Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Solar Solution LLC

Founded 2008 • With Angi since May 2011

Solar Solution works directly with our homeowners and businesses to help them go solar in Washington DC. Our attention to detail to our solar installs and our excellent customer service distinguishes us from our competition. Our company was founded over 10 years ago in 2008 and has steadily grown to becoming the #1 solar installer in the District, installing more than 60% of all solar projects! You can be assured of our professionalism, experience, and we guarantee your satisfaction.

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Licensed
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(30) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 30 reviews
Eli K.
5.0
03/21/2022
We went with Solar Solutions for installing solar panels and they were fantastic. Our sales rep, Doug, was extremely patient and knowledgeable and helped walk us through the various options - (purchase outright, purchase without getting the annual credits, or lease). The work crew installed the panels in roughly half a day and six months later everything continues to work perfectly. Would absolutely recommend Solar Solutions for anyone interested in getting solar panels.
Description of Work
Installation of solar panels
Category
solar panels
Ju-un P.
1.0
04/07/2020
They sent a friendly and very responsive guy in the beginning. It all changes once you sign the contract. I had so much difficulty afterwards: they scheduled the installation date then they would cancel on the same day or the day before without much notice. They did this twice. Also they needed to talk to my roofer and coordinate which isn't that hard of a job. But they would just ignore and not contact my roofer. After the installation, their communication was worst. They told me to contact PEPCO for meter change and PEPCO sent me an email saying the Solar Solution had to finish paper work first. Again very poor communication. There are a few options for solar companies, I strongly recommend staying away from this company. Not sure how they have such good reviews, perhaps they used to be good and now they got busy and don't know how to run it well anymore? In any case, they have very bad communication with customer, among themselves, and with other contractors.
Description of Work
Solar panel installation
Category
solar panels

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], I am very sorry you had a negative experience with us. You are right, we did not give you the best experience that we typically strive to do. And what we have found out from this is that we have a weakness in filling the gap properly of a sales persons pipeline once they depart the company, to make sure those projects get handled timely and maintain proper communication. I ensure you we will learn from our mistakes and strive to be a better company.
Aaron W.
5.0
03/26/2018
Solar Solution was fantastic. I talked to five different companies, and they offered the best deal and were willing to negotiate a good one. I bought my installation rather than leasing, and it'll pay for itself in three years -- hard to argue with that! Solar Solution was the most pleasant company to work with and had the best terms. Highly recommended.
Description of Work
Rooftop solar installation
Category
solar panels

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you so much for the kind words! We are so happy you selected us and that you were satisfied with our work. Please let us know if you ever need anything in the future! Solar Solution team.
Adam F.
5.0
09/13/2017
Couldn't have been easier. They handled all the paperwork and logistics. And because we opted for the lease, we didn't have to pay anything.
Description of Work
They installed a leased solar system on our roof.
Category
solar panels

