Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Mermaid Engineering

Founded 2002 • With Angi since November 2014

4.4

(14) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2245 Queen Ann St

Merritt Island, FL 32952

Description

Mermaid Engineering provides a wide range of simple to complex odd jobs for individuals or groups at residential or commercial locations. We Do NOT DO BUSINESS VIA TEXT. YOU MUST CALL . 305 942 1371 Billed by time and material. charge

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/15/2020


Lori K.

Very responsive to our needs and messages.....fixed my drain issue that we could not fix on our own...we will definitely rehire for future projects.

Description of Work
Drain Cleaning

Category drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

it's a pleasure to be able to help you in a time of need please keep us in mind for the future and visit our website mermaid - engineering.com
1.0

09/17/2018


Melanie K.

Hired over a month ago, estimate said all materials included. Not so.! I had to purchase all the paint and to date, still not finished!

Description of Work
Drywall replaced and painting.

Category drywall, woodworking, interior painters, doors

1.0

08/04/2018


Kyle U.

Horrible doesn't even begin to describe it. Where do I start? Did a good job taking the railing down and being flexible with dates. Then it all went bad. He miscut a $40 oak board right off the bat. Had to redo several hours of work (being paid hourly) because he couldn't even measure the space between spindles. I was even willing to sacrifice quality and poor workmanship just to get it done so my family could move back in. I let him cut off the spindles and sand / stain the plate. For the half he has done, spaces between spindles range between about 1.5 to 3 inches (see attached pic for an example). The structural integrity is ruined and now I have to find someone to attempt to recover the entire railing system (about 30' in total length) so my one year old son can safely stay in our house. It's likely a complete loss and going to cost me thousands, on top of the 20 hours he implored me to pay him for. Disrespect for my property - blaring music, cigarette butts galore, just being a slob altogether. Inviting random people to stop by my home without permission. Drinking on the job - yes, I saw the half a six pack in the fridge. Complete abandonment of his work. I could go on and on about this clown. I have no idea what all these other folks have had him do, but I wouldn't pay this guy to take out my garbage

Description of Work
Railing disassemble / reassemble

Category handyman service, woodworking

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry that you didn't get what you expected from me, I hope there is a way I could make you happy but the truth is that I can't be perfect on every job . The epoxy I requested to install your abused staircase was Never purchased or used because cost was a major issue to you. The fact that you changed your start and finish date to expedite the job while several other workers continued to handle your hand rail every time that they went up and down the stairs may be a majority in the reason for the structural integrity to be lost. I am truly sorry I didn't please you . God bless you and your family.
5.0

06/24/2018


Arvind J.

Excellent!!!! When I first heard how much the hourly rate was, it was a little higher than average, but what an excellent job on all projects!! He made my bathroom look like new and got to the source of all problems. Knew exactly what he was doing and very very efficient. Never charged me for hours he was waiting on things - like paint to dry etc. In the end he found the cheapest way of fixing the problems. My deck looks brand new, and sturdy - will last a few years. Most importantly he was so trustworthy! I’d leave him at home and when I got back all the work would be done. I’m also extremely cautious with who I let in the house because I have foster kids, but he treated my daughter like his own. Built her a swing and me a hammock for free too. Great guy this Paul! Highly recommended.

Description of Work
I had a whole bunch of issues with the house. Leaks, deck was rotted out in a few areas, water in basement from the downstairs bathroom, and several other issues.

Category drywall, handyman service, woodworking, house painters, doors, drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the opportunity to help you with so many different types of projects and your very kind words. Please let me know if you need anything else. God bless.
5.0

05/21/2018


Ginny F.

He came very quickly and found my main water line was leaking. I am hiring him to replace a water faucet next and will write a review on his pricing and quality of work. If it this is an indication of his work I would highly recommend call this handyman!

Description of Work
Thought I had a bad water heater

Category handyman service, drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review , I am glad when I can save my clients money.
5.0

05/17/2018


Todd B.

It was an awesome experience. I needed help to get my 35 foot Sailboat from Maderia Beach to Ft Myers Beach, FL. Paul Wilkerson came down to Madeira Beach and we boarded my boat. He immediately noticed a few things that needed attention. So before we even left, he climbed up the mast to fix some wiring. He also checked out other systems. We left Maderia Beach on a Saturday morning. We dropped anchor in Venice that night. Then the next day we hit lots of bad weather before arriving in Ft Myers Beach FL. He was giving me sailing instructions the whole time. He knows how to handle a boat in rough seas and made me feel safe. Also I learned a lot from him. We tore a mainsail on the way in, and he also helped with getting that to a repair facility. I would say that was above and beyond the call of duty. I would recommend Paul to anyone who needs to have a boat moved. In fact when I move the boat to the keys, I will call on his services again.

Description of Work
Sailboat delivery and instruction

Category handyman service

5.0

03/16/2018


Charisse L.

They did a great job. Julie in particular was very focused and aimed to please the customer. They were very enthusiastic and professional. I would definitely use them again. They were top notch and I would highly recommend them as well.

Description of Work
They cleaned my house and did some errand running. They also did some repairs around the house as well.

