Angie's List is now Angi.ย Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

J Bates Concrete Construction Inc

With Angi since September 2012

5.0

(38) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

10814 Osceola Dr

New Port Richey, FL 34654

Description

At J. Bates Concrete Construction we have over 28 years of experience in the residential & commercial concrete industry. It would be our pleasure to assist you with your concrete project from the planning stages to the finished product. We can offer a variety of options and layout to make your project truly custom and one of a kind. Free written quotes- friendly, honest and reliable service....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

04/16/2020


James D.

Excellent. Arrived on time & completed work per specifications.

Description of Work
Repairs to stucco band on house

Category concrete repair

3.0

04/18/2019


kelly B.

They were prompt in responding to the message on Angie's list and calling to set up a time to walk-thru for a quote of what is needed. HOWEVER, after leaving work early, they never showed up or even called.

Description of Work
Concrete foundation for shed, and sidewalk

Category concrete repair

Service Provider Response

We are so sorry about the missed appointment- that is definitely not typical for us. The message never got forwarded to Joe who was out in the field when your estimate was scheduled. We have spoken to your husband and rescheduled your appointment. We will be sure to do everything possible to give to the level of service that is typical of our company... which is A+.
5.0

04/11/2019


Ron S.

J. Bates Concrete Construction Inc. recently completed the concrete pad in my backyard. The work was done on time with a high level of quality. I chose Bates because when I was getting quotes for the screen room (to go on the pad) and asked the builders who they would have do the concrete it seemed like they all used Bates. So I did too. Now itโ€™s evident why โ€“ promptness, excellent work quality, efficient and professional. Money well spent.

Description of Work
Concrete pad with footings

Category concrete repair, patios

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! We strive to do quality work on every job and really appreciate that you recognize it !! We appreciated your patience regarding the start of your project...it is our "extra busy season"! Enjoy your patio and do not hesitate to give us a call with any questions you may have !
5.0

09/17/2017


Karen S.

Very professional and courteous company. Excellent service from the first phone call to the completion of the sidewalk project. Finished sidewalk looks fantastic!! Arrived promptly as planned. High quality work. J Bates Concrete Construction went above and beyond to complete my sidewalk project despite the obstacles related to the recent hurricane. The business owner was very professional and helpful. The job was explained to me in detail and my sidewalk looks great!! The job site was left immaculate and barriers placed for protection of my sidewalk. I have already recommended J Bates Concrete to my family and friends. With the time and work put into my sidewalk project, which is a small project, it shows this company is really there for its customers. I would highly recommend for any home or business construction projects, this company makes the grade.

Description of Work
Replace residential sidewalk

Category concrete repair

Service Provider Response

It was our pleasure to help you with your project. Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate it !!!
5.0

08/14/2017


B A.

Excellent! Prompt service. Highly professional workers. Very meticulous. Would highly recommend them. Would definitely use again.

Description of Work
Concrete patio

Category concrete repair, patios

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind words. We strive to do a great job and are thrilled that you are happy with our work. You were a pleasure to work with !!!! Thanks again for taking the time to write a review. Don't hesitate to call us with any questions you may have in the future. Joe
5.0

02/01/2017


Vito M.

They were great. I am very happy with their work and the appearance of the stamped concrete. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Installed a concrete pad for a screen enclosure and an adjacent patio. Also, dyed and stamped the pad.

Category concrete repair, patios

Service Provider Response

So sorry for the delay in our response- I never saw this. We appreciate that you took the time to write a review and are so happy that you are pleased ! Enjoy your patio & do not hesitate to give us a ring with any questions you may have down the road ! Joe
5.0

04/24/2016


Joyce C.

J Bates Concrete did an OUTSTANDING and Professional Service of Pouring Concrete for our enclosed Patio (extended past patio past the enclosure so we could put our patio furniture and grill on. Last July, it rained almost everyday; therefore, A Bates asked if they could start early before the mid day rain came. A Bates poured concrete for AJ Aluminum (both companies were polite, professional, and vey, very pleased with quality/quantity of their work). After almost one year since A Bates Concrete poured concrete for AJ Aluminum (both contractors were professional, quality of concrete and patio was high end work, etc.) and very, very pleased and Highly Recommend A Bates Concrete. Five Stars+ Rating๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

Description of Work
Gutted prior slabs and poured/leveled 'a lot' Concrete for Patio

Category concrete repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you again for taking some time to write us such a great review. We are thrilled that after a year, you are still happy with your concrete. It should provide you with many, many years of enjoyment to come ! We try to do our best work every time- but sometimes the weather can be a factor with scheduling (thank you for your flexibility). Should you ever have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to give us a call or drop us an email. Have a wonderful summer! Joe
5.0

01/21/2016


GREGORY M.

