Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Vanderheyden, Inc.

Founded 1976 • With Angi since September 2007

Vanderheyden, Inc. is a general contractor and storm protection specialist in the Florida panhandle. We are Certified Florida Building and Roofing Contractors. We take pride in our workmanship and wide selection of quality products. All of the products we offer are from trusted brands and we use local manufacturers and suppliers as much as possible. At Vanderheyden, Inc. our attentive staff is available Monday through Friday to answer your questions and ensure you are 100% satisfied.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
2 year labor with most contracts.
Senior Discount
5%
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(67) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 67 reviews
Mary M.
5.0
12/02/2019
They are amazing! The job done was excellent. I would definitely hire them again.
Description of Work
Chimney box replaced, minor roof repair, inside ceiling repair
Category
roofing, chimney repair
Anita P.
5.0
11/17/2019
Work was done in a timely and professional manner. The owner was great to work with and would definitely use again. I would recommend his company for other jobs.
Description of Work
Custom Storm/hurricane panels made and installed
Category
hurricane shutters
Mary M.
5.0
11/26/2018
Excellent work done and the gentlemen who came to do the work required were very professional and thorough. The pricing was very reasonable. I will definitely use them again.
Description of Work
Chimney box replaced and roof leak repaired
Category
roofing, chimney repair
jacqueline L.
2.0
10/10/2018
The brackets on the roof developed a leak The foreman came and put silicone around them Today another leak has started and my ceiling is being ruined. In addition, we have put up the new hurricane covers and some cannot be fully fastened.They were also unwilling to fix a tear in one of the awnings,but did suggest a purchase a whole new awning.I am contemplating removing the awnings completely. They are only 3 years old and cost a great deal.
Description of Work
I purchased electric awnings for the front of our home. When they arrived they could not be installed where I wanted them.The foreman told me to have them installed on the roof.This was done at an extra cost. I also purchased hurricane fabric covers from Vanderheyden.
Category
awnings
Kimberly W.
5.0
08/03/2016
Very well; some mistakes made, but corrected along the way; Entire project stayed within budget, and they were very responsive and professional. The most important point is that Herman Vanderheyden worked well with us to get the cost down. He helped us alter the design - reduced the number of doors, replacing with picture windows, allowed us to dispose of old windows and do our own painting. He showed all options in the quote.
Description of Work
all new doors and windows (hurricane impact) for 2,800 sq ft home
Category
replacement windows, doors
Cindie C.
1.0
03/15/2016
No service was provided. The contractor never showed up, nor did he call and cancel.
Description of Work
I called and spoke to Mr Vanderheyden on 3/5/16. He took my address, phone number, and e-mail and said he would come out and give an estimate to replace my skylight. I waited over a week and he never showed and never contacted me.
Category
roofing, skylights
Tom B.
5.0
12/07/2015
The thing that struck me as most impressive about this contractor was his responsivness to my calls for help with my roof leak. While the 3-4 other subs I called put me in a queue for responding on their schedule, Mr Vanderheyden, the owner himself, came to my house and called on numerous occassions to insure that my roof got repaired quickly in spite of his very busy list of jobs following the 14" of rain we got from hurricane Juaquin, this season. The work was done on time, at budget and in a way that insured that I would not have any future problems. The focus on customer needs that this contractor demonstrates is rare, in my experience, and I was very impressed and would use him again as my first choice for any construction or repair needs that I might have. If you have a roof repair need use this guy.
Description of Work
This contractor repaired a leak in my roof that resulted from previous poor installation (performed by a different contractor approx. 10 years ago, just after hurricane Ivan). The work included shingle and substate repair, flashing and chimney tower repair. The repair was extensive.
Category
roofing
Emily C.
5.0
10/23/2015
I went with another provider who was less expensive.
Description of Work
Gave a detailed estimate.
Category
hurricane shutters
Hannah T.
5.0
08/19/2015
After searching through many roofing companies, we came across Vanderheyden. They did good work and honored a senior discount for my mom, who is very hard to please! They were professional and communicated well, and offered a warranty for their work.?Will recommend to others.
Description of Work
Chimney leak repair.
Category
roofing, chimney repair, hurricane shutters
John R.
2.0
07/04/2015
Silly policy doesn't help me and he took one of the tiles I needed for the repair.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

