Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Gator Moving & Storage Co

4.5

(33) Verified Reviews

Founded 1988 • With Angi since October 2008

Licensed
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

1950 NE 27th Ave

Gainesville, FL 32609

http://www.gatormoving.com

Description

One stop moving shop for Gator Nation for over 31 years. Gator Moving proudly holds the title for North Central Florida's premier moving company. Our professionally trained staff will safely move you to your new home or place of business. Whether your move is across town or across country, call Gator Moving and Storage....

Verified Reviews

4.5

(33) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

25

4

4

3

2

2

1

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.6

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.5

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

movers (33)storage unit (3)piano movers (2)
Showing 1-25 of 33 reviews
5.0

07/30/2019


Kakra G.

It went great, very professional, punctual and all around a pleasant experience.

Description of Work
Unload and set up help.

Category moving companies

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/30/2019

Service Provider Response

Appreciate the review [Member Name Removed]. We strive to be as efficient and professional as possible and glad we earned your recommendation. Please give us a call if you need help again.
5.0

12/30/2018


Beverly M.

Very patient sales rep as moving date and place changed a few times. Great price. The men who moved us were on time, helpful and worked very hard. Nothing damaged on arrival at new location. Would hire again if we ever move again.

Description of Work
Moved us from one Florida city to another

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/10/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you. We try our best to provide all our customers a smooth and stress-free moving experience with us. It was a pleasure working with you. Enjoy your new home.
5.0

12/24/2018


Catherine E.

They came very promptly and handled all my valuable art works with care. They packed very quickly and were very efficient with their time. The unloading also went very smoothly. I would definitely hire this company again.

Description of Work
Move in state from Gainesville to Delray Beach FL

Category moving companies

Cost $1,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/07/2018

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure doing business with you and [Member Name Removed]. It makes me happy to hear my movers took good care of your furniture especially, your nice art work. Enjoy your new home in Delray Beach.
5.0

12/19/2018


Tony O.

I'd heard about Gator Moving and Storage's great service for years so, when I needed help with a move, I called them. They did not disappoint. Not only were their prices very competitive but the service was excellent! The van and staff showed up on time then made sure they knew exactly what needed to be done. All three of the movers were very professional and took great care to make sure the items were transported safely. This was a tricky move as the pieces were bulky and very heavy. The ingenuity of the staff to get in and out was amazing. I'd definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Equipment moving

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/04/2018

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the business [Member Name Removed], that was a heavy exercise machine. Glad my crew did not disappoint.
1.0

11/24/2018


Janice N.

I should have paid attention to when the last time the reviews were posted, 2-3 years ago. Probably because nobody has used this moving company for that long because of the horrible, horrible service. Moved from Gainesville to Cincinnati in August. 3 persons came to do the packing. First thing we noticed, half of the boxes that they used were re-used boxes but charged us for the full price. Even the paper packing used are all crampled up clealy showing that they have been used who knows how many times. Very inexperienced movers, boxes were unlabeled so when it came to unloading, hard to discern which room it should go to. Bathroom stuff were mixed with kitchen things. Lamps and bulbs were not wrapped in paper to prevent breakage but were just placed the bottom of the boxes. We had our washer and dryer included in the move. Washer was broken by the time it was delivered. Several items noted to have dents in them upon delivery. Was very unhappy. Reported everything to Justus Lewis, told us to fill out the claim form with pictures and videos. We filed everything right away. 30 days after, did not hear anything. Sent an email for follow up. Justus said it was a busy time and insurance takes awhile to process the claims. Waited for another month, nothing. Sent another email follow up. Same response, we were told by Justus to wait. Just 2 weeks ago i sent another email twice in 1 week asking for an update and requesting to get the contact info of the insurance company so we can follow up ourselves, NO RESPONSE!!!! NOTHING!!!! So my conclusion, either he vanished from the face of the earth or he did not really submit our claim. Go figure.... So do yourselves a favor, spend your money on REAL PROFESSIONAL MOVERS and do not deal with this Justus Lewis at all...

Description of Work
Moving from Gaineville to Cincinnati

Category moving companies

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/21/2018

Images

Review for Gator Moving & Storage Co - 1950 NE 27th Ave, Gainesville, FL - 37568984

+2 More

5.0

11/01/2017


David P.

The movers from Gator worked very hard, handling my belongings very professionally. They were courteous and professional. Gator Moving is a good company to deal with. Recommended.

Description of Work
Moving furniture and other belongings.