Highly professional, great communication and excellent work ethic. Truly a perfectionist!

Description of Work
Custom ramp and slab work

Category concrete repair

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the positive feedback ! We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We try to do our best at all times & are happy that it was a positive experience for you ! It was our pleasure to work with you. Do not hesitate to call if ever you have any questions or concerns in the future ! Thanks again! Joe
5.0

01/16/2016


Michael B.

This service went very well. They got the permit, worked efficiently and did an excellent job.

Description of Work
Put in new driveway

Category concrete repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for writing a review for us. Everything went smoothly through the whole process-including permitting. We are happy that you enjoyed the experience-we always try to treat a job like it is our own. Don't hesitate to call us if you ever need us in the future or have a question. Enjoy your new concrete ! Joe
5.0

04/30/2015


Staci G.

I am a nuclear engineer & business manager... by nature, "a details guy". Acing a review with me is not an easy thing to do... I don't write many. I interviewed several contractors for the work, & Joe stood out immediately for his integrity and knowledge of what process would deliver the highest quality results. I could tell in our first conversation that he cared about quality the same way that I did, & that he had the knowledge to carry it out. In addition, his suggested process would result in less collateral damage to my home, ata lower cost. An exceptional value all the way around. Joe & team showed up when they said they would & executed the job. Beautiful finish, nice lines, high attention to detail... exactly like we talked about. Very happy with Joe's service. My highest recommendation. Save yourself time & worry - have Joe do your work. Eric Gardner

Description of Work
Poured and finished concrete to create a workshop under the house.

Category concrete repair

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review !! We try do everything possible to deliver a high-quality outcome. It always begins with doing things the right way. Concrete may look pretty basic, but a lot of thought, planning and effort are needed to end up with a good-looking, long-lasting end result. I am happy that you appreciate it !!! Feel free to call me with any questions you may have in the future & thank you again for taking the time to write such a nice review !! Joe
5.0

03/26/2015


Gerry C.

Joe Bates and his crew are the best! I have had dealings with several concrete contractors in past years, with results ranging from fair to poor. By far, J Bates Concrete is the best. Joe gave me a reasonably priced, great back yard patio with the required (code) steel reinforced footer on the perimeters. Also, a vapor barrier beneath the concrete and sufficient pitch to assure drainage. Joe did all the right things, without my asking. Joe's three man crew were polite, professional, courteous, and clean. My 10X12 patio with attached 4X5 slab for my barbeque turned out great. The rain drains off great. No standing water, no puddles. They also gave me a semi smooth finish for easy sweeping, My wife and I really appreciate that. Clean up? These guys are great. They left my property looking the same as it was before they ever stepped foot on it. The only thing they left behind in our back yard was.....a well done concrete patio. I expect to have them back soon, for a new concrete sidewalk.

Description of Work
Reinforced concrete slab (patio).

Category patios

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive review ! We appreciated the opportunity to work on your patio. It will provide you with many years of grilling ! We really try to make every job as neat and clean as we possibly can. It's important to take pride in the job every step of the way, not just the very end. It is good to hear that we stand out in the crowd of contractors that you have worked with in the past, there are a lot of them out there. As far as things being "to code", it's an absolute must. You may be able to save a little time and a bit of money by taking shortcuts, but you are running a big risk that the job is being done properly. It is protection for the homeowner, although it can sometimes be a bit frustrating. I amhappy you are able to appreciate that fact. Enjoy you new patio and please feel free to call me if ever you need to ! Joe
5.0

03/14/2015


Barbara C.

This is the second time I've used J.Bates services and all I can say is this: If you want the job done correctly, on time, with respect and caring for both you and your home, for a reasonable price, from someone who feels like a friend, ... hire Joe Bates! I interviewed several people for this job and not one other company even came close to what Joe promised and ultimately delivered. Since there were several different sections of the backyard that needed to be graded along with the area of the patio (which was on a higher level of ground) after everything was removed, I was concerned that bringing in all sorts of equipment would needlessly tear up additional areas of the yard... which in turn would run up the price. Everyone else insisted on using Bobcats, and spoke about 'repairing the existing lawn' as part of the job.... except Joe. He knew my concerns and worked with me by having the guys remove the patio and do all the work by hand. I called Joe because of my former experience with him and I knew I could trust him. He was very kind to give me advice on what could be done and how I could save money (this job was at my father's house and his funds are limited). I wanted lawn where the patio once stood, but I wasn't sure. I asked his advice on if it would be better to put in a new cement patio and he agreed that the way to go was the lawn. He never tried to sell me a new cement patio, and I was extremely pleased that he was willing to take on what turned out to basically be a 'landscaping' job. Joe is terrific, his crew is hardworking, they're all reliable and just a pleasure to have working for you. I highly recommend Joe Bates Concrete Construction... they're just great!