We have a $300 minimum charge for roof repairs, which includes a 2 year labor warranty. We removed one damaged unusable ridge cap so we could match the shingle color. We will return the damaged shingle.
ALEX B.
4.0
12/22/2014
We signed the original contract July 29, 2014. At that time all windows and doors were measured and ordered shortly thereafter. Because of a previously scheduled vacation the installation wasn't done until October 2014. During the installation process it was noted that the door going onto the back porch was too small. Since the door was custom sized it had to be reordered and it took a couple of months for it to come in. With the exception of the incorrect door size problem we are very happy with the windows and doors that have been installed. Coincidentally our termite inspector uses a thermal device to check the walls for insects which also shows cool or warm spots. His thermal reading showed that the installation of the windows and doors is quite energy-efficient. Overall we are very pleased with the quality of the product and are especially happy with the crew that installed the windows and doors. With the exception of the time it took and the overall cost we are extremely pleased the work done. We would have this company do the job for us in the future.
Description of Work
Replaced windows and entry doors.
Category
hurricane shutters
George S.
4.0
10/21/2014
Good quality work. Mis-measured a door and had to re-order which took a while. It also took a number of months to get the wind mitigation report done.
Description of Work
Installed custom fabric storm covers for windows and doors.
Category
replacement windows, doors, hurricane shutters
Cristina S.
1.0
06/10/2014
He came out and gave an estimate. I liked him but he never has came back since and i have tried to contact him.
Description of Work
He gave me an estimate for a roofing and ceiling job.
Category
roofing
Elizabeth S.
5.0
05/29/2014
The gentlemen who performed the work were very courteous, careful with shrubbery around the house, conscientious about picking up roofing nails and work products, doing a good clean up. The roof looks great.
Description of Work
Replace whole roof.
Category
roofing
Hobart N.
5.0
04/18/2014
He came out at 5:30 PM on a Friday evening to estimate the job and fixed the problem on the spot. I am very satisfied with the repairs he made to the ceiling siding. He initially secured the end panel with several nails and then screwed nails through the panels in several places to insure they did not come loose again. The job took about 30 minutes to complete. I retired from the Air Force where I worked in electronic equipment installation and maintenance, and was very impressed with the work provided.
Description of Work
Repaired porch ceiling vinyl siding. Several vinyl panels were hanging loose from high wind damage.
Category
siding, hurricane shutters
Wayne & Pam S.
5.0
04/10/2014
He did excellent work. His crew is very good and very nice! I would trust them anytime!
Description of Work
He installed the rest of the upstairs hurricane shutters.
Category
hurricane shutters
Karen M.
5.0
04/02/2014
Work was performed as promised. All workers were professional and courteous, they showed up on time and explained what was being done, including day to day timelines.
Description of Work
Installed a new roof, hurricane impact front door and two windows.
Category
roofing, replacement windows, doors, hurricane shutters
Keith K.
5.0
03/11/2014
The window installation went so well, that I hired them to install the the other storm protection. All in all Mr. Vanderheyden and his employees were very professional. I would definitely recommend to anyone. KK Panama City, Fl.
Description of Work
They installed new windload windows, skylights,garage door, and hurricane shutters.
Category
garage doors, replacement windows, skylights, hurricane shutters
Ben P.
5.0
03/11/2014
Upon inspection of the damage, Vanderheyden assumed full responsibility for the water damage even though the reason for the roof leak was not clear. To my surprise he offered to repair the damage at no cost. Two weeks later my roof was fully restored. This contractor obviously places utmost value on customer satisfaction. He will be the first to call for any future work that I may need on my home.
Description of Work
When I discovered a leak in the roof that Vanderheyden,Inc. did in 2008, I called Herm Vanderheyden to have a look even though I knew it was years beyond the warranty period. Herm responded in a few days and personally inspected the damage. I expected that Vanderheyden would give me a fair price for the required repairs.
Category
roofing
John G.
5.0
12/24/2013
I met with the owner of the company,Herman Vanderheyden.He provided me with an estimate on work to be done on my metal roof. Herm responded to all my concerns in a professional manner. As of this date I have not decided on a contractor.
Description of Work
Contacted provider.
Category
roofing
Lanette M.
5.0
12/13/2013
Had leak showing on second story bathroom ceiling. Thought it was a roof leak. Called three roof repairmen...1 never returned calls, 1 came and looked and said he would be back the next day...never saw them again and Vanderheyden Inc came by said they thought it was simply a vented area that the seal had cracked with age and should be replaced. They agreed to check the other five bathroom vents as well as the chimney and repair as necessary. He said they were very busy but would be back within the week. They came back, did a professional job repaired flashing, hole in chimney and the vents. They took all debris with them as they went. No more leaks. They did a great job in a timely manner and did what they said they would do...no surprises. I will hire them again without hesitation.
Description of Work
.
Category
roofing, chimney repair
Karen E.
1.0
11/22/2013
It didn't go. I never heard back.
Description of Work
I called for a quote and was told by the receptionist she'd check his schedule and call me right back. I haven't heard back and it's been 5 days.
Category
roofing
Richard C.
5.0
11/04/2013
Herman quoted the job, did the work and wouldn't even invoice me until he personally checked the quality of his employees work. I now have him working on the design and installation of a pool enclosure. I am very satisfies with him as an individual and the quality of his work.
Description of Work
Fixed leaky roof
Category
roofing, hurricane shutters
PHILIP C.
4.0
10/29/2013
Reputable company but too high for my budget
Description of Work
Take measurements and provide a quote
Category
hurricane shutters
brian F.
5.0
10/11/2013
I have worked with this vendor before. His company installed my Sunsetter awning. The owner came out, estimated the job and sent his person out the next day to repair my roof. The companys in this area are putting off roof repairs for 1 to 2 weeks because of the unusual ammount of rainfall we have had this Summer. He was timely, inexpensive and very professional. His roofer explained every step he took. I was verry satisfied.
Description of Work
Repaired a roof leak.
Category
awnings, roofing

