Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Avail Construction

Founded 1982 • With Angi since August 2006

4.6

(33) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9955 SW 84th St

Miami, FL 33173

Description

Owner operated, 1-3 employees. Cost is determined by a flat rate. No travel charges. Contact Spike. May be contacted by email, website or phone call. Additional email - availco@aol.com....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

03/27/2018


Kari E.

The ceiling is ok, since it’s knockdown, I didn’t expect perfection and I would be remiss not to say he didn’t charge me to do it since my roommate has known him for years and referred many clients to him through his work. The doors on the other hand disappointed me. I had brand new solid wood doors. He was supposed to varnish and hang them. He used 2 different gloss levels so each door had a very different appearance and some areas looked like they were never coated at all...even started getting the mildew look after the wet season. Appearance is one problem, but functionality is the other. Because the doors were not sealed properly, they kept swelling with the humidity to the point you couldn’t open them to get in or out of the house. While trying to get in, I actually cracked the door. He came out one time and sanded it down some but didn’t reseal it which only helped for a while then it started sticking again until the winter when the rain stopped. I kept messaging him and he made several promises to come make it right but never did. Finally I sold the home but I know if the new owners don’t do something about it soon the doors will stick again. Spike came to me highly recommended, but I would not recommend him to anyone I like.

Description of Work
Installed front doors and repaired ceiling

Category handyman service, doors

Service Provider Response

wish i would have seen this sooner ., this person purchased these doors at some bargain place , and they were slightly worn to begin with as for the installation , it was spot on , but she had her ex-boyfriend ( who lived there also) watching us , and he told us we had to much space between the doors( your supposed to leave aprox 3/16th of an inch between the doors, they were double doors) but he didn't agree , even though be was basically a car mechanic. so me moved them closer together as he wanted . a month later , when the weather changes and it rained a few times , the doors did swelled a bit , as is the norm in miami , where its pretty humid. so the doors rubbed , we came back and , free of charge , re-adjusted the doors back to where we originally had them. this house was nearly a hoarder house. she made a living , selling used items out of her house and the doors were already pretty scratched up when we came back. she had 3 police cars there , ordering the ex boyfriend out . i really didn't want to go back there . even though she felt this way , we left on good terms , and there was never a cross word between us. she never reported back to me about not being happy with them after the last time i went back.
5.0

01/17/2018


Phillip S.

I was very satisfied with the quality of the job, and have received many compliments on its appearence.

Description of Work
Installed a 270 lf fence (wood) to replace one that was destroyed by Hurricane Irma. Debris was removed and new gates were installed.

Category fencing, handyman service

5.0

01/13/2017


Robin L.

All work was performed perfectly. Spike went above and beyond to make everything better than I expected. Drove across town to get special parts. Overall he did an excellent job.

Description of Work
Fixing an electrical outlet, patching a wall and fixing shower fixtures.

Category drywall, electrician, handyman service, plumbing

5.0

12/09/2016


Jorge R.

Spike was very friendly and did an excellent job. He worked very well around my busy schedule and I couldn't be happier with his attention to detail. I would hire again in the future.

Description of Work
Drywall repair in bathroom ceiling and closet.

Category drywall, handyman service

4.0

10/18/2016


Jennifer S.

Considering the complications, I was pleased and happy with his hard work.

Description of Work
Complex drywall closet.

Category contractors, drywall, handyman service

5.0

08/04/2016


Karen P.

Spike is a jack of all trades. He is very reliable. He is very honest. If I would've bought a new house, I would have never found him.

Description of Work
We have contacted Spike for many projects to be done at our house. He installed new toilets, bathroom sinks and shower heads. He added a door to the office in our house. He re-installed our kitchen sink which was never installed correctly from a previous contractor. He has done some other odd jobs of securing our wooden fence, etc.

Category fencing, handyman service, plumbing, woodworking, home remodeling, doors

5.0

07/13/2016


James B.

