Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

K&Y Carpet One Floor & Home

Founded 1961 • With Angi since August 2010

We provide and professionally install our premium products. We do not provide installation services for products we do not sell. Same ownership over 59 years, serving Brevard County since 1961. Financing available, checks and credit cards accepted. Karastan Gallery dealer and member of Carpet One co-op, monthly sales and promotions from all manufacturers.

Business Highlights

Wears MaskWears Mask

Verified Reviews

4.8

(52) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 52 reviews
Fred G.
5.0
01/12/2019
Jim at K&Y was great in showing me the options and pricing out the job. I had snowbirds coming so the project needed to be completed on time. The demo guys showed up right on schedule and did a great job in removing old flooring, but more importantly, they ground down the concrete so the floor we level. The installation of porcelein tile took about 3 days, and was professionally done. The only reason that I did not give "straight A's" was because I didn't get other quotes, so I don't know if the price was reasonable. I trusted Jim and the Angie's List ratings. As far as professionalism, the installation was professional and the installer was a hard worker.
Description of Work
Remove old carpeting and vinyl floor covering and replace with tile throughout the house.
Category
flooring contractor
William W.
5.0
01/01/2018
We paid an all-inclusive price for removal of the old carpeting and pad, new carpeting, pad and installation. Also included was moving of the furniture in both bedrooms and closets. My son and I were able to move all the furniture before the installers came, so they called movers to come help us put our gigantic king-size bedroom set back together. The installers and movers were top notch, and took their time to make sure everything was right before leaving. K&Y called about a month later to make sure all was well and wanted to know how we liked the carpeting.
Description of Work
Carpeting in two bedrooms...
Category
carpet installation, closet systems, flooring contractor
Lucy G.
5.0
12/05/2017
Very pleased with the service - prompt, pleasant, professional and exactly what we wanted.
Description of Work
Window treatments for several rooms.
Category
window treatments

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for your review! We're glad you are enjoying your Hunter Douglas Luminettes, Silhouettes & Everwood window treatments. I'm sure they showcase your beautiful home and views. We look forward to working with you on your next project! Kind regards, Lisa Kershaw
Karl S.
5.0
06/08/2017
Great job installing a sprawling layout of high-quality porcelain wood-look tile. Very professional installers, started and finished on time. Well done!
Description of Work
Replacement of 2400 sq ft of carpet with porcelain tile.
Category
ceramic tile, flooring contractor
Karl S.
5.0
06/06/2017
Jim and Lisa provided excellent service throughout. Jim arranged for an estimator who accurately measured for the job, and fully explained the installation process. Lisa helped us select the perfect wood-look tile and saved us money by finding a high quality US supplier. When we closed on our house Jim had the team ready to start the same day! Installers Dave and Billy expertly laid the tile which included many irregular cuts around our custom closet shelving. They completed the work on schedule to support the arrival of our household goods shipment. We couldn't be more pleased with the results and would definitely recommend this outstanding company!
Description of Work
Replacement of 1800 sq ft of carpet with porcelain tile floor.
Category
ceramic tile, flooring contractor
Franklin Y.
5.0
05/24/2017
It was a good job, they did a good job. Everything was good.
Description of Work
.
Category
carpet installation

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! We're glad you are enjoying your new carpet. Please let us know if we can be of assistance with anything.
james C.
1.0
01/20/2017
The installer made three seams in the living room and did a very poor job making the seams. K&Y Carpet one said it would get better with time, it got way worse. Also the new carpet had what looked like a bubble about 12 inches in diameter wide. They sent a guy out to look at the bubble, he used a hammer to help reduce the size. Got somewhat smaller but still no good. After spending 5,200.00 dollars on the carpet we then after about one and half years ripped it up and went with the new tile that looks like wood. We are very happy now. We DID NOT use K&Y Carpet one for the tile.
Description of Work
installation of carpet
Category
carpet installation