Description of Work
Joe and his crew removed an big, old outdoor raised block patio. In addition, they removed shrubs and 2 petrified tree stumps from a large planting area, railroad ties, and some small trees from another area of the back yard, as well has a huge old cactus. They then graded all the areas to prepare for sod installation, which was done by someone else..

Category concrete repair, patios

Service Provider Response

Wow !! Thank you for the kind words ! We are glad you had a great experience on this project too. We were happy to help you with it. Although it was a little different than the usual jobs we do, it was a nice change of pace. Thank you for your patience with the start date as well. We have been pretty busy so far this spring but that's a good thing ! We strive to do the best work we can on every project and a happy customer is the best reward. Please feel free to give me a call if you ever have any questions. Thanks again ! Joe
5.0

03/09/2015


Joseph C.

Joe was very prompt from the beginning thru the end. When he came to give the estimate. We discussed what I wanted to havedone. He advised that codes may not allow exactly what I wanted. He provided a reasonable quote and an approximate time frame for completion. His experience in dealing with permits and codes was excellent. They changed what I wanted . Joe camer by and showed me how he would adjust the plans to meet codes and regulations. His solution was both satisfactory to me and complied with codes. He scheduled the date for installation and arrived on that date and had the addition done and was gone by the time we got home from work. He came by the very next day to make sure that the job was satisfactory and receive payment. I would definitely use him again. Not only was he very professional, but he was also very personable. I would highly recommend him for any concrete work.

Description of Work
They added an addition to my driveway. The cut up the sod and placed it where I requested and poured the addition.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience. Sorry for the delay in my response to it ! It's been a very busy spring ! It was a pleasure to work with you on your driveway addition. We make every effort to comply with zoning & code regulations on each job that we do- if you don't do it the required way,you may save a little time but the results could be very detrimental. We are so happy that you are satisfied with your driveway, and again very much appreciative of the positive review. Have a great summer & please do not hesitate to call me if you have any questions or concerns. Joe
5.0

01/31/2015


Kori B.

Joe was great. He was on-time, and responsive to phone calls. It was a small job for him, but we felt just as important. Would definitely use again.

Description of Work
Repaired the walkway from the driveway to the front door.

Category concrete repair

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate that you took the time to leave a review on Angie's List. We value the opportunity to work on any project large or small. We understand that when a customer is paying their hard earned money no project is "small" ! We are happy to hear that it was a good experience for you and please don't hesitate to call us again for any reason. Thank you again. Joe
5.0

01/22/2015


Edgar A.

We were very impressed with Joe's professionalism - He kept in touch and did a great job. Would hire again.

Description of Work
He formed and poured 2 sidewalks

Category concrete repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review. We try our hardest to give our customers the best experience possible & communicating with our customer is priority #1 ! We are always happy when someone will take the time out of their busy day to write a review on Angie's List. It helps others who are considering projects have a little "piece of mind". Please do not hesitate to call me if you ever have any questions or concerns in the future. Joe
5.0

07/14/2014


LACETTA C.

He cleared the cement pillar bases from a former wooden deck and stacked them neatly to the side. He leveled and compacted the earth and dug and reinforced the footer with re-bar. He poured cement and did a great broomed finish to the surface. He was courteous, professional and on time.

Description of Work
Poured new patio

Category concrete repair, patios

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking time out of your day to write a review ! We strive to do our best work on every job and are thrilled when our customers are happy enough to make the effort to say something on Angie's List. We hope you are happy with your concrete for many years to come. Feel free to contact me in the future if you have any questions or concerns. Joe
5.0

06/19/2014


David J.

Joe was very imformative in the quote process gave us ideas and followed up as well. He addressed any concerns we had and was very professional. The pre construction of the patio went nice and smooth and so did the pouring of the patio. The final product came out great and we are very statisified. He came on time every day and stuck to the schedule as promised. We have now had our patio for a few weeks and it has settled very nice, couldn't be happier. We would hire him again.

