Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Clendaniel's Plumbing-Heating

Founded 1927 • With Angi since May 2012

4.4

(30) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

18052 Gravel Hill Rd

Milton Rehoboth Lewes, DE 19968

Description

Clendaniel's Plumbing & Heating is a four generation family business. It has serviced the area for over 85 years. Clendaniel's Plumbing & Heating is a hands on company. Each customer has a name with us. Our employees have years of experience to help you throughout any problems. Additional phone for Lewes Beach: (302) 644-1952....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/04/2018


John T.

They were very help and answered my question before any work was scheduled. The scheduled work was performed on time and Mike was very pleasant and through. Rechecked several times to make sure there were no leaks and cleaned the are before leaving. Excellent service and very help. The price was very reasonabl.

Description of Work
New toilet installed

Category plumbing

5.0

07/06/2018


Linda W.

It was early afternoon when we found ourselves without water (well water). Having had no previous problems, we had no experience with anyone. Went to the phone book (had no computer or internet access to check Angie’s list) and made several calls. Other companies told me, too busy, maybe tomorrow, or we can’t come till after 5- it will be overtime. My initial call to Clendaniels went unanswered, no answering machine, just no answer. At this point we went to check with the next-door neighbor to see if they were having any problems with their well, they were not. When we got back there was a message on our machine from Clendaniels apologizing for not being able to pick up and saying they were there if we still needed. I called back and explained the problem. He said he would check who he had available and get back to me. Within a short time, the technician was calling to confirm where we were and advise he was on his way. He arrived quickly and after I explained what had happened leading up to the problem he started checking out the system. He determined the pressure tank was bad. He didn’t have one on the truck, but could be back first thing the next morning. He didn’t know the cost, but would have the boss call with the estimate. The boss called and we ok’d the estimate. The tech arrived promptly at 7:15 the following morning and we had water by 8. The tech was excellent. He worked efficiently and left the area clean. No payment needed to be made that day, they would send a bill. When I could look here, I found the coupon and called to see if it could be applied. I was told the coupon wasn’t supposed to be there. The bill arrived and was able $50 more than the estimate, but they wouldn’t have known what supplies would be used until they were. The tech was unable to get the old tank out of our basement by himself, but returned promptly with help a few days later, at our convenience, and took it away.

Description of Work
Well water- had no water

Category plumbing, wells

5.0

09/13/2017


Barbara J.

They did a great job

Description of Work
Broken water pump

Category plumbing

1.0

08/12/2017


Harris M.

The worker who was very nice showed up in time and fixed it in 10 minutes and left. He said that he did not know what the cost of the service would be and that a bill will be mailed. When I got the bill, I was outraged. It was $130 for 10 minutes work. We are retired people and have a limited income and can't afford a bill this high for 10 minutes work. I have used other contractors and plumbers in the area and have never been charged this much for less than an hours work with no extra materials required. I will never use this plumber again and will pass this on to other people. I called when I got the bill and spoke to someone who I assume was the owner and he was firm on the bill. I gave him the opportunity to do something and e did nothing. So, I told him that I was going to write him up on review sites and his response was to make me feel guilty in that I would be hurting him and his employees. Outrageous!. Thank heaven for sites like this!

Description of Work
Fix a garbage disposal that was stuck and not working.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

05/12/2017


joan M.

He was good. They did good work. It was expensive. They charged me $224 for not even an hour of work. It was over $200 but I was dumb; I didn't say how much - because I'm not used to doing all this - how much do you charge an hour. He said he was there an hour and forty-five minutes. Maybe he was, but still. To me, that was steep. The young guy did a good job and he just worked right through. He didn't fool around or anything like that. It was the price that I had my problem with, I'll tell ya now. He did a good job. He did good work, he was a real nice guy, he didn't fool around, he showed me the broken parts. I guess he responded because somebody else gave me his name. And then he came out the same - I can't remember now if it was the same day or another day. It might've been another day, but I can't remember. They did respond, they came out, they did their job. I think they called me right away. I can't remember if I called them in the evening or if I called them in the morning. One of the people in the community where we live gave his name and said he was cheap; that's how I got him. They said at a certain time, between a certain time, and he was there between that time, and that was good. He was professional I guess. I guess he was. He did his job; that's all I can say. And he didn't talk or anything like that. He was quiet; he just went about his job. No, I would not use him again in the future, only because of the price, that's why - only because of what he charged me.

