Floor Depot

About

Founded 1985 • With Angi since April 2001

Welcome to Floor Depot! We are a local, family owned and operated flooring company that has been proudly serving the greater Tampa Bay Area since 1985. Integrity and quality are our primary focus to make sure we better serve you. We are proud to offer high quality installation on all of our fine

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageCarpet

Verified Reviews

4.6

(235) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

185

4

26

3

2

2

10

1

12

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.6

Punctuality

4.6

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

flooring (171)hardwood floors (68)carpet installation (61)tile installation (55)woodworking (5)home remodeling (3)hardware store (2)water damage restoration (2)countertop installation (2)
Showing 1-25 of 235 reviews
4.0

02/05/2021


Mariann C.

Workers were not good and they were not on time. All is great with this company until you give them your money. Then lots of luck getting any response from them.

Description of Work
Laminate Flooring Install

Category flooring contractor

Cost $6,500

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/15/2020

2.0

02/05/2021


Mariann C.

Workers were not on time and not respectful of the property. Customer service was sorely lacking.

Description of Work
Laminate flooring

Category carpet installation

Cost $6,500

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/15/2020

1.0

11/17/2020


Karen T.

At 8:20 on install day we received a call from Floor Depot to say that when they went to load our carpet to install, they discovered that they had not received it, ever! No apology whatsoever just provided a new production date with no idea of when it might arrive. Movers arriving in two days and no opportunity to make other arrangements for carpet because of Floor Depot’s negligence to insure they received our carpet order on time for installation as agreed with a $500 deposit no less. Buyer Beware of this locally owned business. We will move forward with a reputable company to get the job done.

Description of Work
We ordered carpet on 11/4/20 to be delivered to Floor Depot on 11/11 and installed on 11/17/20 at 8:00. Movers were scheduled for 11/19/20.

Category woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/17/2020

5.0

05/06/2020


Jean P.

The Jim & Jack were prompt, polite and professional. They even vacuumed the carpet after they were done. I would recommend this company to family and friends.

Description of Work
Bedrooms and hallway Carpet stretched

Category carpet installation

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/24/2020

5.0

01/31/2020


Jeanette W.

I highly recommend Floor Depot to anyone who wants quality flooring, professional business interaction, and a crew who go over and above making sure you have everything the way you want it. From my initial meeting with Brendt who immediately understood what I wanted, to well-informed input from JP and to the beautiful installation of wood flooring by Joey and Michael and tile by Justin. All 3 are wonderful craftsmen!! I absolutely love the new looks of my rooms. Thank you Floor Depot.

Description of Work
New wood flooring and tile

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, home improvement stores

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/17/2020

5.0

08/03/2019


Lani J.

They were professional, courteous and explained everything including extra cost for surfacing and leveling

Description of Work
Flooring in 2 rooms

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/03/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
5.0

08/03/2019


Lani J.

They were professional, courteous and explained everything including extra cost for surfacing and leveling

Description of Work
Flooring in 2 rooms

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/03/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
2.0

09/27/2018


Susan P.

