aluminum roofs.

Description of Work
I needed a knew roof put on my Park Model and porch. I was not sure whether I wanted an aluminum roof or a rubber one so I asked for an estimate.

Category roofing

2.0

05/03/2015


susan S.

Contracted with them in January 2014, gave them $1200 down payment then had to really bug them to do the work, Although the roof over seems of high quality the vent they installed leaked and they were not responsive to fix this. They did not finish the job till September 2014.

Description of Work
Metal roof over my shingle roof

Category roofing

5.0

07/18/2014


Beverly A.

It went excellent. They did all the work in one day and cleaned up their mess. We are very satisfied.

Description of Work
They removed the previous roof, and put a new roof on a mobile home.

Category roofing

1.0

06/10/2014


Shelley S.

They don't respond. I left a message to begin with and they called me back and said that the guy that was gonna come out would be calling me to make an appointment, which he did but he never showed up. I called the office staff and they said, "I don't know what happened we'll call them," and nothing, I've never heard back from the office and I didn't hear back from him. Then I called back again a week later and still nothing.

Description of Work
I wanted a room added so I contacted them. I called them four times and they told me twice that somebody will come out but nobody come out.

Category remodeling

5.0

06/10/2014


Deborah L.

They're highly recommended by everybody in our park. They had been working there on a couple of places just a week or so before, and anybody that had them was happy with them. It was kind of hard to find them. It's hard to pick somebody out of the crowd. We decided to wait until the fall to do anything.

Description of Work
Came and checked the roof and gave us an estimate.

Category roofing

3.0

05/27/2014


Phillip F.

Salesman came to house and told us things that did not occur. eg: someone would come and go over the color of the siding, We could us the front door we wanted. Someone would be over to measure the roof. We the crew came to install the windows, they told us our door would not work, they installed one of their doors and said the salesman would call us to work out a price. The color of the siding was not as the salesman said, white was ordered, the color chart left was a blue gray. The roof went fine. We had several issues with the salesman, Earl who was very obnoxious and beligerant and finally the manager, Guy had to get involved and then everything was fine. We would definately use this company again as long as Earl was not part of the deal.

Description of Work
Replaced lanai windows and put a new roof on lanai.

Category roofing, siding, replacement windows

1.0

03/23/2014


Keven A.

Never received a quote, no work performed.

Description of Work
Requested a quote to reside our house. They arranged an appointment and came to the house when scheduled, measured and then never heard from them again.

Category roofing

5.0

02/21/2014


Thomas K.

.

Description of Work
.

Category roofing

5.0

12/09/2013


Dennis N.

The coordination by the salesman, Shane, was great. Contact with the office regarding billing and scheduling was satisfactory, once we established the relationship. The workmen were scheduled in around my wife's schedule since I was not present. The two men were efficient, hard-working, and very proficient at their work. There was very good coordination with the work they did and the local code inspection office, resulting in minimal delays. The workmen finished the job on time and with a minimal amount of inconvenience to our daily life. They were also very careful around our plants, shrubs, and other vegetation surrounding the house. Their cleanup lacked a little attention to detail as some debris had blown into our neighbor's yard but this was kept to a minimum. The final inspection was coordinated again very quickly with the code enforcement office and the final inspection completed with minimal delay or inconvenience. The final bill was exactly what the and salesman had contracted for and the billing was completed quickly and professionally. Overall, we are very pleased with the results and the entire process. The house has never looked so clean, modern, and streamlined. An additional benefit has been the house does not creak and groan like it did before during high wind conditions. Also, during heavy rain storms, you can hardly hear the impact on the roof as previous rainstorms would wake us in the night. I would gladly recommend AMS Roofing to anyone needing the roof of their mobile home replaced. I would also welcome any inquiries from potential customers who need further details.

Description of Work
Sealed the original roof under pressure treated lumber and sheets of insulation, then put a new metal roof, complete with rain gutters and downspouts, over the old roof, sealing the house from wind and rain.

Category roofing

5.0

11/04/2013


Sondra N.

