Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

HUDSON CHIMNEY INC

Founded 1979 • With Angi since September 2006

4.4

(16) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2828 WINDMERE CT

Middleburg, FL 32068

Description

CSIA Certified Chimney Sweep since 1984 * Member NCSG National Chimney Sweep Guild since 1986 * Member FGPCS Florida Guild of Professional Chimney Sweeps Since 1988 * Certified By Independent Safety Commission since 1984 * Member HPBA Heath Products & Barb Que Association 15 years...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/07/2018


Craig W.

“GREAT” the technicians came out the next day and were able to fix the problem right away for great price.The owner and technicians were polite and a pleasure to work with.Iwould highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Repair pipe coming out of chimney to cap,reattached collar to pipe that had moved because of strom

Category chimney repair,fireplaces

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We try to be responsive to all of our clients, I am glad that our Techs were able to take care of your problem and do so then. Thank you for the positive review.
4.0

05/16/2018


Amy B.

I had to do a lot of follow-up to ensure that the job was being tended to but it all ended well.

Description of Work
Chimney cap replacement

Category chimney caps,chimney repair

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you for the positive review. When a company has to order custom parts and are at that companies mercy things sometimes things take longer than expected. We place our orders as soon as we receive the deposit and then put it in our ordered file, that file is reviewed at least once a week to follow up with the supplier, when we do know of pending delays we try and let our customers know and sometimes good intentions get over looked
5.0

04/20/2017


kathie S.

They were on time, explained all they were going to do, covered up the surrounding area and sent a brush up my chimney, it was very dirty. They explained the importance of keeping your chimney clean.

Description of Work
Clean Chimney

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you
5.0

03/27/2017


Mike S.

The project went very well and the employees of Hudson Chimney were very professional and neat!

Description of Work
Two fireplaces were involved. We had one fireplace swept and cleaned and one of the fireplaces had to be completely replaced.

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair,fireplaces

2.0

12/27/2016


Jennifer L.

My chimny was never xleaned bc he wanted alot more money 130.00.

Description of Work
difficult to say they came out and wanted an additional 130.00 to clean my chimney so never used them.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

11/28/2016


Gina K.

Showed up on time to do the work. Advised me on things I needed but was honest about what was "priority". Very friendly and professional.

Description of Work
Cleaned Chimney and replaced worn seal around the opening.

Category chimney sweep,fireplaces

1.0

11/13/2015


Amber E.

I have been trying to schedule an inspection and cleaning since 10/16. Called and emailed and every time am told "Later this week or early next; I'm doing the best I can." I can't attest to the work quality but waiting a month for an appointment has certainly put a sour spin on the transaction.

Description of Work
Nothing, they won't schedule an appointment.

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review. When a company is booked up at least three weeks during their normal times, then their is an influx of calls and then you become booked some four to six weeks out it is very hard to meet everyone's request for service. While I understand that a property owner wants to satisfy their tenants request, it is hard for us to do when we have no openings and are trying to work these request in the work load. Patients on both sides is important this time of year. Going to a web site and posting a negative review on a company that is booked out and is trying to work your request into their work load is wrong, especially when all you have done is call to request service and they are trying to fulfill that request.
3.0

08/04/2015


Matthew M.

my friend called for an estimate. She was directed to make appointment on the hudson chimney website. The appointment was made and it took about four days for an estimate. Very nice and professional man(owner) came out for the estimate. He seemed very thorough and discussed what needed to be done about her leaking chimney. He suggested a pan replacement and something else for about $950.00. He said it would take about 2-3 weeks for the material to come in and for him to get her on the repair schedule. My friend made appointments with two other Chimney repair companies for estimates. The second company came out and gave an estimate and was able to repair the leak three days later. Here is where the problem comes in with Hudson Chimney. When she called to today(8/4/15) to cancel the repair with Hudson. She was met with animosity. Even though, it would take another two and a half weeks for Hudson to get to her for the repair, he became angry. He said she had a verbal deal that he would do the repair. He said he had already ordered the parts for the chimney and they were expensive. My friend told him, as a courtesy she was calling him to cancel the repair. He was very angry and loud. She told him that she would never recommend his company to anyone because of how he was acting over the phone. The call ended when my friend advised him that she was going to hang up the phone and not argue with him. She hung up the phone and asked me to posted this review on angies list. It has only been 3 business days since Hudson Chimney came to their house with an estimate. He expected her to wait two more weeks for him to come out. Wow! just very disappointed with his attitude and tone. We will not use this company in the future or recommend it to anyone.

Description of Work
Provider came out to give an estimate on 7/30/2015.

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair

Service Provider Response

We do business on a hand shake and have done so for years, we tend to trust the people that we do business with, but when a client doesn't tell you that they have also called several other companies out to give them estimates after they agreed to give you the job and then calls you six days later and tells you that they have had some other company to do the repairs to their chimney it is upsetting. Now the items that were ordered that were custom fabricated for her chimney have to be paid for to the fabricator of her custom parts it is upsetting. The animosity came in when one realizes that because of the clients lack of openness with you that it just cost you several hundreds of dollars for a custom part that you ordered and now can't use. She stated that she did so as a curiosity, the curiosity should have been when she was given the price that she stated that she had appointments with other companies and would lets us know who she was going to have do the work instead of making a verbal contract and authorizing our company to order the parts for the job. We explained to her that it may take up to ten working days for the work to be completed because we were unsure of the fabricators work load, today is only to 12th calender days and the 7th working day and we were notified today that the parts were ready. Being honest and open on both sides would not have caused the problem here, but her not being honest with us about calling other companies and then 6 days after we had been given to OK to proceed being told that she had someone else do the job is being honest with the company that she had already contracted with.
5.0

07/21/2015


Louise D.

