Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

D & D Aluminum

Founded 1969 • With Angi since April 2008

4.9

(157) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2530 N Federal Hwy

Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305

Description

D&D Aluminum manufactures and installs all hurricane protection options. We do it all...impact windows, impact bahama shutters, impact clam shell awnings, impact aluminum shutters, impact steel panels, impact clear panels, impact colonial shutters, impact fabric, impact rolling shutters, impact french doors, impact sliding doors and impact garage doors. We also handle all of your pool and patio needs from simple screen work to new pool enclosures, new screen rooms, new car ports to new concrete slabs. We invite you to visit our showroom where all of our products are on display for a hands on experience. If we build it you can touch it! Feel confident in your decision to use D&D Aluminum knowing we have a licensed engineer on staff and full understanding of the permitting process and Florida Building Code Specifications. All of our projects are designed, engineered and installed by D&D Aluminum employees, no sub-contractors found here. If you live in Miami-Dade County, Broward County, Palm Beach County, Martin County, Pinellas County, Pasco County or Duval County we can handle your Hurricane or home improvement related needs. Call now or visit us today at our showroom which is conveniently located just off the Florida Turnpike in Hollywood, Florida....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/10/2018


ron G.

Great, not without problems but they did the right thing. However they went BK last year after 40 years in business .

Description of Work
They put in Hurricane windows and doors

Category hurricane shutters

5.0

09/06/2016


ron G.

Great.....Carey told us that he would not leave our house until everything was to our satisfaction.........And he kept his word......its hard to find that today........

Description of Work
Hurricane windows and doors

Category garage doors, replacement windows, doors, hurricane shutters

5.0

10/08/2015


MIGUEL N.

We are very satisfied. This is the 2nd time we used this company, the first was when they were D&D. Cary is easy to work with. It took a long time for the sliders to come, however we were very pleased with the work.

Description of Work
Changed windows to high impact, shutters on bathroom windows, high impact sliders

Category hurricane shutters

5.0

06/08/2015


michele B.

The windows and doors are wonderful. However the project took longer than promised. I will say, the company does beautiful work with regard to installation and sealing of windows, doors and overall craftsmanship.. I've seen what other companies have done to neighbors houses and the work was sloppy and they actually damaged the house. That wasn't the case here! I did have a few problems with our sales person Cary. I then I started dealing with Monica, the Operations Director, who got things done right and in a timely fashion.. Actually Cary, the windows which had to be changed at your cost of 1200 were windows that you ordered incorrectly and and were not the windows ordered according to the contract, so yes, I required the correct windows be installed.

Description of Work
Installed impact windows and doors

Category replacement windows, hurricane shutters

Service Provider Response

This project did come with it's share of obstacles, the Building Deparment changed a policy the day before our inspection, they drafted a document the day before. Many of the homes in Miami Shores are older and have concrete bucks in the window openings. There isn't another City in Dade or Broward that will make you remove the bucks and install new ones, well Miami Shores decided that we had to. We had windows already installed that had to be removed, that was a job all in it's self. Now please imagine the mess and time it would take to cut out a 3" concrete buck out of every window in your home and after that was done we had to remodel the enterior of the home as there were gaping holes on the side of all windows. We did that without asking for another dime from the client. They were so impressed that they ask to do another project for them on another property that they were going to purchase. We also replaced 2 windows that the client wanted to open differently, we did that at no charge and that cost D&D $1,100. The job has passed final inspection months ago, there is a door that needs adjusted and we have agreed to do so, at no time was the client ever told no, if fact we didn't say no to any request at anytime during the installation. This was a very difficult installation both from the demands of the City and the client. I am not sure if we will ever please this client, however we will continue to try.

5.0

12/17/2014


Natalie C.

They were extremely punctual and quick to respond via phone or email. Everything went as planned. They passed inspection the first time. The inspector only asked that I have them come back and add some additional sealant over the screws in the bottom of the windows. The inspector passed them without them doing that. He just said he suggested it to make it perfect. D&D came out the next day and did what he had asked. I would recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Installed impact windows and sliding glass door to my condo.

Category replacement windows, doors, hurricane shutters

5.0

11/05/2014


Jonathan D.

It went very well , did most of the work with only a few phone call and emails. Supplier look at many options to save me money and comply with the hurricane code. Installation was prompt , no issues, if I need shutter again for some reason I would use them again .

Description of Work
Provider installed a storm shutter over front door in order to comply with the windstorm insurance

Category doors, hurricane shutters

5.0

10/30/2014


Jason C.

Received a quote. Will probably use them since other companies refuse to give me a quote for two sets of sliding doors.

