Eurex Shutters

About

Founded 1986 • With Angi since March 2008

Eurex Shutters is SW Florida's oldest Shutter and Security business, being locally owned and manufactured since 1986. We pride ourselves on being a family run business, where our customer's peace of mind comes first. Eurex Shutters is South West Florida’s leader in Storm and Security Protection. From Roll-Down Shutters, to replacing your outdated windows and doors with new energy efficient impact windows, Eurex can handle all your needs. Locally owned for over 30 Years, Eurex Shutters prides itself on offering customers peace of mind. With our 20,000 square foot facility located locally in Lehigh Acres, we are able to offer our customers a quality, locally manufactured hurricane protection product that is installed by members of our local community. Here at Eurex Shutters, customers are our number one priority. With over 25,000 satisfied customers in Southwest Florida, Eurex Shutters is the industry leader in hurricane protection. We stand by the fact that we are the oldest locally owned firm, and strive to stay ahead of the technology curve, offering our customers the newest in protection innovation. Please call us for a FREE Estimate, and remember EUREX PROTECTS! Additional phone - 1-800-226-0026. Additional DBA - Eurex Corporation....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

Lanai Roll-Down Shutter

+8 more images

Verified Reviews

4.5

(26) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

21

4

1

3

0

2

1

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.5

Punctuality

4.6

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.4

Read reviews by category

hurricane shutters (23)window replacement (7)window treatment (1)
Showing 1-25 of 26 reviews
5.0

08/19/2022


Karen S.

Amazing company. I couldn’t be happier with my accordion shutters. The company is knowledgeable, professional and honest. Eurex provided my the best option for Hurricane protection and ease of use for my home. Great company with many years of experience and their prices can’t be beat.

Description of Work
Hurricane Shutters

Category hurricane shutters

Cost $4,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/19/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind words! And thank you for your patience with the installation. Its refreshing to have great customers, and we look forward to protecting you for many years to come! Tommy Tessner Vice President

5.0

02/15/2022


Betty O.

We are very pleased with Eurex. They are efficient, courteous, neat and professional. We have used Eurex several times, upgrading our shutters each time. They always do excellent work and their prices are very good, and they are so nice.

Description of Work
Installation of Hurricane Shutters

Category hurricane shutters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/16/2022

Service Provider Response

It has always been a pleasure working with you and your husband and I’m glad you’ve chosen us to work with you on numerous occasions. We look forward to continuing to protect you for many years to come. Tommy Tessner Vice President

5.0

02/15/2022


Denis R.

Excellent product and installation.

Description of Work
Hurricane Shutters on multiple homes

Category hurricane shutters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/15/2022

Service Provider Response

It’s been a pleasure working with you and your wife, and thank you so much for all the wonderful referrals. We look forward to protecting you for many years to come! Tommy Tessner Vice President

5.0

02/15/2022


Deborah O.

The installations were great. Eurex is very responsible and responsive. They always show up as promised, do a thorough job, and willingly answer any and all questions. We have used them on two homes and would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Eurex installed rolling shutters on two of our homes.

Category hurricane shutters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/12/2022

Service Provider Response

It has been a pleasure working with you and your husband on your projects, and we look forward to serving you for many more years to come. Thank you Tommy Tessner Vice Preisdent, Eurex Shutters

1.0

12/20/2020


Mike O.

I contracted for three motorized roll downs and one accordion shutter. They provided a detailed estimated which is why I went with them. The rest of the process was very unprofessional. Scheduling - After several attempts to install the shutters, they rescheduled me for Labor Day. About 2:00 I called the owner and asked if his crew was going to visit my house. He said I was going to call you tomorrow and reschedule. I said I deserved a call the day of service and it’s very unprofessional to call a customer the day after the service was supposed to be provided. Installation - Eurex installed the shutters and their electrical sub-contractor (E & Son Electric) performed the electrical work. Quality - Since I was in Norfolk, I asked if someone can show my neighbor that all of the shuttters performed correctly. I was told the Charlotte county inspector would demonstrate the functionality. Again, I said this was unsatisfactory since I’m paying the vendor for services. Inspection - I was able to inspect the shutters on 5 Dec and one of the roll down shutters was inoperable and the accordion shutter was installed incorrectly. The county inspector inspected the shutters on 11 Dec and they failed the electrical work and one of the roll down shutters. Rework - Eurex and E&Son Electric had to come out take down and resintall the accordion shutter, set the upper and lower limit switches on the roll down shutter and make updates in the fuse panel. Everything passed the second time. I spoke with the owner, Hans Tessner, and explained that is was disappointed that I had to point out the roll down and accordion shutters were inoperable. I said I expect the company to inspect their own work before the county inspector is called. He said he has been trying to hire more qualified people. I said that’s no excuse for accepting work and performing subpar services. I even asked for a discount for all of the rework required and he said no. I would never recommend this company to anyone.

