Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Borsello Landscaping

Founded 1995 • With Angi since January 2008

3.7

(20) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

720 Yorklyn Rd Suite 5

Hockessin, DE 19707

Description

Additional DBA - Cheap-Scape Inc.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

10/06/2020


Jean Z.

Horrible. After the initial visit to provide an estimate, they were totally non responsive despite statements that they would provide estimate. Will never consider them for any work. Totally unprofessional for a company their size.

Description of Work
Pool deck paver repair

Category hardscaping

1.0

04/06/2017


Dennis E.

No response from company

Description of Work
Performed pool landscaping for next door neighbor, changed topography so rain water drains into our yard. Mentioned to foreman at time work was being done that the slope was going to be a problem, but he insisted that there would be no drainage issues. Two years later our side yard cannot be mowed for days after a heavy rain. I have called the office to express my concerns, but no one returns my calls. It seems that when they design their landscapes, they do not take into consideration adjoining properties Very unprofessional in responses.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I am sorry but this is the first time this issue has been brought to my attention. If you are available today I would like to meet with you to see if I am able to offer a solution to solve this problem. Mike Borsello
3.0

06/22/2015


Gabriella F.

Description of Work
We did not use this provider through Angie's list as we were not members yet. |I used this provider in August 2010, primarily to have a plan through which bushes and plants could be planted to cover and/or disguise an ugly metal fence that our neighbors had installed. |A young woman came, measured, came back with a design with a lot of stone landscaping and an enormous cost. It did not really addressed the issue. Redesigned , reduced the number of plants and cost to 6,800 more or less; we were also assured that the plants selected would-in two or three years maximum- reach the eight of the fence and cover it. |When the project was finished we only had 3 rhododendrons that were at the expected height, and therefore responding to the needs. All the other plants were small, if not miniscule and would not grow to 4 feet or more. I had to ask to put in some rose bushes , in order to have something nice in front of the fence. Even thought the final design looked appealing, it was not at all responding to our needs or our request. Many plants died the first year,but they were substituted with different ones the following yer. The second time they died we did not even bother to call the provider. The workers were kind, but the problem remained: we did not get what we asked.

Category landscaping, lawn service, masonry

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], We deeply regret that you did not have an exemplary experience with Borsello Landscaping. Our goal is 100% customer satisfaction and we want to address any issues that our customers may have, with an honest commitment to making it right. We would love the opportunity to remedy your concerns by arranging a face to face consultation with Mike Borsello, the owner of Borsello Landscaping. He will be able to assess the area of concern and appropriately advise you of the best option. Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention so that we can further assist you. Our Deepest Apologies, Borsello Landscaping
1.0

08/15/2014


Lynn S.

The sales rep came out 3X to my house - twice I was home - once he stopped by in my absence. The last time he came to my house on Thursday, 8/7/14, he did not quote as I asked - had to relook at his numbers and said he'd have a revised quote to me over the weekend by 8/10. I had three distinct projects and wanted three separate bids. It was not that difficult - 3 others suppliers followed my request without issue. Eight days lapsed and no quote. When a manager from Borsello finally returned my two calls, I learned they have had issues with this same sales rep. Oh well! They lost my business! I am going to a company who is responsible - commits to and meets deadlines - and does great work. If these initial meetings with Borsello are any indication of their work, it is certainly not the style I am accustomed to!!

Description of Work
NOTHING!

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for bringing to light the poor experience you had with one of our landscape consultants. All of our potential customers should have a response within 10 business days from the time we initially meet. The treatment that you received is unacceptable and we are taking measures to prevent this from happening in the future. Our success depends on our ability to provide an exceptional customer experience, followed by an amazing finished project. We are sincerely sorry that we have let you down. The way this was left, we are not sure that you would ever have faith to trust us with your project, but we would like to offer personal service from the owner, Mike Borsello, in assisting you with any of your hardscaping and landscaping needs. We promise we would meet with you face to face, give you the professional guidance you deserve, design and the best pricing we can. Our Deepest Apologies, Borsello Landscaping
5.0

06/10/2014


Micah G.

They are top of the line.

Description of Work
Borsello Landscaping do our landscaping. We have a 12-month contract with them and they come weekly for cutting our grass, trimming, mulching, and spring cleanup.

Category landscaping, lawn service, leaf removal

5.0

03/14/2014


Micah G.