Description of Work
Quote for accordion shutters.

Category contractors, window treatments, doors

5.0

10/13/2014


NATHALIE B.

IT WENT VERY WELL. BEYOND THE QUALITY OF THE WORK THAT WAS DONE, CARLOS MORENO HAS ALWAYS ANSWERED OUR QUESTIONS AND CONCERNS IN A TIMELY AND COURTEOUS MANNER. THE TEAMS THAT CARRIED OUT THE INSTALLATION WERE VERY GOOD PROFESSIONALS.

Description of Work
INSTALL IMPACT WINDOWS AND HURRICANE PROOF GARAGE DOOR

Category garage doors, replacement windows, hurricane shutters

5.0

10/11/2014


Steve G.

They were good. They follow through. If you have any problems, they come back and they are on time and we love the windows and doors.

Description of Work
They did doors and windows for the whole house.

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

10/07/2014


Audrey P.

They are the greatest. The service was excellent. Their work was done quickly and properly. It was a good experience overall. I did recommend him to a neighbor.

Description of Work
They did a terrace enclosure.

Category sunrooms

5.0

10/01/2014


Jackie O.

Our needs were met. The door & windows were put in as agreed upon. They were very cordial and efficient.

Description of Work
Put in new Hurricane door & windows.

Category hurricane shutters

5.0

09/28/2014


Neil K.

Was done timely as promised and they responded to calls to come out and provide set up instruction.

Description of Work
provided and installed Armor Screen

Category hurricane shutters

5.0

09/21/2014


Lisa T.

Outstanding communication work is done right at a fair price, this company as done work for us in the past and for the second time in row AA++. quality work. workers are friendly and clean up after the work is done.

Description of Work
impact windows and doors

Category hurricane shutters

1.0

09/09/2014


Chris B.

There is a data verification process on here for a reason and unfortunately this business owner was not professional enough to allow that process to run its course. Instead, she resorted to very nasty, very unprofessional tactics of intimidation and threats in order to try and get me to change my review because, according to one of her letters that were plastered to the front of my house, they get most of their business from Angie's List and pride themselves on their professionalism. From what the Angie's list data verification team has told me, this type of intimidation and threatening behavior is against the rules for a business owner listed on here to do and the business can become unlisted from the Angie's List website if they engage in such behavior so don't let any business owner threaten or intimidate you into not providing an honest and accurate review and promptly notify Angie's List if you have something like this happen.

Description of Work
Watch for angry owner!!! This business owner came to my property unannounced many times in response to my review and threatened me if I didn't remove it.

Category hurricane shutters

Service Provider Response

That is all we ever wanted "a fair and honest review" As a result of your post that accused D&D Aluminum of theft, we lost business as your post stayed on Angie's List for 2 months. We haven't ever performed work for you or even quoted work for you. You refused to answer our call, you refused to answer Angie's List call and only took the inaccurate post down after we hired an attorney to protect our business from Slander.

5.0

09/02/2014


Keith H.

It went just like it has on the three different occasions that I have used D & D, without any complications. They are professional and a pleasure to deal with, which is virtually impossible to find these days. Since they are a manufacturer, not just installers, they are extremely expedient and they make shutters that fit perfectly. They have excellent follow up. I give them my highest recommendation.

Description of Work
Install hurricane shutters on my townhouse

Category hurricane shutters

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [member name removed] for the review! It isn't everyday that our crew gets to aid in a medical emergency, however it is nice to know that they can.

5.0

08/25/2014


Tommy W.

Fantastic service. The quality of the job is perfect. The shutters look much nicer than I was expecting. I highly recommend D&D Aluminum.

Description of Work
Installed accordion shutters on two openings.

Category hurricane shutters

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate the review and would like to thank you for making the scheduling of your project so easy. With rain showers coming every afternoon it is hard to complete projects holding a drill standing in a water puddle. You made it really easy to complete your job. Thank You.

5.0

08/18/2014


Lara L.

I got quotes from several other companies, and they were very competitive. The work looks great in the end! When we had one miscommunication about painting the doors, they actually had a painter come out afterwards to do the work. I would definitely recommend them and I'd definitely use them again.

Description of Work
I had them replace all my windows and doors after the hurricane.

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

08/10/2014


Robert S.

Initial contact was through email. Received prompt response on the next business day. Rep was able to email me several option to replace the front doors of my home. Settled on Aluminum impact doors. Got a couple of competing quotes and decided to go with D&D. Paid the deposit, had the doorway measured, and was told when the doors were ready I would be contact for an install. Within two weeks, they were ready to install the next Monday. Install went smoothly but I did have some minor issues I wanted corrected. D&D worked with me on each item and only when I was satisfied was I asked for final payment. I know I will be updrading windows and other doors in the future and will be sure to use D&D.