Description of Work
Installed 3 Roll Down and 1 Hurricane Shutters

Category hurricane shutters

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 12/15/2020

Service Provider Response

Please enter what you would like the response to look like:Dear Mr. [Member Name Removed], We apologize for the issues in regards to your installation. Eurex Shutters does pride itself on its work, and sometimes mistakes do happen. We have had a company wide meeting and shared this review and used it as a learning tool for our future. We are trying very hard, and with being a smaller family run business, this pandemic has been tough on all of us. In the future these issues will be minimized with better communication. Thank you, Tommy Tessner Vice President, Eurex Shutters

1.0

06/10/2020


Sylvia P.

This is the worst company ever! They are disorganized and rude. They missed two appointments in a row and still would not provide a time they were going to arrive at my house. We sat all day at the house for two days in a row. The service repair man swore (f*** word) at me over the phone. When they finally did come to my house they brought the incorrect part and had to reschedule the appointment again. Please do not use this company if possible.

Description of Work
Hurricane shutter repair

Category hurricane shutters

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/10/2020

Service Provider Response

Hi Mrs. [Member Name Removed], I apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with our company. With the current pandemic it has been extremely difficult to keep all our employees on staff, and it has made us have to juggle our scheduling. We are working on that and mistakes do happen. The employee has been reprimanded. The piece that you needed for your shutter is no longer produced, so we had to come up with a different option. I would also like to note that we did not charge you anything for the work that we did, to try and make up for the bad experience. Apologies again, Tommy Tessner Vice President, Eurex Shutters

5.0

03/24/2020


Sharon M.

Great Job! We love them. Definitely will recommend!

Description of Work
Patio door blinds

Category window treatments, hurricane shutters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/24/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review, and thank you for passing our name on to others. Should you need anything else, please do not hesitate to call us! -Tommy Tessner Vice President, Eurex Shutters

5.0

02/12/2019


Jackie K.

It was outstanding, they did a very very good job, they knew what they are doing and the company is easy to deal with. The price was competitive and I will and have recommend them to others.

Description of Work
They completed the job in installing hurricane shutters.

Category hurricane shutters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/05/2019

5.0

02/12/2019


Jane B.

They arrived right on time. Two gentlemen working together. They were professional, Clean up and did a good job. They were very good.

Description of Work
They installed electronic hurricane shutter that cover the glass doors.

Category hurricane shutters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/12/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for trusting us to protect your condo. It was great working with you on this project. -Tommy Tessner Vice President, Eurex Shutters

1.0

12/20/2018


Cynthia F.

Called 3 times and they picked up the phone and immediately hung up without saying a word. Guess they do not need the business.

Description of Work
Looking to get plantation shutters installed.

Category hurricane shutters

Work Completed On 12/20/2018

Service Provider Response

Dear Mrs. [Member Name Removed], We apologize for the miscommunication, in that we have had some issues with our phone systems with construction going on around our building. If you'd like an estimate, please send us a message here through Angie's List, or email us at Info at Eurex.com Thank you Tommy Tessner Vice President, Eurex Shutters

5.0

11/03/2015


Barbara F.

..

Description of Work
Repair of electric Shutter

Category replacement windows, hurricane shutters

Cost $900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2015

5.0

11/03/2015


Jack H.

..

Description of Work
..

Category replacement windows, hurricane shutters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/02/2015

2.0

05/13/2015


David H.

I'd probably give them a B. They did a good job at the scene. Their office was a little disorganized. The price was good. They could have fit the windows a little tighter. They showed up when they said they would. I'd call them for an estimate. Update; as I said in my original review of this company, the guys who showed up to my home did a good job, the installers seemed knowledgeable and were very friendly, but it was a hassle getting them here, all due to the problems within the Eurex Office. We went through multiple calls to the office for updates and installation dates, much of which went unanswered. We decided to give them another try on a second order which was going to be around $2000. I called in the 3rd week of June and spoke with a young lady in the office, gave her our name and number and she said she would have a sales agent call us back, and just like the first time, no one ever called back. It is now July 7th and I have never heard anything from them. I have given up and gave the job to another vendor. I have come to realize that to some degree, many companies in SW Florida seem to be on "island time", so in defense of Eurex, they are not the first company that has done this with us, in fact about half the companies we contact seem to do the same thing when it comes to home improvements. 2nd update; Eurex management sent a thoughtful apology for the errors from a misplaced message. My frustration with this incident is a cumulative frustration from many home remodeling companies in which we have experienced the same issues, including one that we are currently dealing with. Note to companies out there, put "communication" with your customers at the top of your list to attain customer satisfaction. In any event, I did want to give Eurex props for reaching out to make up for the incident with a simply apology.

