Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Ferris Home Improvements

With Angi since October 2011

4.6

(160) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1908 Kirkwood Hwy Serving All of Delaware

Newark, DE 19711

Description

Ferris Home Improvements and Angie's List are a great match. We love to serve our customers with award-winning, quality service and craftsmanship. Voted seven years in a row as Delaware’s #1 Home Improvement Company, News Journal Readers' Choice Awards 2012-2018, our customers are our best billboards, and we intend to keep it that way. Since our inception, we have delivered quality residential and commercial property improvements to thousands of satisfied customers throughout Delaware, northeastern Maryland, southeastern Pennsylvania, and southern New Jersey. Ferris Home Improvements is a proud member of the Better Business Bureau (BBB) with an A+ rating. In 2012, we were honored as Winner of the Delaware Better Business Bureau Torch Award for Marketplace Ethics, and continued to build on our reputation as a local home improvement contractor you can trust. At Ferris Home Improvements, we strongly believe in being your partner in the home remodeling process. Our seasoned staff offers expertise and open communication to help guide you through decisions that fit your needs and budget. Combine over 40 years of industry experience, craftsmanship, and expertise with a customer-centered approach to home remodeling, and you get the best value for home improvement services in the area....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

10/11/2021


Joe S.

First time they came out to fix my soffit venting, they completely ruined the fascia wrap, thinking they could bend it to fit the soffit panels in and bend back into place...completely unacceptable and I'm not sure who thought that was a good idea, or something they could leave and be proud of as a "5-star" company. I also needed baffles in my attic to ensure insulation would not fall back into the soffit vents. Baffles need to be secured; Ferris just laid them on top of the insulation, unsecured to anything and installed them from outside the house, without going into the attic to place them the correct way...the contractor even insisted with me that leaving them unsecured was ok without any real reasoning when I asked several times why he thought that was correct. Somewhat thankfully, they came back out and started the job over from scratch, replacing the fascia wrap and installing the soffit panels neater, but not quite right in multiple areas, which made me follow up through the workmanship warranty. Even after all of this, they left some of the fascia wood exposed and even left me with a nice gap between the fascia and my roof line in multiple areas around my home. This was due to them removing my pre-existing drip edge in these areas. When I explained this to Ferris, I was told this is their "standard" to stop fascia wrapping an inch below the roof line, even if it wasn't that way before. When I tried asking about a drip edge replacement since they tore mine off, I did not receive a response to e mail or phone call, so I guess the "1 year warranty" I received on their work only applies when they feel like addressing it. Water, critters, etc. can get into this space thanks to Ferris where there was not a gap before - talk about a home improvement! If someone had told me they were going to leave a gap and not replace my drip edge, I never would have gotten this done by them. Additionally, if I needed something to fill that gap, why wasn't I quoted for that part in the original estimate?! Completely dishonest and sneaky in how this was handled, all things considered. Totally absurd and surreal experience from what I expected to be a 5-star service company. Best of luck if you go with them for improvements in your attic ventilation

Description of Work
Attic Venting

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding

5.0

07/27/2020


Thomas B.

Excellent. Austin came out to check out the roofing job. He was clearly knowledgeable and could see issues and considerations I did not, which helped provide a more accurate estimate rather than getting surprised during the job. The roofing looks amazing, they use some great products. The install crew was excellent and had no issues answering my questions or showing me problems with the roof that they were fixing as they went.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

5.0

10/14/2019


Liza B.

This was the second time doing a bathroom with Ferris. Love working with Tina and Corey. They do a great job of designing and managing the details. The workers were there when they said and left things clean. When there were issues, I was informed and they were resolved.

Description of Work
Master Bath Remodel

Category home remodeling

1.0

05/25/2019


Kathleen M.

Left voicemail asking contractor for estimate. He/she never responded. Highly unprofessional.

Description of Work
Install knee wall and electrical update to accept new cabinetry.

Category electrician, home remodeling

5.0

05/05/2019


Susan S.

Everyone I talked to and worked with at Ferris was very professional and very nice. Both Emily and Dan were so easy to work with. They were patient with all my questions and requests. Cory was so helpful in working with the scheduling. I didn't feel like I was just another customer. The work completed is well done and the installers didn't cut corners just to get a job done.