Description of Work
Installed entry way double doors.

Category doors, hurricane shutters

5.0

08/08/2014


Ronald C.

Super! On time on budget. Really professional.

Description of Work
Hurricane panels for windows of our house

Category replacement windows, hurricane shutters

4.0

07/26/2014


Ilana V.

Very pleased with the quality and look of the door. The cost of the door was easily amortized by the reduction in our insurance bill.

Description of Work
Changed odd-sized front door to hurricane door.

Category doors, hurricane shutters

5.0

07/06/2014


isabel S.

From the day of my estimate till installation was perfection. They contacted me the next day after emailing them for an estimate. Took about 5 weeks to get windows ( as they said) . They were flexible on installation date, showed up exactly 8 am, even brought their own garbage can to clean up. The windows look great and really keep out noise. Will be replacing all my other old windows with them as monies allows.

Description of Work
Replaced old awning type windows in bedroom with hurricane impact slider windows

Category replacement windows, hurricane shutters

5.0

06/16/2014


Alina T.

Provider arrived on time and also verified time and address prior to the date. He knew his product and explained the work and the timing required to do the job. I was not able to do the work with this company due to restrictions from the association. Due to their professional and timely estimate I would recommend this company.

Description of Work
Provider came to the property to give me an estimate on a metal Patio roof

Category hurricane shutters

3.0

06/10/2014


Tami S.

Unfortunately, I have to update my original review due to some issues with the product after the first large rainstorm. I contacted D and D immediately after the first rain to advise them the patio was leaking where the aluminum roof connected to the house. They did send someone out quickly, and they sealed the connection. After the next rain the problem still existed. Again, I contacted them immediately. They sent another guy out during a rainstorm and he witnessed first hand the leaking patio. They could not make a repair that day due to the weather, so they came back another day and again tried to fix the problem. No such luck. I continued to call them after each rainstorm because the patio continued to leak. I was told they were tired of sending men out. After about 6 months of no results and my frustration, I asked for my money back and for D and D to remove the structure since they could not seem to fix the problem. Cary, the owner, told me it was my roof leaking and not his screen patio installation. He said he was sure it was my roof so if I could prove it wasn't my roof then he would address returning my money and removing the structure. I called my roofer for an inspection, since my roof is fairly new and still under warranty. My roofer said it was their installation causing the issues. My shingles were air tight and secure. I sent Cary pictures my roofer took and the invoice. He did pay my roofer for the inspection but still did not think it was D and D's problem. He insisted that he needed to send his own roofer. I again took additional time off to accommodate this appointment. The roofer he sent out also said the issue was caused by the way the work to re-install the enclosure panels was done. D&D's roofer (the one they had chosen to inspect their work) informed us D&D had broken the seal by prying out the metal strip when replacing the fascia and that was causing the leakage every time it rained. In response to this, Cary said he would pay for the proper repairs to be done to eliminate the leak. On the day before all this was finally scheduled, Cary told us he would not authorize payment for the repairs without his foreman being there witnessing what work was required to stop the leaks. While I can understand why Cary would want his foreman to see first hand what work was going to be done, it was somewhat disconcerting to find this out late in the afternoon the day before my roofer was scheduled to show up and start the work. With this new twist, I had to miss another two hours of work as I needed to be at the house when the two contractors showed up to determine if Cary was going to be liable for the repairs. Understand, these repairs required by the roofer were estimated to cost $1800 and I did not want any more issues with who was going to pay for the botched installation. On a positive note for D&D, the foreman had pointed out three or four areas wherein the install was done improperly and going forward, they received some very good advice .Cary did finally agree to pay my roofer to do the repairs that were needed after his (Cary's) foreman called Cary from my house (the job site) after meeting with my roofer and being shown exactly what D&D had done incorrectly on their install that was the root of the problem. Thru all this, it was very disappointing to me that Cary never stepped foot on my property to check the quality of his crew but instead continued to say the leaks were due to my roof being faulty. When I suggested Cary come by and meet with us, the idea was rejected. He was not very nice and he was accusatory. There was constant communication with Monica at D and D and she relayed all my messages and emails to Cary. I was very patient, it took over 6 months and numerous repair efforts along with being told it was my roof and I needed to prove it wasn't. Please note that from day 1 the patio/screen enclosure looked great! The issue only was noticed after the first rainstorm and continued each and every time it rained. It took 6 months to get this issue resolved. The initial install was "finished" the day before Easter, but it took until the first week in December, countless phone calls, many, many hours of missed work and an enormous amount of stress and frustration, but it is finally done,

Description of Work
They installed a new screen enclosure on an existing slab and replaced some fascia which had deteriorated under the old structure.