Description of Work
My hot water heater wasn't working. He put in a new heating element and another little thing that I think both of them together were $23.

Category water heater repair

2.0

11/19/2016


Kathi A.

they did not come when they said they would. It was several hours later with no phone call. The bill was only general bill. It was not a good itemized bill

Description of Work
water leak under the house

Category plumbing

5.0

06/08/2016


K Scott M.

I bought an old beach house on Delaware's eastern shore. Not single toilet worked properly when I moved in. My girlfriend destroyed the Insinkerator disposal in the kitchen when she dumped a shell out and rocks went down the drain in the sink. My neighbor recommended Clendaniel's Plumbing & Heating. The company responded quickly to my call for service. The plumber showed up on time. He installed a new Insinkerator, a new Kohler toilet in the powder room, and a faucet in the master bathroom. He cleaned up when the work was done. He did an excellent job.

Description of Work
Installation of Kohler toilet, kitchen sink disposal, and Kingston Brass faucet.

Category plumbing

5.0

01/11/2016


constance C.

Description of Work
Excellent Service at fair price.

Category plumbing

5.0

12/25/2015


Karen D.

.

Description of Work
We called on a weekend when we had a leak in the main water pipe in our front yard. The utility company said they would not come out to shut off the main. Mr. Clendaniel's was kind enough to give advice and said that he could come out the next day if we couldn't get anyone.

Category plumbing

5.0

09/16/2015


Chris H.

Description of Work
I had tenants renting a beach house for a week. The bathtub drain was clogged. They came out and snaked and cleaned the drain within 24 hours. Tenants were very happy with the responsiveness.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

4.0

08/12/2015


Richard H.

Description of Work
Installed a new water meter container

Category plumbing

3.0

05/27/2015


Andy B.

They came out, snaked the drain, to no avail. Proceeded to pop off paneling in my kitchen to cut through the waste pipe and attempt to snake from downstairs, still no luck. Tried snaking from sewer drain access in my yard, nothing. I was not pleased as both employees that initially came into my home reeked of cigarettes. I was told that my sewer line had "crumbled" under my breakfast room and a new line would need to be installed, cutting through kitchen walls, making a new series of pipes to access the sewer. There was no camera to prove this, there was no evidence proving anything was that damaged. This was all occurring during a terrible snow fall. I initially agreed to replace the pipes. Nobody showed up. On Monday it had snowed, by Tuesday, still nobody. Wednesday, I had a worker show up at my house, as I was leaving for an appointment, WITH ZERO NOTICE. After telling the worker, who was very polite, the situation that I could not be home, and would not be home, and arriving at 2pm would be of no benefit to start anything, Art contacted me later in the day. I told him I would get in touch with him when I wanted work to start, and that it was VERY unprofessional for anyone to be sent out with no notice to the customer. But I will give credit, the employee that was sent out was very courteous and understanding. I refused to be pushed around while all of this was happening, and contacted another company to come evaluate the drain situation on Thursday. By Friday morning (this was now 9 days I had been dealing with Clendaniel's), I had another company at my home attempting to solve what was going on. In 3.5 hours, THE OTHER COMPANY determined I had tree roots that grew into my sewer pipes at the seal between the PVC sewer connection and the cast iron going into my house, and had it removed. That afternoon, after the other company left my home, Art contacted me wanting to start work. After starting off quite harshly with me, I had no problem explaining what the other company did, and how they clearly saw that my cast iron sewer pipe DID NOT CRUMBLE/BREAK/CRUSH or anything of the like, and that they fixed everything in one afternoon. Art very quickly offered not to charge me for anything that had been done, which in theory was nothing but a headache. He continued to tell me that the snowfall we experience had backed them up. Unacceptable. multiple days of no working toilet drains is flat out wrong. And not communicating with your customer as to when to expect people at your door, and not showing up for days, I will not tolerate. I was not disgusted, but disappointed in the service I received by this company, and hope nobody has to experience something like this. So this post is not to bash, but this is an experience I dealt with. They were initially quick to respond, but lack of communication, and quoting me $3,000 to re-reroute plumbing that was NOT DAMAGED, versus the $364 bill I had through another company to have the job done correctly, I will not have them in my home EVER again.

