Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Rayco Electric Inc

Founded 1979 • With Angi since September 2009

4.7

(71) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

603 18th Ave W

Bradenton, FL 34205

Description

Rayco Electric, Inc. is a full service electrical contracting company, serving residential, commercial and industrial customers since 1979. The Company is locally owned and operated and serves Manatee, Sarasota, Pinellas and south Hillsborough counties....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

10/21/2019


Brent H.

I had to go through an inspection to get new home owners insurance on my duplex. During the initial inspection, I did not pass. I made sure that Rayco got a hold of the inspector so that they can do exactly what needed to be done to meet code requirements. The inspector came and it still did not pass inspection, even though Rayco was told exactly what was needed to be done. When I called Rayco to let them know, they said it was up to code and that they would look into it and get back to me. Later that day, they got back to me and said they contacted the person that did the work and they claimed everything was up to code. I ended up calling another electrical company who also spoke with the inspector before performing the work. The inspector came after the second company and we finally passed. I do not recommend Rayco.

Description of Work
Rewire my electrical panels to meet codes

Category electrician

1.0

02/06/2018


Carol K.

My appointment was for 11 AM it is now 1:45 and they still aren't here. I had to call to find out if they were still coming. was told by 2PM. Mind you my appointment was for last week and they changed it it to today. Very unprofessional.

Description of Work
needed a heat lamp installed in bathroom, two new lights swapped out.

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

Unfortunately, we were late for this appointment. Sometimes, our Service Crews are delayed due to prior jobs. This is not the "Norm" for Rayco Electric but as I stated sometime it does happen. We work for every hard to achieve 100% customer satisfaction and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused this customer.
5.0

10/11/2017


CECELIA A.

My husband was very pleased so I'd say "A" to everything. We'd use them again.

Description of Work
Fix a Hatteras on the dock.

Category electrician

5.0

06/29/2017


CECELIA A.

Excellent, responded promptly, fair price for service provided

Description of Work
Retire boat pedestal

Category electrician

3.0

02/15/2017


Steven F.

Called Rayco, Explained exactly what I needed, Two technicians arrive and tell me they do not have the wire to complete the job. They (both of them ) climb back in the truck and disappear for an hour and 10 min and returned from Home Depot (the wire still had the HD Tape) they started on the job , Next they come to me and ask if I have any bolts, they broke one and don’t have one in the truck , I had one and they finished the job They give me a bill for 2 ½ hours. I complained about paying for time for both of them to drive to HD. He explained to me that I could not expect him to carry every kind of wire (or bolts) the job was done fine but you are warned if you do not live next to Home Depot expect your bill to double.

Description of Work
Replaced a wire between meter and Breaker box

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

We received a call from Mr. [Member Name Removed] and responded within 2 hours. Mr. [Member Name Removed] described his electrical issue to the best of his ability. When our service technicians arrived it was determined that Mr. [Member Name Removed] had a 225amp service which takes 3/0 wire which is a larger size wire than we expected. Typically, our Service Crews do not carry 3/0 wire. Our Service technicians came to our completely stocked warehouse to get the 3/0 wire and lug that needed to be replaced. [Member Name Removed]'s statement that we "returned from Home Depot" is 100% FALSE. We do not purchase wire or lugs from Home Depot. Our goal is 100% customer satisfaction. Unfortunately, over the past 38 years, every now and then, a customer is dissatisfied with our pricing. Sincerely, B. Scott, Service Manager
5.0

11/04/2016


Ron B.

Great job. Very professional. Made some suggestions that made the job go better than expected.

Description of Work
New smoke detectors, dimmers, gfi outlets, track lighting, and dining fixture

Category electrician, lighting

1.0

10/08/2016


Ting Z.

Big F for this company. I did not end up using their service, for a reason. I have an electrical issue at my rental condo in Sarasota. I called Rayco based on the good reviews of the members. Big mistake. Called them to set up an appointment. They confirmed with my tenant. They asked for my credit card information, billing address and everything. I gave them all they need. I was told since they don't know what issue it was it could take an hour or all day. At the beginning they said it is $95 dollars an hour and later told me because they suspected it was a wiring issue so they would need to send two people, at a rate of $140 an hour. I said find. I asked the electricians to call me if they have not fixed the issue within an hour. I am not going to be at the service call so I need them to call me to know how it is going and how long they estimate it would take. Normal, right? And I have never had any other providers say no to this. Mentioned I am an Angie's list member and the 10% discount they have running. They ask me to email them the coupon. Now that is a first. Usually the providers would give the discount promptly at the mention of the coupon. Begin to feel an little bit of arrogance from Rayco there. I decided to still go forward based on the good reviews from the members. A day later I got a voicemail from a lady named Helen saying she is putting my service call on hold because she overheard my conversation with the service rep and is not sure why they should have their guys call me after an hour. She said in the voicemail that she is not sending her guys down to Sarasota to trouble shoot. Yes, I still have her voicemail. I was very upset by this as I went through all the trouble to schedule with them and my tenant. They are just kicking and screaming for me to take my business elsewhere. So I did take it somewhere else. When I called Rayco to cancel my appointment I decided to talked to Helen. She said she is the controller. I simply asked her if she has someone fixing things at her home, would she ask the service guy what the problem is and how long it will take to fix it. She did not have an answer to that. Now she said that the other service rep failed to tell me that they start calculating time from the time their electricians leave the building. Now that is a first. If this company did not have good reviews on Angies list I would have thought this is a con company. Frankly, this is the most frustrating experience I have ever had with a service provider. I cannot believe Angies List lists this company as a super service provider. The lady also transferred me to the owner's voicemail. I left him a voicemail and the owner never bothered to call me back. Something is going on within that company that probably would destroy it in the process. As a controller a good thing to remember is that if there is no revenue there is no profit.

