Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

American Solar Energy, LLC

Founded 1983 • With Angi since July 2010

3.4

(13) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3604 Waterfield Parkway Suite 101

Lakeland, FL 33803

Description

Our reputation as one of the leading providers of solar technology applications in Florida was built on such values as integrity, trust, honesty, and hard work.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/05/2016


Donald G.

Description of Work
We had no hot water the first night. American Solar went out of their way to solve the problem once we were able to let them in for the repair.

Category solar panels

Service Provider Response

We would like to offer our gratitude to Mr. and Mrs. [Member Name Removed] for placing their trust in our company! We receive many positive comments from our customers but very few are ever published online. Thank you both for your trust in us and we look forward to serving you in the future. Should you ever encounter ANY situation with your new solar purchase please DO NOT HESITATE to contact us immediately. We strive for excellence in customer service and although we've fallen short at times, we are always searching for ways to improve that service to our customers.
4.0

10/13/2015


Bruce C.

They need to follow up a little bit more and closer contact and the check up after so we don’t forget who we are. They did a good job.

Description of Work
.

Category Uncategorized

4.0

08/31/2015


Jan H.

Description of Work
The process started in June and was just completed on August 26. Solar panels used seem topnotch. All is financed through a bank with a rebate from taxes for some of the cost. Worked well and cleaned up.We'll see how it helps with saving money on electricity.

Category solar panels

4.0

05/26/2015


Kevin L.

Description of Work
pool repair

Category solar panels

1.0

01/21/2015


Ben N.

Description of Work
installed solar hot water heater

Category solar panels

1.0

11/01/2014


David G.

Did not have the work done because of lies told to us The salesman Ryan took up over three hours of our time. He arrived at 6 pm and did not leave my house till after nine which is past our bedtimes without a sale. We signed to have it done and he said it would be done the next day. You cannot get a permit overnight so I assume they were going to do it without one! He said his company was accredited by the BBB as A+ rating. The next morning I was worried about the deal and went on my computer and looked up the company on BBB only to find out it had a F rating. There was a company called American Solar Energy Systems Inc. that had a A+ rating but that is not who they are. I then went on Angie's List and checked the company out only to find the same results as the BBB. I sent out Texts, emails and a phone message on Ryan's phone to cease work and cancel the contract. He called me back and was very irate with me and kept insisting they were A+ rating. I gave him my answer to cancel and hung up but he kept trying to call me back. That evening he called me back and said he doesn't appreciate me calling in the middle of the night and called me all kinds of names and then hung up on me. I called him back and left a message for him that I was now going to put a complaint in. I worry now that they have personal info such as social security numbers and bank account numbers will be let out. Also I have a stain in my driveway from his car leaking oil

Description of Work
The salesman Ryan took up over three hours of our time. He arrived at 6 pm and did not leave my house till after nine which is past our bedtimes without a sale. We signed to have it done and he said it would be done the next day. You cannot get a permit overnight so I assume they were going to do it without one! He said his company was accredited by the BBB as A+ rating. The next morning I was worried about the deal and went on my computer and looked up the company on BBB only to find out it had a F rating. There was a company called American Solar Energy Systems Inc. that had a A+ rating but that is not who they are. I then went on Angie's List and checked the company out only to find the same results as the BBB. I sent out Texts, emails and a phone message on Ryan's phone to cease work and cancel the contract. He called me back and was very irate with me and kept insisting they were A+ rating. I gave him my answer to cancel and hung up but he kept trying to call me back. That evening he called me back and said he doesn't appreciate me calling in the middle of the night and called me all kinds of names and then hung up on me. I called him back and left a message for him that I was now going to put a complaint in. I worry now that they have personal info such as social security numbers and bank account numbers will be let out. Also I have a stain in my driveway from his car leaking oil

Category solar panels

1.0

08/01/2014


Kenneth B.

They salesman came out and explained several items like the solar for the water heater and the hot water heater. He gave us life time guarantees on the solar panels. He did not tell the truth because somethings were guaranteed 10 years and 4 years. When i called the company, they were very responsive. The salesman was not honest.

Description of Work
.

Category solar panels

2.0

08/01/2014


Rodney A.

Description of Work
On the phone I was told there would not be a "hard" sell and there was. Also I was told an "energy audit" would be performed and it wasn't even close to any kind of an audit. Way over priced! It seemed the financing was the main push as we indicated we might pay cash and the financing was still pushed.

Category solar panels

2.0

07/31/2014


Kim Z.

