Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Home Expressions by Marilyn

Founded 1985 • With Angi since July 2011

4.3

(68) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

15234 Lakes of Delray Blvd Tembridge G 245

Delray Beach, FL 33484

Description

We are a full service interior design company. We have a complete professional staff of electricians, tile installers, painters, window treatments consultation, and much more. We work with you with special promotions and are flexible with financing options. We are a professional real estate home staging company serving Palm Beach & the surrounding areas.It is our goal to enhance your home's best features and make it appealing to a wide range of buyers. We will professionally style your home for the market using your furniture and accessories while keeping your budget in mind. We will showcase your home using our creative and extraordinary expertise to make it infinitely more attractive to potential buyers. We create the "Wow" effect....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

06/26/2017


Jesse H.

It did not go well. I paid for a promo offered on AL. They came and measured and never sent any rendering that I paid for. AL is complicit in this company's lack of regard for the poor customer service because AL was not willing to issue me a refund and charge back the company for their poor service and no delivery.

Description of Work
Measure kitchen and send rendering for renovation.

Category interior designers, home remodeling

5.0

05/02/2017


Pamela M.

As a sole proprietor, Marilyn takes complete charge of the project and delegates the work to her wonderful crew, who are always very professional and punctual. She is on site and available always. She assisted me in every aspect of my remodel as this was the first time I ever did such a major renovation. I love her ideas and suggestions and her assertiveness. We are still moving along on our current project, and I intend to use her for my library, guest room and bathrooms. I would highly recommend her and her crew to my friends and/or anyone considering a project, whether small (such as staging) or large (such as a major renovation).

Description of Work
Remodel of kitchen, living room, dining room, foyer and bedroom, including crown molding and painting, as well as accessorizing these areas.

Category interior designers, home remodeling, home staging

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [Member Name Removed]. I love working for you and with you. My crew feels the same way. Your home is looking beautiful and we are happy to give you what you dreamed of.
5.0

12/16/2016


Karen B.

Marilyn took the time to aquaint herself with my style and needs. She was able to incorporate furniture I already had to cut down on cost. My living room and bedroom turned out very beautiful.

Description of Work
I needed help to get furniture for my living room and determine its placement, guidance to select colors , window treatments, and accessories. Also my bedroom needed decorating.

Category interior designers, furniture sales, window treatments, interior painters, home staging

1.0

11/27/2016


Catherine C.

Badly, see above for the whole ugly story.

Description of Work
I just retired. I set aside $30K to fix up the little condo I just bought. In my career I have managed our company moves and builds several times, most recently built a data center, so I wanted to treat myself to having someone else handle the updating of my apartment and all the follow-up with vendors, etc. Although kitchens have been part of the builds I have handled, I haven’t done a kitchen for myself, ever, so I needed an “expert,” and Marilyn advertises as such, as well as a promise to get 30% discounts on everything because she is “in the trade.” We signed a contract and with the REMAINING $28K she was sure she could address the following: 1) Kitchen upgrade, including lighting 2) Chandelier for dining room 3) Office space in LR 4) Painting 2 bedrooms 5) Window dressing 6) Installation of new vanity, medicine chest and light in bathroom 7) Organizing of master and guest closets, and 8) New molding for LR/DR. I had to pay Marilyn $2K up front to handle all of this. Since my neighbor just put in a kitchen for $5K, I didn’t think this was impossible--I was wrong. The most valuable thing I got was an introduction to Caravaggio Cabinetry in Lake Worth (561-609-3355 - Anthony@caravaggiocabinetry.com). They designed and built exquisite cabinets for my small kitchen (7.5’ x 9’), giving me an unbelievable amount of storage space, and everything finished off with fine detail. I cannot speak highly enough of their work, professionalism and timeliness. They also built a workstation for me, including filing and lots of storage and work space for my office. It’s fantastic, I love it. What I did NOT find out up front from Marilyn was that Anthony would NOT be doing the whole kitchen—just the cabinets and a hot water heater. I was also going to have to buy granite, backsplash tile, a faucet, water filter, garbage disposal and special switch therefor, refrigerator, range and hood, upgrades to electrical. I was going to have to hire an electrician, plumber, backsplash installer and have those installations done. Needless to say my budget was completely blown and I had to take out a loan just to finish the kitchen ($36K for the project). As we went along I BEGGED her to find out how much the fabricator of the granite and the backsplash installer were going to cost me--she had NO IDEA--and even now has no idea how much I paid. In addition there was no money to address any of the other items on her promised list, and I don’t even have blinds in the kitchen. All the electrical switches are still from 1970. Details like that make a big difference. When she chose the backsplash and granite for me, I went along with her recommendations, because decorating has never been my forte’ and it’s why I hired her. Only after the disastrous, long-extended installation did I learn from Marilyn than she never intended to manage the project, to quote her: “My job is not construction, nor to supervise.” So what WAS her job--just to select granite and backsplash? She went on vacation and left me to deal with fabricators, plumbers and the backsplash installer—WHO WAS FANTASTIC (Smith Beauplan 561-503-3177) and a big help to me with additional work that was overlooked. Sadly, once the backsplash was up, it looked hideous with the granite—so busy and a mish-mash of colors—it looks so bad that I’m having it replaced. Smith is helping me with that. Marilyn has of course blamed this on me because I gave her the OK on her recommendation (what I hired her for was to select and manage). She has blamed everything that went wrong with this on me or one of the vendors. As far as she’s concerned, she did great, NOTHING is ever her fault. This was a VERY EXPENSIVE, $2,059 referral fee to some good (and bad) vendors. STEER CLEAR. Use these vendors and do it yourself.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, closet systems, interior designers, remodeling, window treatments, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