Description of Work
Kitchen Renovation

Category roofing, home remodeling

5.0

04/26/2019


Patti C.

This went very well. The installers did a fantastic job, attention to detail. They were on time and professional. The work site was kept clean and when they finished you would never have known they were here. The salesperson knew the product and was very helpful in the process. This was not a high pressure sale which was nice for a change. I would contact them again for work to be done.

Description of Work
installed sliding glass door

Category siding, doors

5.0

04/04/2019


Freda M.

Contacting Ferris Home Improvement for our home remodel project was one of the best decisions we've made. They remodeled our entire first floor. Our designer Joel Hill was so helpful, friendly and professional, he designed a kitchen we could have never imagined, it's beautiful. The project coordination manager, Cory O'Neal was always on top of things and keeping things on track! Dan Heath, the project supervisor and Glenn Powell the lead installer were so professional and showed so much pride in their work. What an awesome company, I would highly recommend them to any friends or family.

Description of Work
Home remodel

Category custom cabinets, countertops, gutter repair, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

5.0

03/13/2019


Suzanne G.

My husband and I had Ferris replace our roof in Oct. 2018, and replace the flooring throughout our downstairs, Dec. 2018. The roofing materials that were installed were defective from the manufacturer. Cory did a fabulous job rectifying this issue when it was called her attention! Cory worked with the manufacturer getting the roofing replaced and did a great job keeping us informed as to her progress with the manufacturer. Once the new materials arrived, Ferris was back at our house within two days to replace the defective materials. We worked with Emily to replace our flooring and she was fantastic as well! Emily was very attentive and answered all of our emails and phone calls very quickly. We had some custom woodworking done with our flooring and everyone from the carpenters and painters were very professional. Everyone from our initial sales staff, to the folks in the showroom and to all of those who worked with us throughout our projects deserve a huge round of applause! We were made to feel that were were Ferris' only client and we are very appreciative of such a wonderful experience!

Description of Work
New roof and new flooring throughout first floor.

Category flooring contractor, roofing, woodworking

1.0

01/16/2019


Walt B.

Scott showed up on the appointment day ready to go. He gave me an estimate I could not refuse. Luckily he had all the materials he needed to do clean the gutters and put a gutter guard on them. He finished the job that day. We're very pleased with the quick response!

Description of Work
Gutter clean out, gutter maintenance and guard installation

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

12/25/2018


Jeannie H.

The work was out standing and very professedly done. I would definitely recommend them to anyone!! The workers were always very polite and friendly. They cleaned up after themselves and left the yard in great shape. They protected my windows and flag pole with pieces of plywood to keep anything from getting broken!! Great job Ferris I love the work you have done for me.

Description of Work
I had a new deck and screened in porch and roof put on my house.

Category decks, gutter repair, roofing

5.0

12/11/2018


Elinor K.

Very good experience working with Ferris from the initial consultation on door options to scheduling and completing the work. All Ferris people were very willing to answer our questions, as well as to provide helpful suggestions. Installers were real pros, able to make any needed adjustments to provide a well-fitting door. The entry way is vastly improved both structurally and aesthetically. We're already thinking about our next home improvement project with Ferris.

Description of Work
Replace 30 year old front door and storm door

Category doors

5.0

11/27/2018


Brian M.

Scott from Ferris Home Improvements was prompt, courteous and very professional. Professionally assessed my potential issues with some roof/siding leakage on my home ... repaired the issues quickly and properly. Overall very happy with the service, promptness and professionalism from Scott and Ferris Home Improvements! Will definitely call them them again!

Description of Work
Basic repairs on Siding and Roof

Category roofing, siding

5.0

11/14/2018


Deborah S.

Ferris Home Improvement was the best company we ever decided to go with. Their work was very professional. Our salesperson, Bill, was a great help in helping us to pick the right style of cabinets and the sizes that fit into the spaces we had. Bill was always on hand for us to ask any questions and to get things done. The cabinets, flooring, lighting and tile go together perfect. The installers, Glen and Brett were excellent. From start to finish they were there on time and cleaned up everyday. They even put up with all the questions we had to which they answered everyone of them. In the mist of getting the kitchen done we decided to get our Living room and family room floors done also. Bill went right to getting them ordered and setting up an install date. Everything was done and it all looks Great.

