Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A Sun State Trees Inc

Founded 1987 • With Angi since December 2011

4.2

(177) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1580 S US Highway 17 92

Longwood, FL 32750

Description

A Sun State Trees, Inc. is the leader in Emergency Tree Removals. Sun State Trees Service, Inc. has been providing professional tree service for over 30 years. We're offering low prices on tree trimmings and removals. Call for a Free Estimate and have our experienced salesperson give you quote to

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Krassimira K.
5.0
12/16/2020
…. Continue from my post on 12/13/2020. The contracted A Sun State Tree, Inc came back and remove five (5) Ground Stumps on 12/15/2020 and completed and finished the work. Very professional job. Thank you!
Description of Work
Stumps grinding
Category
excavators, tree service
Tobie S.
5.0
10/15/2020
Bravo Sun State Tree service!!! Alejandro and his team came right after Hurricane Sally. They were able to remove 20 trees at my home without a hitch. Then they came to my business and removed a massive oak tree ready to fall off the bluff onto a neighboring business and possibly ripping up our building with the root ball. They trimmed two other 100 year old oaks and made them look beautiful! These guys are high quality, honest and hard working, they will get the job done and relieve the stress of tree destruction. Give Alejandro a call if you have any tree removal or pruning issues. You won't be disappointed!!!
Description of Work
Trees removed and pruning
Category
firewood, hauling services, tree service, delivery service
ROBERT C.
1.0
08/22/2020
On Monday August 17 2020 a very large water oak that was in my backyard that had been hit by lightning split and the top came crashing down. At that point I needed to get the rest of the tree cust down asap as a very large branch was remaining over my house. I had used A Sun State Tree previously to remove several large water oaks in my front yard and had a very good experience with them then. So I called them first. A sales consultant Kevin was out within an hour and gave me an estimate of 2500 to "remove" it as was written on the contract. I agreed and signed the contract. They had a crew out within two hours at about 3PM in the afternoon. They quickly went to work and cleaned up debris, cut off the large limbs over my house etc. Shortly before 5 Kevin asked if I could give them payment. Normally I would not pay for a service until complete but due to my good past experiences I said ok and gave him payment. The crew cut down the rest of th tree that was standing (leaving it in my yard)and said they would be back tomoorrow to cut it up and get the rest of the debris. The next Day no one showed up in the morning and I called and was told they would be there that afternoon. The following day the same thing and when I called I was assured someone would be there that afternoon. No one showed. This went on for two more days same thing. I called Kevin in the afternoon the 4th day who did not answer and I left a message and he never returned my call. I then went to the interent and saw lots of reports from people saying they did not complete work. in my case the crew was here a little over 2 hours cut down the rest of the tree (leaving it in my yard) and took only a third of the debris. They left a pile of logs on my front lawn near the road I had to remove at this point so my grass did not get killed. I have never had such a bad experience with a service of any kind. The office lies everyday that they will be out and the sales consultant Kevin stopped answering my calls and does not respond to messages left.
Description of Work
A tree removed
Category
landscaping, lawn service, tree service
Diane D.
5.0
05/10/2020
Very professional job, they were prompt, and cleaned up all debrie.
Description of Work
trimmed palm trees
Category
tree service
Jessica F.
1.0
04/14/2020
Horrible service and communication. We contracted this company to remove a tree and the stump, they came and removed the tree, got paid that same day for both services and never came back to remove the stump. After several phone calls, I found out that their small stump grinder that fits in my yard was broken and the employee informed that has been damaged for months meaning that they took the job knowing they will not going to be able to complete it. After so many frustrating phone calls with no results, I ended up paying another company to remove the stump. If you dare to use this company make sure they have everything they need to finish the job before you pay them, you will not get a refund and they will not return your phone calls.
Description of Work
Stump removal
Category
tree service
Jim R.
1.0
12/02/2019
Job was incomplete. Limbs near power lines quoted but not removed. Calls, emails and visited ASTS but no callbacks, no return to work. Filed small claims and sent summons to their Registered Agent through Seminole County Sheriff Office, returned undelivered as no such person no such address. I'll never recommend them.
Description of Work
tree trimming
Category
tree service
David E.
5.0
07/19/2019
Their service was professional and affordable. They performed all work as expected and in a reasonable amount of time. I have used two other tree services in the past and A Sun State ranks the highest of the three.
Description of Work
Debris from a large fallen Laurel Oak tree was removed and the stump was ground. Had numerous surrounding trees in the yard pruned as well.
Category
tree service
Jorge G.
4.0
06/03/2019
First of all price was outstanding, appointments not kept and no communication to let me know what was going on. Crew to cut down tree was great, within minutes the tree was down and hauled away. Clean job and crew was very professional. My sales rep went on vacation and no one followed up with the stump grinding. Price and work were worth it but please work on communications. 35
Description of Work
Tall palm tree removed and grind stump.
Category
tree service
ROBERT B.
1.0
05/09/2019
I called A Sun State Trees, Inc. to try to get someone to come out to our home to give us an estimate on removing one oak tree that is dead and trimming another oak before hurricane season begins in June. I initially spoke with Kevin and he wanted to come out the day of my call but I could not leave work to meet him at my home to show him what I wanted done. He told me that he would be unavailable the next day or so because he would be on a job. That is understandable. He told me that someone else would get with me about the estimate. Another gentleman called (whose name I cannot recall) and we talked about his coming to my home when I wasn't there to look at the job. Even though I was reluctant to do things that way, I told him that my wife would be there and that she could show him the two trees I wanted cared for. This representative told me that he would send me an e-mail message or text message telling me what he thought the job would cost. I never received an e-mail or text message with that information. So, I don't know where we stand with A Sun State Trees, Inc. If they are too busy to take on my job or think the job site is too far away or whatever the problem is, why don't they communicate? To me, this is not good business practice.
Description of Work
No service was provided
Category
tree service
Barry W.
5.0
10/17/2018
They were very polite, quick and efficient. Cleanup outstanding. Their price a little high for what was done.
Description of Work
Trim trees away from home.
Category
tree service
Steve K.
5.0
09/21/2018
Excellent the workers were very skilled and efficient all went well The asked me to give the ok before they did any cutting to ensure that they understood my expectations They cleaned up all leaf and branch parts They worked as a team
Description of Work
Topped 1/3rd of 4large trees next to my house
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