Category sunrooms

5.0

05/24/2014


JEROME C.

We changed all our old Windows and doors for hurricane Windows. Total of 19 units. Overall the sales team (Jerry) and custom et service were nice and efficient. The team who installed the windows was really nice to have around. They did a very good job, especially considering the condition of our old house and the various strange window openings we had there. The result is really nice and our house is really different and a hundred times better. The pice was more or less the same of the competitors ; we just felt we were in the hand of more serious, responsive and reliable people and we were right.

Description of Work
Hurricane Windows installation

Category replacement windows, hurricane shutters

5.0

05/20/2014


nilda G.

They responded to questions and had no problem explaining everything. Very nice professional people.

Description of Work
The company came out for estimate gave a very competitive price, I actually went with another company only because they were throwing in other extras. But all in all I would have used them in a heart beat, very professional, Carlos very nice. Will def consider them for future.

Category hurricane shutters

    Other local Pros in your area

    Hollywood Pavers INC

    **MULTI YEAR SUPER SERVICE AWARD WINNER** We Have Been In Business Since 2001. Have A Look Around Our Website And See The Advantages And Cost Savings We Can Bring Your Home. Let us service and revitalize your home or commercial property to its original or improved look..at the same time increasing the value of your property! Licensed & Insured CC#14-PV-18982-X  

    Kiny Molina Pavers & More Corp

    We are providers of construction services in the Miami/Fort Lauderdale area. Our mission is to maintain the highest quality and professionalism from start to finish. We are confident in our results because all our jobs are custom for the needs of each home. We strive for the highest degree of quality products and workmanship. During the years in business, Kiny Molina Pavers & More Corp has satisfied many customers. It is our reputation of quality work, professionalism, and customer service our customers continue to rely on us for their needs. To understand the expectations of our customers, we take great care to work and communicate with every customer professionally. We base our reputation on service, safety, and quality. Call us today and find out how we can meet all your needs!  

    Master Touch Pool Services Inc

    Affordable Weekly Swimming Pool Service Done By An Expert. We are an in ground swimming pool service company providing everything from basic weekly chemical / cleaning service to complete pool renovation / remodeling. (We do not offer new pool construction at this time.) Some specialties included: Automatic pool cover installation & repair; pool openings & closings; weekly pool service. Our goal is to provide high-quality services to anyone who needs an enjoyable pool service at a reasonable price. We have many Services to best fit your budget. We are committed to delivering Quality, Care, and Consideration with Every Service. You will get a Free Water Analysis To your Swimming Pool and a Free estimate. That's how simple it is to get your swimming pool cleaned and maintained by a Professional. Simply Call our Direct Line at (561) 674-6909 www.mastertouchpools.com  

    Offers by Master Touch Pool Services Inc on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    picture windows, impact windows, vinyl windows, impact doors, garage doors, cloth awnings, car ports, screen rooms, storm panels, bahama shutters, colonial shutters, rolling shutters, car ports, patio enclosures, pool enclosures, sun rooms, electric room shades/window treatment, electric roll out sun shade awning in all color combinations

    Services Not Offered

    We are no longer accepting projects in the City of Tamarac.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about D & D Aluminum

    How is D & D Aluminum overall rated?

    D & D Aluminum is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are D & D Aluminum open?

    D & D Aluminum is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does D & D Aluminum provide

    D & D Aluminum accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does D & D Aluminum offer free estimates?

    Yes, D & D Aluminum offers free project estimates.

    Does D & D Aluminum offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, D & D Aluminum offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does D & D Aluminum offer a senior discount?

    No, D & D Aluminum does not offer a senior discount.

    Does D & D Aluminum offer emergency services?

    Yes, D & D Aluminum offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by D & D Aluminum?

    No, D & D Aluminum does not offer warranties.

    What services does D & D Aluminum offer?

    D & D Aluminum offers the following services: picture windows, impact windows, vinyl windows, impact doors, garage doors, cloth awnings, car ports, screen rooms, storm panels, bahama shutters, colonial shutters, rolling shutters, car ports, patio enclosures, pool enclosures, sun rooms, electric room shades/window treatment, electric roll out sun shade awning in all color combinations

    Are there any services D & D Aluminum does not offer?

    We are no longer accepting projects in the City of Tamarac.