Service Provider Response

We are sorry that we were not able to make you happy with your carpet selection. Some styles and fibers are better at hiding seams and foot prints than others. You have a very directional light source (sliding door) that is the most unforgiving. You did not communicate your concerns other than restretching. We have various ways of dealing with this issue including The Beautiful Guarantee from Carpet One. If you are unhappy with your carpet for any reason (color choice, style etc), Carpet One will replace it for free, including labor. Your product was a Karastan and they offer a similar program on the carpet (no labor). These programs must be initiated within 90 days of purchase. K & Y Carpet One also wants you to be happy and we are sorry that you did not give us the opportunity to help.
Robert S.
5.0
10/28/2016
Lisa was a great source of info and guided us towards the perfect carpet and padding for our bedroom. Installation was professional and carpet looks fantastic. We will be using K&Y again for our other bedroom carpet replacement.
Description of Work
Carpet install master BR.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the review! We're glad that you loved working with us and came back for the next project. Our repeat customers are why we are here for 55 years!
Jenna C.
5.0
09/06/2016
Two years ago we had K&Y put new carpet throughout our house. I loved their selection, the experienced opinions, and the installation was quick and professional. The price was very reasonable for the high quality carpet we bought and there were no hidden fees - the bottom line price was what I paid, not a penny more. Two years later, a few buckles had developed as the carpet acclimated to our house and true to their word, K&Y treated my issues with priority and quickly returned to fix the problem, free of charge. I couldn't be more satisfied. I highly recommend K&Y Carpet One Floor and Home!
Description of Work
New carpet throughout house.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your kind words! We like to keep it simple and provide the best product for your budget with an easy price system. Thanks for your understanding about "carpet restretches". Now that carpet is being made with more recycled content in the backing systems, it does react more to moisture than it used to. Please let us know if you have any questions! Kind regards, Lisa Kershaw K & Y Carpet One 321-725-0021 Phone
Laura S.
5.0
07/20/2016
K&Y has a fabulous selection of carpet that is very reasonably priced. All staff - store manager, owner (who did the measuring), warehouse manager, and installer were a delight to work with. The carpet looks beautiful! I would highly recommend K&Y!
Description of Work
Re carpet three bedrooms and one den; manufacture a bound area rug for tiled living room
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much! We love our customers!
Kenneth A.
5.0
04/15/2016
Good experience from start to finish. It was a large job and everything went well. Their installation crews were punctual and did an excellent job; from tile, to laminate, to carpeting. Would certainly recommend them.
Description of Work
Installed flooring throughout entire house.
Category
carpet installation, ceramic tile, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing K & Y Carpet One Floor & Home. You and your wife made beautiful flooring selections and we're glad everything went smoothly; moving is stressful enough!
Barbara B.
5.0
10/20/2015
From the first time I visited the store at K & Y Carpet One the experience was a very positive one. They were always very professional, helpful and went out of their way to insure we got the flooring we had been looking for. The installers were very punctual and extremely professional and worked very efficiently. I am more than happy with the end result and would highly recommend their services.
Description of Work
Removed carpet from master bedroom and replaced with laminate flooring.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review! We're glad your floor makes you happy. Please let us know how we can serve you in the future.
Susan H.
5.0
09/14/2015
Visited the showroom and met Lisa who helped us pick out tile and coordinating carpet. We mentioned we saw favorable reviews on Angies List and that is how we picked them out. Very knowledgeable about the products they sell. Suggested different looks such as laminated floor and the newest products available. We picked out a Porcelain tile for living room, family room, master bed and bath, hallway to back bedrooms and Karastan carpet for the two smaller bedrooms. Jim K. set up an appointment to come to the home and measure and give us an estimate. It was within a couple of days. When he came out, he did the measuring and gave us some great suggestions on tile placement and blending the new tile in with the existing white tile already installed in our kitchen/dining area which we were not replacing. Also we asked for names of recommended plumbers and grout cleaners (for older tile not being replaced). The installation was scheduled for a month away which was ok as I had a lot of packing up and clearing the floor in closets before they started. They gave me a list of what they will not move such as loaded bookcases, computers, china cabinets, disconnect electronics (TV's, cable etc.) Also to clean out closet areas of anything on the floor or hanging to the floor. As we were having pretty much the whole house except the kitchen, one bathroom, it was a lot of packing up for me to do before they came. The Friday before the scheduled Monday installation, the scheduler called and had to move it back to Wednesday. Which we were told might happen due to previous projects running late. I did not realize how big a project it was going to be until a few hours into the first day removing the furniture and the old carpeting. I decided to take my 2 little dogs and go to Orlando to stay with my daughter while the work was being done leaving my husband at the house. It was a construction site, with tile being removed in a couple of areas, old carpeting in the rest of the areas. We had to call a plumber to remove a toilet in the master bath prior to the tile being set. The installers were professional and polite and tried to keep the mess to a minimum. The installation took a bit longer (6 days) than I was told (4 days) however with a weekend interfering mid way in the job. We contacted the owner to see if it could be speeded up a bit as only one installer was working the first few days. Another installer showed up the next day to help and the tile job was completed the following Wednesday. The carpet crew came the following day to remove/install the new carpet in the 2 bedrooms. I would highly recommend this company and its professional installers. They were very easy to work with and did a beautiful job. From the beginning to the finish, everyone involved was top notch qualified to do their job. We are very happy with the way the tile looks and the beauty it has brought to our home. Before we paid the final bill, we asked the company how to apply our $100 Angies List coupon to the total, which we printed out and deducted from check. Thank you Angies list for saving us $100!
Description of Work
Remove some tiled and carpeted areas, install new tile and carpet.
Category
carpet installation, ceramic tile, flooring contractor, floor cleaning