Description of Work
Had an issue where my toilet stopped flushing, seemed backed up. My bathroom sink had the same issue and drained horribly slowly. Called to fix the drain line, not sure where the clog was.

Category plumbing, sewer cleaning, drain cleaning

5.0

04/22/2015


Marcia W.

Terrific. They showed up on time, did exactly what they said, neat, professional and knowledgeable. Also came out to work on frozen pipes but also walked my husband thru what to do over the phone and saved us a couple service calls! Nice of them! Recommended whole-heartedly!

Description of Work
replaced water heater and worked on frozen pipes

Category plumbing

3.0

02/26/2015


Terri J.

It all started the evening before, when I heard water flowing from the second floor bathroom. I called the company, after being placed on "infinity hold" by the first company I called. The man I spoke with enabled me to turn off the water by turning off the breaker switch for the water pump and the hot water heater. The next morning, a plumber came to the house. He even put shoe covers on his feet, which was greatly appreciated by me! He traced the leak to the rear of the head wall of the shower, and then diagnosed the problem, explaining the process of repairing it. With my approval, he proceed to make the repair. He also replaced the adapter on the kitchen sink faucet. When I asked what I owed him for the work, I was told in response that the company would bill me. I gave him all of my information, and then he left. Courteous and professional. I had the same issue again in March, and called Clendaniel's back to come and do this additional repair. He arrived as I was leaving to go to an emergency visit to my cardiologist, and I told him that we would need to reschedule. I had NOT received a phone call from the company PRIOR to the arrival of the worker. He came and did the work and was here for just slightly over an hour. Imagine my great surprise when I received the invoice in the mail! It listed 2.5 hours of service time, for a total of $312.50. I immediately called and spoke with Art, and he told me that he would review the bill (3/20/15, 2:21 PM), and would call me back. I received NO return call from Art, and called him back at 3:26 PM. He told me that he would call me back on Monday, 3/23. I received no return phone call on 3/23, so I called him back on 3/26, and was told that he had made an adjustment to the bill and that it was "in the mail" to me. As of today, 4/15/2015, I have received no revised bill. The original bill was for $375.91. I am willing to settle on a REVISED labor amount of 1.25 hours ($156.25), plus the cost of the supplies which were used ($44.41), for a total bill amount of $200.66. I filed a complaint with your company on 4/10/2015. I was told to revise my review. I have now completed this action.

Description of Work
Was called to detect the origin of a water leak from my second floor bathroom. Removed a section of the rear of the head wall of the shower and repaired multiple PVC pipes to stop the leak. The second visit was to repair an exterior bust pipe.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

You are so wrong wrong wrong Thanks for trashing our company and there is no recourse for you sitting behine you computer I hope people can see through this too see what kind of person you are. Art Clendaniel
5.0

12/18/2014


lin D.

Category plumbing

5.0

07/09/2014


Robert W.