Description of Work
Put down a 20x26 ft patio in our back yard

Category concrete repair, patios

Service Provider Response

We would like to take a moment to thank you for taking the time out of your day to give us a review on Angie's List. We do our best to be as informative as possible during the entire process-from estimate to completion. We enjoyed working on your project and appreciate the pictures you have posted. Enjoy your patio for many years to come and do not hesitate to call e with any questions you may have in the future.
5.0

05/30/2014


James R.

Work was done correctly and in a timely manner.

Description of Work
Poured a concrete slab for a shed and widened the driveway.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways

Service Provider Response

Thanks for being such a great customer & taking the time to review our company. We pride ourselves in doing our best work in reasonable time frame. It's not always easy given these Florida rain showers, but we do our best ! Thanks again & do not hesitate to give me a call with any questions or concerns you may have. Joe
5.0

05/19/2014


donald H.

They showed up early and had the job done sooner than I thought they would. They cleaned up after they were done and the quality of work is great, I can not be happier with the finished product. I will us them in the future.

Description of Work
Removed a wood deck and poured a concrete slab.

Category concrete repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review [removed member name]- I know we had some communication issues early on (still don't know what happened-technology !!). I am glad to hear that you are pleased with our work. Feel free to contact me with any questions you may have in the future. Joe Bates
5.0

04/07/2014


Jim G.

Patio looks wonderful. Joe was on time, reasonably priced, gave excellent suggestions for improvements from the initial request without increase in cost. Joe and the whole crew were courteous and caring that the job was done right and the customer was pleased with the result. Would not hesitate to recommend this company to anyone needing concrete work done on their home.

Description of Work
put in a concrete patio

Category concrete repair

Service Provider Response

I appreciate the fact that you took the time to review our company & the work that we performed. We are committed to doing the absolute best that we can everytime. We hope that you enjoy your concrete for many years to come & please call me if ever you have questions or concerns. Joe
5.0

03/24/2014


Babette D.

Joe Bates and his crew were, hands down, the best contractor that I have ever had the pleasure of doing business with or I have ever heard of. I was in the concrete construction business in my younger days so I am well aware of how the process works. Joe is an expert in stamped concrete and the work he does is truly a testament to his love of the craft. He was punctual, dependable, reasonably priced and exceptionally honest. He took responsibility for every aspect of the job and kept us informed about everything he was doing. His crew was top notch as well. The job was completed on time and at the quoted price. He stands behind is work 100%. I really wish all service companies would take a lesson from J. BATES Construction and earn an honest dollar instead of a quick dime. Honestly, hiring J. BATES Construction for this job was the best decision we could have made as I seriously doubt there is another local company who could even come close to his quality and professionalism.

Description of Work
Joe Bates designed and constructed a stamped and stained concrete court yard, side walks, and double driveway.

Category concrete repair

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for all the kind words. I appreciate the fact that took the time to give us a review. So glad that you are happy with your new driveway & court yard area. It looks pretty sharp with the 2 tones. It was a pleasure working for you both. Hope you enjoy your new concrete for many years to come. Please don't hesitate to call me with any questions. Joe
5.0

03/21/2014


Gerald M.

Went very well..prompt on his estimate..cost was fair..very prompt on doing the work...excellent crew of workers ...did a beautiful job on my driveway..kudos to Mr.Bates who is an excellent contractor ..this old Army vet will recommend him to all who need a good man..who does good work!!

Description of Work
Replaced an old cracked driveway

Category concrete repair

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your review- it was our pleasure to work with you as well as meet you. Please feel free to call me if you ever have any questions or concerns.
5.0

10/21/2013


Agnes A.

Joe was very responsive and on time. He completed the job as we discussed and we were very happy with his work. I would definitely hire him again if I ever need concrete work done. His estimate was not the least expensive yet I hired him because I felt comfortable with him. And he would not take any money until the job was complete and we were satisfied.

Description of Work
Poured new concrete driveway and pour new concrete walkway in some areas.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our work. I use Angie's List myself to find qualified companies with positive reviews to work on projects in my own home. Your good review not only helps my company but helps so many others individuals that want to see how their neighbors actually feel about the work & the experience they had with a certain contractor before they make a commitment to a particular company.It was a pleasure working with you and thank you again. Please don't hesitate to call me if you have any questions or concrete needs in the future. Joe Bates
5.0

10/15/2013


Barbara C.