I would like to take this opportunity to thank [Member Name Removed] for the business project she hired me for. I always appreciate the chance to help on important projects as I do with everyone.Unfortunetly we were not able to work together on her completion wish list due to her wants versus her budget. I completely understand the generous grade review she gave me on high quality and punctuality. Thank you [Member Name Removed]. Those are two things that I pride my business on. Again, unfortunately, I was not able to complete the project to her liking because of the changes that were made by her after the deposit she gave me due to her tastes being more expensive than her budget. Before the deposit and the contract signed by the cabinet man she was told she would not be able to get all these things on her limited budget, however, we were able to complete her kitchen and custom office space in her livingroom. Interior Designers can be expensive to some and others not so much. I have been in the business for 20 years or more and have an outstanding reputation on Angie's List and throughout the area.
5.0

09/20/2016


Karen B.

Marilyn dealt with all the areas and provided good ideas. She was professional and pleasant.

Description of Work
Placement of furniture and what new pieces would work better. Color selections and window treatments were recommended.

Category interior designers

5.0

09/09/2016


Karen B.

Marilyn answered all my questions and was very informative and helpful. She covered all areas including window treatments. I found her to be very nice and professional.

Description of Work
Furniture needs, furniture placement, color choices

Category interior designers

5.0

08/29/2016


ROBERTA H.

There were some delays from a provider which Marilyn dealt with

Description of Work
Marilyn organized the complete renovation of my condo. She brought together all of the workmen. We gutted the condo including a new kitchen and 2 bathrooms. New flooring throughout. Then we went shopping to wonderful suppliers. Marilyn brought wonderful artisans especially Brent Miller who created new designs for my walls. He repainted furniture and walls and even a wonderful painting. I had used Marilyn a few years ago so I knew the quality of her work. I highly recommend her and now consider her a friend

Category interior designers

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the wonderful review, I finally found it. I loved doing our job and the fun we had every time we worked my great sources. The best part is our friendship and the joy you have in your new beautiful home. Thank you [Member Name Removed]
5.0

02/02/2016


paul S.

I am the man of the family. My wife would be better able to give details, Suffice it to say we were both very satisfied with the end result. We are both very happy with the way the house looks and feels.

Description of Work
Marilyn helped us with decorating suggestions, finding items at decent prices, arranging for a very good painter, electrician, etc. All the services desired from a decorator. She had many ideas but deferred to our needs and tastes.

Category interior designers

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much (Removed members name) for taking the time for your nice review. Doing your home was a labor of love. Seeing it come together from empty to full circle of decorating and design reflects your personality of family warmth and love. The best part is all the fun and friendship we made during the process. Thank you again. See you soon. Marilyn, Home Expressions
3.0

10/11/2015


Peter S.

After paying for a consultation, the arrangements for the in-home meeting were accomplished quickly. The "deal" was for a couple of hours of consultation including specific recommendations. What was delivered was little more than a presentation on her capabilities, an outline of the process she employs for assignments and a review of a portfolio of projects she has done. Hearing this approach, I decided not to go further.

Description of Work
I purchased a consultation visit and got little more than a sales pitch to do a full project.

Category interior designers

5.0

07/19/2015


Ronnie O.

Marilyn was very patient with us as we kept adding to our project. She did an excellent job guiding us and maintaining our identity in the home. The painter and general contractor she works with are wonderful. We had a few issues w/the electrician, but everything was resolved.