Decided on wood-like tile install as there appeared to be moisture problems in concrete. Removal of buckled hardwood floor and moisture analysis went well. Removal of hardwood resulted in a damaged baseboard which was fixed upon request. Floor prep for tile install was extensive and was told to me by the installer but I wasn't aware of the price increase until the final bill, which amounted to one fifth of the total price. I do not consider that professional as I feel I should be informed of a significant increase of price before being given the final bill. Via phone, I chose the darker color of grout to the installer, but when I went to my home after grout install, I was surprised by the lightness of the grout color. Also, I was dismayed at the amount of white "dust" that was all over the floors and heavy furniture that was put into place when I went to my home. The installer texted me to mop the floors for the little bit of grout haze, which I did some hours after the grout was installed. It seemed to me to be a lot more than a little bit since it was everywhere and had to be removed from the furniture, and my AC filter was caked with the white haze. Since that didn't help remove the haze after several moppings, I texted the installer about that to which he texted me that I wasn't supposed to do that until the next day (Saturday) and not on the day that the grout was installed. He instructed me to mop on Saturday and since that didn't improve how my floors looked, he came back on Monday to attempt to remove the haze, which wasn't effective. After 2 treatments of grout haze remover over the next couple of weeks subsequently, most of the haze did go away, but only after I mopped the floors 8 times to remove the sticky residue that resulted. The stickiness remained until I hired an outside tile cleaning company, and they were able to finally remove the stickiness/residue from the floor. Floor Depot took the price off the balance of this outside company's bill, but I was still less than satisfied by the variation of color of the grout throughout my home. I was disheartened by the company blaming me for trying to remove grout haze from the floor before it was cured (though the installer didn't tell me when to mop the floors), and I feel they had the gall to say that my floors did not have a sticky residue and simply wanted me to pay the balance of the bill after the 2nd grout haze remover was applied. I called and found out from the tile manufacturer and grout haze manufacturer that it was not my responsibility to remove grout haze from furniture and floors, that the customer should be told to not walk on the floors on the day of the grout installation, and that the installer should remove any grout haze on the day after the grout installation, and only then bring in the heavy furniture, and then tell the client that the floors are finished. If only that happened. I found the grout install and aftermath to be a nightmare with this company, and I did not appreciate them telling me it's my fault from the manager, or "do you know how to rinse a floor" advice from the owner (which did not resolve the problem), or defensively that they are the best installers in the county, or that they just want a happy customer even when things are not reasonably resolved to the customer's satisfaction. I'm still not happy with the grout color and plan to get a grout color seal in the future. I paid them the bill, but was disappointed overall in their response to a problem. Even if this is something that is very "rare" with their company as they said, it affected me, I can't give them a great review as a result. I hired them because they had such great reviews on Angie's List, especially for their installation. But my advice to anyone who hires them, or any tile installer, is to make sure the contract includes the installer removing all remaining grout haze on the day after the grout install. One other problem was that I was unable to open my sliding glass doors after the tile install without the doors significantly grating against the tile. It was something i had to bring up to the installer. He fixed it but it would have been nicer if he had caught that before me having to tell him. Also, in the end an employee told me that the installer would come out to assess the variation of grout color, that it was part of the warranty, and this was after I paid the balance. Well, I haven't been contacted about that. I was denied the happy expected "wow" with the install and so for that reason I'm writing my first negative review.

Description of Work
Buckled hardwood floor removal, floor prep, install tile

Category flooring contractor

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/08/2018

5.0

09/24/2018


Diane U.

It was great! Quality and professional work. We’re having Floor Depot do all our remodeling moving forward!

Description of Work
Tile floors and backsplash.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, home remodeling

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/11/2018

1.0

05/28/2018


Jim F.

Very poor office to field coordination. Resulted in project not conforming to purchase scope of work. Over a MONTH late in performance ... had to beg for a surface construction clean up ... Floor Depot does not have one point of contact. They juggle you between who ever is in the office. The OWNER: MICHAEL does not walk his talk. Please contact me should you have any questions: JRFord 707-484-1688 /JRFord@pacbell.net Angie's List was not represented appropriately. We are very sorry we trusted Angie's rating of Floor Depot.

Description of Work
Tile Floors and New Showers

Category flooring contractor

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/28/2018

Images

Review for Floor Depot - 1300 Main St, Dunedin, FL - 37103982
5.0

01/12/2018


phyllis S.

it went great, i absolutely love my lvp floor and the 5 1/4" baseboards. they worked with me and around me and even came back after i was done installing my new doors to finish the moldings. not one complaint.

Description of Work
had my entire condo done with lvp and all new baseboards.

Category flooring contractor

Cost $9,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/04/2017

Images

Review for Floor Depot - 1300 Main St, Dunedin, FL - 36749112

+1 More

5.0

11/28/2017


Jerry N.

This was a great experience. First impression as you walk into the showroom is a small Mom and Pop business. The sales guys at the showroom are casual and down to earth. They were very patient with all our questions and selections. They ordered us a sample from the mill of what we thought we wanted. Even though Floor Depot was less expensive than another place we priced it, we all agreed that the carpet we thought we wanted was overpriced for what it was. They suggested another carpet that was a good alternative and a better price. The installation was on time and extremely professional. This place has a well experienced staff, most of which have been with them for many years. Even their installers are employees and not hired out. They seem very relaxed and proficient at what they do. My wife and I would certainly recommend Floor Depot in Clearwater for any flooring needs.

Description of Work
We wanted a closet and computer room installed with tile and a living room and bedroom installed with carpet.

Category carpet installation, ceramic tile, flooring contractor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/22/2017

5.0

11/03/2017


Marie C.

Floor depot went above and beyond to help me out when a previous company let me know 1 week prior to install that the flooring was unavailable. The staff at Floor Depot worked with me to pick the right flooring, verified availability of flooring and made sure they were available to install during my already scheduled vacation. Cherry on the cake was the beautiful and punctual installation. John and Ryan were professional, meticulous and perfection!!!! Thank you Floor Depot for all you have done!!!!!