We have been using Borsello Landscaping since 2012. They brought our property's landscaping back from the dead! Our home was built in 2011 and the original landscaping company that "came with" the builder did a horrible sloppy job. Some of our plants were dead and most were diseased. The original landscaper had haphazardly placed plants that hate the sun in sunny areas, and vice versa. There were lumps underneath our sod which meant the property wasn't properly graded. In steps Borsello in 2012. They developed a plan to bring the landscaping back to life, including custom fertilization, specialized maintenance and a little TLC. The landscaping looks so good now that one of our neighbors made a comment that our house looks like a Home and Garden Magazine property. If you're reading this and are unsure as to whether you should use Borsello, just give them a call and they will provide you with a consultation and will develop a recommendation for your property. After being burnt by the original landscaper that came with the builder, we were very apprehensive to use another landscaping company. But Borsello proved us wrong. They are professional, courteous, and most importantly they pay attention to the small details. If you're picky like we are, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised by Borsello's service. One more thing, Borsello also has a list of other services they offer. We don't use some of their other services, but I know we were offered dog waste removal, snow removal and some other cool services.

Description of Work
Landscaping lighting check/Routine Landscaping Checkup

Category landscaping

4.0

10/07/2013


Jan J.

10/15/2013 This is an update to my negative review. The company owner has agreed to rectify our dissatisfaction with some of the results of our project at the company expense. He also agreed to improve communication between customers and his staff on future projects and in the remediation of this project. I have upgraded my Ratings, based on the response from the company owner. This is my review posted on 10/7/2013: The design was beautiful!, but not what we asked for. The designer had been recommended by a friend who had work done by him when he had his own company. He had recently joined Borsello. We wanted a staged re landscaping, starting with the most troublesome and unsightly area. The first plan was massive, including major hardscaping and thousands of $$ of plantings. ...Probably worth almost as much as our actual house is worth!! (We are not in Greenville or Chateau country) We whittled the plan down to what we could "stretch" to afford. We were promised that someone, on site, during the work could speak English. A few days before the work began, we were introduced to the "site boss" who was bilingual. We walked the property with the designer and the site boss, (although they excluded me from some of their conversation by walking into a weedy area that I wasn't dressed to go into). We discussed the placement of the new bed, since I wanted it closer to our front door. I was assured by the designer that he would mark the placement with marker paint. Well he didn't. The morning the work started I approached the "site boss" to review the placement and a few other things. He basically dismissed me. I thought he was just busy getting everything unloaded and he would talk to me when he was finished, but instead he got in his truck and drove away, leaving 2 workers, only one of whom barely spoke English. The very first pass that the Scraper/Front end loader made was to remove the swath of healthy ground cover that I wanted to keep. The experience was downhill from there. The "site boss" didn't return until the end of the day. I let him know I was upset and he acknowledged the mistake, but basically shrugged his shoulders and said "sorry about that". We wanted to save and replant some of native plants we had put in the year before. They were all marked with yellow tape. They were supposed to be put in pots off to the side, but many of them were just tossed aside. When I went to rescue them, one of the workers helped me and said he didn't know we were saving the plants. (We had already prepared by moving many of the smaller ones. We had asked the "site boss" about moving the bigger ones.) The topsoil seemed to be minimal under the grass seed. I didn't see the workers till the new planting bed area. Some of the border plants were just put on the ground with mulch holding them up, not even in a little hole. When I showed that to the designer during our "walk through" to sign off on the job, he shrugged and said "that's ok, they are drought resistant" It did seem like it bothered him, though Since we were told not to water the grass seed until the irrigation system was installed, we waited. The day it was supposed to be installed, we woke up to torrential rains and watched much of our grass seed and topsoil wash down the street. They did reseed and scatter some hay (mostly in clumps so the grass died underneath anyway) and set out some hay bales (on some seeded areas) to control the erosion. It was too late in the season to try to repair the bare patches, so they promised to come back in the Fall. Our lawn is mostly weeds right now. They came back, scraped a few places, threw some seed all around did not aerate and only fertilized where the ground was bare. By the way, the "temporary" irrigation system that we paid $890.07 to RENT (our bad, consumer beware) consisted of 6 hoses, 2 timers, 5 sprinklers, and several water direction splitters. The hoses were not elevated off the new grass seed. There was no contact by the person that "installed" the system as to how to reprogram it or change any settings that might need to be adjusted. He also came by our house, unannounced, a few weeks ago, to collect the equipment. If my husband hadn't seen him, we would not have know what happened to everything, not to mention that we still needed to irrigate after the reseeding.