Description of Work
We used Eurex Shutters for windows. They replaced two windows.

Category replacement windows

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2014

Service Provider Response

Again, we'd like to apologize for the communication issues that you experienced with our company. Mistakes happen, but as a company, we take full responsibility and must learn and grow from this experience. Word of mouth is one of the best forms of advertising, and while in case we may not have achieved a positive result, we would love to have an opportunity in the future, should one arise. Regards, Tommy Tessner Vice President, Eurex Shutters

5.0

05/19/2014


Terrence L.

The window installers did a fine job. They arrived on time each day and cleaned up afterward. They were very courteous and professional. The business owner, Hans, stopped in periodically to check on the installers, answer questions and resolve any issues. There were a couple of minor issues that Hans resolved in a timely manner. Overall, I was pleased with the window installation and problem resolution. The windows themselves display some distortion when viewed from side angles. However, Hans informed me that there may be some distortion in the window glass prior to me signing the contract. I would recommend Eurex for a window replacement. The door and sidelight installation was another story altogether. The unit arrived and looked very beautiful. However, when the installer attempted to install the unit into the rough opening, he "racked" the door several times and had to take it out and start over each time which placed much wear and tear on the unit. One of these times the door jammed so tightly that he had to pound it to get it opened which left a dent in the threshhold on the inside of our condo and some scratches on the outside of the door. Additionally, the first time he installed the formal door latches, he installed them backwards (outside handle on the inside and inside handle on the outside). He gave some "lame" excuse and said that it would have to stay that way because it was not the correct type of latch for the way our door opened. I read the directions myself and had to show him how to do it. Something like that happening is inexcuseable for a "so called" professional. That day was a total nightmare. When he left, the door was sticking so bad that we almost had to pull the handle off to get it opened and it was leaning significantly inside at the top. I called Hans to resolve these issues. Hans had him redo the installation a few days later which helped the problem but did not fully resolve the "racked" issue. The door remains slightly off to this day. Although Hans was responsive and very concerned over these major issues and made several unsuccessful attempts to fix the problems, I would not recommend Eurex for a door replacement because of this experience.

Description of Work
Eurex replaced the existing 25 year old windows in our condominium with new double hung hurricane impact windows. They also replaced our original entry door and sidelight with a new full decorative glass hurricane impact unit.

Category replacement windows

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/06/2014

5.0

04/29/2014


Hugh C.

Had the work done in 2 parts. Wasn't sure I wanted to cover all windows and doors at first. After having the first 5 or 6 windows done, I decided for a 100% coverage and have been pleased with the result. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Installed 11 sets of Accordion shutters for doors and windows at my home.

Category hurricane shutters

Cost $3,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/06/2013

5.0

02/08/2013


Nancy S.

I found Eurex through Angie's list and sent an email. The owner, Tommy, responded immediately. He came out and I told him what I needed and he told me what he could do. He made up an estimate and one week later I called him and made the deposit. They came out and did measurements and Tommy said it would be about 3-4 weeks. I also asked them to install new sills at all the windows. On Jan. 31 they installed the new windows but didn't do the sills. They also adjusted one of my hurricane shutters that was sticking. On Feb. 8 the sills were installed and the job was complete. I was very happy with the workers. They were very professional and cleaned up as they worked. I would definitely hire them again and highly recommend the company and it's product.

Description of Work
New Hurricane Windows

Category replacement windows

Cost $4,188

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/08/2013

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the wonderful review. I'm glad we were able to do a clean, professional job for you. I hope that the windows will not only protect you from storms and break-ins, but will also help reduce the traffic noise that you were concerned about before the installation. Should you need any other services, please do not hesitate to give us a call. Thank you Tommy Tessner Vice President, Eurex Shutters

4.0

01/23/2013


Nickie H.

Most recently (2012), Eurex gave us a free estimate on the repair of hurricane shutter that it installed new on our home about ten years ago. The estimate was reasonable, but we haven't had the work done yet. Throughout the ten-year period, we have used Eurex for service, and have found them prompt, honest, reasonably priced, and competent.

Description of Work
Estimste for repair of hurricane shutters..

Category hurricane shutters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2012

Service Provider Response

We try to make sure that all our existing customers are taken care of properly. In reviewing your file I see that you may still need some service. Please give us a call and we can work out the best way to make sure your Eurex Shutters are working properly. Thank you again for your many years of loyalty. Regards, Tommy Tessner Vice President, Eurex Shutters

5.0

10/21/2012


DARLENE & DENNIS K.