Service Provider Response

Wow, what a great review! We appreciate your feedback. We have been improving our "demo" processes constantly so it can be less disruptive. You're right, a whole house project is a construction site and it will take some time. The good thing is when it's over you've got beautiful tile floors that will last forever!
Veda M.
5.0
06/24/2015
My experience with K&Y Carpet One was outstanding from the first visit to the store. The salesperson, Lisa, was extremely helpful and very low key. It took me while to decide on the carpet and the company because I was having tile replaced when I started looking. At one visit, Lisa offered samples for me to take home but I was going out of town and did not want to keep the samples that long so she offered to order three color samples sent to my home so they would be there when I returned. The samples arrived and were a nice size to study. I chose to get one other company out to measure and give an estimate and then had K&Y's owner Jim come out and do the same. K&Y's estimate was for much less carpet and over $1000 less for essentially the same type of carpet with a comparable warranty. I ordered the carpet and the installation manager called and set a date. The installers, Lee and John, were here right on time and installed all the rooms in one day. I had thought it would take two days and told them that they did not have to do it all in one day but they wanted to do it and it worked out very well for everyone. The men were polite and friendly and worked very hard removing the old carpet and replacing it with new pad and carpet. I could not be more pleased with the company and the new carpet.
Description of Work
Installed carpet in six rooms.
Category
carpet installation, ceramic tile, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review. We're here to help; please let us know if you need anything in the future!
Cynthia T.
5.0
02/15/2015
Sales personnel were very helpful in choosing the product. They were insistent that the floor be completely dry before installing and provided a loaner de-humidifier. My 45-year old terrazzo apparently had absorbed considerable water; took weeks and ultimately I had to purchase a much more expensive glue product for the installation. The installation was very well done with professional installers.
Description of Work
Sold/installed hardwood floor after removal of existing damaged hardwood.
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review. We see alot of water related problems in our area. It is very important to do everything we can to minimize water issues with hardwood.
Janet W.
5.0
12/15/2014
Really outstanding. Assisted me in selection and then came to the house to help with sizing and shape.
Description of Work
Area carpets
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you! We love our area rug clients! We're getting new rugs and carpets to fabricate custom rugs all the time.
Lee H.
5.0
11/17/2014
Excellent; top line carpet, affordably-priced. Delivered and installed on schedule, with a heads-up call when on the way. Installers were fast, efficient, pleasant. As a side note, I am a State-Certified General Contractor who has done over 10,000 documented home inspections, and I use K and Y. 'Nuff said.
Description of Work
Carpeted master bedroom, 2 closets.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review and confidence in our firm. Please let us know how to serve you in the future.
Candyce W.
5.0
11/17/2014
From the first time my husband and I walked into Carpet One's showroom through to receiving our credit card receipt, we have had nothing but excellent service. Everyone was very knowledgeable, professional and courteous. Jim came to measure the rooms and after we chose which carpet we wanted we were provided with the total cost, including installation, furniture moving, sales tax, padding and warranty. There were no hidden "surprises". We even had a $100.00 coupon from Angie's List. The installers were very prompt and the job was completed in one day. We paid by credit card, half up front and the balance over the phone after the fact. Our receipts were received within a day or two. We are extremely happy with our new carpeting and will definitely use Carpet One when we replace the rest of the carpet in our home.
Description of Work
Installed carpeting in family room and master suite.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your review! We love our returning customers, please let us know if we can serve you in the future.
Donna & Larry F.
5.0
09/02/2014
They do a remarkable job. The service is great and their professionalism is outstanding.
Description of Work
They installed carpet in our master bedroom and two closets.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
Konrad S.
5.0
08/19/2014
Once the work got started it went very well
Description of Work
Replace floor in kitchen and family room
Category
flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. You're right, tile projects do take some time. Your beautiful tile will last forever so it needs to be done right.
Karen D.
5.0
08/04/2014
From the minute we walked in the store we got personal attention and service. Jim offered good suggestions and options to keep the cost within the budget. He came to the house and measured, then answered our questions and suggested how to facilitate the installation. The carpet was ready within the promised time but we had house guests and so K&Y delayed installation (and stored the carpet for seven rooms) to accommodate our needs. The men who installed the carpet were punctual, efficient, friendly, neat and skilled. They removed the old carpet, vacuumed, sprayed an antimicrobial on the cement slab, laid the pads, installed the carpet then replaced all the furniture. We felt the whole experience was very positive and will choose K&Y for future flooring needs.
Description of Work
Installed carpeting in seven rooms of home.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Wow, we're humbled by your kind review. It's great clients like you that keep our business growing for 56 years.
James S.
5.0
07/02/2014
Jim Katehakis was professional, friendly and punctual. His installers, Rich and Bill, were likewise however I was most impressed by their work ethic. They worked steadily throughout the day, taking ONLY a brief lunch break. In this time of coffee breaks, smoking breaks and telephone breaks, that is noteworthy!
Description of Work
Installed porcelain flooring.
Category
ceramic tile, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your kind comments. We appreciate your business and friendship. Maybe we'll see you on the beach for turtle hatching!
Nickie D.
5.0
02/25/2014
I thought they were really thorough because they measured, they helped me come up with the cheapest way of doing it. They showed me two ways that I could do it, one way was cheaper than the other. They suggested the less expensive one. They were on time, the two guys that installed it were terrific. They moved all the furniture, I didn't have to move it. I was very happy with them.
Description of Work
K&Y Carpet One Floor & Home removed old carpet and installed a new one.
Category
carpet installation, floor cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
Scott K.
5.0
02/22/2014
After horrible experiences with two other LARGE carpet companies (just in the quoting process!), I called Jim at K&Y. He came right over, measured, discussed several options, and gave us a ball-park figure. We liked Jim right away for his personality, but his design input and knowledge of materials was invaluable and added great value! I guess our building shrunk right before Jim arrived, because he measured about 15% less square footage that the other two companies had...go figure! We then proceeded to change our minds on color, pattern, and even manufacturer about a hundred times...Jim and the K&Y team were patient and supportive through the whole process! When we finally committed, K&Y gave realistic time frames for delivery and installation. Those estimates were dead on! Carpeting was just one facet of our renovation--we had interior demo/construction, electrical, stage lighting and painting going on at the same time. An inspection delay caused me to have to postpone carpet install with only two days' notice... K&Y's installers handled the reschedule graciously and professionally. Once the install was underway and about half done, it was discovered the manufacturer had shipped some mis-labeled product that was slightly different. This error would likely have us running Sunday services for 700 people with a half-carpeted/half bare concrete floor, except that the K&Y team offered to put it all down, then come back and replace when correct shipment arrived. It was an above-and-beyond solution to a problem that was not even their fault. Simply put, K&Y was awesome from start to finish. I highly recommend K&Y, and they will be my first call when I need flooring for my home remodel.
Description of Work
Removed old and install new carpet squares in sanctuary and all adjoining hallways of our church (6000 sq ft)
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

