Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Massey Services of Greenup Clearwater (Pinellas)

Founded 1952 • With Angi since August 2004

4.2

(55) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2140 S Belcher Rd

Largo, FL 33771

Description

Uses subs for sod replacement & termite damage repair. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. Additional charge for after-hour services may apply. Various discounts may be available. Additional phone number - (888) 262-7739. Additional DBAs - Massey Services Inc, Green Up, Massey, Massey GreenUp, Massey GreenUP Landscape Services, Massey PrevenTech Commercial Services, Massey Services, Massey Services Green up. Additional contact name - Sharon Leo....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/02/2019


H Martin J.

They were top notch. I get service within 24 hrs after i call them. They were good at explaining what was the problem and how they will fix it.

Description of Work
Lawn and Irrigation service.

Category irrigation systems

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time to post this wonderful review. Thank you for being such a loyal customer and for allowing us the opportunity to serve you. We appreciate your business. Enjoy the rest of your day. - Customer Care, Massey Services
5.0

11/28/2017


Diane D.

I'm not the type that goes for the B's or C's. I don't judge any company by the price; I look for the quality so an A rating from me is all quality

Description of Work
Termite control

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Ms [Member Name Removed], Thank you or taking personal time out of your day to give us feed back and rate us an "A". We appreciate your business and will strive to keep you satisfied throughout our relationship. Thank you, enjoy the rest of your week. Rae Lee, Customer Care
1.0

05/26/2017


ELIZABETH V.

We fired them. We got tired of the yard and plants looking so bad. We kept getting bugs and fungus that they can't seem to control. We have grass and plants that have died. We told them but never took care of it. We got so tired of calling them about the problems with them, we had to FIRE them. Several of our neighbors fired them too. Tells you something.

Description of Work
Lawn application

Category lawn treatment

Service Provider Response

Good Morning Ms. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking time to share your experience with our services. You have my sincerest apologies and I regret to hear that we were unable to resolve your concerns and exceed your expectations so we may continue our relationship. I have forwarded your review to your Regional Manager and the Executive VP/COO. Victoria Saliba Customer Care
5.0

11/08/2016


Robert R.

Excellent.. good service and responsive

Description of Work
Pest Treatment

Category pest control, lawn treatment

Service Provider Response

Thank you Mr [Member Name Removed], for taking time to share your positive experience with us. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority. We truly appreciate your business. Have a nice afternoon.
5.0

08/09/2016


MARY FRANCES L.

The termite is separate and I have termite traps...little traps that are all the way around my house...that are in the ground. They come once a year and check to see if there has been any activity in the traps. I am not necessarily here when they come. I think I renew my contract in June. I think it was $400 the first time they did it when they put the traps. Now I pay $200 a year. In May they came out. In May I paid the $200. It is fine.

Description of Work
I also have a termite contract with them.

Category pest control

5.0

08/09/2016


MARY FRANCES L.

They do fine, I do not have any bugs.

Description of Work
I used Massey Services of Greenup Clearwater (Pinellas) for pest control on the inside and outside.

Category pest control

5.0

11/15/2014


Susan P.

They are on a regular thing. They spray every month. Our grass was almost dead for awhile and they made it towards the envy of the neighborhood. They're good. People have looked at our yard and ended up hiring Massey because of what they did at our yard. They did a good job. I don't think they're the cheapest by a long shot but their service is very good. They come if we say we see a dead spot, they come right out. We've been using them for a couple of years.

Description of Work
They maintain the grass. They spray for bugs in the grass, fertilize and stuff like that.

Category pest control, lawn treatment

1.0

06/01/2013


Brad R.

Rep wanted me to sign a contract on the spot. I informed him that I was getting several more quotes and would not be making my decision until I rec'd the other quotes. I had to tell him that 3 times before he would leave. I told him that I would call him at the end of the week if I was interested. He called me everyday that week. I went with Always Green, because the price was better and due to all the positive reviews they have on angies list.

Description of Work
Rep came to house to give me a quote for service of lawn

Category lawn treatment

5.0

07/26/2012


Susan P.