I can't say enough about how terrific Joe is. His work ethic is beyond reproach, and his work is like that of an old world craftsman! On time, on the job, polite, pleasant, caring, capable, patient, neat.... Joe was just wonderful to work with! .... and his team was extremely efficient at what they had to do too. I wanted to design a simple yet customized design at the front entrance and he was very helpful in explaining the requirements of patterning to minimize the possibility of cracking in the future, and we worked together to come up with something that would work. We are extremely happy with the outcome and every single person who comes to the door comments on how beautifully the concrete work was done. I highly recommend Joe if you want a no risk great job.... you won't be sorry you hired him, believe me. I'm sorry it took so long to write this review... life got in the way, as it sometimes does.

Description of Work
We had sinkhole damage to our backyard patio kitchen and front entrance walkway. Joe removed the large concrete outdoor kitchen, entire patio, and front walkway. He excavated and expanded the entire courtyard area in the front and prepared everything for the new concrete installation. He also extended the parameter of the back patio. We decided not to rebuild the kitchen area.

Category concrete repair, patios

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review, I know how busy life can be & appreciate your feedback ! It was our pleasure to work with you on your project. We do our absolute best to be sure everyone is happy with the final outcome. I hope that you love your concrete for years to come- if you ever have any questions/concerns please to not hesitate to give me a call !! Joe
5.0

06/24/2013


Diana S.

We had called Joe for a quote and he was very prompt in coming out and getting us the quote we needed. Once the permit was approved the job wa done in a timely manner and the job site was kept clean no mess left behind. The only issue we ran into was Joe had us mail him the payment when the job was finished and the check got lost in the mail. Joe was very patient and understanding while the issue was fixed. Joe is very professional and I would definitely use him again.

Description of Work
Added an extra driveway next to our existing driveway

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your project experience. It was our pleasure. We do our best to get our work done with a minimal amount of impact to your property. As far as the check goes- everything worked out just fine. Sometimes things seem to just get lost in the mail...it's happened to me as well. I hope you enjoy your new concrete & do not hesitate to call me if you have any questions or concerns ! Joe Bates

    Other local Pros in your area

    EpoxIT Systems LLC

    We specialize in all things epoxy and more! This includes Epoxy chip systems (Garages, Driveways, Lanais, Pool-decks, and much more) We also offer interior metallic epoxy floors, countertops, pressure washing, painting, paver sealing and much more! With over 20 years experience our crew is guaranteed to give you a floor that looks amazing and lasts forever. Why replace it when you can EpoxIT! ย โ€ฆ

    Low Cost Concrete Inc

    The go-to guys for all your concrete needs. Receive 5% off any concrete services for your home or business. With over 14 years of installation & resurfacing experience, you can expect high-quality workmanship & impeccable services. ย โ€ฆ

    Offers by Low Cost Concrete Inc on Angi
    Coastline Construction Services LLC

    Coastline Construction Services, LLC. Family Owned & Operated. Licensed and Insured. - Custom Concrete Jobs. - Custom Decking & Floating Docks - Boat Lift Cover Installs - Residental Full Remodels - Custom Homes No Job is too Small. We take Pride in your work, โ€œwe want to help you build your dream as if it were our ownโ€. ย โ€ฆ

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    LC 08809,C-10647,AAA0049730
    Trade License Locale
    Pasco, Pinellas, Hernando
    Trade License Authority
    Pasco, Pinellas, Hernando Counties
    Trade License Expiration
    09/30/2017
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Residential & commercial concrete industry, patios, sidewalks, pool decks, pool deck renovations, driveways, steps, new construction, garages, monolithic slabs, foundations for new structures & additions.

    Services Not Offered

    coatings or cosmetic repairs, pavers, concrete painting

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about J Bates Concrete Construction Inc

    How is J Bates Concrete Construction Inc overall rated?

    J Bates Concrete Construction Inc is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are J Bates Concrete Construction Inc open?

    J Bates Concrete Construction Inc is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does J Bates Concrete Construction Inc provide

    J Bates Concrete Construction Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does J Bates Concrete Construction Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, J Bates Concrete Construction Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does J Bates Concrete Construction Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, J Bates Concrete Construction Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by J Bates Concrete Construction Inc?

    No, J Bates Concrete Construction Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does J Bates Concrete Construction Inc offer?

    J Bates Concrete Construction Inc offers the following services: Residential & commercial concrete industry, patios, sidewalks, pool decks, pool deck renovations, driveways, steps, new construction, garages, monolithic slabs, foundations for new structures & additions.

    Are there any services J Bates Concrete Construction Inc does not offer?

    coatings or cosmetic repairs, pavers, concrete painting