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review [Member Name Removed]! Let us know if you have any questions, and please send us some referrals! Solar Solution
Rebecca P.
5.0
12/12/2016
Great. The whole process went smoothly and the company was very easy to work with.
Description of Work
Install a solar panel system
Category
solar panels
Gigi M.
5.0
10/14/2016
After much research I approached Solar Solutions for a small residential solar system. It was a welcome break to talk to a company who knows DC permit regulations, timeline and technical details of various panels available. Antonio cut all the sales talk and got to the subject that really mattered and I can't recommend anyone better than him. Barring the few phone calls that were keep things moving, project was done on time and as expected. If you are looking for quality product and project execution efficiency, Solar Solution is the company to go to.
Description of Work
Residential solar system about 5 KWh in size.
Category
solar panels
Chris W.
5.0
09/27/2016
The company, and Robert in particular, were great throughout the entire process. They coordinated seamlessly with our roofing contractor (we also had the entire roof replaced), and they were proactive in communicating with us throughout the permitting and installation process. They always came to us directly to receive payment and follow up on the install, and customer service was all around great. We have already referred them to a couple neighbors and friends, and wholeheartedly endorse their professionalism! Before an after pics included below.
Description of Work
Solar panel install
Category
electrician, solar panels
Steven K.
5.0
04/08/2016
Solar Solution was terrific throughout the design and execution processes. They were very patient and thoroughly addressed all of our questions and concerns. And, they were very quick to respond to all of our suggestions for changes. We also worked with several other solar companies, including a couple of the big national outfits. Compared to Solar Solution they were slow and quite rigid in their thinking. They had one way they wanted to do everything and wouldn't consider alternatives. In sum, Solar Solution was top notch. And, it was great to work with a local company. Finally, I want to commend our contact, Robert Valette. We really enjoyed working with him.
Description of Work
Designed and installed solar panels: 16 255w modules with 16 Enphase Micro inverters (4.08 kW system).
Category
solar panels
Sean L.
5.0
03/03/2015
They mad the process so simple and easy I was very happy. I can tell you I was skeptical at first but I am a true believer that this company delivers a quality product and they work to make sure your satisfied.
Description of Work
This team has been exceptional. I have been working with them for two years on my solar project and they have always been great. I tell you that the pricing has been transparent and the permitting has gone smoothly. I had two properties done by this company and they were great. They installed panels on two houses for me and months later a leak (unrelated to them) started and they sent someone out to fix it. FOR FREE. Great company. THey stand by their work.
Category
solar panels
Deborah C.
4.0
12/23/2014
Robert has come to my house and followed up with cost estimates and pay options
Description of Work
The provider has given me an estimate.
Category
solar panels
SUE L.
4.0
07/15/2014
They were very nice. He was very thorough and went up on the roof. He gave me a printed out estimate. I am not fully clear on the whole concept of solar panels so I have not moved forward.
Description of Work
They came out to give me an estimate for solar panels for my roof.
Category
solar panels
Robert R.
4.0
11/05/2013
I asked three Angie's List A-rated companies for estimates. There are many excellent companies installing solar panels. One had the integrity to decline to give an estimate because satellite photos suggested that my roof had too much shade. Solar Solution had the integrity to point out that the economics would make less sense if I sell the house in less than three years, because that is the current waiting time for the $5000 PG County property tax rebate. I went with Solar Solution because they quoted the lowest price, did quality work, and offered an economic analysis that made sense even with some shade. The did the installation about a month after I accepted their quote, and we went online with Pepco about a month after that. They also connected me with a web-based monitoring service provided by the company that makes the microinverters (whcih convert the DC electric current to AC). That uncovered a faulty panel that I asked them replace on warranty. It took a little persistence on my part, but they did replace it, and the system now works very well. They had trouble finding the right office to which to submit the PG County property tax rebate form, so that was delayed about a month. They failed to submit the Maryland Residential Energy rebate form, so by the time I uncovered that, there was a three-month delay at a time when I really needed that $1000. They failed to do the shade analysis they were supposed to do, so when it was time to submit the application for SRECs, I had to estimate the roof pitch angle and compass orientation of the house. Ultimately I expect my net out-of-pocket cost to be $10,830 when you count federal, state, and county incentives. There's no state sales tax, my property tax assessment can't go up, my electric bill goes down, and I get SRECs. This is a great time to install solar panels, and Solar Solution does a quality job for a low price.
Description of Work
Installed 27 photovoltaic solar panels, installed an internet-based monitoring system, and submitted all paperwork for permits and government rebates
Category
solar panels
CARYN G.
5.0
10/30/2013
Robert was great to work with on a potential solar installation. We set up an appointment quickly, he arrived promptly, and was highly professional. He provided the design and estimate quickly. This was the least expensive of the solar options we considered, with some 3 to 4 times as much. We ultimately chose a mid-range approach that used North American sourced materials and provided more power. However, I was impressed with Robert and Solar Solutions and would highly recommend you consider them for your solar project.
Description of Work
Provided design and estimate for solar panel installation.
Category
solar panels
Kenneth B.
5.0
10/30/2013
Fantastic project beginning to end. The owner of the company, Colette Hayward, supervised the installation. She was on the roof with the installers all day, and it was hot! The first month's electric bill was $18 compared with $116 the previous month, and the panels were not even on all month. Maryland Solar Solutions Inc. is the best home improvement company we have ever dealt with!
Description of Work
Installed solar panels and inverters
Category
solar panels
Bruce & Linda W.
4.0
10/12/2013
Every person that came to this house was professional. They knew their job and were very courteous. The installed equipment seems to be top of the line. The problem I had was with the company management. There is no information coming from the company to the customer. I do not think they can do face to face communication. When the specs. came out on my installation they had me in the wrong county [different requirements]. I called and then I sent an email. I still don't know if it was ever corrected. I did not get updates on where we were in the installation progress. I was waiting to write this response until the grant procedure to be over, but I don't have info on that. I signed for their SRECs program and I received a contract. The only other thing I got was an email asking for the meter reading. I gave them the reading off the gas and electric meter. I found the meter I should have been reading and called. "don't worry abut it". There saving grace is installment personnel. They were quite impressive.
Description of Work
install 10.4 kw solar pu system
Category
solar panels