Description of Work
Marilyn coordinated the renovation & updating of our home in Florida, remodeling kitchen, bathrooms & flooring.

Category flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you both so much for this great review. I have enjoyed working for you. Especially love you two beautiful boys! I am available anytime for any questions. Be well and take care. Marilyn
5.0

04/22/2015


Linda K.

I am absolutely delighted with the work of Marilyn Weiss. I needed a designer because I moved to Florida from New Jersey and I couldn?t make my old furniture work in my new space. I also bought six kitchen chairs from Arhaus that were a mistake. Marilyn came in and transformed my home. First, she called Arhaus and got them to take back the chairs and replace them with new ones that are absolutely beautiful. This was a miracle in itself because the chairs had been in my house for almost a year when I hire her. I desperately needed new floors and new window treatments. She has terrific contacts and works with a team of guys who are true professionals. She recommended a great flooring place and we picked out Spanish Porcelain floor tiles that are perfect. As soon as guests step into my home they remark about the beautiful floors. Then she had Fernando install the tiles and he did a top-notch job. Next were the window treatments. They changed the entire look of the house. I?m so happy. She also transformed our billiards room with ideas for faux paint on the ceiling. Marilyn was able to take my furniture from up north and make it work in my home. She is a wonderful listener and her fees are very reasonable. I take great pleasure in recommending Marilyn because she is a true joy to work with. Sincerely, Linda P. Kester

Description of Work
Redecorated my home.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, interior designers, window treatments, interior painters

5.0

03/14/2015


Virginia A.

My husband and I were in the process of updating and redecorating our house when we came to the point where we needed help. That's how Marilyn came into the picture. Even though we already had several items she was able to work with them and help us create a lovely setting. Shopping with Marilyn was fun! She has such a sharp eye for color and dimensions and can spot the perfect item among the mundane. She also taught me points about decorating so I now feel more comfortable in choosing some items for myself. She was patient when it took us so long to decide on a kitchen backsplash and a chair for the living room. Even though she probably wanted to scream, she just continued to help us look and look until we were satisfied. Marilyn is a jewel.

Description of Work
Assisted with decorating living room/dining room and kitchen.

Category ceramic tile, interior designers

5.0

02/02/2015


marj P.

She was excellent. She was very easy to work with. She does what she said she was going to do. She did not push me into anything I did not want either.

Description of Work
She did my redid my condo.

Category interior designers

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name] I enjoyed you too. I am always available for you even though our redo is over. Your the best, Home Expressions by Marilyn. My staff loved you.
5.0

11/22/2014


Kris C.

Let me begin by saying that this was my first time using a designer, and I will definitely use Marilyn in the future with any medium to large home renovation projects. I initially purchased the consultation, and I was impressed with her impromptu ideas- enough tto sign her up to help me make key decisions during a a medium remodeling project. Over the subsequent few months, she offered great suggestions and delivered the exact look I was after. And we didn?t spend a great deal of money even though the place truly has transformed into ?my? home. Her go-to contractors were equally as pleasant and on their ?A? game - especially Brent from Rembrent Studios, who did a great job at painting the interior. Bottom line is if you want someone who can deliver on your wants and budget, call Marilyn up.

Description of Work
Helped me pick out all colors for interior painting (paid separately at 1800) of aprox 1000 sq ft including baseboards and crown in 4 combined different colors; Went to home decor stores numerous times to find much needed art and other accessories in nearly every room we touched. Also helped me pick out new window treatments (again, paid separately at 900)

Category interior designers, remodeling, window treatments, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. You have been a delight to work for. I take a lot of pride and enjoy doing my best for everyone. You have been fun and made my work so much easier. My staff from Stuart on your windows and Brent doing your painting had only great things to say about you and the job. I look forward to seeing you soon to select your rug runner. Thank you again [removed member name], Sincerely, Home Expressions by Marilyn Marilyn Weiss
1.0

11/03/2014


Judith O.

Details stated above.

Description of Work
Hired Designer 9-6-2014 to redo parts of bathroom and bedroom. List was given and approved for work to be done under$10,000. After two visits from different workers I discover that prices are way above the $10,000. I confronted designer who now said that I should be doing only l job, felt very uncomfortable at this point. One of the workers called and asked for monies due to a family emergency, I declined once again very uncomfortable. At this point I decided to cancel the work, now Marilyn tells me that they will drop their prices in half, leads me to believe that I was being overpriced to begin with. At this point I want nothing to do with these people. I had given Marilyn $700.00 down payment in all fairness I felt she should return part of that amount seeing nothing was done, she agreed as long as I wrote a note saying I would not tell of this experience. Once again she did not hold up to her end. I sent the note never to hear from her. Called her, message never returned. I must say this was my first bad experience with Angie's list, I will be very caution on my next project.