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review Mr. [Member Name Removed], it was a pleasure doing business with you. We hope you're settled in to your new home and had a good first new years there. Sincerely, Gator Moving Team.
5.0

09/16/2017


Theresa D.

The team was on time, worked quickly and carefully and were totally professional. I was very pleased and impressed.

Description of Work
Packing and moving to storage.

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/16/2017

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], It was such a pleasure working with you. We appreciate your business and the opportunity to handle your relocation for you.
5.0

09/07/2017


Sandra T.

It went great. They were so professional and the move went so smoothly

Description of Work
Moving from house to storage and to rental home and to a charity

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/09/2017

Service Provider Response

Hi Sabdra, Gator Moving is proud to handle your relocation. Thank you for the review!
4.0

08/10/2017


Joan G.

The guys moving the furniture seemed to not be paying attention when bringing furniture into our new home and hit several walls.

Description of Work
Moving to new home in Gainesville

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2017

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], we're sorry we didn't meet your expectations, but thank you for leaving a review and letting us know. We value your business and will work hard to address these problems. Thank you so much for choosing Gator Moving to handle your relocation. For your next move we will be an A+ for sure!
5.0

08/10/2017


Marion F.

Awesome. Fast, efficient, careful, friendly and finished within the exact time estimated. My husband was very impressed with their work... he is very critical and rarely impressed but he gave the guys two thumbs up! Thats the highest praise ever.

Description of Work
Loading a rental moving truck

Category moving companies

Cost $450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/10/2017

5.0

07/03/2017


Kevin R.

I can't imagine it going any smoother. Quote was fast, price was good, communication was great, and my daughter said the crew was great. I can see why they have such a high rating on Angie's List.

Description of Work
I needed my daughter's household goods moved from her apartment, stored for a couple of months, and then delivered to a different apartment.

Category moving companies, storage units

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/19/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review [Member Name Removed]. We're happy to handle your daughter's relocation, and even happier to have another satisfied customer!
3.0

07/01/2017


rae L.

It went fine except our tv was damaged and a couple of other things but they were very nice and were very sorry and reimbursed us quickly. The moving guys were very nice.

Description of Work
They moved us from one house in gainesville to another. They packed my kitchen and lamps and large pictures.

Category moving companies

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/03/2017

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], we're very sorry about the TV and thank you for giving us the opportunity to make things right. Also thank you for the review. We strive to constantly improve in quality and customer satisfaction. We here at Gator Moving and Storage hope you're enjoying your new home.
5.0

01/31/2017


Michael W.

They did exceptional work. Prompt, courteous, efficient and friendly. Couldn't have asked for anything more.

Description of Work
Move a household in Gainesville, FL

Category moving companies

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/30/2017

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for using Gator Moving and Storage. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family and I hope you enjoy your new home! Hopefully you and yours won't need to move anytime very soon, but we hope when it comes that time again, you will consider us. -John Reger Owner
5.0

06/02/2016


Andrea S.

It went fantastic!!!! Bobbie and Letaron were great guys and so very polite. When they arrived at my house in Jacksonville, they accessed the situation how we would best do the move. They discussed the staging plans with me to see if they met my expectations. They EXCEEDED my expectations! When we arrived to do the final leg of the move to the Condo, they again had to be creative. I live on the 3rd floor, in a secured building(meaning I needed a pass key to open door to the building) and only 1 elevator. As in the previous leg of the move, they discussed their plan that would cause the least disruptions to my new neighbors, as well as get my boxes and furniture into my new home. Again they exceeded my expectations. Oh and during all of this the temperature rose to 93 Degrees and Humidity was around 72%. Not a complaint from either of these wonderful men! I offered for them to stop and take a rest, but they were true professionals and worked through it. To GATOR Moving & Storage, I can't thank you enough for making my moving day so stress free!! I will recommend you always!

Description of Work
Gator Moving and Storage moved my daughter furniture from Gainesville to my house in Jacksonville Fl and then from that location moved my furniture to a Condo in Jacksonville Fl

Category moving companies, storage units

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2016

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], that was a wonderful review, thank you so much! We're very happy to hear that you're satisfied with your move and could rest easy knowing our trained professionals were on the job. If you ever need a move again Gator Moving and Storage is more than happy to take care of you.
5.0

03/01/2016


Lindsay H.

In searching for a moving company to perform a long-distance move of just a few furniture items the company let me know that although they do service my area and would love my business, I may be better off finding a mover that originates in my local area in order to avoid excess travel charges. The fact that they took the time to offer helpful advice shows honesty and integrity and gives them an A+ in my book!