Spike really came through for me. While replacing tile in my new home, we realized to our horror that our massive refrigerator was no longer going to fit in it's cabinet due to the increased height of the new tile. I called Spike, and within 48 hours, the problem was fixed. His guys were friendly and hard-working. I look forward to working with him again.

Description of Work
Soffit reconfiguration in the kitchen and removal of cabinets

Category drywall, electrician, handyman service, home remodeling

5.0

05/12/2016


Deborah P.

It went superbly. I have an odd sized door that they had to find the correct materials for. they were always her on time. Respectful, and the work is spectacular . I couldn't be happier.

Description of Work
Replaced my front door.

Category doors

Service Provider Response

very nice person . she treated us like gold.
1.0

05/11/2016


Chris C.

Yesterday, I had found his number on Angie's List and asked to have a door installed today. He said he could do it and scheduled an appt. today for 4:15. At that point, I agreed to schedule it then. I couldn't do it earlier as I am a school teacher. I got here around 4:08, and I called twice to try to find him and got no response. I left a voicemail to make sure he was still coming. So, he responded about an hour later. He called back to say he was heading to my house and would be there in 20 min. to 1/2 hr. He then called to say he was on the premises. I let him know I was on the way. When I arrived, he had left. I called him and he said he didn't want to do it because "I don't respect his time. Find someone else to do it. And have nice day" Then, he hung up the phone. I was confused at this point. He then, proceeded to yell at me saying I don't respect his time. He would appreciate it if someone else would do it. When in fact, it was he who was late to begin with. Now, I am receiving multiple text messages saying we never agreed on this time which isn't true. He agreed to do the door today. He now says he couldn't do it today, but would need to do it tomorrow. He is not respecting my time.

Description of Work
Contacted him to replace a door.

Category doors

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed]. it's true I did respond the first day. But you asked me right away if I can go down on my price. I did. Then you asked if I could actually come that day. I said I could not. I said I could see if I could schedule the following day. You said yes to that. but then once we agreed you told me I had to be there at 4:15. To hang and install an impact rated door and frame is a 4 to 6 hour job. I told you that I could not come at 4:15 and do it. I told you I would come the next day if you would like and measure it and verify that the door and frame wood fit into your opening. It was you who did not respond to me that time. You called. the following day , at 4:30 and asked if I was coming. I said yes I'll be there in 20 minutes..i guy there and you were not there. I called you . your exact words were "you'll have to wait 10 or 15 minutes I'm doing something.". I waited 20 minutes and you never made it. I did leave. You called me a full hour after the fact and asked me if I was still there waiting for you. appatently you still weren't home... at that point, absolutely, I did say you need to respect my time and I'd rather you get somebody else. I never yelled. But I did tell you I didn't appreciate you making me wait. You argued telling me i had kept you waiting. so I indeed did send you one text of our conversation the day before where it never said I'd be there at 4:15. 90% of the people on Angie's List are respectful and treat me like a person. you treated me like a servant. You didn't apologize for keeping me waiting that long at all. When I'm putting out labor on a stranger I do have to use my gut instinct as far as wondering if I'm going to get paid or not after the job's done. If a customer seems not to be working with me immediately, I do decide not to work with that customer anymore. First impressions are very important and all aspects of life...of course its easy for you to write in and give me an "f" and bring my entire average down.even thought for 10 years i kept an "a" average. I'll have to live with that.bitty i know in my heart i treated you with respect. and you did not treat me with respect.
5.0

02/13/2016


chris C.

It was a pleasure dealing with Spike from Avail. He quoted me a reasonable price over the phone and had it scheduled to be done short after. The work was done well and I would use him gain in the future. Thanks Spike!

Description of Work
Replaced and fixed small ceiling damage

Category drywall, handyman service

5.0

03/26/2015


Anthony K.