He was very professional about it and he cleaned up everything. He didn't make any unnecessary mess in the house trying to find where the leak really came from, and he found it and repaired it. I thought it was a pretty reasonable price. He arrived when he said he would. The quality seemed very, very good. I don't know if it would be much better than everyone else, but it was very, very good. My daughter asked me to get a plumber for her and I called them to help her.

Description of Work
We had a leak and we can't figure out where it was from. Clendaniel's Plumbing found it and fixed it.

Category plumbing

2.0

03/24/2014


Dorothy E.

Terrible. First, they don't tell you how much it will be as they work. That is a first for me. When the first guy came it was to check for a leak. He pulled out the dishwasher where I had noticed laminate flooring puckering. He ran the dishwasher and said there was no leak. He went under the house and found a large accumulation of water in my vapor barrier and insulation which he cut to allow the water to drain. He told me that it would need time to drain and dry out and that he would return to see if anything was leaking under the house and spraying up. He tracked all kinds of things in from outside and did not clean up his work. When I asked him how much the job would be, he replied, "I don't know. I just tell my boss what I did and he sends out the bills." I showed him a leaking sink in my bathroom and he told me that would need to be replaced. Again, he couldn't tell me how much but he would order it. I spoke with Mr. Clendaniels and told him that I was not happy with the work but was still willing to have them do the bathroom sink (after getting a price.) and follow up on the other leak issue because I was convinced it was there. I explained at the time that I did not feel I should pay for a leak check that had failed to detect an obvious leak. Another plumber arrived for the bathroom sink installation. He was detailed and came prepared, wearing boot covers, putting on an overall and getting under the house etc. I showed him where the former plumber had left the dishwasher loose and asked him to check the seal. He assured me that it was dry in there and I resumed the use of the dishwasher. When I received the bill for that visit, I paid it promptly. I continued to receive a bill for the initial leak check which I refused to pay because it was not done properly but had no problem with paying for the 2nd visit. When water continued to be a problem and there was obvious black mold, mushrooms etc. in the area around the dishwasher, I AGAIN called Mr. Clendaniels. I explained that I had pictures and that there clearly WAS a water leak. He advised that his plumbers assured him it had been dry when they checked it and suggested that my leak was a new drainage hose leak. He understood that I would not want to pay for a leak check that failed and he sent someone out. The original worker arrived again. When he got there I asked him to put the shoe covers on and he was surprised. "I don't carry them, but I can take my shoes off." He made numerous trips to the truck and had to go to the hardware store to puchase an adapter to repair the drainage hose. While he had the dishwasher out to repair, I asked him about the black squares in the back. He told me that those were pieces put in to compensate for the height between the original floor and the laminate to level it off. He didn't comment about the water damage and that those black pieces were black due to black mold! He put the dishwasher back in place and ran it to test his repair. THEN, he noticed a leak from the dishwasher itself that he said was significant. Of course, he didn't see it the first time because he didn't look for it. I called Mr. Clendaniels and let him know that the visit was completed. I paid that bill promptly as well. STILL, I keep getting a bill for that initial leak check which failed to detect the leak. I am currently having demo and significant mold and mildew remediation performed for that damage. The insurance inspector refused to pay for the damages because they were over an extended period of time 10/13 to now which they considered to be negligence. HELLO. I did my part. I called an A rated plumber to check for leaks when I first saw the raising seams on the laminate flooring adjacent to the dishwasher. Yes. There may have been negligence but it was in the failure of the first plumber to really look for the cause of the leak. He found water in the insulation directly underneath the dishwasher but concluded that there were no pipes in that area to leak so it couldn't be the plumbing. He did not return in a timely fashion to follow up and left the moisture barrier exposed after his intervention. I do not feel that I should pay for the initial visit. I believe that I have paid him for the work that he did as agreed. I would never hire them again for 2 reasons. 1. They do not give you an estimate and give you an option to choose whether to have the work done at that price. When asked, they tell you that they don't know. THEN the bill comes in. 2. At least one of their plumbers is slip shod, disorganized and fails to adhere to the standard to protect the interior of the client home.