Description of Work
need to check out an electrical issue in the guest bedroom

Category electrician

5.0

07/31/2016


Danielle G.

GREAT ! Greg (owner) and his guys are all very professional and do a super job.

Description of Work
Multiple electrical issues within the house- inside and out, including a new kitchen remodel.

Category electrician, lighting, remodeling, ceiling fans

5.0

07/17/2016


Janis H.

Bob and Paul were here for 3 and a half hours which I thought was quick. They did a great job for what I considered a very reasonable price. It cost $332.5 in total. One place I asked for an estimate quoted over $700.00. It'S always wise to get at least three quotes. I would go with Rayco again if I needed something else done.

Description of Work
I had 5 Ceiling fans and two Pendant lights installed.

Category electrician, ceiling fans

5.0

03/28/2016


David L.

A friend walked trough my home after the rough in. He knows what he is talking aout and he said "oh my....these boys are pros!" Quality work, quality service, fair price

Description of Work
I had the project(s) bid by three different companies. I chose Rayco because the man bidding the job, Barney Scott, was the only one that understood the wiring of my 1950 home. He was opening a decrepit receptacle and it sparked. The realtor and myself jumped, Barney didn't even flinch.Experience.....this was my team. the project was almost an entire rewiring. The heavy lifting was done by Phil and Pete - both pros in their professions but even better, pros with their service. I had many questions and frequently needed advice. No problems for these two guys. I highly recommend Rayco Dave Lynch

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

We Thank you for your kind words. We have ben in business almost 38 years but never get tired of hearing from our happy customers. I will make sure that all of the electricians you mentioned receive a copy of this review. Take care, Helen M. Eslinger, Controller Rayco Electric, Inc.
5.0

01/30/2016


Eugene S.

Bob and Carlton arrived on time as scheduled. Both were very polite, professional and respectful to us and our home. They went over the job with us after they finished to make sure the job was done to our satisfaction, which it was. We would recommend Rayco Electric (Bob & Carlton) and would hire them back for future jobs.

Description of Work
Removed 1 existing recess can in ceiling in powder room and Installed ceiling box with medallion and chandelier light. Installed dimmer switch for chandelier. Installed stacked switch for exhaust fan and 2nd ceiling light.

Category electrician

5.0

12/21/2015


Sarabeth L.

Russell came on time, smiling, and friendly. He and his assistant got directly to work. Everything was accomplished on time, and with professionalism and attention to quality. I highly endorse this company.

Description of Work
Repaired several outlets, replaced 2 pendant light fixtures, added dimmer switches, put in an exterior flood light with new wiring and switch.

Category electrician, lighting

5.0

11/25/2015


Sarabeth L.

Russell came on time,worked efficiently, and fixed everything I asked,even though it wasn't on his list. Very expert and adept.

Description of Work
Repaired a high amp outlet for electric range. Changed out a plug on electric dryer fit the outlet. Changed out bulbs in can lights in a very high cathedral ceiling. Replaced a defective breaker in panel box and managed to get a broken off appliance bulb stuck in the socket I couldn't get out.

Category electrician, lighting

5.0

09/11/2015


Linda C.

He was on time, polite and clean.

Description of Work
Replaced GFCI outlet and tested others.

Category electrician

5.0

09/01/2015


ROdney S.

They are outstanding! They did not try to overcharge. He did what we asked for and was not trying to add more to the services. He is highly dependable and very punctual. I would recommend this company to anyone especially seniors. He is very trusting and integrity wise outstanding.

Description of Work
Electrical- Remodeling

Category electrician

5.0

08/18/2015


Christopher A.

I called at 8:30 a.m., and the electrician was at the house by 9! Jamie, who answers the phone and does the scheduling, was extremely helpful and thorough. The electrician, Richard, identified and fixed the problems quickly and gave clear explanations as to what was wrong.

Description of Work
Fixed wiring to stove, fixed wiring/mounting of a ceiling fan light

Category electrician, lighting, ceiling fans

5.0

07/10/2015


Tom T.

They arrived the fastest of any service we have ever had and immediately found the problem and corrected it. Very courteous and professional. Would use again.