I gave Spike a call to inquire about his availability to do a few quick repairs at one of our properties located on Miami Beach. Due to the fact that this job was kind of an emergency, I wasn't able to wait for a week or two. He was kind enough to set up a time out of his busy schedule the day after to come over and fix the problem. The blinds needed a tighter support to hold them up and it was in the kid's room which direct sunlight was preventing their sleep. Also, there was a hole in the master bedroom ceiling due to water damage from the unit above. He patched and painted it as well. Spike was a life saver. Thanks a lot !

Description of Work
Install and reinforce bedroom blinds. Patch and paint bedroom ceiling.

Category drywall, handyman service, interior painters

4.0

09/04/2014


Jason D.

All of the tasks completed were done well.. Spike is very nice but a little unorganized. He was always delayed for something and he would never remember our appointments. I had to call every time to remind him of our appointment and then we had to reschedule because he was out of my area. I initially contacted him to do a kitchen remodel but while in the middle of getting permits he suggested I find a new contractor as he was too busy.

Description of Work
He replaced a missing downspout on my cottage and replaced a window trim that was damaged by termites.He also helped me return cabinetry to IKEA.

Category handyman service, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

very nice person ; I was a little un-organized , as far as being busy , and canceling some meetings ( but there were too many , and they were all for free) required allot of time coming to see , and to figure what she wanted as far as the kitchen remodel had cabinets had to return some ( 20 miles away.) had to try to design a kitchen around cabinets she already had , but wanted to move walls. so the cabinets weren't really for that new designed kitchen we would have to piece and match , and order new . allot of trips for no pay. she need a designer. or planner first , I`m only supposed to come in and bid on what a person wants , not design it. so , I finally felt she should hire someone else. again , very nice lady.
5.0

09/04/2014


Alberto M.

Spike completed all the work in a timely manner. I am out of state making it more difficult to communicate but Spike was very patient and understanding and made the job run very smooth. He went above and beyond to repair some items that were not on my list and able to resolve them. I highly recommend Spike and will definitely be using him in the future.

Description of Work
1. Pressure wash exterior 2. Paint blue bedroom and mouldings 3. Paint stairwell walls 4. Paint both bedroom door mouldings 5. Repair rail 6. Repair closet system in blue room 7. Repaint living area and touchup mouldings repaint beige mouldings white 10. Paint exterior floor, wall, door step, and black gate 11. Replace bathroom vanity, remove wallpaper and repaint that bathroom and replace tub spout 12. Replace outlet in kitchen by garbage disposal switch 13. Caulk sliding doors and windows that show wear 15. Refurbish front entrance wood door 16. Recaulk kitchen sink.

Category electrician, fencing, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, interior painters, doors

5.0

06/22/2014


KARIM A.

Contractor/Handyman did a great job. From the first phone call, he was professional, courteous and honest about what was necessary for this project. He came to my home to take measurements and give us a quote. Two days later, he brought all the materials from Home Depot and did an excellent installation job, exactly as promised. I would definitely recommend to other members.

Description of Work
Exterior door installation

Category handyman service

5.0

09/27/2013


Bonnie H.

Due to my work schedule we had to postpone repairs until Saturday, when I was off work.

Description of Work
Mr. "Spike" Saker put my mailbox back up after vandals broke it off of post. Because he had supplies in his truck he did not even charge me.

Category handyman service, mailbox repair

5.0

07/08/2013


Scott B.

Work scoped correctly and a detailed estimate provided. Work done expeditiously and quite well. Will have back to paint the woodwork done in this job (need to wait for the pressure treated lumber to dry before painting).

Description of Work
A number of projects including installing a security door, replacement of three light fixtures, re-did a BBQ hut badly done as well as correct a few other mistakes from the previous "carpenter"

Category handyman service, lighting, doors

2.0

07/03/2012


Karen S.