Description of Work
Offered helpful advice and assistance on my long-distance move.

Category moving companies

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed], we appreciate your time in and consideration in our company. We hope that even though we couldn't handle your move, you still had a stress free experience. Thank you again for review.
5.0

07/12/2014


Lance A.

The Piano Move was amazingly perfect! You might imagine that this piano is one of my most prized items. I am very nervous when anyone touches this piano. I learned that Gator Moving & Storage Co owns a grand piano - just for training purposes. Several of the movers have received the designation of: Certified Piano Mover from the Florida Movers and Warehouseman's Association (FMWA). Before any mover handles the piano for a client, they complete a study course, pass a written exam, and disassemble, move, and reassemble the piano owned by the company. That gave me confidence. When the crew arrived to relocate my piano, I was impressed by the seriousness with which they approached the job. First, they inspected the piano and discussed the mechanics of assembly. The lid, lyre, and music stand were removed and wrapped. The entire body of the piano was wrapped in moving pads, then wrapped in shrink-wrap. Each man then took his place around the piano. They discussed/reviewed what task each would have. The Model D weighs about 1,000 pounds. The crew consisted of 5 men - 4 to lift and stabalize the piano and 1 to remove the legs. The first leg was removed and the base side was carefully lowered to the piano board. The crew was careful to keep stress off of the other legs while the piano was unstable. Once on edge, the other legs were removed. All pieces were wrapped in moving pads and protected. The move went perfectly. Reassembly of the piano was the reverse of that stated above. I will never call another mover. I recommend Gator Moving & Storage Co and their Certified Piano Movers.

Description of Work
Piano Move: Steinway Model D.

Category moving companies, piano moving

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/09/2014

5.0

07/12/2014


Lance A.

This job went near perfect! I have moved several times in my life - my father was Army. In my career, I have lived in Durham, NC, College Station, TX, Princeton, NJ, Gainesville, FL, and now (retirement) in Ft. Lauderdale, FL. I am familiar with what it takes to get from point A to point B. This move, handled by Gator Moving & Storage Co, was one of the very best that I have experienced. Gator Moving & Storage Co is a small, independent company located in Gainesville FL. My Relocation Specialist was Corey Banta. Corey came to my home to discuss the move in detail. He provided a written estimate with the time-line and fees explained in clear detail. He provided copies of all licenses and insurance certificates as well as a list of helpful hints and references. I called the office one afternoon to see about getting some packing materials delivered so that I could start organizing the less-significant packing. John Reger, the owner, answered the phone. He knew my name and the details of my relocation even though he had not yet gotten acquainted with me personally. The boxes and packing paper that I requested, were delivered the following afternoon by Gerold Pitts, the company manager no less. On packing day, a three man crew arrived right on time and worked diligently all day long. In addition to regular cardboard moving boxes, they brought what they call "Gator Crates." Gator Crates are sturdy plastic cartons with attached lids. They used these crates to pack all dishware, crystal, china, and other fragile items. There was a minimal additional fee for the crates, which I approved along with the original estimate. Everything transported beautifully. It was money well spent. It was a full day for the crew, but everything was packed and prepared for the move. My piano was disassembled and completely wrapped in moving pads - then it was completely wrapped in shrink-wrap. The clock was handled similarly. The crew even wore gloves to assure that oil and finger prints didn't damage the piano finish or the brass on the clock. Since so many preparations had been taken by the moving crew on packing day, the load went quickly and smoothly. I was amazed at how well they loaded the moving van - every inch of space was utilized, which they explained would eliminate "load shift" which they say is how most damage occurs. They must be correct because I have found not even one scratch or nick on any of my furniture finishes. The crew traveled to the Ft. Lauderdale area that same evening. I was surprised when I received a call about 8:00 PM from Bobbie, the crew chief. He wanted to assure me that my items were in Ft. Lauderdale and he even told me which hotel they had picked - and he confirmed the time that we would meet at my new home for the unload. Ft. Lauderdale Beach is a great place to live but traffic is terrible for a moving van. Nelson, the driver, impressed me with the way he was able to maneuver the van through traffic and into my drive. Humidity was high all day and we experienced a typical Florida afternoon rain storm. The crew never stopped working or smiling, in spite of the perspiration and the rain. I am completely pleased with the services provided by Gator Moving & Storage Co. I recommend the company without hesitation or reservation. When I move again, I will call Gator Moving & Storage Co and gladly pay a fee for them to drive from Gainesville to Ft. Lauderdale to handle my relocation. Peace-of-mind has no price.