Description of Work
Check for leak, replace bathroom sink and finally, replace dishwasher discharge hose.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

As I read your reiview I can see that you are trying to take out your actions and problems on someone else not due to anything we did for you, we serviced you in a professional manor like we do all our hard earned customers,Its funny when you tray to trash someone you get the story wrong and make yourself seem like the hero. When our customers read this review they can see the person that you are. Clendaniels Still A rated company Art Clendaniel
5.0

03/03/2014


Susan B.

When he first came in November it was to fix the leak, as the house is a summer home we turned the water off as soon as he left. When we returned last week we discovered the kitchen faucet was still leaking so we had them back. The repair was redone and we had a new faucet installed.

Description of Work
fixed a leak and replaced faucet

Category plumbing

5.0

01/31/2014


ANNE B.

He arrive within one hour, diagnosed the problem, had everything needed on his truck, made the repair, and cleaned up after himself. Couldn't have asked for anything more.

Description of Work
Plumber fixed leak under my toilet within 3 hours of my call for service.

Category plumbing

5.0

07/15/2013


June G.

Just as it says above - polite, on time, fair charge, accomplished a rather difficult job because of location of faucet.

Description of Work
Tightened kitchen faucet

Category plumbing

3.0

05/25/2013


Carla R.

I needed almost immediate service as husband was being discharged from Pa. facility, and we would drive to get him on Saturday, 5/18/2013. Home Depot was to deliver/install on 516, but could not complete installation as pipes went beyond a 6-foot lenght, and behind a cabinet.Clendaniel's was able to come on 5/17. I was told that plumber would be at my home about 7:30a.m. At 8:15a.m., I , finally,called Clendaniels.I was, then, told that they had "a little thing to do" first, and would(eventually) "be over." Telephone service--common courtesy? After seemingly successful installation, I found and threw away white putty substance pieces from floor. I put drain stopper in place for one side of double sink, filled with Oxy cleaner and hand wash clothes to soak while I ran errands.I returned to kitchen only by chance and heard water's running. Upstairs, son was not in shower. I opened kitchen cabinet, under sink where some connections had been made, and water was profusely pouring from joint in pipe. I immediately grabbed towels, and called Clendaniels. One of installers returned/arrived within half an hour.He tightened joint, water stopped. After he left, I noticed that he had left a sink drainer/stopper. It woThe bill listed its cost as $14.50!!!!!! Estimate was $250----bill is for $325.

Description of Work
Installation of dishwasher that Home Depot could not/would not install as water line goes behind a cabinet. Tightened loose joint in pipe that leaked only after installation (not in 6+ years prior to this.)

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

It's Amazing how a Story told by a person can be so one sided and all the details left out to make them seem like a Hero.Then they go behind their computer and trash my company (CRAZY) We work 24/7 to take care of our Hard Earned Customers. Thank You Very Much. Art Clendaniel
5.0

04/25/2013


William L.

I have used Clendaniels in the past and received great service. They didn't disappoint this time as well. I will always use them for my plumbing needs.

Description of Work
Wow, quick response. I called for a possible leak in my crawl space I told them I had turned the water on after an extended vaction then heard what I thought was a leak. Man came out in about 20 minutes and checked everything thoroughly. I was impressed by the extemely fast response time and great service. I will always use Clendaniels in the future.

Category plumbing

5.0

01/31/2013


John S.

We had a leaking toilet seal, a problem that we noticed in the crawl space a few months after repairs were done by another company. I called Clendaniels because of their excellent Angie's List ratings. The person I spoke with on the phone was very responsive, and a plumber was able to come to the house that day. He was extremely courteous and professional, went into the crawl space and diagnosed the problem quickly, and installed the correct flange and seal to fix the problem. While at the house, he also re-installed sink garbage disposal that had vibrated out of its mounting and was very willing to answer my questions about the job. This was professional and responsive service, the plumber was courteous and cleaned up carefully before leaving. I was very pleased with this service and will use Clendaniels again for plumbing-related work.