We have been using Massey for about six months now. When we started with them our yard was awful. It had large dead patches, a lot of weeds, such as torpedo grass, crabgrass, nutsedge, and broadleaf weeds. They have done an amazing job with the turf, which is now the envy of our neighbors. In fact, we now have one of the best lawns in the neighborhood and we have always watered in accordance with watering restrictions, unlike many of our neighbors. Our next door neighbor previously used Massey and recently switched to another company. Their yard now looks a little worse. I can't describe how pleased we are with their service and our beautiful lawn. I was amazed when I read the review from 2009. Obviously, that was a long time ago and things have obviously changed. I can assure you that Massey is very professional, always on time and does a fabulous job!

Description of Work
Fertilization and insect control for turf (8000 sq. ft.) and fertilization of 21 trees and extensive shrubs.

Category lawn treatment

1.0

05/25/2012


LINDA N.

Massey took over Middleton Lawn and Pest Control approx 1 year ago. I had a yearly termite renewal with Middleton, and last May paid this fee to Massey. They never called to schedule an inspection for any active termites. All I got for my $150.00 was someone leaving a flyer in my door that he'd "inspected the outside,"an interesting claim considering my whole back yard is fenced and locked. This year they had the nerve to send me a bill for another $150.00. Think I'll skip another $150.00 flyer in my door. Middleton was a decent company, took care of me for over 5 years - Massey is a joke.

Description of Work
They left a flyer in my door, claiming they'd inspected my property for active termites.

Category pest control

5.0

04/25/2012


Susan P.

Our yard had previously been maintained by another company and had large dead areas, rampant weeds and just generally looked neglected, although we had continuously paid for maintenance. We had all but given up and assumed that we would have to re-sod in the spring. Massey had yard signs on some of our neighbors yards and their grass looked great, so we decided to give them a call. Although it's more expensive than the company we had previously, there is no comparison in the treatment. I can describe our grass as incredible, lush and green, in just 3 months! We still have some weeds, but they are not noticable and are gradually being choked out by the thick healthy turf. We would not have believed it possible. I wish had taken photos to show the amazing change. We will definitely stay with Massey as long as they keep our yard looking this way!

Description of Work
Contracted for Monthly Lawn maintenence including insect treatment, irrigation inspection, fertilization, weed & disease control and annual aeration for 7500 sq. ft. of turf. Bi-monthly contract for shrub service (fertilization, insect & disease control) for 1750 sq. ft. of landscape beds.

Category lawn treatment

5.0

01/29/2010


JAMES F.

I have not had any ant problem since the sprayed around and treated the inside of the kitchen. They are fairly significant in the area and do the lawns control for our area. They treat the lawn for pest and fungicides. The service they provided was good and I have no complaints about it.

Description of Work
We used Middleton Lawn and Pest Control because we had ants in the house and they came around, sprayed inside and treated the kitchen.

Category pest control

1.0

08/25/2009


FREDERICK B.

They came out quarterly to treat our yard and palm trees. The yard has progressively gotten worse (apparently unbeknownest to this service) They have blamed drought however my sprinklers are working and my neighbors yards are in much better condition. Now I find out I have fungus and cinch bugs. What exactly were they treating my yard for? We also lost a palm during their tenture. I ain't no genuis but understood this to be their er ah job...I could not recommend their mindless treatment of my yard and inexplicable lack of actions as the yard has died. Once they treated the wrong yard in my neighborhood and charged me. I cannot afford to continue with this company .... a solid and well earned F

Description of Work
They fertilized/treated my yard and treated our palm trees quarterly

Category pest control, lawn treatment

5.0

10/06/2008


SUZANNE G.

Russ came to the house and gave me a quote for the treatment. He looked at the trouble spots and explained what the techs would be doing, how long they would be there, the costs and any follow up if it was needed. When I made the decisions he set up the appointment. Russ met the tech and introduced me to George. They again explained the procedure and how long it would take. When George completed the application, which took all day, he again explained what he did and who to call if I needed additional service. Several weeks later I saw evidence of termites. I called Middleton and they had someone out that week. He was prompt, efficient and I haven't had a problem since.

Description of Work
Non-tent dry wood termite & subterranean treatment.

Category pest control

4.0

07/25/2008


Stephen W.

I have been using their services for about five years. They do not try to nickel and dime things, they are too big for that. They just come out and do the work. I have been pleased with the service.

Description of Work
They treated my lawn and fertilized it for me.