Phone

Address

4656 Gulf Breeze Pkwy

Gulf Breeze, FL 32563

Other Information

Services offered

General Contracting, Hurricane/Storm Protection, Roofing, Windows & Doors, Awnings, Siding, Fencing, Garage Doors, Screen & Sun Rooms, Solar Motion Screens

Services not offered

Glass repair, sewing machine repair

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

Vanderheyden, Inc. is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

Vanderheyden, Inc. is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

Vanderheyden, Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, Vanderheyden, Inc. offers free project estimates.

Yes, Vanderheyden, Inc. offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Vanderheyden, Inc. does not offer a senior discount.

No, Vanderheyden, Inc. does not offer warranties.

Vanderheyden, Inc. offers the following services: General Contracting, Hurricane/Storm Protection, Roofing, Windows & Doors, Awnings, Siding, Fencing, Garage Doors, Screen & Sun Rooms, Solar Motion Screens

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Here we specialize in replacing your old outdated windows and doors with new up to code/energy efficient egresses that will add value to your home and decrease your energy bill. We are locally owned and operated and have a team of the best window and door installers in the area. Other services offered are aluminum awnings/carports.  

Limitless Fencing Llc

5.0

(3)

Angi Certified

Limitless Fencing Llc

Call or click for an estimate, today!  

ABC Fencing & Lawn Care LLC

5.0

(12)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

ABC Fencing & Lawn Care LLC

We offer quality and affordable new fences of all types and repair work too. We also can lay sod, irrigation, some tree removal, and other outdoor fun.