First, the representative showed up an hour and a half late. Second, the sales call was supposed to last 20-25 minutes....ended up being almost an hour...and the only reason it wasn't longer than an hour was because we cut the guy off short and ended it. Free energy analysis? HA! He doesn't even travel with a ladder to get into people's attics. How can you do an energy analysis if you can't get into an attic space? Here's a tip ASE: buy a briefcase ladder that you can put in your salespeoples' Chevy Malibus. The guy Brad goes on and on and on and on with his B.S. sales pitch before anything else...which only served to p*** my husband and I off even more after showing up 90 minutes late. He says he can find us a great deal on insulation at $0.90 a square foot. Let me tell you: that's the going rate in the marketplace. Attic fans in the state of Florida are useless. When it's 101 degrees outside, an attic fan does absolutely nothing to cool your attic down. As for hot water tanks, which is what this company focuses on, there is very little savings there. Unless you are taking 30-minute showers, there's not much margin in reducing energy costs via the water heater. FYI, I had Duke Energy come out and give me an energy analysis two days after American Solar Energy. By using Duke Energy's contracted insulation companies, I am getting R30 insulation installed at $0.45 a square foot. THAT'S A DEAL! The bottom line that made me come on Angie's List to review this joke of a company: Brad was going on and on and on about his 14 years in the business and how he can just look at a home and know where the energy savings can be made. AND YET....with his FOURTEEN YEARS IN THE BUSINESS... He FAILED to inform us that the very foundation of their business strategy : which is that federal tax credits will pay for the down payment of their $25,000.00 system would not apply to us. LISTEN UP: I checked with our CPA...federal tax credits do not apply to investment/rental properties. There isn't even a loophole on this. This man Brad stood in our multi-unit building, knowing it was an investment property, and after 14-years in this business couldn't tell us that the federal tax credit wouldn't apply. Now I realize this company will respond by saying they are not tax authorities. But when your entire business model depends on hooking customers into this scheme by having them turn over the tax credit to their company....it is absolutely your responsibility to know when the tax credit does and doesn't apply.

Description of Work
All I had done was the initial sales call/free energy analysis.

Category solar panels

4.0

05/13/2014


Jennifer J.

My son have done some researches online and we had them come for the job. The people were very nice. But, we had them come back for multiple times fixing some problems. Their customer service is good. They just need to be clear with the customer with their tax credit. Overall, the have a B. Probably, I am not going to use them in the future.

Description of Work
Heating & A/C Replacement.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, solar panels

2.0

12/10/2013


CAROLYN B.

oI received a phone call purporting to be a business acting for the state. They offered me a free energy audit which would take about half an hour. I had a TECO audit when I bought the house nine years ago but nothing since so I made an appointment for Saturday morning November 23, 2013 for 9:00 AM. At 9:30 AM I called the contact number I had been given asking for information. The gentleman called me back to say there was a large pile up on the freeway and that his guy was in it. He offered me another appointment that afternoon for 5:00 PM. He reiterated that it would only take half an hour. I had been up since 4:00 AM and knew I would be tired by then but could do a half hour. The representative showed up promptly and looked at my hot water heater and attic. He provided information on federal rebates which are substantial and energy savings over several years. He was likeable but quite aggressive. When we sat down for further discussion he pulled out a large notebook and went into his salesman routine. It was very similar to buying a car. Lots of rhetorical questions (e.g., would you rather put the money in you pocket or give it to TECO) . Once I determined that the state had nothing to do with this entire process, I asked him why the man on the phone had given me fallacious information. He said they did represent the state but was unable to explicate exactly how. By this time I was beyond exhausted and asked him on two different occasions to please leave and come back and finish on another day. He repeatedly said he just needed a few more minutes and ignored my requests. My house was to be his demo house for area code 33604 and I would get a finical break for allowing them to put a sign in my yard. They would throw in a free solar attic fan. He also pointed out the increased value of my house. Stupidly, I acquiesced. He insisted it be installed the next day, Sunday. The crew showed up at 10:30 Sunday morning. The two men were pleasant and seem careful about my house. After a couple of hours I noticed no work noise but lots of exhortations and long phone calls. I went and asked what was happening. The crew leader told me there was a leak in the heater and they would wait for an hour for a new one to be delivered. Things went downhill after that. There was a lot of cursing and banging. Apparently there was a lot of water spilled because they used twenty of my utility towels which were left sopping wet outside full of leaves, twigs, etc. They were finally finished around 5:30 PM. I called the company Monday to complain about the mess and all the cigarettes butts in the front yard where the company's truck was parked. I was told that the crew knew better but that they would be strongly reminded about the rules when they were in someones home. The next, Friday, my handyman was at my house and I asked him to oil my dryer as it was squeaking. When he pulled it out the new water heater was exposed. He took some pictures and emailed them to me. I had noticed the new pan was dented but further back was an actual break in the pan. Behind the heater was the overflow pipe. It was only about 6 inches long and was aimed outside the pan toward my 1925 hardwood floor. Needless to say I payed him to fix these problems. I called the company the following Monday and detailed the problems. What I wanted was for a competent crew to come out and inspect my system to assure me that there are no other problems. I would also like to be reimbursed for the labor I paid to fix the pan and overflow pipe. The man I talked to said the owner would be back in town Tuesday and would call me. I have waited for over a week and received no communication from the company.