Description of Work
Designed a Master Plan for re-landscaping 1/4 acre front yard after 6 wind damaged trees had been removed. Removed unwanted vegetation (weeds& old lawn) by scraping off top layer, regraded, placed new bed (approx13ft.x25feet) that included native shrubs & perennials. Supposedly tilled organic matter & topsoil into new bed area. Placed topsoil on lawn area & seeded with"Premium Seed Blend" grasses. We contracted (& overpaid) for a temporary irrigation system. We were told not to water the new seed until the "irrigation system" was placed in 2 days time.

Category landscaping

4.0

09/28/2013


Jessica B.

When they put the patio in, they were good about correcting discrepancies but they were not responsive to my phone calls and their follow up was very poor. We called them at the beginning of the summer about putting plants in. They came out a month and a half later, halfway through the summer and put the plants in the wrong area.

Description of Work
We had them put in a new patio and do landscaping.

Category landscaping

5.0

09/15/2012


Nancy B.

This was a big project. The front steps and walk were a mess with major drainage problems. The original steps and walk were brick and railroad ties vintage 1970's. We wanted to put in a stone wall and stone stairs with a brick walk. They were expensive but they were good. It's been two years and the new drainage system they installed to help the walk is working well. The brick walk was also well done. We had a little creative difference on matching the stones to the house but I would still give them high marks on quality of the work performed. If you have a technically big job, they are worth the price. I would recommend them.

Description of Work
rip out of front step and wall and front walk, repair drainage issue, match stones on wall to house.

Category masonry

1.0

06/30/2012


Mark W.

I setup a meeting with Borsello to have a landscape design done for our back yard. The appointment was for 2 weeks later and I took the day off from work to meet with them. The day of the appointment, no one showed so I called an hour after the appointment time had passed. The woman I spoke to said they had no record of my appointment and said she would call back later with more information. I never heard from them again. If they can't get the intial meet and greet right, I had no confidence the rest of the job would be handled professionally so I didn't bother to call them back.

Description of Work
Scheduled initial meeting for landscape design.

Category landscaping

3.0

02/25/2012


Scott A.

design and estimating was good, we received 2 estimates from large firms and they were comparable work started roughly on time but ran into problems when the coloring on some of the hardscape components didn't match well It took quite a lot of time to rework the steps but they were fairly cooperative and things came out looking very good the landscape design turned out as promised but the quality of the plant material was frankly awful, the mulch was cheap and they applied less than 1" of material so that within 3 mos there weeds growing through the mulch. There was no effort to prepare the soil for planting, they dug a small hole, dropped stuff in and covered it all with mulch. Even after 2 seasons the landscape plantings mostly need to be replaced. there was no follow up. I would consider them for hardscaping but never again for landscaping and i think there are much lower cost alternatives.

Description of Work
landscaping, pavers and lighting

Category landscaping

3.0

12/13/2011


ALAN K.

They were very expensive, and we should have recieved more estimates before hiring them. Overall, I really wasn't impressed with their design work. However, I do think they cleaned up well and followed through on their promises.

Description of Work
Borsello helped us with landscaping.

Category landscaping

1.0

11/22/2011


Joe M.

This company over promised, charged us a lot of money, and under- delivered. They did a poor job in the lawn maintenance service. They were 3 1/2 months late doing our 2011 spring maintenance.

Description of Work
OVER-PROMISED CHARGED A LOT PERFORMED POORLY: We had a maintenance contract in place in the beginning of May with Borsello Landscaping for lawn maintenance service for 2011. This service included a Spring Maintenance Service, weekly lawn maintenance and Fall service. Bordello Landscaping did not do the spring maintenance service until mid-august (3 1/2 months late!), despite repeated calls. This company has not been responsive at all. They did a poor job in the weekly lawn maintenance. We'll never use this company again.

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Our goal is 100% customer satisfaction. We want to make sure that we address any issues that our customers may have, with a real and honest commitment to make it right. Due to the severe weather during the 2010/2011 winter, you did not receive your final leaf clean up for the season. To compensate for the oversight and the inconvenience, we offered a "Spring Clean Up" at no additional cost. During that time, we were in a collection dispute with you for failing to pay the amount of your contract. We did however complete the service in August and also refunded $385.71 (the cost of the clean up) to compensate for any inconvenience you might have experienced. Customers, can you contact us directly in order to resolve any outstanding issues you may have? Best, Mike Borsello
4.0

11/03/2010


Karen M.