What a humbling, extensive review! Thank you so much! We always try to accomodate our customers' needs and when it's an organization like yours there is more than flooring going on. Please let us know how we can serve you in the future.
carl K.
5.0
11/25/2013
Went extremely well. The price of the new tile was reasonable. They came in and moved all the furniture, took out the old tile and installed the new tile. The crew then replaced the furniture. The project was well orchestrated and went as planned and within the time frame promised. Each day the crew left there was a complete clean up of the work space. I could not be happier with the product sold, the work provided and the professionalism of the crew. Will never use anyone else for a project like this.
Description of Work
Removed old tile and replaced with new
Category
ceramic tile, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review! Tile projects like yours have become our big specialty. We're happy that you love your floor. Please keep us in mind for your area rug & window treatment projects in the future.

Other local Pros in your area

Steamboat Carpet Cleaning

We use all truck mounted equipment. We clean carpet, upholstery, tile & grout. All of our crews are well trained and in uniform. We do background checks on all of our employees  

Angi Certified

Frank Leiro

We offer quality and affordable custom window treatments. Hand crafted locally. No middle man. Master craftsman 34 years experience. We build and install custom plantation shutters and blinds. We can do what others won’t. We do installations and repairs. Custom valances, custom for French doors and sliders any size.  

Angi Certified

Mmfinishes tile

installation of ceramic tile on floors and walls.  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Phone

Address

699 S Apollo Blvd

Melbourne, FL 32901

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Remnants, Installation of Other's Materials

Payment options

American Express
Check
Discover
MasterCard
Visa
Financing Available
Licensed
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Healthier Living Installation, UVC Germicidal Bulb Sanitizing Station.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

FAQ

K&Y Carpet One Floor & Home is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

K&Y Carpet One Floor & Home is open:

Monday: 10:00 AM - 5:30 AM

Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Thursday: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Friday: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Saturday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

K&Y Carpet One Floor & Home accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Financing Available

No, K&Y Carpet One Floor & Home does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, K&Y Carpet One Floor & Home offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, K&Y Carpet One Floor & Home offers warranties.

K&Y Carpet One Floor & Home offers the following services: Flooring with full service Installation - Carpet, Hardwood, Porcelain Tile, Luxury Vinyl & Laminate. Window Treatments, Area Rugs & Custom Rug Fabrication.