Service Provider Response

Dear [member name removed], I believe you left this comment for the wrong company. We have never worked at your site unfortunately per our records. If you need any other help, please contact us. Our company name is Solar Solution LLC, we are located out of District of Columbia
David S.
5.0
07/18/2013
Everything is working to specifications. We haven't paid an electric bill in the 18 months since installation.
Description of Work
Designed and insalled 24-panel photovoltaic system on our home's rooftop. Wired inverters into home meter. Helped us complete paperwork for Federal and city energy incentives.
Category
electrician
Robert C.
4.0
09/15/2012
The company was extremely well prepared and did all the paperwork in addition to going up on my roof, verifying the fit of the system size and capacity to the roof layout and sun orientation, getting necessary permits and tax credits, etc. also the installation was conducted in a timely manner even though it was over 100 degrees outside. My only concern is that I felt the company was less than upfront about trying to get me to sign an agreement to sell the SRECs (renewable energy credits) to them at a below market rate. Do your research and don't fall for this. SRECs are a critical piece that makes the investment in solar panels worthwhile. This last part notwithstanding, I am very happy that I decided to install solar panels. In addition to reducing my carbon footprint significantly, they make financial sense since (with the DC and federal tax credits and SRECs) my net outlay was only 3000. I will pay back this net investment in several years, and my home value has already appreciated to make up for the difference! Plus, my electric bills this summer have been literally zero - very sweet indeed.
Description of Work
Installation and purchase of solar panels on my row house in DC.
Category
solar panels
Dave F.
5.0
05/12/2012
Good customer service -- did not engage them for business.
Description of Work
None.
Category
solar panels
Ronald M.
5.0
04/12/2012
The process took a little longer than I anticipated. Prior to installation, I had a new roof put on. The actual installation was done in pretty short order. The inspections and wiring through the basement took a little longer, but were done with little imposition to me personally as Solar Solutions handled just about everything. Nice folks to work with. Go GREEN!
Description of Work
Two houses, side by side, were outfitted with solar panels. Costs were exactly as stated; any problems that arose were quickly and professionally addressed. I'm waiting to see how the DC credits work out!
Category
solar panels
Stephen W.
5.0
08/04/2011
Great. We got three bids and they had the best deal. Service very professional and friendly. Wonderful product.
Description of Work
Installed solar panels. Connected to home electricity. Provided individual inverters so we can follow each panel online.
Category
electrician, solar panels
Margaret B.
5.0
08/04/2011
They were outstanding! The entire project was performed professionally and on time according to the contract. They went above and beyond what I expected!
Description of Work
installation of photo voltaic solar system on my home
Category
electrician
Melinda F.
5.0
08/03/2011
Mr. Soupam handled all the paper works. Beautiful professional timely work. Immediate response and followup to questions, third party product issue, dedicated to Solar.
Description of Work
Solar Solution LLC has installed 5850 watt photovoltaic system on the residential roof/ in historic district, handled district, rebate application process/utility registration etc.
Category
solar panels
PETER B.
5.0
08/03/2011
They were excellent. Bent over backward to all details were properly aligned. They did friendly service and real hard workers. They run a business like I would want with the highest quality of customer service.
Description of Work
I used SOLAR SOLUTION LLC to install solar panels.
Category
solar panels
James G.
5.0
07/19/2011
Solar Solutions was a recommendation from our builder, Dila Construction. We met with Atta in the fall 2010, and he immediately placed us on the DC Solar Rebate waiting list. Atta explained the details of the project, the design, the cost, and the available rebates, credits, and SREC payments. Based upon the numbers he put together, our system, which was approximately $24,000 total, would cost us less than $2,000 net, after the DC Solar Rebate, federal Tax Credit, and sale of our SRECs upfront. We postponed installation until the early winter because of ongoing renovations to our home. In december, Atta's crew arrived and had the system installed and up and running in just a few days. Watching the meter spin backwards was a thrill! Most importantly, Atta and his team took care of all the paperwork, including the applications to DC, the sale of the SRECs, and the dealing with PEPCO on the installation of the net meter. Atta also recommended Enphase as a monitoring system, which is fantastic. With Enphase we know exactly how much energy we are generating at any given moment, and their monthly reports help us see how much we are saving! Frankly, there are some "fly by nights" in this business, so choose your contractor carefully. Solar Solutions is the absolute best in the business, and Atta is the most knowledgeable and decent guy around. Most importantly, they stand by their product and installation. We had a minor problem with our Enphase meter, and Atta had a technician at the house within a few hours. Even if you cannot get the astounding level of credits we got, this purchase is well worth it. Even if the ROI (return on investment) takes you several years, you will see a 100% ROI eventually, and in the meantime you have done a small part to make our planet a bit greener.
Description of Work
Solar Solutions installed our 4.1kW system of 18 panels on the roof of our Capitol Hill Home.
Category
electrician, solar panels
robert B.
5.0
05/26/2011
We selected Solar Solution (SS) after reviewing detailed submissions from 3 local competitors. SS won us over with their responsiveness, the professional quality of their proposal and their price was extremely competitive. Also they offered the most number of panels - total of 14- and the panels were all at the max available rating of 230 watts each. The 14 panels were mounted on a very sturdy wooden platform that spanned the roof and was anchored onto the two party walls - we live in a row house. This arrangement left the roof clear of support and anchor points. Solar made two return visits; one at our request to paint silver a wooden support beam that was visible from the rear of the house and a second at their suggestion, to increase the slope of some panels to improve efficiency and facilitate water run-off. No extra charges were made for these enhancements. SS filed all the necessary paperwork with PEPCO (Certificate of Completion ) to enable us to be eligible for Solar Renewable Energy Credits (SRECs) and placed our name on the list to be eligible for the DC Solar Grant. SS also set up the Enphase Envoy system and provided instruction on its use. The work was completed on schedule with the minimum of disturbance. We were very impressed with this company. All contacted (Ken, Atta and Fan) were really great to work with and answered all of our many questions in a detailed and professional fashion. Their responsiveness was exceptional - all calls were returned very quickly and all appointments were met on schedule. Would recommend Solar Solution without reservation. Great company.
Description of Work
Solar Solution installed a 3.22 kW solar system on the roof of our house in Palisades Village. The system included an Enphase Envoy Communications Gateway monitoring system. This enables an easy check of the status of the solar system (power being generated per panel etc.) through the Enphase website. This is an excellent feature as it enables remote troubleshooting of the system and it's a lot of fun seeing how much you are generating and how much CO2 generation you are avoiding. Solar Solution also prepared and submitted all the necessary paperwork to change the meter, register the installation with PEPCO and to access the various grants and solar credits. Pretty much a turnkey operation which we appreciated.
Category
electrician, solar panels