We certainly appreciate your business and look forward to servicing you in the future. Jennifer
Mauri H.
2.0
06/20/2018
The crew was very nice and did a good job. However, they did not finish the work. I was told they would need to come back out with the lift to fish trimming the tree limbs that were higher up. I called the sales rep and the office several times only to get the run around or no answer at all. Each time I called about the status of them completing the work I was told someone would get back to me. No one ever did
Description of Work
tree removal and tree trim
Category
tree service
karen K.
2.0
03/05/2018
4 months after starting the job there still is no completion of the work. Broke sprinklers, ruined grass, nothing done in a timely matter and The WORST communication skills I have ever experienced.
Description of Work
Tree removal, stump,grinding
Category
tree service
James C.
3.0
02/06/2018
The job began well. Despite being busy due to hurricane season the estimator arrived within a week and on time. He was freindly and knowledgeable. The price was reasonable based on the timing of the job as there was a high demand for tree cutting services. The initial part of the job was satisfactory the work began on time and the cutting and removal was done professionally. Getting the stumps taken care of was another story. It took almost a month to return and finish the job despite several calls inquiring about finishing the job. Two of my calls were not returned. When the stumps were finally taken care of I was satisfied with the work.
Description of Work
Cut down 3 large pine trees - one 65' tall - haul away limbs trunks and grind the stumps.
Category
tree service
monica C.
1.0
12/23/2017
I CAN NOT believe the horrendous treatment I've received by this company. If I could give them a 0 I would. I signed a contract on 12/7/17 for them to remove 3 trees, trim back another, stump grind all three tree, then completely rake the entire back yard and haul the debris and stump grinding away. I explicitly explained that I had just been release from the hospital with a severe kidney infection as well as pneumonia. I CAN NOT do this work myself. As of my last phone call to their company and speaking with "Dee" on 12/19/17, she PROMISED me she would follow up on everything and get back with me. NOTHING. I called Kevin/the salesperson for the umpteenth time on 12/20/17, he PROMISED the job would be finished by end of business today. NOTHING. This is an absolutely HORRENDOUS way to run a business and has hindered my recovery process greatly. You should be completely and utterly ashamed of yourselves for doing this to anyone, let alone a sick 60 year old woman.
Description of Work
I CAN NOT believe the horrendous treatment I've received by this company. If I could give them a 0 I would. I signed a contract on 12/7/17 for them to remove 3 trees, trim back another, stump grind all three tree, then completely rake the entire back yard and haul the debris and stump grinding away. I explicitly explained that I had just been release from the hospital with a severe kidney infection as well as pneumonia. I CAN NOT do this work myself. As of my last phone call to their company and speaking with "Dee" on 12/19/17, she PROMISED me she would follow up on everything and get back with me. NOTHING. I called Kevin/the salesperson for the umpteenth time on 12/20/17, he PROMISED the job would be finished by end of business today. NOTHING. This is an absolutely HORRENDOUS way to run a business and has hindered my recovery process greatly. You should be completely and utterly ashamed of yourselves for doing this to anyone, let alone a sick 60 year old woman.
Category
hauling services, lawn service, tree service
Ellen P.
5.0
12/18/2017
Great, Angelo came out for the estimate, he was pleasant and professional.
Description of Work
Three trees needed trimming, one of which was damaged in the hurricane.
Category
tree service
Steven C.
5.0
11/16/2017
The Project Manager Angelo was very helpful in determining my needs and coordinating the efforts at a reasonable price and time scheduling. The 6 man crew arrived on time and with fantastic equipment and worked hard to complete the job and we're very concerned about my satisfaction with their efforts. Sunstate Tree are friendly, reliable and very customer focused service provider. I am delighted with their company.
Description of Work
Numerous trees needed comprehensive trimming and a couple needed to be cut down
Category
tree service
Jennifer B.
2.0
10/26/2017
My husband spoke with the company on a Thursday and stated that we required notification/phone call on the day of service so that he could be there. The company representative stated that she didn't think it would happen until Saturday. I arrived home on Friday afternoon to find a crew of men in my driveway and standing in landscaping beds trampling mature landscaping, a lift truck driven into and on top of the landscaping (instead of simply raising the lift), and the limbs of the tree gone as well as large swaths of a 10 foot hedge, through which cut limbs had been dropped instead of roped. I called my husband to come home and he arrived in 5 minutes. In his conversation with the foreman, he learned that the crew had actually entered OUR backyard (different address than the contract) in order to remove OUR trees. Fortunately, they deemed the project too difficult to start with and did not remove our backyard trees. My husband spoke with the owner and asked him to come look at the damages and that he would need to make it right or make an insurance claim. The owner stated he would come out the following day. Five weeks and several phone calls later we still have not had anyone return our calls.