Category lawn treatment

4.0

07/15/2008


MICHELLE J.

They are very punctual, they will come out anytime they ask you to. They are competitively priced. The employees were all very friendly, they answer your questions.

Description of Work
They got rid of my termites and took care of my lawn.

Category pest control, lawn treatment

5.0

05/22/2008


JOANN & MICHAEL E.

Someone is always there to answer my questions. Sometimes if I notice some stress in the yard between time someone usually takes care of it within a couple days. I've been using them for 4 years. I am going to make sure their prices are comparable to other services in their category, not because I'm dissatisfied but I just want to make sure I'm not overpaying.

Description of Work
They did lawn fertilizer treatments, they take care of all the chemicals in my yard. My yard is the best on the block. Their people know what they're doing. I don't have to be here when they come. They bill me.

Category lawn treatment

3.0

08/08/2007


Embree & Mary Jane J.

They bought out the company I used to use. They have done an alright job in the past but, recently I have a problem and am not able to speak with anyone about it. They want to schedule an appointment when I need to address the issue now.

Description of Work
They have treated my lawn for pests.

Category lawn treatment

4.0

06/13/2007


LINDA N.

They were very punctual and did the most thorough inspection. They looked both inside and outside of the house. The man that came out, Michael, was very flexible to fit my schedule. They were very courteous and professional. Personally, I thought the price was a little on the high side, but I am not sure what it WOULD cost to have this type of work done.

Description of Work
They came out and gave me an inspection and then did a treatment.

Category pest control

4.0

06/01/2007


RICHARD K.

The representative came and measured my lawn and did an extensive sketch of my yard with recommendations. He did a great job, but his price was high for each application for the year and recommended I sign a year long contract. That's when I tried one of their competitors.

Description of Work
Quoted total lawn care, including fertilizing lawn & shrubs.

Category lawn service, lawn treatment

1.0

05/06/2007


Donna R.

I did not choose to hire Middleton. They bought out RonFee, where I was a customer. The lawn slowly declined over several months. Just recently I've started losing huge chunks of my lawn to a fungus (at least that's their latest story on the disease). They have instructions to call us so we can open our back gate (fenced back yard with dogs), so they can service the entire yard. It took 5 attempts (shrubs) for them to get this right, with multiple no shows. They did not show up for a scheduled lawn treatment last Friday, I have no idea if they will come in Monday. I'm gone on Monday, so I guess they won't treat my back yard (but I'll pay!). They have sent a different person to treat my lawn last 3 visits. One didn't speak English well enough for me to have a conversation, another told me to water more, the third said I had a fungus, so watering was a bad idea. My lawn is toast. I will be firing them sometime within the next two weeks. As soon as I can source another company.

Description of Work
They apply fertilizer, insecticide, herbicide and fungicide. The point is to have an attractive and healthy lawn. We also used their service to treat our shrubbery. Lawn was treated every other month, shrubs were treated on the off months. So in effect, we had their representative at our house once a month for once service or the other.

Category lawn treatment

1.0

10/20/2006


NANCY P.

We contracted for lawn and tree service @ $320.00 per application. The tech only sprayed part of our lawn and none of our trees. We fired them and told them to send us a bill for the amount of wrk performed, but they are billing us for the entire amount. We spoke with Joe (sales) and Willie, the supervisor came out to our home. He was nasty and insists that we pay the entire amount. We have called the above number repeatedly and spoke with Jeff and now they are claiming they did all of the work even though we had another person at home the day this happened that saw they didnt do the work. This company is unprofessional, lying rip-off artists!

Description of Work
The tech came out and sprayed 1/3 of our lawn.

Category pest control

5.0

10/19/2006


CYNTHIA L.

We used Ron Fee (now Middleton) for the entire 7 years we lived in our Westchase home. They started out awesome, with better than you would expect customer service. By year 7, I would categorize them as very good with as expected service. We used them to treat the lawn, shrubs, and also do once a year pest control inside the house. They were always available to come back out if we had a problem and did re-sprays with a smile and good service. The technicians were friendly and thorough. They were careful around areas with our dog or children. We did have some problems with weeds in the last year or so, but so did most of the neighbors using various companies, so Im not sure it was any fault of the treatment.