Category interior designers, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

I can't believe you said such nasty dirty things about me. You promised me if I returned half of the $700 which is $350 you would not ruin my reputation on Angie's List. I guess you just could not resist. Feel a lot better now. We tried to help you out by taking less in each of our pockets. Your good word and good faith was more important at the end of the day to us and you thought we were unprofessional and taking advantage of you. You have a big problem to accuse these sub contractors and I of these ugly rumors. Being in business 25-35 years as long as we have did not happen overnight. I did accommodate you on several trips. Marilyn
5.0

07/11/2014


Iris G.

Everything went according to plan and budget, as usual.

Description of Work
I hired Marilyn previously for a total kitchen renovation. Marilyn, along with her team, did a fabulous job. Therefore when I decided to update my master bathroom, Marilyn was the first and only call I made. Once again my expectations were exceeded. The bathroom is beautiful and feels like a high class spa. Marilyn is always extremely responsive, on time and always within budget. I'm now considering updating guest bathroom and once again my first call with be to Marilyn Weiss.

Category interior designers, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you again for your continued support and loyalty to me and my team. I look forward to working with you soon on your guest bathroom and as always anything else your interested in. Also, thank you for referring me to your neighbor, Lois. The best complement is a referral. Speak soon. Marilyn.
4.0

05/05/2014


Joyce R.

She was very knowledgable, polite and on time. The price for her services was just too high for me.

Description of Work
Discussed ideas for redoing living room .

Category interior designers

5.0

01/21/2014


joyce H.

I was very satisfied with the service.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for $49 Interior Design or Home-Staging Consultation!

Category interior designers, home staging

Service Provider Response

[removed member name] Thank you very much for your nice review. I look forward to continuing our work together. It is so important to to me to please all my clients and do a good job. Thanks again, Marilyn
2.0

12/20/2013


Leslie T.

Marilyn was there to sell me more of her self. She wanted to use the time to show me how I could redo my kitchen and I was taken to her contractor. I got an estimate and went to look at granite. I will say that I did not take control of the situation immediately. She also told me that the fee I paid for her services did not go to her, but to Angie's List. She only makes any money by selling "me" more of her services. This is something to keep in mind if you ever get one of Angie's Big buys.

Description of Work
help with the decoration of the house and to assist with some future purchases

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Gee [member name removed], I am very sorry you feel this way. You are right my job has many functions as a interior designer. I do try very hard to sell myself that my clients and future clients have the confidence they are in the hands of a professional, who is experienced and respondsible. I always turn my clients over to a sub contractor that is part of my team who will actually be working with me and doing all the physical renovation. Yes, I do get a consulting fee. When you buy a big deal or storefront deal that goes to Angies List. Most good designers have a staff of qualified contractors who they turn the client over to with their assistance to consult on the job. I assist the client in selecting cabinetry, granite, backsplash, hardware, colors, etc. I am always in contact with the client. I take the client to places to make their selection at the designer cost prices. This always works out and my clients are very happy this way. Sorry I did not have that opportunity. Marilyn, Home Expressions by Marilyn
5.0

12/02/2013


Carl P.

She was on time and very helpful although I did not follow all of her advice I think it was just personal taste. She was in no hurry to leave even though she came on an Angies list deal she was here at least as long the deal called for if not longer and offered her phone # for any questions I had in the future free of charge

Description of Work
Marilyn came to my home and gave me some good advice on the choices that I was to make in a remodel that I was working on.

Category interior designers

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much [member name removed] for your nice review. Positive reviews are so helpful in doing a good job for future clients. If I can ever be of assistance to you in the future please call me anytime. Thank, Marilyn
5.0

08/28/2013


JoAnn M.

very well, Marilyn was very professional and helpful with her suggestions in a difficult situation

Description of Work
went over current home situation, and discused solutions

Category interior designers, home staging

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [member name removed] for your review. You can call me anytime for any advice or help. I appreciate your positive review and wish you good luck and good health. I will contact Mr. Smith for you. Again, Thank you, Marilyn
5.0

07/29/2013


Jan C.

Marilyn is a lovely lady. Very savvy on colors. She knew just the right thing for my windows.

Description of Work
Helped me choose material for cornice boards.