Description of Work
After the hurricane, my next door neighbor contracted with Sun State to remove two trees in his back yard. For the large oak tree on our property, which overhung his, he was given an estimate for the limbs overhanging on his side as well as an estimate for removing the entire tree, in case we wanted to go that route. We had used Sun State in the past for tree work with good results.
Category
tree service
Katherine N.
3.0
09/27/2017
Tree trimming was good. Everything else, not so much.
Description of Work
I have some trees that were taken down in my back yard, and asked Sun State to come and chop up the branches so I could burn in my fire pit. I also asked for some tree branches to be trimmed. The techs that showed up told me that they could not cut the branches up on the ground because the sand would damage their saws. I can understand that. They did trim up the tree branches that I asked, but dropped one of the branches on my shed and crushed in the corner of the roof. I understand this happens, but my problem is that out of all the techs that were there not one of them bothered to tell me what happened and my husband and I were available were available to speak too. I know Sun State has insurance, but it is a shed and I did not notice the damage until a couple of days later.
Category
tree service
Gerri M.
1.0
09/19/2017
It did not go well as he hung up on me. Is that any way to run a business. An estimate is just that and a customer is not obligated to take it just as a company may exceed the estimate. I will never call them again as there are many more business like and courteous companies You can take them off angies list as far as I'm concerned
Description of Work
Having been a long time customer, I could not get a return call (it was after Irma). Finally I got Chris (the owner) to call me and he was very rude because at some time I had not taken him up on his estimate, completely disregarding the fact that I have used them many times over the 50 years I have lived in Maitland. AND he hung up on me.
Category
hauling services, tree service
Collin J.
1.0
09/16/2017
Angelo scheduled my $2000 tree service a week before Irma. Checked with him all week to make sure everything was on schedule. Kept getting the "should be but when it gets closer we will know more" . They never showed up and office has no clue what is going on. Feel like the company blew me off to go price gouge on people due to hurricane. Angelo if typical used car salesman looking for his bottom line. Nothing but lies from this company. Please steer clear.
Description of Work
Tree removal and trimming
Category
tree service
Kevin S.
1.0
09/15/2017
Kevin was dishonest, insulting and bad news. Did not do work as promised.
Description of Work
Poor work, asked for more money half way through job. Kevin (salesman-estimator) is trouble and dishonest. Stay away- butchered trees, very expensive.
Category
tree service
Jose or Maria H.
5.0
08/15/2017
I give them an A overall. They were very professional and did what I wanted them to do. Also an A (on price) because we compared them with a couple of other places that wanted to charge us more. An A across the board.
Description of Work
They trimmed our trees.
Category
tree service
Mary V.
1.0
07/17/2017
I called on a Friday and the salesman was scheduled to come out at 10:30 the next morning. He was a no show.....I called on Monday and was informed there was a new "young" person that didn't write it down in the salesman's book. The person I was talking to said that she would have a salesman out the next day, Tuesday. You can guess what happened at that point, yes, a no show again. The fun part of all of this is that I got a call from the salesman on this Saturday stating that he was on his way for our 11:00 a.m. appointment. I did not have an appointment with him, no idea why he was coming to the house. Told him my dealings with this company and that even if he showed up this time I would be very leery about this company actually showing up to do the tree trimming. I have since scheduled to have the tree trimmed by a professional tree trimmer that actually showed up for our appointment on time-on the first try.
Description of Work
I have a tree that needs to be trimmed back, and part of a hedge.
Category
tree service
Marla L.
4.0
07/10/2017
Went ok but did not come back in 72 hours to grind stumps as was told to us and also on receipt
Description of Work
Remove 2pa trees
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for your feedback. We most certainly try to abide by the 72 hour time frame for stumps. Unfortunately, with the rain off and on we have fallen behind a day or so on stump grinding. I did pull you ticket and it shows the stumps were completed. We do thank you for your business.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Unique Moving Services