Description of Work
Troubleshoot for an electrical problem

Category electrician

5.0

06/02/2015


Mathew R.

I had 4 businesses give me quotes and Rayco was over $1000 cheaper.....Yes $1000 cheaper. The arrived on time and replaced the panel with a Square D. They did not try to sell me anything I didn't need. Great work at a GREAT price

Description of Work
Rayco replaced an old fire hazzard electrical panel made by Federal Pacific.

Category electrician

5.0

05/29/2015


Larry R.

,Timely service, Entire installation, including having building inspector scheduled, same day. Crew was friendly and professional. Job was done as proposed. Hope to have the same crew on the next project.

Description of Work
Upgrade of Electrical panel. Demo old panel. Install new whole house electrical panel. Handled permits and inspection and coordinated with FPL.

Category electrician

5.0

05/07/2015


JOHN M.

We were very happy with him. We've had them back several times. We got them from Angie's List. We've had them for over a year now. They were professional without kind of proving it. They were very friendly and quick to do their job. The price was competitive.

Description of Work
.

Category electrician

5.0

11/25/2014


JOHN M.

They did a great job. There were two people who completed the job. It only took about an hour. They worked hard and didn't try to cheat us. They explained everything to us, then fixed it for us. They did a great job on the ceiling fan. They are fantastic people.

Description of Work
They installed a ceiling fan and completed other jobs around the house.

Category electrician, ceiling fans

5.0

10/13/2014


D'Ann W.

Rayco just left and they did a marvelous job of installing four Hi Hats in our office. We have used Rayco over the years and no one can come close to their professionalism, knowledge, and service. My husband knows how do do many electrical jobs, he also knows who to hire when he can't or doesn't want to do the job. From the first time we used Rayco in 2000, until now, their quality has not changed. Reasonable prices. Would highly recommend.

Description of Work
Installed Four High Hats in Office.

Category electrician

5.0

09/22/2014


Robert C.

Went very well. completed as ordered.

Description of Work
new line to dryer across open yard

Category electrician

5.0

08/04/2014


Judy C.

Rayco has done electrical work for me in the past when they had installed ceiling fans. This time my new kitchen island had to have the electricity hooked up and they worked nicely with my kitchen contractor to get it done.

Description of Work
Rayco connected electricity to my center island.

Category electrician, remodeling, ceiling fans

5.0

07/29/2014


Robert S.

I used them because they had good reviews on Angie's list. They were professional and affordable.

Description of Work
They installed a receptacle.

Category electrician

    Other local Pros in your area

    Generx Generators Inc

    Generx Generators, Inc. is a distributor of one of the largest independent manufacturers of complete engine-driven generator systems. From the core of the engine to the controls, we stand by our product with one of the best warranties in the industry. We ensure that our products are quiet, powerful, and reliable.  

    Mister Sparky

    We give you options for solving your electrical problem & provide you with an exact price on how much it will cost to the penny. Then, upon receiving your approval we will start the work immediately & finish it the same day in most cases. All repairs are guaranteed. If an electrical repair fails during normal use in the three (3) years we will either repair or replace the item at no charge to you. Your complete satisfaction with our electricians & electrical repairs is 100% guaranteed.  

    Offers by Mister Sparky on Angi
    Pleasant Lightscapes Inc

    Finest Outdoor Lighting Company in Southwest Florida! Professional Landscape & Architectural Lighting - Specializing in Low Volatge LED, Lifetime Warranty Products & Installations. While other homes are disappearing into the night your home will come to life as a showpiece of design sensibility. We understand your home is more than just a residence to you. It should be a visual masterpiece that friends, neighbors, even passerby’s can’t help but stop and take notice. All of our custom designed systems are the result of a personal collaboration with each individual client. You have your own specific style and taste. We are here to ensure your lighting system will reflect this. You hire us not for the lights, but for our expertise in design, our expertise in LED lighting, our professionalism in installation and the long term support and care for our clients. Fully licensed & insured.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential, commercial and industrial. New, remodel and interior build-outs. Service work from repairing an outlet to replacing electrical panels. Electrical service upgrades and repairs. Upgrade existing or add new electrical devices. Furnish and/ or install generators.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Rayco Electric Inc

    How is Rayco Electric Inc overall rated?

    Rayco Electric Inc is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Rayco Electric Inc open?

    Rayco Electric Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Rayco Electric Inc provide

    Rayco Electric Inc accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa

    Does Rayco Electric Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Rayco Electric Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Rayco Electric Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Rayco Electric Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Rayco Electric Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Rayco Electric Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Rayco Electric Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Rayco Electric Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Rayco Electric Inc?

    Yes, Rayco Electric Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Rayco Electric Inc offer?

    Rayco Electric Inc offers the following services: Residential, commercial and industrial. New, remodel and interior build-outs. Service work from repairing an outlet to replacing electrical panels. Electrical service upgrades and repairs. Upgrade existing or add new electrical devices. Furnish and/ or install generators.

    Are there any services Rayco Electric Inc does not offer?

    Ask for details.