The roofers I called, in the area, wouldn't even consider working on our roof, due to it's age and the fact that it's a mobile home. AMS does a "roof over" and puts the new roof over the old one ~ guaranteed for life and up to 185 mph winds. That's important in the Florida Keys where the wind is constant. Every concern and question my husband and I had was answered before the project began. Additionally, I was given addresses of neighbors who had AMS do their roof, so we were able to go and look at some that had been done in the past. I was impressed with how good they looked (one was more than 12 years old and looked brand new). Black mold is a huge problem in our immediate area and the roofs I looked at had no black mold at all. They looked great. The scheduling gal, Camila, was very patient and helpful, once she understood my scheduling concerns and working with other contractors (ceiling replacement from leaking roof). On the first day, the guys did show up an hour later than what I was told. However, we are in the Middle Keys and it can always take longer to get here when there's construction on our two lane highway. They were on time on day two when they were staying nearby. I was surprised there were only two guys, but they clearly had their routine down. Both Cruz and Jose were polite, friendly and professional. They handled all my questions/concerns thoroughly and when necessary, did make corrections. In two places there were small gaps at gutter connection points ~ they could only be seen from the ground. When I asked about them, they added additional screws and caulk; even if it was only for looks, it was taken care of. Cruz also took care to locate the best possible spot for the gutter downspouts, directing them away from the concrete slab, into the earth, wherever possible. He demonstrated concern for a job well done. The guys were efficient and hard working. When the Inspector showed up for the In-Progress inspection, he had only good things to say about AMS. The job went just as Shane said it would, and I love our new roof! Clean up could have been a little better, although the majority of the screws, styrofoam and debris was taken care of. All in all, I am completely happy with our new roof and the service AMS provided.

Description of Work
AMS put a new roof on our 1976 double wide, stilted mobile home!

Category roofing

5.0

04/03/2013


Marlus R.

We were very happy with them. It was the last week of February. We just had it done. It was expensive. We wanted real windows that were 3 inches thick and insulated. We got a new wall with new beams and 6 sliders to make a sunroom. They gave us a permit and this was included in the estimate. They are the only ones that said we needed a permit and they were the only ones who gave us everything we wanted. Other companies tried to get us to change what we wanted. They were slow to get back to us. They said it was because they were waiting for a permit. We reconstructed the wall. A porch is not considered part of the house so we needed a permit as we made it part of the house. He came on time and did a very good job. We watched him do the job. He was friendly and worked well. He did a good job. I would prefer to keep the price private for the work, though I felt he was a little high. The job was excellent though.

Description of Work
I used AMS for our mobile home and our porch.

Category decks, siding, replacement windows, mobile home remodeling

4.0

03/18/2013


Stanley H.

Over all it was just fine it just took a lot longer because of the window problem.

Description of Work
AMS installed 13 windows in my home. The company installer was outstanding in all ways. The problem was that 5 of the windows had bubbles in the glass. Also the glass was covered with Teflon and was a lot of work cleaning after installation. They were reordered and 4 of the 5 were the wrong size when delivered. The window company sent a tech and he replaced the glass into the right frames. The finished product was fine when complete and AMS did a great job, but their window vendor has some issues.

Category roofing

1.0

02/24/2013


Billie B.

Work was commissioned but never started much less completed.

Description of Work
I contracted this company to build me a Florida room and a carport. That was over 6 mos ago. Nothing has been started after all this time. Every time they submit their plans to the city, the city rejects them. Obviously this company does not know what they are doing. All they keep telling me is to have patience. Everyone else where I live have no problems getting anything completed on their houses. Of course they are using different companies. I am currently trying to get my money back but am having trouble doing that also. They are telling me they are keeping the money that I owe them for work completed?????? Nothing has ever been completed. I live on social security and need my money. Basically they have stolen my money and I don't feel they should be in business. I tried to speak to the owner on several occasions but he would never return my calls and referred me to someone else. This experience has been devastating to me and my family. I would say for anyone trying to get home projects completed "DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY."

Category concrete driveways, sunrooms

Service Provider Response

This matter involved the construction of a carport, sunroom and shed to a mobile home for $29,985.00. As required by law, we filed the usual permit applications, drawings and product approvals with the local building department for the project under the Florida Building Code version 2010 which became effective in March of 2012 (FBC 2010). As a general contractor we deal with a multitude of building departments throughout the State of Florida. The present Code, which is the most stringent in the U.S., contains numerous changes, upgrades and mandates not previously required which have been the subject of different interpretations by the various building departments. Furthermore, building departments have been streamlined as a result of cutbacks due to the recession and the slow building market. Being well aware of this, we try in all our submissions to submit packages that will pre-empt requests for additional information and clarification. Unfortunately, this is one of those instances where we were unable to do this. The requests and revisions that were asked for here ranged from requiring the engineer to sign and seal published State Product Approvals to the filing for an electrical permit where no electrical work was involved. The last request was for a topographical survey of the existing mobile home and the proposed changes. This went on for a period of about 4 ½ months frustrating not only the customer but ourselves. When the survey was ready and we were prepared to file it the customer decided they no longer wished to pursue the project and AMS returned the balance due the customer. The customer readily agreed to that. We are a 36+ year old company with an excellent reputation in the remodeling industry. As previously stated, we deal with many different building departments throughout the State of Florida on a daily basis and all of them are struggling with the multitude of changes brought about by the new building code. This is particularly so with respect to its application in the manufactured home industry. This created a situation which frustrated us as well as the customer.
5.0

01/28/2013


Chet A.