Job went on for weeks. He showed up when he got there or when you could get him on the phone. Spent inordinate amount of his time talking on his cellphone. The ceiling had hammer marks, the wall paneling all buckled and one of the panels fell down completely. I had to hire someone else to finish/fix the job because he never returned and left owing me about $40 for his personal expenses for which he was supposed to reimburse me. Did a great job on the doors. If all you need are doors, he is your man. Anything else....contact Angie's List!

Description of Work
Panel/acoustic ceiling in laundry room. He also put in 2 new outside doors /framing/locks and an inside french door /stain. He supposedly was a general contractor; however had no bank accounts or charge accounts. He would go to the supply houses to get the materials then the store would need to call me with the amount for me to charge then he would bring me the materials and receipts. Materials approx $1700, labor approx $1200.

Category handyman service, remodeling, doors

Service Provider Response

I JUST SAW THIS COMMENT. I DON`T CHECK MY PROFILE AS OFTEN AS I SHOULD . SO I`M JUST RESPONDING TO THIS (10/8/12) I DO APROX 200 SMALL JOBS A YEAR I DO HAVE PHONE CALLS THROUGH OUT THE DAY, I DO TRY TO ANSWER ALL CALLS IMEDIATELY IF POSSIBLE. YOU HAVE TO IN THIS BUSINESS . ALSO I DO EMERGENCY REPAIRS , SO I`M EXPECTED TO ANSWER WHEN CALLED. I`VE HAD A BANK ACCOUNT FOR THE BUSINESS FOR APROXIMATELY 20 YEARS. THE REASON I HAD the member PAY FOR THE MATERIALS THIS WAY WAS TO SAVE HER MONEY . IT WAS SPECIAL ORDER MATERIALS , AND HAD TO BE PAID IN FULL IMMEDIATELY. I TOLD HER IF SHE PAID IT DIRECTLY , I WOULDN`T PUT IT THROUGH THE BUSINESS , AND CHARGER HER A MARK-UP ON IT . ALSO , SHE RECEIVED MY 15% DISCOUNT FROM THE LUMBER YARD I HAVE AN ACCOUNT WITH. ( SHE SAVED $255 ON HER MATERIALS THIS WAY) AS FOR THE PANLEING BUCKLING I CAN`T ANSWER FOR IT , SINCE SHE NEVER CALLED ME TO SEE . PANELING TYPICALLY DOES NOT BUCKLE FROM ANY INSTALLATION REASON. IT BUCKLES FROM TEMPERATURE CHANGE , OR MOISTURE , IT WAS A LAUNDRY ROOM ,IN THE GARAGE , SHE KEPT GARAGE DOOR OPEN WHILE I WORKED THERE . , AND I HAVE NO IDEA HOW HOT OR DAMP IT GOT IN THIS ROOM . BUT IT WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE TO HAVE GONE , AND SEEN FOR MYSELF. ALL OUR WORK IS WARRANTEED,
5.0

05/23/2012


URETHA S.

Spike initially did fascia board replacement and repair work for me in 2007. He was extremely pleasant and easy to work with and I was very pleased with his work, so I decided to contact him again when I finally decided to get the concrete cracked repaired - which was my main concern. Along with his assistant (Carlos), they thoroughly inspected the area by digging out the damaged stucco and found rusted rebar due to water damage. My husband and I were very impressed with the quality of the finished work: it looked like new construction.

Description of Work
1. Repaired and painted concrete crack on outside and inside by garage door opening due to water damage. 2. Repaired 2 pieces of facia board (due to water damage from gutter leak) located in pool patio area. 3. Repaired wood gate in backyard: restructured gate, installed new hinges and aligned locking mechanism 4. Repaired additional wood gate: refastened pickets on fence, realigned the locking mechanism and cut gate down to fit top of fence for alignment. 5. Repaired rubber trim on basketball backboard with screws and caulk.

Category contractors, fencing, handyman service

5.0

04/09/2012


Odalys P.

Job was done very well. He came out and saw it and fixed it right away. Very happy with the service.