They made sure no extra soot came in the house. They were actually able to the bird go with no harm done during his capture. Very nice gentleman and his son...very comfortable having them in out home. Would certainly recommend them.

Description of Work
They cleaned our chimney. Captured the bird that was in the chimney.They also replaced to chimney topper/cover with a stainless steel unit that will not rust, so we will never have to replace it again.

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post the review, we try to do our best with all of our clients.
5.0

02/02/2014


John H.

Everything went fine. Hudson is very busy. This is the busy season now. Took a while to schedule the appointment but it was worth it.

Description of Work
Swept chimney and fire bay, Level I inspection, advised to trim tree near chimney, estimate of future repair needed.

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you [removed member name], we should be getting the complete cost on the needed replacement refractory panels to you within the next week.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Jack C Wilson Roofing Co

    Big leaks? Damaged shingles? No problem! The roofing contractors at Jack C. Wilson Roofing Co. can handle any re-roofing or leak repair project no matter the size. With 75 years of experience and a long list of references, our customers expect nothing less than the best service. We are a family-owned and operated business that has focused on our clients for three generations. Our staff understands that you are the reason for our success. Our sales team is there to help the customer but no high-pressure sales.  

    Offers by Jack C Wilson Roofing Co on Angi
    ABSOLUTE CLEAN AIR

    ***$100 OFF AIR DUCT CLEANING!!!Absolute Clean is a small Family Owned Company that doesn't use subs. Your satisfaction is guaranteed. We are dedicated to improving the Air Quality in your home with our Air Duct Cleaning service. Our Dryer Vent cleaning service will put less strain on your dryer, making your clothes dry faster, saving you money on your electric bill, causing your dryer to last longer and MOST importantly, making it less likely that you will have a dryer fire. There are more than 16,000 dryer vent fires each year in the United States. **Refer 2 friends and get your dryer vent cleaning for free!! Refer 1 friends and get $150 off of air duct cleaning** We do not service dryer vents on the 2nd or higher floor that exits through the roof.  

    Offers by ABSOLUTE CLEAN AIR on Angi
    Chimney Keeper

    Chimney inspecting, cleaning and refurbishing. Cap installation. Gas log provider. Electric Fireplace Installation, Fireplace and light masonry repairs. Dryer vent cleaning and repair. Additional DBAs - Don's Quality Brick & Stone  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    $5.00
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    CHIMNEY SWEEPING,CHIMNEY INSPECTIONS (3 TYPES) AS PER NFPA 211 CODES, MINOR REPAIRS TO COMPLETE RESTORATIONS, CHIMNEY CAPS, CHASE PAN REPLACEMENTS, WATER REPELLENT, DAMPER REPAIR, SMOKING PROBLEMS EVALUATED AND SOLVED (90%),METAL FIREPLACES REPLACED, CHIMNEYS REBUILT,CHIMNEY LINERS INSTALLED, ANIMAL REMOVAL,DRYER VENTS SWEPT AND REPAIRED.

    Services Not Offered

    FREE INSPECTIONS, ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about HUDSON CHIMNEY INC

    How is HUDSON CHIMNEY INC overall rated?

    HUDSON CHIMNEY INC is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are HUDSON CHIMNEY INC open?

    HUDSON CHIMNEY INC is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does HUDSON CHIMNEY INC provide

    HUDSON CHIMNEY INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does HUDSON CHIMNEY INC offer free estimates?

    No, HUDSON CHIMNEY INC does not offer free project estimates.

    Does HUDSON CHIMNEY INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, HUDSON CHIMNEY INC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does HUDSON CHIMNEY INC offer a senior discount?

    No, HUDSON CHIMNEY INC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by HUDSON CHIMNEY INC?

    No, HUDSON CHIMNEY INC does not offer warranties.

    What services does HUDSON CHIMNEY INC offer?

    HUDSON CHIMNEY INC offers the following services: CHIMNEY SWEEPING,CHIMNEY INSPECTIONS (3 TYPES) AS PER NFPA 211 CODES, MINOR REPAIRS TO COMPLETE RESTORATIONS, CHIMNEY CAPS, CHASE PAN REPLACEMENTS, WATER REPELLENT, DAMPER REPAIR, SMOKING PROBLEMS EVALUATED AND SOLVED (90%),METAL FIREPLACES REPLACED, CHIMNEYS REBUILT,CHIMNEY LINERS INSTALLED, ANIMAL REMOVAL,DRYER VENTS SWEPT AND REPAIRED.

    Are there any services HUDSON CHIMNEY INC does not offer?

    FREE INSPECTIONS, ask for details