Category interior designers

Service Provider Response

Thank you (Member name removed) for the great review. I couldn't ask for anything better. It was great meeting with you. I hope I can help you again. Sincerely, Marilyn
5.0

06/19/2013


MA K.

A true professional who I recommend highly.

Description of Work
Consultation

Category interior designers

4.0

04/16/2013


Madeline Y.

The experience was ok. She is a home stager and a designer. She basically wanted us to clean out the house and paint almost every room. When we would ask her questions, she would say "I can't give away all my secrets..." So she wanted us to basically purchase more time with her. She was full of resources though, and was able to give us names of good painters to use. The only ideas that we are taking away from her was taking down all our personal items, which we already knew. So I felt like we didn't get a whole lot from the time with her. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either. We had asked her about changing some things in the kitchen, but she wanted to charge for just a plan or idea. But if you go to a kitchen remodel place, you would be able to get a plan drawn up for free.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for interior design/home staging for Home Expressions by Marilyn.

Category closet systems, home remodeling

3.0

02/02/2013


ed H.

She is very knowledgeable and she was hoping to have follow on business. I really just wanted help with choosing the different paint colors for the flow of the home. We never got around to that because she discussed other things the home needed. She did have good ideas but I was disappointed that we did not stay on track. It seemed like she wanted to use all of her regular people to do the work. She wanted to re do my whole house but that was not particularly what I needed. It was a little bit over board. However, I respect her knowledge but the prices beyond the deal were high.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for interior design or home staging consultation.

Category interior designers, home staging

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review on your Big Deal. If I remember correctly I suggested colors from my paint wheel I brought into your home. Yes, it was my job to answer your question " tell me Marilyn how do you work?" I did tell you everything you asked me and especially about my team of sub contractors(painter), ETC...........As we walked around the house you pointed out other areas you needed advise about and I believe I gave you many ideas. Sorry you were disappointed with my good ideas, especially the one in the dining room you appeared to like. Thank you again for your review. MARILYN

    Other local Pros in your area

    Concept Closets & More

    We specialize in concept closet designs as well as wall units , laundries , garages and much more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Barry McAllister LLC

    I am a Commercial and Residential remodeling contractor now.Prior to this I was a General contractor for 20 years I have completed a 5 year Apprenticeship program for Carpentry and Project Management.I have 2 years of College for Architectural Engineering.I have worked on many Commercial Projects such as restaurants, Banks and Office Buildings. The last 5 years I have had many jobs with Palm Beach Atlantic University. Residential Work: I have build many Custom Homes in the past and many Home Renovations.Now my Company Has been Installing Kitchens, Bathrooms,Tile and Laminate flooring, Windows and Doors,Crown Molding and all trim work,framing,sheetrock and Painting.We can handle all your Home Renovations needs.I am Licenced and Insured.I have experienced and trustworthy employees that I have worked with for many years and I am on the job with them everyday.I also work with great Plumbing and Electrical contractors with fair prices. I will give free Estimates and Ideas for your up coming projects.I have many References and Guarantee all of my work. We are a Charitable Company and donate to Childrens Organizations.Please Contact us for your next Project. Thank You Barry McAllister 561-723-7167  

    Direct Fast Painting

    Painting / interior/exterior/ Commercial/Residential  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Ask for Details

    Services Offered

    Custom interior design & home staging, remodeling kitchen, bathrooms, window treatments, painting, faux painting, color selections, electrical, plumbing designs, window blinds, curtains, area rugs, carpeting selection, furniture & decorating design.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Home Expressions by Marilyn

    How is Home Expressions by Marilyn overall rated?

    Home Expressions by Marilyn is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are Home Expressions by Marilyn open?

    Home Expressions by Marilyn is open:

    Sunday: 12:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 12:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Home Expressions by Marilyn provide

    Home Expressions by Marilyn accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does Home Expressions by Marilyn offer free estimates?

    Yes, Home Expressions by Marilyn offers free project estimates.

    Does Home Expressions by Marilyn offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Home Expressions by Marilyn does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Home Expressions by Marilyn offer a senior discount?

    No, Home Expressions by Marilyn does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Home Expressions by Marilyn?

    No, Home Expressions by Marilyn does not offer warranties.

    What services does Home Expressions by Marilyn offer?

    Home Expressions by Marilyn offers the following services: Custom interior design & home staging, remodeling kitchen, bathrooms, window treatments, painting, faux painting, color selections, electrical, plumbing designs, window blinds, curtains, area rugs, carpeting selection, furniture & decorating design.