About

Founded 1976 • With Angi since May 2010

We built our name on consistently exceeding our customer's expectations when it comes to your home remodeling projects. Whether it is window or door replacement or a home makeover, we turn your dreams into reality. We provide the highest quality hurricane impact windows, entry doors and patio sliding glass doors designed to withstand hurricane force winds, along with a full line of storm protection products for your windows and door. In addition we offer the James Hardie cement siding that protects your home from all types of weather conditions, along with, American Heritage Interior Plantation Shutters, manufactured locally in Fort Myers. Since 1976 we have proven to be the best choice for your residential contractor! Some of the benefits our locally-owned company can include are: competitive rates without hidden costs, innovative products and above all exceptional customer satisfaction. Call us today for your free estimate!! Our goal is to exceed your expectations....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+2 more images

Verified Reviews

4.7

(65) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

50

4

3

3

3

2

3

1

6

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

patio enclosures (48)door installation (28)window replacement (21)hurricane shutters (6)siding companies (3)handyman (9)home remodeling (8)Patios (3)interior painting (2)house painting (2)gutter repair (2)glass repair (2)
Showing 1-25 of 65 reviews
1.0

06/29/2022


Heather H.

My husband and I chose Mr. Build to install a new front door for our home. The salesman was great, we gave our deposit, they took the final measurements and we waited for the door to be installed. We were told the door would need to be modified to fit our home by the manufacturer and it could take a little longer, which was fine. We were surprised when it arrived early for installation and were happy to schedule. Unfortunately, the door had not been modified at the manufacturer and the installer did the modifications on-site, including cutting our foundation and “shaving” the top of the door which left it uneven. He also cut into our new flooring and left a large gap between the threshold and floor which he tried to fill with silicone. We had them return to inspect the work and had to reschedule someone to now place a new threshold transition and also attempt to fix the window moldings. A couple weeks go by and then we start to see gaps of light between the side of the door and the frame from the inside. After multiple unsuccessful attempts to fix the issue and being told it was a tech's last day and he “tried to make it work” we still have the same problems. I've asked what our options were since they aren’t fixing the problems and claim they will “make it right” but the issues are never fixed. I was told by Melanie we would not receive any amount of a refund and they will not pay for another door. Needless to say, after months of dealing with this we are extremely frustrated, beyond tired of the excuses, poor workmanship, and lack of accountability. To spend $3000 to have damage done to our foundation, new flooring, and having light, heat, and outside air coming through the door frame is ridiculous in Florida. We were better off with our previous $200 door from Home Depot.

Description of Work
Replace new front door

Category doors

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/28/2022

Images

Review for Mr Build - 2211 58th Ave E, Bradenton, FL - 39782898

+4 More

5.0

07/09/2020


Debra Y.

very well... on time, very courteous & got done in timely manner

Description of Work
gutter replacement

Category gutter repair, siding, replacement windows, doors, sunrooms

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/09/2020

3.0

07/09/2018


Joan G.

This contractor does not repair Hardy Board siding any longer. They were very courteous and gave me the name of another contractor. However, this was not successful either.

Description of Work
Repair of Hardy Board siding

Category siding

Work Completed On 07/09/2018

5.0

07/08/2017


Armand P.

They called me right away, within a day. He was over here giving us a very good, what I thought was a good contract and we’ve dealt with him before so we just went with him but you like to compare who wants what for these windows. I’m sitting in that room right now. It’s got about a 14-ft. ceiling. It goes out from the back. It was a little patio out here that was so hot you couldn’t even put a plant out there. We tried putting a wall across, but nothing worked. He had very efficient people do an excellent job and we have a, really a beautiful room out here it’s like a third room, except we have my husband’s television cave. It’s a 14x18 and its got exercise equipment in it so we’re very satisfied. He’s a very nice guy to deal with. He’s got a very good personality and he knows how to sell his ideas. First of all, we went to one of those home things where they have all those home builders and things and we contacted with a builder to do it and when Mr. Build called, I can’t even remember how he knew, I told him I had already contracted with somebody and he well let me come over and give you a bid anyhow and it turned out that his bid was a lot lower and he thought of things that these other guys didn’t. Like bringing the floor, in other words the sliding glass doors when you walked out you had to step down, he said you’ll get flooded out if you don’t bring the floor up to grade. We never put a room on a house before so we never thought of that. He did and his price was good and people came when they were supposed to, they did the work fairly quickly, no problems. It was a good experience and it’s a beautiful room. The man who just measured for the windows for our entire house a square it hasn’t sunk at all in our new room, so that was proof that it hasn’t sunk at all. He has a very good reputation. I checked him out with the Better Business Bureau and the first company that we had signed with did not come out good, they had a lot of complaints and Mr. Build didn’t have any, and he’s been in business like 20 or 30 years. I think the cost was alright. You know I’m not an expert on what things cost. There was quite a bit of work done because we had a slider on one wall that we closed up and we had a window that was taken out because it would be looking one room into another. Once you put a room in, you know, if there’s windows along one of the walls that looks into the rooms, they had to put the stucco on the outside. I think $40,000 was pretty good. We had a hurricane door and hurricane windows put inside 5 windows. We don’t do things cheap because if you’re going to do it, do it right. His men did show up on time, unfortunately, at 8 o’clock in the morning. I would hope they would be a little late every once in a while, but it did not work out that way. I might be using him again. I have a small bathroom that kind of looks tacky because the house is about 25 years old and I might have him redo that bathroom and make it a little jewel of a bathroom, modernize it. Even though I’m 87 and I shouldn’t be doing things like that to a house. I like it, I don’t travel, I don’t do any stuff that most people do. I just like my house. That’s my fun thing to do too, do stuff to the house.