We traveled from MO back to FL for installation with an understood schedule for early in the week. AMS wanted to move us to the next week or maybe later because of weather delays. After recommunicating our need for AMS to meet original commitment they were able to get work done the end of originally committed week. I contacted them to bid another job but they declined because our location is too far away.

Description of Work
Installed a roof over and gutters on a double wide manufactured home. Very satisfied with sales, installation, product and quality. Price good too. Installation was done in one very long work day for their crew especially considering travel time from base to work site and return.

Category roofing

4.0

08/31/2012


ROY S.

tell me how Signed contract to have a roof-over done on my mobile home on June 19th, 2012. I even had the salesman (very nice and professional) write in a completion time OF (30 DAYS). Nine weeks later the roof was installed. I made an allowance of four weeks for rainy weather before I called the AMS office and made inquiries as to an installation date. I was told the following Monday after my call would be the date of the installation...That to did not happen either. When all the waiting was over and the roof finally installed I found a well constructed roof .I have only good things to say about the actual job. As far as the clerical and managerial aspect and the promises involved, I give them a poor rating. Bottom line: Good work, nice construction. I would use them again. However , don't hold your breath if you rely on any promises of completion dates.

Description of Work
I have a single wide mobile home with old roof that began leaking. Ams sent a rep to see me and describe in great detail how the new roof would be constructed. I was not present to see the actual construction which was done in one day. when I did see the finished product I was pleased to see all the rep. had described to me.

Category roofing

1.0

08/20/2012


Annie M.

They wanted to replace the whole roof, they do not apparently do repairs. I just wanted the repair done, and the situation was handled very poorly. When I told them that I wanted just the repair done, they got very angry and just stomped out, leaving me with a hole in the roof still. I do not recommend them to anyone. I asked if they were on Angie's List, and they said "Angie's List is no good".

Description of Work
They came over to give me an estimate. I needed a patch in the roof.

Category roofing

3.0

08/10/2012


Susan A.

Jeremy was the person who came to my house to give me information about replacing windows. The windows he had in his brochures were very attractive and seemed to be the kind I needed. I asked him to give me an estimate to replace all my windows and he told me that he "didn't write estimates, he only wrote orders." That sounded a little odd and rather arrogant to me. He did write down a dollar figure on the back of his business card, but with no details about what was included. I asked him if replacing the sliding door was included. He hesitated and then said, "yeah, sure it is." I asked if the figure he gave me would include putting an escape window in the rear bedroom. Again, he hesitated and said that it would, which I doubted because I know they are more expensive than a normal window. All in all I did not sign a contract with AMS because I did not trust what Jeremy was telling me and because he would not give me a detailed estimate in writing. I hired another company whose quote was higher, but whose professionalism was also much higher.

Description of Work
No services were performed.

Category replacement windows

5.0

06/09/2011


Therese B.

they came and gave me an estimate within 24 hours and completed the job within 2 weeks after I accepted the offer. The workers were all very professional, the job went smoothly including clean up. I would highly recommend them to anyone needing a roof

Description of Work
removal of old roof installation of new roof

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    3G Home Exteriors

    We are a locally owned and family operated company with over 8 years of industry experience. We value honesty and integrity, and stand behind our work. We specialize in gutters, siding, interior and exterior painting, sunrooms, and pergolas. We pride ourselves on the quality of our work as well as our commitment to outstanding results. We look forward to building long-term relationships with our clients and guarantee your satisfaction!  

    Offers by 3G Home Exteriors on Angi
    R.A. Beecroft, Inc.

    I am a general contractor owning my own company, specializing in structural concrete and flat work. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    M&M Site Development, Excavating and Land Clearing

    We are a locally owned full service paving contractor. We take our time to understand the needs of our customer’s so that we can deliver the best quality of services possible. M & M Site Development is a Naples based full service paving and asphalt contractor serving residential, commercial, HOA, and municipal customers. Our professional staff consists of full-time dedicated asphalt paving and maintenance professionals who have years of knowledge and expertise in the industry. From the detailed quote to the finished job, Our goal is to ensure all customers will be pleased with the workmanship, quality, and professionalism of Asphalt and Concrete Engineering. We are a fully State Certified General Contractor  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Exterior home improvements. Insulated aluminum roof over. Insulated vinyl siding. Energy saving replacement windows. Vinyl, acrylic, & glass enclosures. Screen rooms. Carports. Storm protection.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about AMS

    How is AMS overall rated?

    AMS is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are AMS open?

    AMS is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does AMS provide

    AMS accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does AMS offer free estimates?

    Yes, AMS offers free project estimates.

    Does AMS offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, AMS offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by AMS?

    Yes, AMS offers warranties.

    What services does AMS offer?

    AMS offers the following services: Exterior home improvements. Insulated aluminum roof over. Insulated vinyl siding. Energy saving replacement windows. Vinyl, acrylic, & glass enclosures. Screen rooms. Carports. Storm protection.