Description of Work
Gator Moving & Storage Co handled my relocation from Gainesville, FL to Ft. Lauderdale, FL. This was a three day project which included packing and preparing on day One, loading the moving van and travelling on day Two, with unloading on day Three. The items that were packed and relocated included some heirloom china and crystal, a Steinway concert piano, a grandfather clock, and several pieces of art including two bronze sculptures.

Category moving companies, piano moving

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/09/2014

5.0

08/30/2013


Mitchell R.

Just a quick thank you for a job WELL DONE for our move to Jackson, Ms. The entire move was flawless and you and your entire organization exceeded our expectations. Your pricing was spot on with no "funny stuff" that your industry is known for DESPITE SOME CONFUSION ON THE MULTIPLE MOVE AND STORAGE. THEY STOOD BEHIND THEIR ORIGINAL PRICING. THIS IS VERY UNUSUAL IN TODAYS RIP OFF SOCIETY. The pick up in Gainesville (and into their local storage facility until the apt in Mississippi was ready) went without a hitch and you even allowed us to bring some additional items in at no charge. The direct delivery was on time, as promised, and took less time then anticipated with the additional two man crew. I would recommend Gator Moving without hesitation.

Description of Work
They pick and moved our items from our apartment into storage and then direct delivered to our new out of state apartment

Category moving companies, storage units

Cost $3,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/14/2013

5.0

07/09/2013


Justin L.

The owner John is responsive & totally straightforward. He runs a top-notch organization. Great communication, excellent service delivery. Far lower rates than competitors. The office staff is polite & helpful. Prior to moving day, they called to tell us the moving time. For moving day, we had a two man moving team (Gibson & Bobby) who arrived at the scheduled time. The movers were extremely professional, polite, and efficient. We asked them to be careful with the hardwood floors in our destination (which we had recently refinished). Gibson & Bobby went the extra mile of holding up items so that we could put felt pads on them. They deserve extra kudos because the move involved several very large items being moved to the second floor of a two story Duckpond home. The staircase is a U shape with an intermediate landing, and has low celing clearance and a large window above the landing. Many opportunities for damage. The movers got everything upstairs without even scuffing the walls. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Moved several large household items (e.g., sofas, dressers) from Town of Tioga to Duckpond.

Category moving companies

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/04/2013

5.0

06/05/2013


Susan G.

We moved to Kansas to be near our children and grandchildren. I interviewed several movers, the usual National companies and then Gator because a friend had used them locally in Gainsville. They were very competitive price-wise and I just felt like I was going to get excellent personal service, which I did. Nothing was broken or even scratched. They arrived at the arranged time and worked steadily packing all day and came back the next day to finish and load the trucks. Upon arrival at our home in Kansas they placed the furniture where I asked and adjusted several pieces to suit me and placed every box in the correct room. The entire process was the least stressful of any move I have made, and I have more stuff now than I have ever had!

Description of Work
Packed all china and decorative glassware as well as four bedrooms of furniture, living room including a grand piano, couch, two chairs, three tables, dining room set with large buffet and butler's cart, family room with large sectional and large TV as well as large coffee table and pool table.

Category moving companies

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/25/2013

2.0

06/02/2013


annetta S.

horrible - left a hole in the wall as they were moving furniture. Table top was scared. Not consistent with time of move however, did get frequent phone calls informing me of not being able to meet the deadline.

Description of Work
move all of my furnitture

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/11/2011

Service Provider Response

We try to make every move a successful move. All my movers are trained professionals and been with our company for awhile. Sorry we damaged your wall but, we did fix the hole and the Table top. If there is anything else we can, do please let us know.
5.0

02/16/2013


Veronica M.

the overall experience went smoothly and without a hitch.

Description of Work
from the very start, this company was exactly what I was looking for. I wanted to provide my sister with a professional move. She and I are in our mid-60's and can no longer move ourselves. the owner, John Reiger, 352-374-4791, took my initial call and then spoke with my sister to get details and then spoke to me again to arrange the billing. That in itself would have me recommend this company. His professionalism, courtesy and humor got us through all the details. Yesterday, the day of the move, they arrived promptly and began loading items -- some of which my sister has had since we were children in the 1960's! They unloaded in High Springs following all instructions easily and with respect. Josh and Bobby worked tirelessly. They even noticed a water leak (that my husband later found out to be the hot water heater!) that could have caused a lot of damage. Thanks for moving my sister. I will recommend your company to any and all who ask.

Category moving companies

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/15/2013