A very capable person came to our home and looked at the property. Totally knowledgeable, this landscape consultant did a thorough assessment of our approx. 1/3 acre & told us what could be done, identified what were problems, and what plants may be used instead. The person was personable & explained the written plans, with a follow-up appointment (in-home). The date of service had to be changed by a couple of days, due to rain. Although the work was going to be done in our family's absence, we were assured the consultant would be present for the job, and we would be asked what we thought, the following day. A very neat, transformed front yard met our approval and highest expectations. At this time, I am having some trouble with 'after care', and need to try a second time, to contact our consultant. By watering the new flowers out front, they are looking hearty and beautiful - - alas, Fall and frost is beginning to change the landscape. The after care concern was regarding what to do about deer that were more than happy to sample the roses & hydrangea.

Description of Work
Estimate and instruction to the homeowner as to what to expect Schedule of work date Comprehensive working of our front yard, including , mulching, weeding, new plantings, placing a rock, uprooting and removing several shrubs Instructions to water new plantings; review our satisfaction w/ our experience

Category landscaping

5.0

06/10/2010


Prakash S.

Excellent. They were a bit expensive but are extremely professional. They contained all areas that would be worked on. They finished early. The work looks original to 1920. We had a young person who was a real craftsman.

Description of Work
They pointed our old masonry in a 1920 home. They enlarged a brick window opening and replaced with a 3rd party window. They contracted out for carpentry services.

Category masonry

5.0

04/08/2010


Sandra J.

Mike Borsello developed a thorough plan for our property that allowed us to pick and choose unique features for our project. The color blueprints presented by Borsello allow us to see wonderful eliminates that we could not have imagined had we taken on this project ourselves or selected a contractor that did not have the creativity or foresight to see what can be done with a bear bones builder's lot. Even though we did not select all of the features present to us: fire pit, hot tub, or irrigation system; Mike developed the project in such a way that we can add these features when the time is right for us. When the work at our house got started we had a supervisor assigned to the job. We would speak daily on what I could expect to see and tweak details as the project progressed. The crew and the supervisor were terrific people and it was nice to see they all work hard every day, all day. The end result is that our yard is...stunning. Walking our dog in the evening, you come across a yard that has a sweeping stone patio, surrounded by slightly lit well placed shrubs and plants that provides a warm gathering spot for a family and I think holy mackerel that's our yard. It's really that nice.

Description of Work
Designed and Installed Landscape, Patio, Walkway, & Lighting which in effect encompassed the entire property. In additonal to creating a beautiful yard, we have a maintenace contract with Borsello.

Category landscaping, lawn service, lighting, masonry

5.0

03/24/2010


Matthew L.

As soon as he arrived at the property, I could tell that this was Mike's (Borsello) passion. He approaches the jobs unlike any contractor that I've ever worked with. His strength is in his vision and the result is a visual masterpiece and a quality that is unsurpassed. If I had the budget, I would have Borsello Landscaping redesign my entire home!

Description of Work
They removed ugly existing front yard and aged sidewalk. They replaced with beautiful mulch beds and plantings. The sidewalk was replaced with pavers, and they used old granite city curbs, recessed into the ground at the base and step of the new walkway.

Category landscaping, lawn service, masonry

2.0

09/09/2009


Karen J.

I was really excited initially. I called to request a consultation and the appointment was made for two days later. John showed up on time and we did a thorough walk-through of both the front and back yards. I was told that the designer would do a walk-through within the next week and I would then get a design and an estimate. I caled Borsello two times after the first week to find out when I'd get the estimate. I didn't call a third time. It's been three weeks since the meeting and I still haven't received an estimate or a follow-up phone call.

Description of Work
No services were ever completed because I never received an estimate or design from Borsello.

Category landscaping

3.0

08/25/2009


ALAN K.

The guy that came to my home, who is part owner of the company, is very charming and competent. Then, the job that they do is very professional. The bad part is that they are quite expensive. They are substantially more expensive than the average. The reason that I went with them is because they did a very good job on the neighbor's. The design that they gave me was not any good. It was good for about 3 months and that's it. They were un-responsive when I asked them for a maintenance contract, no one showed up. I called them and they apologized. They did the service for free, but then they never got back to me again. It was such a contrasting experience. They were very good in some areas, and very bad in others. I wouldn't recommend them to someone. They were very high quality when installing the plans. Everything that they planted died in the Winter. The punctuality and responsiveness was good on the original job, but thereafter it was not.