    We have been in the moving industry for over 20 years. Our trucks are padded down for extra protection. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! We offer free estimates. Family owed business. WE ONLY OPERATE WITHIN THE STATE OF FLORIDA  

    Angi Certified

    Ravan Moving and Storage

    We specialize in local and long distance moving. We offer a 10% Veterans discount and a 5% Senior discount. We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    MOVE IT ALL

    Get the movers for Disney, the Orlando Museum of Arts, ADVENT HEALTH, and the NAVY at rates below our competitors which we check weekly! We are FULL-SERVICE packers and movers. We know how valuable your possessions are. That is why we guarantee our services so you can rest easy knowing your personal items are in the hands of professionals. We use state-of-the-art moving equipment and are fully insured. We are a Christian company and pride ourselves on having honest pricing, just a $100 deposit (which comes off your first bill,) a flat fee plus GPS drive time. You trusted local, long distance commercial and residential pro movers. Call now to reserve your spot! It would be our great pleasure to serve you.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Check
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Tree trimming & removal, firewood, irrigation, landscape, brick pavers installation, sod express, & storm clean-up.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A Sun State Trees Inc

    How is A Sun State Trees Inc overall rated?

    A Sun State Trees Inc is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are A Sun State Trees Inc open?

    A Sun State Trees Inc is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does A Sun State Trees Inc provide

    A Sun State Trees Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Check

    Does A Sun State Trees Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, A Sun State Trees Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does A Sun State Trees Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, A Sun State Trees Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A Sun State Trees Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, A Sun State Trees Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by A Sun State Trees Inc?

    No, A Sun State Trees Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does A Sun State Trees Inc offer?

    A Sun State Trees Inc offers the following services: Tree trimming & removal, firewood, irrigation, landscape, brick pavers installation, sod express, & storm clean-up.