Description of Work
Mr. Build had added a room on the house and he did a magnificent job. It’s a great big high ceiling room.

Category remodeling, replacement windows, sunrooms, hurricane shutters

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/08/2011

1.0

05/02/2017


karen C.

They couldn't be bothered to send me an estimate even after calling after a week to remind them that I hadn't gotten it yet.

Description of Work
To have a couple of windows and a door replaced

Category replacement windows, doors

Work Completed On 05/02/2017

2.0

03/15/2017


jack B.

Showed up on time to look over job, twice. Never gave an estimate. I called three times to inquire as to why and was given several excuses. I was told I would be called on 3 different occasions, It never happened. Don't waste your time. My 12000 to 15000 dollar job did not garner a call back.

Description of Work
New room addition

Category remodeling, sunrooms

Work Completed On 01/06/2017

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Information Removed] is correct in his evaluation of our responce. I should of completed his estimate in a timely manor. Richard

5.0

02/10/2017


david P.

Took longer than anticipated, but owner Richard Dunn kept us informed every step of the way.

Description of Work
Patio enclosure

Category replacement windows, doors, sunrooms, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/07/2016

5.0

01/31/2017


Kathina S.

He was fine but he was just too expensive. He did what he came to do. I would use him if he would cut down the price.

Description of Work
They came out and gave us an estimate for a remodeling of a sunroom.

Category sunrooms

Cost $12,000

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

09/14/2016


david R.

Richard Dunn is a gem. He took his time to go over all the options and costs associated with each. The installation was quick and thorough, and the inspector mentioned that the installation was much more stable than needed. Mr. Dunn came by a few weeks later to check out the finished product and answer any questions we may have. Excellent service and responsiveness. The door adds a real wow factor to our entrance, and is ready for stormy weather.

Description of Work
replace front double doors with impact doors

Category doors, sunrooms

Cost $6,750

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/10/2016

5.0

03/14/2016


John R.

Employees came on the appointed day and time. They worked for a full week and then another three days after the inspection. They removed all existing doors, windows, casements, and related structures. They were clean, neat, friendly, and professional. They cleaned up every day. Nothing was left open during the evening. Most days there were four workers on the job. The new doors and windows are very attractive, open and close easily, and are very secure. I am really pleased with the end result. I had a couple bids that were about $2,000 above and one that was $500 or so below. After this project was finished I have hired Mr. Build for another smaller project.

Description of Work
I just bought a house in Florida that is about 18 years old. I had Mr. Build replace all doors (one double front door with glass top panels, two single doors, three sliding glass doors one of which was three panels) and windows in the house with hurricane resistant doors and windows.

Category glass repair, remodeling, replacement windows, doors, sunrooms, hurricane shutters

Cost $33,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/08/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you. We appreciate your kind review. We look forward to strive beyond your expectations.

5.0

02/24/2016


Gary H.

Excellent quality and attention to detail. The owner is amiable and responds to calls and has been around a long time (did my neighbor's siding over ten years ago). On site crew was friendly and professional and immediately took care of any minor detail that I found. Bid was right in line with another preferred Hardieboard contractor. Overall, this is one of the best contractors I have worked with.

Description of Work
Installed new Hardieboard siding, new fascia wrap, and new soffit.