Description of Work
I had hit my friends mailbox, felt bad so I searched for mailbox repair and found him on Anglies' list. The gentleman was very courteous and helpful. He did a fine job going by and repairing the mailbox to our satisfaction. Thanks you so very much.

Category handyman service, mailbox repair

3.0

10/16/2011


Rodney N.

Spike as he is known is a nice guy. But he stretches himself to thin and did some painting and some drywall work himself that he later told me he should have sub-ed out... and i saw it in his quality. After every payment he got from me it would be 4 or 5 days before I would hear from him again...... I will try someone new next time

Description of Work
Had a leak in my 2nd story bathroom going down inside of drywall in the living room below. After a checking a few spots we found the leak and he called his plumber who did a great job... came on time... was nice i did pay plumber directly. They came back and drywalled did not do a very good job... baseboad work was better than expeected... paint job was terrible. Also had them refinish the back of the door ... did a lousy job and ended up spending about 3 hours on it myself scraping the paint they left all over... that due to a bad taping job....

Category drywall, handyman service, woodworking, interior painters

Service Provider Response

i`ve never met this member i dealt with a young man "Kyle", about 25 years of age , who would come , and go . he constantly told me everything looked great . he once asked if i could touch up a spot on the drywall , and i did.. i did leave some tape on a hinge that he most likely had to remove . when he first called he said " I need this done quickly ", so i postponed my immediatte work , and jumped in . we found a leak in the walls , so a 2 day job turned into 5 or 6 days , and yes i did have to leave at one point , and take care of a prior commitment. i did bring in a plumber , and stayed there with the plumber at no extra charge There was never any negative coment made from the customers " friend" and myself. this home is a penthouse , and was basically stark white and shiny . i covered all surfaces daily. i clean swept and wet-mopped every day. i truly made every attemtp to stay on top of this job. i also had to park 300 yards away at municiapl parking at $20 a day , to which i didn`t charge the client. i thought i did all i could for this person i was never told they were un-happy with anything. i did agree to wait for a payment to come out of town ( one week ) this report is the first i heard of it or the name of this member i`ve called 7 times since , and tried to talked to them , or ask if there was anything i could do for them . they refuse to answer the phone or text.
5.0

03/11/2010


DAN F.

He was very good. He was good in all respects. He did promise to come back to fix something and he never did, but his work was well done.

Description of Work
He did some painting for me at my office.

Category handyman service, interior painters

5.0

04/30/2009


CONSTANCE C.

I am very pleased with all of his services.

Description of Work
He caulked the tub, put a battery in my smoke detector, fixed a switch, pressure cleaned and painted three coats on my dock, hung my bird feeder, put special open fencing around new fences that the ducks decided they liked, fixed my row boat so we could put a motor on it, he purchased new solar lights for the dock and new fluorescent bulbs, and replaced my front wooden planter.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

THANK YOU FOR THE GLOWING REPORT. YOU WERE A DELIGHT TO WORK FOR. I HOPE TO HEAR FROM YOU SOON. CALL IF THERE IS ANY PROBLEMS WITH OUR WORK. SPIKE
4.0

07/23/2007


NATALIE V.

The drywall looks just great as does the molding work. We did have a problem when on Friday night, he left some insulation out and uncovered, my dog got into it and became quite ill and distressed due to his lack of concern. The job took longer than he had originally stated as well. They did do a good job though. I don't think I would hire him again.

Description of Work
They installed insulation and dry walled my about 42 x 15 foot sunroom. They also removed an old chimney, did the framing around the windows and installed crown molding in a 12 x 14 foot bedroom.