Phone

Address

4700 14th St NW

Washington, DC 20011

Service Categories

Other Information

Services offered

Solar panels installed on residential, commercial, non-profits, & government buildings, mostly using non penetrating installation techniques, and offering in-housed power purchase agreements,

Services not offered

Battery systems. Anything other than a grid-interconnected solar electric system installed on a roof.

Payment options

Check
Financing Available
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

Solar Solution LLC is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

Solar Solution LLC is open:

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Solar Solution LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, Solar Solution LLC offers free project estimates.

No, Solar Solution LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Solar Solution LLC offers warranties.

Solar Solution LLC offers the following services: Solar panels installed on residential, commercial, non-profits, & government buildings, mostly using non penetrating installation techniques, and offering in-housed power purchase agreements,

Battery systems. Anything other than a grid-interconnected solar electric system installed on a roof.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

If you have been searching for the right local handyman and remodeling company to service your Northern Virginia or DC home, you have come to the right place! Expert Handyman & Remodeling is here to help. Please call us today to schedule your free estimate appointment at (703) 683-1000  

Wilcox Electric LLC

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Wilcox Electric LLC

We at Wilcox Electric are here to serve you. Our team will insure that you receive complete electrical services in a timely, professional manner. Since our founding in 1989, our successful stream of work has been driven largely by customer recommendations. Our company has evolved from a home-based business to an electrical contracting business with 22 employees. As a reflection of the times, we are installing increasing numbers of EV car charging stations in both single family houses and multi unit dwellings.  

Murphy Family Electric

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Murphy Family Electric

Sean, the owner of Murphy Family Electric, first worked alongside his electrician father when he was a mere 14 years old. The experience stuck with him, and in addition to a college degree, he went on to attain his master electrical tradesman license. Call Sean today at 703-309-6125 Today, he and his team at Murphy Family Electric carry on the tradition and perform all skilled home services, installation and repairs, from electrical services, to plumbing, heating and cooling and handyman. Easily book and get deals and pricing upfront. Book direct deal on our website and an appointment today! We have multiple locations with local service options.