Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A-Plus Construction & Restoration Inc

Founded 2000 • With Angi since June 2012

1.8

(6) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6511 Nova Drive Suite 230

Fort Lauderdale, FL 33317

Description

When the unthinkable occurs, A Plus Construction and Restoration are here to help you. Devastation can occur at any time, and when your property undergoes extensive damage, A-Plus Construction and Restoration will be there to assess, mitigate and properly restore the damaged areas back to pre-loss condition or better. All precautions are taken to secure the safety of your personal property, structure and you the customer. Personal care and consideration is given to all facets of the damage and how wide-spread the problems may be. A Plus Construction and Restoration works with your insurance company to help identify the damages, determine the scope of work, prepare an estimate, and agree on a fair price to help expedite the claims process. We work with all Insurance compaines and are a Preferred Contractor with most of them. Our goal is to do everything we can to get you back to your home or business quickly and safely as possible, restoring peace of mind one structure at a time. We are here to assist, help and exceed your expectations throughout this process....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

09/01/2015


Kevin M.

The 66% deposit was paid on July 10th, 2015 and the project was supposed to start the following Monday, July 13th. When Monday came, no one showed. I later received a text message that the company had vehicle issues and would start the following day, but not to worry because the job would still remain on schedule and completed by Friday. Despite the reassurances that our house was pressure washed and sealed, we found ourselves scraping off mud wasp nests, wiping dirt off the walls, and sweeping. By July 17th, there had been several no-shows and when I text the owner, Jon Combs, he advised that his "main guy was MIA" and that he would personally take care of everything. We were very upfront about our expectations in that we needed to have the fascia boards repaired prior to having our gutters installed, and our gutters were needed before our new paver driveway was laid (which the deposit was paid and on hold waiting). Throughout the following weeks, work was done at a snail?s pace, when anyone showed up, and we had several discussions with the owner about the quality of work being completed and our concerns. On July 23rd, after having another no-show the day prior, I reached out to the owner to inquire about the process. He told me that he would have a three man team at my home the next day to complete the house. That did not happen. On July 27th, the owner told me he was stuck in traffic and that he would be there all day tomorrow to finish. That did not happen. On July 30th, the owner text me and said that he was stuck in West Palm and would be at my house the next day to finish. That didn?t happen either. On August 3rd, I contacted the owner who said that he would be by the following day with promises and another false deadline. On August 12th, the owner contacted me to say that he had been ill since Friday and that I have his ?word? that he would ?personally be at my home tomorrow morning to take care of the remaining items?. Needless to say, no one ever showed up. My husband and I ended up discarding our old gutters and patching the holes in the walls from old cable lines, replaced any damaged fascia, sealed joints, repaired all of the stucco and painted a second coat on the house and trim. It was overall a terrible experience, not to mention they left behind all of their garbage, a broken ladder and empty paint cans. There was paint everywhere, overspray on our patio, a/c, sidewalks, I even found a dirty paint brush in my potted plant! Thank goodness that we didn't pay any more than the initial deposit and the unfinished work we completed ourselves without having to hiring someone else. Up top of everything, they took a picture of the front of our house (of course the completed side) and posted it on their facebook page to promote their business.

Description of Work
- Pressure wash all exterior surfaces of the home (roof, walls, exterior awnings, walkways, pool deck, drive way, side walk) - Remove and dispose of Existing gutters and patch holes in facia board after removal - Repair Facia board as need at joints and repair existing patches - Apply water proofing sealer to exterior walls of the house - Minor stucco repairs and caulking - All areas of concern will be protected from any over spray or paint drips (This was copied directly from the actual estimate.)

Category house painters

1.0

07/20/2014


Karl Q.

Everything started great, he quoted me a great price and got to work right away. He asked for 35% up front which was fair and seemed legit. That was in September of 2013. It is now July 2014, and he never finished anything he started in my house. I should have known he was scum when he started asking for more money because he was giving me the,"super bro price". I've known this kid for years and he still ripped me off. I've given him approx 17k over the past year and I'm still in an unfinished house. He will promise to show up and never come, always telling to he is on the way. I finally cut my loses and hired someone else. He will eventually end up in jail or rip off the wrong person and end up in real trouble. I'm done dealing with this guy and I hope someone who reads this will not walk but run the other way if they were considering using him. I left the price as n/a because it was a fair price but it's not a fair price if it's incomplete.

