Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

House Doctors: Stephen Scott Quality Service Inc

4.4

(32) Verified Reviews

Founded 1980 • With Angi since November 2010

Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
Closed

Company Contact

1901 NW 67th Pl Ste J

Gainesville, FL 32653

Description

House Doctors - Quality Service Stephen Scott in Gainesville, FL offers a wide array of kitchen and bathroom remodeling and home improvement work. Serving Gainesville for 25 years, we guarantee quality service at affordable rates. We know you deserve the best, and that's why we always aim to deliver top-notch service in every job that we perform. We are affiliated with the Gainesville Area Chamber of Commerce and the Better Business Bureau. We are licensed and insured....

Verified Reviews

4.4

(32) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

23

4

3

3

1

2

1

1

4

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.5

Punctuality

4.6

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.5

Read reviews by category

house painting (7)home remodeling (7)interior painting (6)handyman (6)siding companies (5)pressure washing (4)electrician (4)general contractors (4)ceiling fan installation (2)plastering (2)lighting (2)drywall (2)
Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews
5.0

06/17/2021

Installation was made with fine wood and fine craftmanship.

Description of Work
I needed a driveway gate and additional fencing.

Category contractors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/17/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I know it took some effort and we appreciate it! So glad to know that you are happy with our work! Let us know if we can help you in the future.
5.0

05/17/2021

So impressed with the quality of their service. Stephen, Elizabeth, Henry and the crew are so nice to work with. I highly recommend Stephen Scott/House Doctors.

Description of Work
Replaced water damaged cedar shake siding on our house.

Category siding,house painters

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/17/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are pleased that we have lived up to our name and that you are happy! That's what we do!!!!
5.0

02/12/2021

Excellent. Everyone I dealt with was friendly & professional.

Description of Work
Kitchen granitecountertops

Category contractors,home remodeling

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/12/2021

Service Provider Response

We are grateful for your review and are pleased to know you are happy with your new granite countertop! Thank you!
5.0

01/10/2021

Great work. Very happy with how well cords are now hidden behind my TV due to the extra outlet. Sheet rock repair blends in very well.

Description of Work
Sheet rock repair and outlet installed

Category drywall,electrician,handyman service

Cost $460

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/04/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to know that you are pleased. We look forward to working with you again in the future.
2.0

08/20/2020

Took about three months. The granite counter-top was incorrectly measured, as well as late, so the dishwasher would not fit, and a low wall had to be demolished and a new one built to accommodate the change. Quality of the reconstruction was poor. The old cabinets were repainted. The finished quality was indifferent. Several doors were incorrectly reattached, and remain so to this day. At one poin...

Description of Work
New kitchen

Category home remodeling

Cost $6,200

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/18/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We understand you were unhappy with some of our work and we were happy to come out and do whatever was needed to remedy the situation. You decided against that and we accepted that. We appreciate the chance to reflect on our work and improve on it. Thanks again.
5.0

08/23/2018

Went very well. Very good job. Hired on several occasions.

Description of Work
Painting; wood floor installation; pressure washing, patio installation, Door installation, ceiling fan

Category handyman service,remodeling,pressure washing,ceiling fans,house painters,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/23/2018

4.0

11/28/2017

Tiling work on floor A+, wall tiling B, baseboards D, carpet work A

Description of Work
tiling & base board installation; would only rehire for floor tile work

Category contractors,remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2017

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for your Review [Member Name Removed] we hope you use us again!
1.0

06/23/2016

This was the worst contractor we have ever hired!! We hired Stephen to power wash our home & decks. Also, they were to be stained!! Two workers were sent out and they didn't start working till noon and ended at 4. Our house was left with major streaking all over the place; the decks unfinished!! I put a call in to Stephen that night and asked him to please come out the next day so that he could se...

Description of Work
.

Category pressure washing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/16/2016

5.0

12/07/2015

Very responsive to initial call for estimate. Estimate was within a couple of dollars of others. Used Stephen before so used again. Initial estimate was kicked to my junk folder but after that mix up all went well. Good quality work. Will use in the future for other jobs.

Description of Work
Installed wallboard to close up lighting valance to prepare for installation of can lights. Just did the wallboard and plaster work.

Category electrician,lighting,plastering,remodeling

Cost $380

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/16/2015

1.0

09/21/2015

They came and looked at the job. It's been about 4 weeks and I have heard nothing back.

Description of Work
They were to provide me with an estimate for remodeling my bathroom.

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/21/2015

Services Offered

Total Home Care. soffits, fascia, screen rooms, aluminum gutters, pressure cleaning, insulation, concrete, plaster, windows, sheet rock, wallpaper, drop panel ceilings, Popcorn ceiling removal, Kitchens, cabinets, countertops, Tile, entertainment centers, fireplaces, showers, bathroom vanities, closet systems, furniture refinishing, brick, fences, stucco, custom painting, doors and trim work, crown moldings, custom carpentry, Carpet and vinyl work. all flooring.

Services Not Offered

House Doctors: Stephen Scott Quality Service Inc does not hold a Florida General Contractor License and cannot perform structural work. Ask for details.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
Senior Discount
No
Emergency Service
No
Warranties
Yes