Description of Work
I hired Borsello Landscaping to do a landscaping job for me, and I also tried to get a maintenance contract with them.

Category landscaping

3.0

01/15/2008


SUSAN C.

Although we are fairly happy with the end result, it was a very frustrating process. Project lacked management oversight and attention to detail. Once we provided the design deposit planning took forever. First plan didn't take into account most of the written wishes we provided and discussed with Mike. We never were allowed to meet touted staff designer. We ending up having to manage the project, design and research most of the plant material ourselves because as poor communications continued we lost confidence in their expertise and attention to detail. When 3 large trees were delivered, no guidance was provided for placement and they were left for 5 weeks uninstalled and improperly braced. Installation of the beds went well, but the wrong plants were planted in two instances. They later corrected the problem. Fortunately the firm's "Satisfaction Guarantee" resulted in them being somewhat responsive to our complaints, but it always seemed more reactive than proactive.

Description of Work
Developed landscape plan for rear and side yard planting and screening beds to improve views from windows, provide privacy and enhance the look of yards. Included installation of plants, providing below grade drainage for downspouts, replacing basement window well, removing tree and installing low voltage lighting. We hired what we thought was a top notch landscape design and installation firm based on the professionalism of their sales presentation and interviews with references. We were looking forward to utilizing their expertise in plant material, design and installation to implement a long sought after improvement to our yard with the least amount of effort on our part. We had interviewed many, many landscape firms and thought we had found one of the best so it was suppose to be a fun project for us.

Category landscaping, lighting

    Other local Pros in your area

    Pierce L Shallis Landscaping & Design

    Pierce L. Shallis Landscaping & Design specializes in Design, Installation and Property Management. We are located in Edgemont, Pennsylvania and have been creating and managing Delaware County, Chester County, and The Mainline areas finest properties since 2008. Owner, Pierce L. Shallis, is a recent graduate of Philadelphia University and has earned us the reputation of the premier residential and commercial landscape service providers in the area. We operate on one simple principle to provide each customer with the highest quality personalized service. We understand that each of our clients have different needs and all of our designs and concepts are customized to satisfy each customer in a unique way. Our commitment to providing the best landscapes in a timely, cost effective and professional manner is what sets us apart from the competition. Our goal is to create and maintain excellent long-term client relationships, and to bring your landscape visions to life. No matter what your landscape needs, Pierce L. Shallis Landscaping & Design will provide you with the highest quality of service in the industry, while ensuring you are satisfied with the finished project. Contact us today and browse our website to learn more about how Pierce L. Shallis Landscaping & Design can exceed your expectations! ***We offer $25 off any invoice for Military or Senior Citizen****  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    GM Morales Landscaping

    We love our job and seeing our client's reaction after every one-off our projects. We do our best to complete the job on time. We also give free estimates.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    All Good Stucco, Stone & Landscaping

    At ALL GOOD we are committed to providing our best services. Traditional Stucco, Stone venner, and landscaping. • Mulching • Flower beds • Trimming • Lay Sod • Patios Our goal is to make customers happy. Explain every step of the process, and share ideas to make the project better.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Landscaping, custom design, installation, plants & materials. Stone masonry including, patios, walkways, walls, driveways, stone, brick pavers, flagstone & more. Landscape lighting & irrigation systems, carpentry, decking, pergola, fencing & trellis. Water features including ponds, spas, waterfalls & fountains.

    Services Not Offered

    ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Borsello Landscaping

    How is Borsello Landscaping overall rated?

    Borsello Landscaping is currently rated 3.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Borsello Landscaping open?

    Borsello Landscaping is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Borsello Landscaping provide

    Borsello Landscaping accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Borsello Landscaping offer free estimates?

    No, Borsello Landscaping does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Borsello Landscaping offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Borsello Landscaping does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Borsello Landscaping offer a senior discount?

    No, Borsello Landscaping does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Borsello Landscaping offer emergency services?

    Yes, Borsello Landscaping offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Borsello Landscaping?

    Yes, Borsello Landscaping offers warranties.

    What services does Borsello Landscaping offer?

    Borsello Landscaping offers the following services: Landscaping, custom design, installation, plants & materials. Stone masonry including, patios, walkways, walls, driveways, stone, brick pavers, flagstone & more. Landscape lighting & irrigation systems, carpentry, decking, pergola, fencing & trellis. Water features including ponds, spas, waterfalls & fountains.

    Are there any services Borsello Landscaping does not offer?

    ask for details