Description of Work
Run away! This guy is a real scam artist. I've known him for years and that didn't stop him from ripping me off and leaving me high and dry. Real piece of work. Whether he keeps this business name, A-plus or changes business names, it doesn't matter, Jon Combs is someone I would never do business with. I wouldn't hire him to clean a toilet.

Category plumbing, remodeling

1.0

06/03/2014


julie J.

it was an actual nightmare---- while some work was completed.. jon was completely unprofessional and left us - with money owed - work unfinished and some work done improperly. He made us completely uncomfortable - and time and time again - he made promises that were never lived up to. I would say - run from this provider?..and give no $$ ahead of time.

Description of Work
Jon combs was hired to do a complete restoration of a back room - and specific jobs throughout a duplex

Category bathtub refinishing

1.0

07/08/2013


julie J.

As with the above statement- this connection was a disaster. We hired Jon because he was a friend of a family member, and he treated us worse than an enemy. He lied about his licensure- and now i know to check up on what a contractor or worker says. We lost a few months in our effort to move ahead in renovations-- and have learned a few hard lessons.Jon lied about the ability to put in a floated floor for a handicap shower. Even when i was gracious in allowing him to go to another job to make some extra money, he then continued to leave us without any progress for weeks at a time- always pretending that he was coming back the next day. When he did show up- he would stay for an hour or two on most occasions- and do little. Now we find that even the little he did was done in a mostly wrong fashion.

Description of Work
What the provider did?- He promised to complete restoration af a back bedroom and bathroom/shower. He promised to have the work completed in 5-10 days. He promised about 20-30 times to show up and continue work and then failed to call for days afterwards..He put up the wrong type of drywall in a bathroom area. He lied about his expertise and continued to make excuses for delaying completion, all the while complaining about the money. The strange this was that we paid him the 'agreed to 'price in a contractual agreement- and he left us in a position where little was done and we were subject to lies and broken promises.

Category bathtub refinishing

1.0

06/22/2013


julie J.

He was personally recommended by a friend of my cousin. It has been a nightmare. We finally had to cut the tie with him. We paid him approximately $4,000 and he never finished anything. He strung us along. I have 200 text messages saved from him stating that he would be here in an hour. I wait and I don't hear from him for 3 days. He has a great personality and he is sweet but finally we had to do something. It was not worth the aggravation. A room that he was redoing still is unfinished after 4 months. He didn't finish any of the work he started. He went around the house starting little jobs and finishing nothing. We gave him until the end of June and basically he would make promises and then blow us off. He will promise the world and do nothing. I would recommend running away. I don't believe he knew how to do what he said. We are thinking about taking legal action. He shows he has a license and I don't think it is his. It is not a legal license. The company was his uncle's company originally.

Description of Work
We used A-Plus Construction & Restoration.

Category handyman service, remodeling

5.0

06/17/2013


David B.

I noticed Jon's truck at the beach ... he was surfing. I got his phone number off the truck, and called. He came the following day to look at the 9 chairs that were damaged in my most recent move back to Fort Lauderdale. The chairs needed to be sanded down, wood chips and dents repaired, re-stained, and the upholstery needed to be cleaned (as they had a bunch of scuff marks that would not come out with upholstery cleaner). He took all the chairs with him and returned them in a few days. I am absolutely amazed at what he was able to do. I purchased some sand paper and stain about a month ago, and dreaded all the work it would take to restore the chairs. Also, not knowing if wood filler would shine thru the stain, I was putting off this project. I am so glad I found A-Plus Marine Restoration. A-Plus Marine Restoration not only works on the large luxury ships in our beautiful port, but they do just about everything ... construction, home repairs, remodeling, kitchens, furniture restoration, etc. Jon and his team are meticulous and it shows in the final product. Jon also specialized in metal restoration. For example, there are scratches on our elevator doors and stainless steel refrigerators. He can restore those items, and many more, to life again. In fact, the apartment complex I am in is considering contracting with A-Plus Marine Restoration to restore lots of the metal around our complex. If the 5-staf Holland America ships contract exclusively with Jon's company to restore all their brass and metal elevators, it does prove that A-Plus Marine Restoration provided 5-star service. If you have anything that needs to be restored, give Jon a call for a free estimate. You'll be glad you did. In fact, I was so pleased, that I tipped Jon $75 when I paid the final bill when the furniture was delivered.