Description of Work
Monthly fertilization & pest treatment of lawn & shrubs.

Category lawn treatment

4.0

10/01/2006


ASHER G.

Not as effective as I hoped. This is a new home, so I would expect things to be easy to control, but we're having problems. Service man also cracked a switchplate, did not offer to do anything about it. I will be making extra calls to try to resolve problems.

Description of Work
Once a year indoor pest control with booster outdoor application at 6 months.

Category pest control

3.0

10/01/2006


ASHER G.

Lawn and shrub services are provided by separate workers, similar to other large companies. Amount paid is estimate of yearly service. So far I've had several shrubs die, which are supposed to be covered under warranty. Initial response from them was ''nicked by a trimmer.'' I'll be making another complaint before I pay them for their last service. Lawn looks good, but shrub service is poor so far.

Description of Work
Lawn and shrub / tree fertilization with insect and disease control.

Category lawn treatment

    Other local Pros in your area

    Charlie's Wells Irrigation

    With more than a quarter-century of irrigation experience, you can be sure your yard is in good hands. Our custom sprinkler systems are designed to give your lawn the most coverage without waste or overwatering .  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Sunrise Irrigation & Sprinklers

    Whether you’re a commercial business or a homeowner, if you want a fantastic-looking lawn, you need a great water sprinkler system. That means not only having it installed correctly on the first try, but keeping it running at 100% efficiency with routine maintenance and repair. The knowledgeable professionals at Sunrise Irrigation have been making sure that residents and commercial businesses in the Tampa Bay area have amazing lawns for more than two decades. How do we do this? By using our Water Sprinkler Systems Checklist: 1. Check for clogged, broken, or leaking pipes or sprinkler heads. 2. Confirm matched precipitation. 3. Examine valves to make sure they’re functioning properly. 4. Place irrigation controller on optimal settings. 5. Verify that water coverage is head-to-head so your lawn is covered completely and evenly. 6. Ensure rain sensor functionality. Following these six steps allows us to catch most issues before they ever become problems, and keep your sprinklers running smoothly. What’s more, the fully licensed and insured professionals at Sunrise Irrigation only use industry best practices. We closely monitor industry innovations to make sure you’re getting the system that best fits your needs, including water-saving technology and other popular green practices. And we’re RainBird trained, State Certified Irrigation Contractors, and enjoy membership in both the Irrigation Association and the Florida Irrigation Society. In short, we know irrigation. Get to know us better by calling today! License SCC131151662  

    Pristine Greene Irrigation LLC

    Family owned and operated. Specialize in irrigation. Annual service contracts available for quarterly maintenance of irrigation. Military and senior discounts given. Free estimates. Licensed License# C10968 and insured.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Pest control, subterranean & dry wood termite control, landscape, shrub care & mosquito reduction.

    Services Not Offered

    Grooming lawns or shrubs.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Massey Services of Greenup Clearwater (Pinellas)

    How is Massey Services of Greenup Clearwater (Pinellas) overall rated?

    Massey Services of Greenup Clearwater (Pinellas) is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are Massey Services of Greenup Clearwater (Pinellas) open?

    Massey Services of Greenup Clearwater (Pinellas) is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Massey Services of Greenup Clearwater (Pinellas) provide

    Massey Services of Greenup Clearwater (Pinellas) accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Massey Services of Greenup Clearwater (Pinellas) offer free estimates?

    Yes, Massey Services of Greenup Clearwater (Pinellas) offers free project estimates.

    Does Massey Services of Greenup Clearwater (Pinellas) offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Massey Services of Greenup Clearwater (Pinellas) does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Massey Services of Greenup Clearwater (Pinellas) offer a senior discount?

    No, Massey Services of Greenup Clearwater (Pinellas) does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Massey Services of Greenup Clearwater (Pinellas)?

    Yes, Massey Services of Greenup Clearwater (Pinellas) offers warranties.

    What services does Massey Services of Greenup Clearwater (Pinellas) offer?

    Massey Services of Greenup Clearwater (Pinellas) offers the following services: Pest control, subterranean & dry wood termite control, landscape, shrub care & mosquito reduction.

    Are there any services Massey Services of Greenup Clearwater (Pinellas) does not offer?

    Grooming lawns or shrubs.