I interviewed 4 companies with prices ranging from 29,000.00 to 23,000.00. I was getting the exact same protection from all 4companies (all of which I found on Angies List). Two of them tied on bottom price. I went with Eurex because of the personal attention and patience I received from Tommy (owner's son). He gave me the most comprehensive estimate by listing each opening and pricing what motorozied, non motorized, panels, and accordians would cost for each opening. Very helpful. He also gave us a layout and photo with each opening numbered so that we would always be talking about the same thing. He answered very thoroughly all questions over a period of 3 weeks and encouraged us to visit his factory. The installers were pleasant and cleaned up extremely well. My lanai looked cleaner after they left than when they started. The hosed it all off quite well. The owner of the company came and checked on everything personally and spoke with me to make sure I was pleased. It's one of the advantages of working with a family company which is probably the main reason I hired them. Very pleased with all they did and would highly reccommend them.

Description of Work
Hurricane shutters were installed on entire house 21 openings some very tall windows and sliders 1 motorized shutter onfront door 183 inches lexan panels on front of house ranging from 125 inches to 60 inches the rest were accordian ranging in size from 171 inches to 40 inches with most being in the taller range.

Category hurricane shutters

Cost $23,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/09/2012

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure doing business with you and your husband. I'm glad that I was able to answer all your questions and give you the best products for your home. Everything turned out great and we were able to blend your protection with the look of your home. Thank you again for being great customers and we look forward to serving you for many years to come. Tommy Tessner Vice President

5.0

09/26/2012


James P.

They quoted me about $20000. I was recommended to them by a person in my neighborhood and I was very happy with them. They were very quick and came out the same day.

Description of Work
Eurex Shutters gave me an estimate for hurricane shutters and impact resistant glass. I am scheduled to use them in the near future where they will take out the resistant glass off the windows and install new ones in.

Category replacement windows, hurricane shutters

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/28/2012

Service Provider Response

Thank you for all the kind words. I'm glad we were able to efficiently protect your home with the best possible products for your home. Please let us know if you need anything else. Thank you again, Tommy Tessner Vice President, Eurex Shutters

5.0

08/06/2012


Gerard S.

Tommy, the owner of Eurex, personally met with us and explained the background of his company as well as the pros & cons of each type of shutter, storm window, etc. His family had moved from Germany, where they had been in this business. He explained that shutters are very common in Europe and his parents brought this experience and expertise to Fl in the 80's, when they started Eurex. We were comfortable with his technical knowledge and hands on approach to all aspects of this family business. He effectively compared the ease of use, strength and cost of the various alternatives for each opening. He also took into account some aesthetic concerns we had regarding arched windows. There was no pressure to buy the more expensive shutters and he actually recommended the cheaper options for some openings. His bid was precise and easy to understand, with clearly indicated sizes, materials and pricing for each opening. We explained we were waiting for other bids and would be in touch. After collecting bids, we found Tommy to be about 10% higher and told him so. He was able to reduce his price to just above the lowest bid. Given his hands on approach, 25+ years in business and the quality of his product we gladly accepted his revised bid. Tommy then had his installer come back and measure again. He wants to be sure the employee who is actually doing the installation has seen the job and measured everything before any manufacturing begins. While we waited for permits and HOA approvals, Eurex started constrction. They took two days to install the shutters and the entire process took less than four weeks. The installers were polite, professional and worked very h****** two humid sunny days with temps in the 90's. They cleaned up everything afterwards and triple checked that everything worked properly. We have had the shutters for two weeks and are completely satisfied.

Description of Work
Installed 4 electric roll down shutters, 3 accordions and some lexan panels to cover all openings in the home

Category hurricane shutters

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/25/2012

Service Provider Response

Thank you Member for the wonderful recommendation. It was a true pleasure working with you and your wife on this project. My company and I pride ourselves on giving our customers peace of mind when it comes to protecting their home. If you need anything else, please let us know. Thank you again Tommy Tessner Vice President, Eurex Shutters

5.0

08/03/2012


Marge C.

There is no story. they showed up on time, installed the shutters, cleaned up after themselves and left. Every thing was done well and on time

Description of Work
Roll down shutters installed on four openings.

Category hurricane shutters

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/25/2012

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure getting to meet you and also being able to protect your home. If you need anything, please let us know. Thank you again, Tommy Tessner Vice President, Eurex Shutters

5.0

03/14/2012


Alan C.

Everything was excellent, except for the fact that, apparently, the estimate for the new shutter was put on the back of the invoice copy that was not left with us, so we are attempting to get a copy of such now.

Description of Work
One of the shutters was off track and wouldn't move; they arrived promptly @ 10 am. and had the unit fixed within 35 minutes. They also provided an estimate of a shutter for the garage side door, but did not leave such with the invoice.

Category hurricane shutters