Category drywall, insulation, remodeling, woodworking

Service Provider Response

i`m sorry we weren`t neat enough it is always hard to work right in an area where a customer works there was a desk , and t.v -wall unit , a sofa , the dog-cage and a treadmill in the room which you said you couldn`t move ,so we constanly moved them around the small room we worked in ( aprox 10 x 20 feet in size) as we let you know before we started ,drywall installtion is always very dusty .we did put up plastic , and kept the dust out of your living area the night you called about your dog , i came right out within 20 minutes, your right , we did leave a piece of insulation on the floor. your beautiful black lab puppy greeted me at the door, and seemed fine , and semed fine every day we came after that but again i`m sorry if you weren`t completely satisfied with us . in all fairness , we gave you a price , and it never changed. we need to hear from customers , and know the truth i will continue to try , and improve , and appreciate any constructive advice
5.0

07/06/2007


HELEN F.

Spike came to give an estimate the same day I phoned. The following day I received it in writing and gave him the OK. He wanted no money until the construction phase was finished. He was able to start promptly and on the day that I requested. It was completed on time. Spike is very professional and a very sincere person to work with. I recommended him to my neighbor.

Description of Work
Spike constructed columns and a header in order to accommodate garage doors. He used #1 grade wood and arranged for stucco to be applied to the construction.

Category contractors

Service Provider Response

thanks for your kind words you also were great to work for you brought us out a cooler full of sodas every day ,and made us feel like company you also referred us to your next door neighbor , and i thank you for that also hope to hear from you soon..spike
5.0

12/29/2006


BARBARA T.

The job was completed in one day because of the initial accurate assessment and efficient execution of the task. He arrived on the expected day on time and maintained an ongoing professional manner. He was very patient with my list of a 100 questions.

Description of Work
The company owner, Spike, performed a near miraculous feat in restoring my kitchen sub-flooring without removing my cabinetry. A dishwasher leak caused profound water damage through 3 layers of flooring. Spike and an assistant removed the damaged floor material and reconstructed my wood sub-flooring, including the reinforcement of my 3 damaged joists. The installation of the wood was flawless despite the cramped crawlspace working environment. His finished product corrected the sinking floor without extending further the property loss.

Category contractors, flooring contractor

    Other local Pros in your area

    Smart Concepts Remodeling Corp

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. Call or message us to schedule an estimate today!  

    Efficient Renovations, LLC

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in General Kitchen and Bathroom Remodeling services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Nathan's Carpet and Flooring

    We are committed to providing our customers with excellent customer service and flooring that is sustainable, affordable, and exquisite, giving your home or business an overall new and improved look. Nathan’s Carpet ensures that our customers are completely satisfied with every aspect of the work we do. We begin with you and end with you, no middleman involved. Contact us today for a free estimate. We do not offer Tile Flooring.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Nathan's Carpet and Flooring on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Crown & Base Molding, Interior Soffits, Insulation, Drywall, Flooring, Bathroom, Kitchen, & Interior Remodeling. Doors, Windows & Storm Shutters. Decks, Wood Fences, Gutter Repair & Replacement, Lighting, Electrical & Plumbing. Handyman, Mailbox Repair.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Avail Construction

    How is Avail Construction overall rated?

    Avail Construction is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Avail Construction open?

    Avail Construction is open:

    Sunday: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM

    Saturday: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM

    What payment options does Avail Construction provide

    Avail Construction accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Avail Construction offer free estimates?

    Yes, Avail Construction offers free project estimates.

    Does Avail Construction offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Avail Construction does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Avail Construction offer a senior discount?

    No, Avail Construction does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Avail Construction offer emergency services?

    Yes, Avail Construction offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Avail Construction?

    Yes, Avail Construction offers warranties.

    What services does Avail Construction offer?

    Avail Construction offers the following services: Crown & Base Molding, Interior Soffits, Insulation, Drywall, Flooring, Bathroom, Kitchen, & Interior Remodeling. Doors, Windows & Storm Shutters. Decks, Wood Fences, Gutter Repair & Replacement, Lighting, Electrical & Plumbing. Handyman, Mailbox Repair.

    Are there any services Avail Construction does not offer?

    Ask for details.