Description of Work
Very Pleased with Plumbing Repair

Category plumbing

5.0

05/18/2012


Helen C.

He is very responsible and very well known in this area. He is very well spoken of. He is great; I call him and he has somebody out right away, even on the weekend.

Description of Work
I have used Clendaniel's Plumbing-Heating for my plumbing requirements around my house.

Category plumbing

5.0

05/14/2012


EDWARD L C.

As usual Clendaniel's provided quality service, promptly and professionally.

Description of Work
De-winterize manufactured home & second/vacation home. Also regularly use Clendaniel's for winterizing and other plumbing needs.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Delaware Plumbing Professionals

    We take great pride in being family owned and operated. Our mission is to provide our customers with exceptional service while delivering top-notch quality. Our reputation is based on the service and quality we provide, as well as the safety of our customers and their homes. We strive for transparency throughout your entire experience with our company and as well, promise to be upfront and honest. We treat your home like our home. Call us today for Better Service, Better Price, Better Value!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Delaware Plumbing Professionals on Angi
    Hague Quality Water of Maryland

    A Refreshing Solution: Hague Quality Water of Maryland provides refreshing solutions for residential and commercial water treatment and plumbing services in Maryland, Delaware and Washington, DC. A family owned business founded in 1993, our mission is to make our customers happy by providing and installing the finest and highest quality solutions that will provide them years of trouble-free use. Our systems are Custom Designed - Trusted - Long Lasting and American Made. Call Hague Quality Water to request a free professional water analysis or plumbing estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Hague Quality Water of Maryland on Angi
    Seaside Plumbing Inc

    Plumbing & gas contractor. Seaside Plumbing Inc. has been providing high quality plumbing and gas contractor services in Delaware and Maryland at fair prices since 2003. We don’t care about being the biggest plumbing & gas company, but we do want to be the best and we constantly strive to educate ourselves and our employees. High quality work along with family like customer service has always been, and continues to be our primary focus. We understand that you have many options when choosing a plumbing contractor. To our customers, new and old, we express our heartfelt gratitude – without you, we would not be able to achieve our goals. You have generously helped grow our business through word of mouth referrals and for this we are eternally grateful. To our prospective customers, we appreciate the fact that you are considering us and we are thankful for every opportunity that comes our way. Cost is determine by the job.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, American Express, Financing Available, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Residential & commercial heating & replacement & inspection. Plumbing, winterization, drain cleaning, video inspections, water pipe replacement, hydro-jetting, water heater repair

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Clendaniel's Plumbing-Heating

    How is Clendaniel's Plumbing-Heating overall rated?

    Clendaniel's Plumbing-Heating is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Clendaniel's Plumbing-Heating open?

    Clendaniel's Plumbing-Heating is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Clendaniel's Plumbing-Heating provide

    Clendaniel's Plumbing-Heating accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, American Express, Financing Available, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Clendaniel's Plumbing-Heating offer free estimates?

    Yes, Clendaniel's Plumbing-Heating offers free project estimates.

    Does Clendaniel's Plumbing-Heating offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Clendaniel's Plumbing-Heating does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Clendaniel's Plumbing-Heating offer a senior discount?

    No, Clendaniel's Plumbing-Heating does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Clendaniel's Plumbing-Heating offer emergency services?

    Yes, Clendaniel's Plumbing-Heating offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Clendaniel's Plumbing-Heating?

    No, Clendaniel's Plumbing-Heating does not offer warranties.

    What services does Clendaniel's Plumbing-Heating offer?

    Clendaniel's Plumbing-Heating offers the following services: Residential & commercial heating & replacement & inspection. Plumbing, winterization, drain cleaning, video inspections, water pipe replacement, hydro-jetting, water heater repair