Category remodeling, siding, sunrooms

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/24/2016

5.0

05/11/2015


Beth R.

Our initial meeting with Richard Dunn was pleasant and he was very helpful in advising us on replacing our original 1925 windows. The work was done in 3 days and doing business with the company was easy and they were determined to get everything right in our old house with unfamiliar construction. We were pleased with the very experienced workers who did the work. They were friendly and very professional. The entire experience was a good one and the windows are great. We were a long time in deciding on this and we look forward to a much tighter house now.

Description of Work
In our vacation home on the river, they replaced 2 casement windows and a large picture window with hurricane impact windows. They also covered these same window exterior trims with aluminum covering to match the rest of the house...as well as some additional window trim coverings. They also advised on using 2 sets of sliders to replace 4 of the other casements.

Category replacement windows, hurricane shutters

Cost $5,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/04/2015

5.0

03/31/2015


Darryl W.

No complaints for work done. Owner was kind, courteous, and thorough. Did ask for an additional quote for screened in front entrance but have not heard back.

Description of Work
Installed fiberglass door to side of garage with frame, calking, and painting.

Category handyman service, remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors, sunrooms

Cost $1,295

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/03/2015

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review. I will call you shortly regarding that additional estimate.

5.0

03/26/2015


sue F.

The installation went very well. They were for the most part on time, courteous and neat. Some of the workers were a little more concerned about the dust factor than others. We could have pushed it and they would have complied but with our particular windows the dust factor was really not a major issue. One of the new installers put carpet graded plastic down on our ceramic tile and we are still dealing with glue residue from that. The window and doors look great. It took a little longer to get the city to finish off the permit but all worked out fine. They wanted their full payment when the windows were in as opposed to when the permit was signed off and all the minor issues taken care of. I withheld about 5% and would suggest that to be a good plan, although there was no indication that it would have made a difference in their speed of completion.

Description of Work
removed all existing windows and sliding doors and reinstalled with hurricane graded ones.

Category replacement windows, doors, sunrooms, hurricane shutters

Cost $28,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/09/2015

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback and we will address the pointed comments accordingly going forward.

5.0

02/16/2015


HAROLD V.

Over all we are fairly impressed with Mr. Build. Karen, one of the owners, made the initial visit to gather measurements and information. One of the biggest assets of Mr. Build is their communication skills. They were always alerting us as to when they were coming and would call if there would be a delay. Once started the project progressed in a timely manner. We did feel that the tiling operation took too long, as there was only one worker who did all the tile work, and although he was here every day, it was never for a full 8 hour day. On the other hand the finished project was perfect. Another area of concern was the shower plumbing. We planned to have a shower head, handheld sprayer and four body sprayers. The problem started when we picked out the Delta faucets at Ferguson plumbing. On the recommendation of Karen, from Mr. Build, we chose the Delta H2OKinetic system, because it supposedly offered a "high pressure experience" but without having to install a 3/4" water main to the shower area. Looking back, I would suggest going for the additional cost of installing a 3/4" pipe. The extra few hundred dollars allows you a greater selection of plumbing fixtures and a true high pressure experience. We chose our fixtures from the wall display and were assured by the Ferguson employee that they were the H2O Kinetics. Upon the first test in our shower, the body sprayers barely reached our body. The wrong body sprays had been ordered and installed. Giving great credit to Mr. Build, they did make it right. They had to order new sprays and enlarge the holes in the tile for the correct body sprayers and made everything right. If you were to use Mr. Build and multiple body sprays are in your plans, I would speak with an engineer at the plumbing store and not just a "sales clerk". Our sprayers are at an OK height, but could have been perfect if the plumber had taken in to account the 3" floor build up into his placement calculations. Mr. Build did offer to move them but it would have meant removing and replacing the tiled wall so we did not choose to do it. Beware of any changes to the original contract as they can be quite pricey.

Description of Work
Removed old master bath and installed new.

Category handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling, sunrooms

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/05/2014

5.0

01/25/2015


Jim F.

Owner/operator Richard Dunn came to my home to make a bid on my project. He arrived on time, was personable, and knowledgeable. We agreed on a specific brand and model door along with the price. He gave us a signed contract and we made an initial payment of about 33%. Another man came out and measured within a few days. Our new door was delivered a few weeks later. The installers took the greater part of a day to remove the old door and frame and install the new ones. They did a neat and professional job. We then paid our second installment. About a week later, their painter spent about five hours caulking and painting the door and frame inside and out with the colors we had selected. We then paid the final installment. Mr. Build?s staff communicated well throughout the project. Everyone arrived on time and acted professionally. Although their price might have been a little higher than others, we felt that the quality of their work and their dependability was worth the extra expense.