Description of Work
Jon and his incredible team restored some high-end Barbara Barry chairs after being damaged during my move to Fort Lauderdale. The chairs look like new!

Category bathtub refinishing

    Other local Pros in your area

    One Stop Pavers

    One Stop Pavers is a family owed company that has been serving Florida for over 15 years. We service Broward and Miami Dade County. Our services are, but not limited to, installations, re-installations, remodeling, repairs, pool decks and renovations, and driveway. Our employees are professionally trained and experienced to provide the best service possible. We can get the job done quickly, professionally, and still be cost effective. We offer the lowest prices in South Florida so give us a call today for a free estimate!  

    Largo Restoration Team

    We Offer emergency and restoration services all over Florida. We help homeowners & business owners when damages occur. We service Water damage, fire damage, Mold Damage, Roof Repairs and Roof tarping. If you are in need of services to prevent your home from further damage or to mitigate them, Give us a call today! 24hr office number:305.356.7665  

    Tri-County All Restorations

    SUPER SERVICE AWARD WINNER for 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021. Also on HOME ADVISOR we hold a 4.99 Rating with over 69 Reviews who's been awarded the BEST OF 2018 ELITE SERVICE CONTRACTOR and TOP RATED CONTACTOR.. For 27 years TRI-COUNTY ALL RESTORATIONS has been at the forefront in providing Rapid, Timely and Professional Service in the South Florida area. We are a company that has proven what it is to earn the trust and respect from customers seen in our reviews. We have responded to over 11000 residents. Performing over 6400 water removals, reclaiming clean air on 1500 mold remediations and restoring over 100 fire claims. Always applying Moral Philosophy and Business Ethics using RESPECT, INTEGRITY, and PRIDE as our guiding principles. We are fully licensed and carry Liability, Work-Mans Comp and Pollution Insurance. We offer a 1 year warranty on Mold Remediations. Tri-County is open 24/7 and provides emergency service dry- outs during those hours. When you call, rest assured that you have a Quality company that you can Know, Like and Trust with your most valuable assets, your Home and your Family, Thanks again, Gary F. Ackel  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Tri-County All Restorations on Angi
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Interior Design & Engineering, Residential & Commercial, Bathrooms, Kitchens, Offices, Entertainment Facilities, Roofs, Ceilings, Flooring, Joinery/Carpentry, Windows, Doors, Patios, Steel Alterations, HVAC - Air Conditioning, Duct Cleaning, Metal Restoration, Pipe Fitting, Project Management

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A-Plus Construction & Restoration Inc

    How is A-Plus Construction & Restoration Inc overall rated?

    A-Plus Construction & Restoration Inc is currently rated 1.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are A-Plus Construction & Restoration Inc open?

    A-Plus Construction & Restoration Inc is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does A-Plus Construction & Restoration Inc provide

    A-Plus Construction & Restoration Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does A-Plus Construction & Restoration Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, A-Plus Construction & Restoration Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does A-Plus Construction & Restoration Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, A-Plus Construction & Restoration Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A-Plus Construction & Restoration Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, A-Plus Construction & Restoration Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does A-Plus Construction & Restoration Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, A-Plus Construction & Restoration Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by A-Plus Construction & Restoration Inc?

    No, A-Plus Construction & Restoration Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does A-Plus Construction & Restoration Inc offer?

    A-Plus Construction & Restoration Inc offers the following services: Interior Design & Engineering, Residential & Commercial, Bathrooms, Kitchens, Offices, Entertainment Facilities, Roofs, Ceilings, Flooring, Joinery/Carpentry, Windows, Doors, Patios, Steel Alterations, HVAC - Air Conditioning, Duct Cleaning, Metal Restoration, Pipe Fitting, Project Management