Description of Work
Placed two solar panels on the roof..one for a hot water heater and one for an attic fan. Installed the solar hot water heater and the attic fan.

Category water heater repair, solar panels

5.0

10/14/2013


Wendy B.

The sales manager, Chris Lee, explained the Sunwise program that I was eligible for concerning the panel for the hot water. Since I previously had solar panels on my house in PA, I didn't take much convincing after I heard about the federal tax credits and the projected savings on my electric bill. In addition, I ordered the pool heating panels separately, since once of the offers currently on the table was a new efficient variable speed heat pump to replace my old inefficient single speed model. The job took longer than expected, 2 1/2 days instead of 1, but since I was not in a hurry and only wanted a carefully and correctly installed system, I was patient. The main technician, Matthew, was very careful about explaining everything to me. The only glitch was that they didn't drain the pool filter first so that at the end, all of the filter residue got in the pool and it will take a couple of weeks to clean it.

Description of Work
Installed solar panels for hot water and my pool heater.

Category solar panels

4.0

11/02/2012


MORRIS J H.

Mr. Hecky was highly courteous and professional in providing his presentation of their solar hot water energy system and some information about their solar attic fan. He went through the details in describing how the system worked so that we clearly understood what we would be obtaining if we went with their system. He gave us information about the history of their company and their relationship with Angies List and the Better Business Bureau. This was very important to us as we had selected their company from information we garnered from Angie?s List. He was responsive in answering our questions and we believed he was honest in his presentation as he elaborated on the costs and gains from such a system. The biggest factor that mitigated against this company was the fact that there were no customer reviews submitted to Angie's List and a, second consideration, was the price of their system as it was more than twice the cost of the two best estimates we obtained. Neither did we believe that during his otherwise highly professional presentation he ever gave us a fair analysis of the advantages of perhaps opting for only a solar attic fan vis a vis a solar hot water system. This was done by two of the other representatives providing us an estimate. We would recommend this company to others but we would advise others to practice comparative analysis and shopping in making their choice.

Description of Work
We were interested in possibly obtaining a solar hot water system for our home as our old hot water heater was 18 years old and not at all energy efficient in comparison to today’s standards. We sought estimates and information from four companies who provided solar energy for homes and businesses. American Solar Energy was one of the companies which provided an estimate. Christian Hecky, Solar Marketing Manager, for American Solar Energy provided the estimate.

Category water heater repair, solar panels

    Other local Pros in your area

    Quality Water Guy LLC

    We are a water purification and water softener company. Here to help you with all your water purification and softening needs you may have. We also can help you with any fencing needs as well.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Branch Water Inc.

    Our goal is to understand your concerns about your water and educate you on the options to fix those concerns. In most cases, we will provide you a few different options and explain the pros and cons of each selection. We never use high-pressure sales tactics or scare customers into buying from us. We don't install homeowner provided equipment. We specialize in residential water treatment. We aren't plumbers or electricians also trying to sell you water treatment too. We offer salt/chlorine delivery service, annual maintenance agreements, and on-demand service of most major manufacturers. We are a Water Right & CareSoft dealer servicing Polk County , Western Osceola County (Celebration, Four Corners, Reunion, Champions Gate), and Eastern Hillsborough County (Plant City, Dover). All are manufactured in the USA.  

    Angi Certified

    Titan Plumbing and Water Solutions

    With over 20 years of experience in the water treatment system industry, we are the experts you need to take care of your home or business. We handle everything involving water treatment systems. We will treat your home as we would treat our own. Give Titan Water Solutions a call today, we look forward to working with you!  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    $100
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    We sell, service, and install solar pool heating systems, solar hot water heating systems, solar photovoltaic systems, and solar attic fans. We fully enforce all manufacturer warranties and offer a full year of free service on all the products we install at your home or business.

    Services Not Offered

    We do not currently offer in-house financing.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about American Solar Energy, LLC

    How is American Solar Energy, LLC overall rated?

    American Solar Energy, LLC is currently rated 3.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are American Solar Energy, LLC open?

    American Solar Energy, LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does American Solar Energy, LLC provide

    American Solar Energy, LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does American Solar Energy, LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, American Solar Energy, LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does American Solar Energy, LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, American Solar Energy, LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does American Solar Energy, LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, American Solar Energy, LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by American Solar Energy, LLC?

    No, American Solar Energy, LLC does not offer warranties.

    What services does American Solar Energy, LLC offer?

    American Solar Energy, LLC offers the following services: We sell, service, and install solar pool heating systems, solar hot water heating systems, solar photovoltaic systems, and solar attic fans. We fully enforce all manufacturer warranties and offer a full year of free service on all the products we install at your home or business.

    Are there any services American Solar Energy, LLC does not offer?

    We do not currently offer in-house financing.