Description of Work
Mr. Build replaced a rotting, metal clad, wooden garage service door with a new Therma-Tru fiberglass, impact resistant, door and frame. The work was finished with caulking and two coats of paint, inside and out.

Category handyman service, remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors, sunrooms

Cost $1,439.75

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/2015

3.0

12/10/2014


Lee Q.

Met Richard Dunn from Mr. Build at local home show. We discussed replacement of our front doors and he agreed to come to our home to provide an estimate a couple of weeks later. Mr. Dunn arrived on schedule, looked at the current doors, took a photograph, and left a catalogue of doors for us to review. We asked Mr. Dunn to provide a "ball park" estimate during his visit to ensure that we wouldn't be wasting his time if the cost was too high. He wouldn't provide one. I e-mailed a few potential options to Mr. Dunn and one of his associates e-mailed back several photo shopped attachments, depicting how each set of doors would look on the front of our house. Nice touch! Mr. Dunn came back to the house a few days later with a final estimate and to retrieve his door catalogue. He provided a verbal estimate of $6,200. After telling him that it would be hard to justify spending that much money to replace the front doors, he then indicated he would be willing to include the replacement of the hardware on all of the other exterior doors, a project we had discussed earlier in the conversation. Still expressing reservations about the cost, Mr. Dunn then indicated that, even though the offer had expired a few days earlier (at the end of the month), he would offer us 0% financing if we would agree to the job in the next 2 days. After further evaluation, we declined the bid. Mr. Dunn did not provide a written version of the $6,200 estimate, detailing a breakdown of the price of the doors, labor, permits, etc.). And, after visiting the Mr. Build website and receiving a subsequent mailer from Mr. Build, it appears 0% financing is always offered by this company. We spoke to a neighbor who was very pleased with the work Mr. Build did replacing his doors. However, we were never completely comfortable during our interactions, sensing that we weren't getting straight answers or complete information. It felt like we were haggling over the purchase of a used car instead of discussing renovations to our home. We subsequently received an estimate from another provider for a hurricane-rated version of the same doors (the ones from Mr. Build were not hurricane-rated) for approximately $1,000 less.

Description of Work
Provided estimate for replacement of front doors

Category doors

Cost $6,200

Work Completed On 10/03/2014

5.0

06/03/2014


Linda G.

The quote process went extremely well and they were very punctual and professional.

Description of Work
Mr/ Biuild provided us a quote for siding, windows, and a porch. They were very professional and we almost went with them but decided on another company due to several neighbor's recommendations.

Category handyman service, remodeling, replacement windows, sunrooms, patios

Cost $30,000

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2014

5.0

05/18/2014


Cheryl M.

Richard Dunn, owner of Mr. Build, and all staff that worked on our project was professional, skilled, knowledgeable and trustworthy. They kept in touch regarding back orders or delays and always called to set appointments with workers. It was obvious that the goal of everyone was to please the customer. I did occasionally make calls to the company to check on progress and when work would be completed. Mr. Build was responsive to all our needs. Work and installation of both doors is complete. We are totally happy.

Description of Work
Installed a sliding patio door and an exterior door. Quality of product and service were excellent

Category handyman service, remodeling, doors, sunrooms, patios

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/29/2014

5.0

03/31/2014


Barbara W.

Company owner was prompt with response and provided detailed estimate. I am very happy with the quality of the cage structure built and the French doors installed. Concrete pad installation was also well done. All workers were very professional. The company was also excellent in responding to and resolving some minor tweaks 3 months later. My only concern was that I had to follow work closely to resolve a few details in design and materials that were not properly communicated to workers during construction, but Mr. Build was quick to correct to my satisfaction.

Description of Work
install screened lanai with concrete pad and convert e xistig window to French doors

Category remodeling, doors, sunrooms

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/27/2013

4.0

02/24/2014


Christine T.

It was good. They returned when there were problems and got them solved. They were fine and polite.

Description of Work
I used the window service of Mr Build Inc.

Category replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/06/2013

5.0

02/20/2014


Ronald S.

Everything went well. They were good, they did a quick job, and the product looks nice. The workers were efficient, and responsible.

Description of Work
We used Mr Build Inc. They had to replace the screens of a patio enclosure. They had to put new windows and screens.

Category doors, sunrooms

Cost $6,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/27/2014