Description of Work
Carpet and baseboards removed and replaced with engineered wood flooring and 5" baseboards in living and dining room.

Category flooring contractor

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/24/2017

Images

Review for Floor Depot - 1300 Main St, Dunedin, FL - 36513670
5.0

08/31/2017


Charles S.

The process was very professional from the office to the installers. Brent and Mike in the office were very knowledgeable about product and Joey and Anthony did an outstanding job on the installation. Cost was very reasonable and comparable to other business's in the area.

Description of Work
Installation of LVT, through out our condo.

Category flooring contractor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/30/2017

5.0

07/17/2017


Kathleen S.

Unexpected expense but worked out in the end.

Description of Work
Vinyl, laminate wood replacing rug after leak.

Category flooring contractor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2017

5.0

06/23/2017


PETE & MARGARET R.

It was wonderful. We are very pleased!

Description of Work
They did new hardwood floors in our living room and dining room.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/23/2016

4.0

06/19/2017


Linda R.

Fine, except some scarring on existing downstairs flooring and trim when they replaced stair carpeting. No offer to repair.

Description of Work
Upstairs wood flooring

Category flooring contractor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/19/2017

5.0

05/29/2017


D N.

Excellent workmanship and detail. Beautiful flooring. Great customer service.

Description of Work
Bathroom flooring repair and install

Category flooring contractor

Cost $1,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/23/2017

1.0

03/30/2017


Esther H.

It was horrible. They over charged us - then they did not complete the job. We had to clean the floors of the glue that was left on. They we so late that we had to delay our movers. They charged an extra $1500 that we agreed to pay for the extra sub floor work that was needed. They then charged us an additional $1200 - $200 to install 2 toilets that the plumber that we had already hired could not do as they had not put the floors back in even though they promised us in advance that the floors would be ready for the plumbers. We cleaned up the mess that they made under the house of the subflooring and insulation that they punched down. They said that they would clean but as they were hopelessly far behind - and we had to move - we ended up doing the clean up. 10 garbage bags full. They then charged us $1000 for baseboard that we had already purchased. They extorted the $100 per toilet charge - overcharged us for the baseboard as we had already purchased. We have offered then $300 against the $1200 charge. They created extensive damage to our house in the process (we have pictures) and now have filed a lien against us. Never deal with this company! They lie and inflate their bill. We verbally agreed to the $200 toilet charge as we had no choice - we signed off on the extra $1500 and have paid that - but we never agreed to or signed off on the additional $1000 charge. We have offered $300 - this should compensate for small amount of additional quarter round and pay them an adequate amount for the toilet installation. Again - this part was extortion - as they had messed up our plumber on 2 occasions.

Description of Work
A lousy job - over charged us - damaged our house - extorted us for more money - was late and we had to delay our move. Delayed our plumbers - cost us an extra charge to remedy.

Category flooring contractor

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/02/2017

5.0

03/28/2017


Harry B.

Floor looks beautiful. They really did a nice job. Extra work and cost was involved in leveling the concrete.

Description of Work
Hardwood flooring installed in living room, hall,and den.

Category hardwood floor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/24/2017

5.0

01/26/2017


Cindy H.

They were very professional and helpful in making decisions that fit my budget while giving me the look that I wanted. The installation went smoothly while I was at work. I was very happy with the result when I got to see it.

Description of Work
A new wood floor in the master bedroom and carpet in the rest

Category flooring contractor

Cost $6,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/24/2017

5.0

01/09/2017


Leslie S.

Great-when removing existing carpet in the upstairs hall closet, they discovered and brought to my attention that the carpet tack strips were wet-we had a leak from an adjacent shower. So glad they found the problem before we had subfloor damage. Prior to them starting work, we had a contract for fixed price, with added hourly rate for grinder work and per bag charge for the cement as needed. They did a great job of acceptablly-leveling the floor at a cost effective basis. The results in both areas are very nice.

Description of Work
We wanted to replace existing carpet in upstairs hall and hall closets and floor the ground level room with a cement floor with plank vinyl. The ground floor area had not been "finished" for inside flooring-it needed to be leveled using both special cement for the low areas and a grinder to lower the high spots. We chose the plank vinly as we wanted it's water resistance as well as ability to be laid on a not-quite-level floor.

Category flooring contractor

Cost $4,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/11/2016