Description of Work
Kitchen/Powder room complete remodel, countertops, Plumbing and Electrical Living room/Family room Coretec flooring

Category ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling

5.0

09/18/2018


JORGE V.

We were so worried about getting the look we wanted for our outdoor screened sunroom. The challenge was that the new room would need to tie in with our home, and an existing sunroom. Ferris Home Improvements came through big time!! Gregg and Matt understood exactly what we wanted even better than we did. We asked for flared steps and they did an awesome and amazing job on them!! Each and every time we use the outdoor screened room, which is very often, we are so pleased that we chose Ferris Home Improvements!! Gregg and Matt were professional, caring and not pushy. The job was started and finished on time as promised. Highly recommend Ferris Home Improvements!!

Description of Work
outdoor screened sunroom

Category roofing

5.0

08/24/2018


Charles H.

Identified damage and verified damage was limited to the suspected area.

Description of Work
Roof damage

Category roofing, water damage restoration

5.0

08/15/2018


Elizabeth C.

It went very well! Stayed on schedule. Excellent workmanship. Everyone was courteous, clean and knowledgeable.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel

Category countertops, decks, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

07/31/2018


dick H.

Reasonably priced. Excellent design assistance. Good communications throughout the job. Responsive to concerns. Excellent workmanship. Punctual and very clean.

Description of Work
bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile, countertops, plumbing, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling

5.0

07/25/2018


John S.

Excellent service from our sales consultant Mike. Jimmy and his crew are thes best. Great prices compared to the other compettitors.

Description of Work
Had 6 windows replaced

Category replacement windows

5.0

07/06/2018


Maryellen L.

They did an excellent job. Austin was the representative they sent out and he was excellent as well. He followed through and came back to make sure everything was okay. We would definitely use them again and we would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They replaced a roof on our house as well as our mother's house.

Category roofing

5.0

06/20/2018


John R.

No issues and did not have to call back

Description of Work
Bathroom, windows,roof

Category roofing, window treatments, home remodeling

5.0

06/18/2018


john K.

really awesome experience. could not have been more please to work with the Sunny and the entire team and think they really did an amazing job!

Description of Work
kitcheb remodel

Category home remodeling

5.0

06/16/2018


Anthony M.

Last year, we suddenly found ourselves in need of a kitchen remodel. A water leak had left our kitchen severely damaged. We needed new floors and base cabinets and decided to update the entire old kitchen. We started researching various kitchen remodelers and engaged with several before choosing Ferris. Ferris Home Improvements exceeded our expectations in design and installation. We initially worked with Ferris designer, Joel Hill. He is an NKBA Certified Kitchen & Bath Designer. He listened to our needs and designed a beautiful layout that was enhanced by his meticulous attention to detail. Joel helped us pick out finishes and advise us of products. We felt no pressure to buy something that was more expensive — instead, he gave us choices and guided us in making decisions. Once the design process was over, we worked with the installer – Glen Powell and his helper Brett who were phenomenal. At the beginning of the project, we received a schedule. They started on the start date and ended as scheduled. I’ve never been in a situation where a complex building project ran so smoothly. Glen is an expert installer and worked to coordinate all the craftsman. We highly recommend tile installer, Ed Hennessey. The details and carpentry in the kitchen are exquisite. After the kitchen was finished, Glen worked with us on a small punch list. We were impressed with how professionally the entire team handled the final details. The whole project was efficient and professional. Special thanks to Dan Heath, supervisor and Coordinator, Cory O’Neil. Two months after we completed our kitchen, we called Ferris to ask if they would start a new project with us – a basement remodel. We look forward to working with them again and highly recommend their services and their products.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category ceramic tile, countertops, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

06/04/2018


Dale W.

Terrific. Completed ahead of schedule and we could hardly tell anyone was there because they cleaned-up so well. We would highly recommend their services for all your home improvement projects. Because it was a custom-sized door they took accurate measurements three weeks ago and installed the door this past week. Fits like a glove and looks terrific.