Category handyman service, house cleaning, errand service

5.0

01/27/2018


Charisse L.

Paul was very professional and courteous. Work was performed in a timely manner. I would definitely utilize his services in the future. My son is very happy with his Portable kitchen island!

Description of Work
Kitchen island assembly

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your business.
5.0

12/17/2017


Jeff W.

Paul was very easy to work with and is professional to the core. His responsiveness and communications are excellent, and he delivered quality work at the estimate he provided. He is also a very nice guy, and I look forward to working with him on future projects no doubt.

Description of Work
Minor electrical wiring repair and installation of a new lighting fixture and wiring in the basement storage area.

Category handyman service

5.0

01/12/2017


Kimberly W.

Way above average. We are very satisfied with his skill-level and competence.

Description of Work
Over three years, we have employed Mermaid Engineering to provide handyman services ranging from electrical work to carpentry and painting. For example, he has built IKEA furniture, troubleshooting electrical light failure, built a dining bench, and refinished our outdoor teak furniture. All the work was completed, done very well, in a short period of time. We plan to hire Mermaid Engineering again - and recommend that you do the same!

Category handyman service

5.0

09/26/2016


Joanne P.

A pleasure He showed up on time, assessed the situation, went to get supplies, and came back and got it done.

Description of Work
Custom make and install screens on 2 windows. Custom make and Install a drainage system for my A/C unit on porch. Hang utility hooks.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

We really enjoy keeping our customers happy so we can continue a safe , responsible , reasonably priced service that will continue to gain our clients trust , confidence and repeat use of Mermaid Engineering's Handyman/property management services . God bless you. Sincerely , Paul Wilkerson
5.0

09/25/2016


Samantha L.

I owned a bar in a historic building that constantly had issues. he has done everything from building bar tops to building seating areas Plumbing and putting in and ice maker painting and building a whole entire liquor cabinet. As well as he works extremely fast but it is still amazing quality. he always work within my budget and would have warned me ahead of time if I was going to go over budget and offer me other routes.

Description of Work
Extremely reliable. Works very efficient and always has a solution to any situation. I don't think there is anything he can't do.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your compliments. Working for you was a true pleasure and I hope to work with you again in the future. Your Key West bar was one of the best ever established on the island.
5.0

09/19/2016


Kristina J.

Was on time. Examined what needed to be done. Left for work by time was home work was just finishing up. Best clean up job by a contractor I have seen to date!

Description of Work
Fixed and painted deck

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for you business , I hope you have many enjoyable memories on your deck .
5.0

09/01/2016


Wendy K.

Recently Paul transformed my old attic space into a beautiful master bedroom with an ensuite/private bathroom which has a custom window built in! In addition he added much needed storage space and a show stopping light fixture at the entrance! He is professional, knowledgeable and very creative! His skill level for plumbing, electrical and construction exceeds all expectations! I would highly recommend him for virtually any type of job for home or business. It is evident that he is a professional and takes pride in his work. You can definitely hire him with confidence! It's great to find someone who is so reliable and competent!!

Description of Work
Remodeled and updated attic used for storage and turned it into modern bedroom with private bathroom

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much Ms. [[Member Name Removed]], I truely enjoyed working on your home and hope you continue to enjoy your new bedroom and bathroom for a life time.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Elite Electrical & Remodeling

    We provide complete home renovations involving drywall installation, painting, cabinet installation, flooring installation, bathroom remodeling and any aspect of residential or commercial electrical installations.  

    Angi Certified

    The Painterman and Son LLC

    We provide interior and exterior painting services in Brevard County. Drywall repair is available for preparation of interior painting surfaces. Experience, quality, and excellent customer service set us apart from the rest. We always show up and we complete the job to your satisfaction. The Painterman and Son is a family owned and operated business with 35 years of experience in drywall repair and painting. While we are a new business to the area, we look forward to serving the Brevard County community with pride.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Keith Sherman Painting LLC

    RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL PAINTING All phases of property maintenance and repair. Providing 25+ years of painting and handyman services. Local, Licensed & Insured. -Call today for a free quote 321-626-0630!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Drone survey and photo services Home Repair/Restoration, Marine Repair/Restoration, Plumbing, Painting, Electrical, Carpentery... Don't hesitate to ask.

    Services Not Offered

    General contracting

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Mermaid Engineering

    How is Mermaid Engineering overall rated?

    Mermaid Engineering is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Mermaid Engineering open?

    Mermaid Engineering is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Mermaid Engineering provide

    Mermaid Engineering accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does Mermaid Engineering offer free estimates?

    Yes, Mermaid Engineering offers free project estimates.

    Does Mermaid Engineering offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Mermaid Engineering offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Mermaid Engineering offer emergency services?

    Yes, Mermaid Engineering offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Mermaid Engineering?

    No, Mermaid Engineering does not offer warranties.

    What services does Mermaid Engineering offer?

    Mermaid Engineering offers the following services: Drone survey and photo services Home Repair/Restoration, Marine Repair/Restoration, Plumbing, Painting, Electrical, Carpentery... Don't hesitate to ask.

    Are there any services Mermaid Engineering does not offer?

    General contracting