Description of Work
Replaced sliding door exiting basement

Category roofing, doors

5.0

05/21/2018


Carolyn Z.

I promised faithfully to post a review AFTER some heavy rains! Earlier this spring, during one torrential downpour, we noticed that the ceiling fan was dripping water into the master bedroom. Looking out the windows, we couldn't see anything, but we couldn't see the top of the roof - and I wasn't doing a ladder! We called Ferris and someone was out within 48 hours (impressive when you think of all the nor'easters we had suffered). He found the cause immediately - a 4" diameter branch had used itself as a javelin and punched a hole in the roof. He brought us pictures to show the damage. So instead of trying to upsell us on a whole new roof, he patched the hole, describing exacrlt what he was going to do and then apologizing for the fact the has didn't hae exact matching color in his truck. We didn't care. That part faces north, and only a fly-over can see it anyway! So now it's rained enough to start building an ark, and the patch is perfect. We are very pleased!

Description of Work
Leaking roof

Category roofing

5.0

05/03/2018


Gregory C.

I was referred to Ferris by a subcontractor from another company when I called them in for repairs to roofing work that company had performed. Ferris gave me a much better price to replace the roof on half of our house and the very best price I found anywhere for window replacement. Their teams were all very professional - and we were especially impressed by the gutter installers and the window installers. They always went out of their way to point out and usually correct unforseen problems at no additional cost. I would and will call them again without when we have a home improvement project and we would recommend them to friends and family without hesitation.

Description of Work
Roofing and windows

Category gutter repair, roofing, replacement windows, roof cleaning

    Other local Pros in your area

    Fire Free Chimney Sweeps

    Fire-Free Chimney Sweeps started in the summer of 1978. In March 1979 FFCS incorporated in the state of Maryland and start providing service to Delaware. To provide chimney service to home owners. Helping make their home worm and safe for the winter and help maintain their system. Plus to install wood, coal and pellet stove the safest way possible.  

    Beyond Gutters

    Owners Patty and Rick Smith have over 40 yrs experience. We started Beyond Gutters in 1999 to offer homeowners help with home remodeling such as gutters, windows and roofing while giving great customer service, quality products with workmanship warranties and attention to detail without the high pressure and high pricing. We offer free estimates and referral lists. We provide prompt appointments with one of the owners, a demonstration of our products along with a referral list and a free estimate in writing. Family owned and operated since 1999. Serving DE, Southern PA and surrounding areas in MD. Call us today to schedule your appointment - (302) 239-1222 Additional e-mail - beyondguttersinc@gmail.com  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Flood Rescue Restoration

    Water & Mold Damage Restoration  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Roofing Contractor, Roof Replacement, Roof Repair, Roof Installation, Siding Installation, Siding Repair, Gutter Installation, Gutter Cleaning, Gutter Repair, Window Installation, Window Replacement, Door Installation, Door Replacement, Deck Builder, Deck Repair, Bathroom Remodel, Kitchen Remodel

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Ferris Home Improvements

    How is Ferris Home Improvements overall rated?

    Ferris Home Improvements is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Ferris Home Improvements open?

    Ferris Home Improvements is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Ferris Home Improvements provide

    Ferris Home Improvements accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Ferris Home Improvements offer free estimates?

    Yes, Ferris Home Improvements offers free project estimates.

    Does Ferris Home Improvements offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Ferris Home Improvements offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Ferris Home Improvements offer a senior discount?

    No, Ferris Home Improvements does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Ferris Home Improvements offer emergency services?

    Yes, Ferris Home Improvements offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Ferris Home Improvements?

    Yes, Ferris Home Improvements offers warranties.

    What services does Ferris Home Improvements offer?

    Ferris Home Improvements offers the following services: Roofing Contractor, Roof Replacement, Roof Repair, Roof Installation, Siding Installation, Siding Repair, Gutter Installation, Gutter Cleaning, Gutter Repair, Window Installation, Window Replacement, Door Installation, Door Replacement, Deck Builder, Deck Repair, Bathroom Remodel, Kitchen Remodel