Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

PUPPY LOVE

Founded 1993 • With Angi since July 2006

4.8

(31) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3050 FOXHALL RD. NW

Washington, DC 20016

Description

Puppy Love has a long history of caring for pets in DC. It has been over 15 years! Recently we were excited to expand our area of coverage to Bethesda and Chevy Chase, Maryland. Our staff has expanded as well. We have a dedicated group of folks who have been carefully chosen. Our staff members extend the same personalized care and attention to detail that Josh and I attend to on a daily basis. We are very consciencious about hiring staff members that will treat your pets as if they were their own. Not only do the majority of our team own pets, but many also have extensive professional experience in the pet industry - either working for other pet care services, pet stores, veterinary offices, or various shelters. We understand the huge responsibility involved in caring for your animals. Our mission is two-fold: for our human clients we provide a service that is reliable, dependable, punctual, and honest. If you schedule service with Puppy Love, you will get it when you want it and how you want it. Secondly, for our canine and feline clients we provide exercise, kindness, company, and lots of tlc. You have many options when it comes to choosing a pet care service. The number of companies has soared in recent years. We like the competition; it keeps us on our toes. We want to provide you and your pets with the best service possible. I know we can! We look forward to working with you and your beloved pet companions....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/25/2016


Laurie C.

Puppy Love staff are always reliable, kind, careful and considerate. Most of the time my cats have had the same sitter and they know him and love him. One of my cats now needs asthma medication and the PL folks were happy to learn how to do this and to incorporate it into their care routine and come as needed to administer it. They always let me know if we need to train someone new on the routine if their regular sitter will be out of town and we have never had a problem. They are reliable and very caring people. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Puppy Love for any animal care.

Description of Work
I have used Puppy Love for pet sitting for my cats for 12 years on numerous occasions throughout those years. Initially the owner came and met with us and learned their routine. After that the staff (usually the same person) came and fed my cats, cleaned their bowls and litter box, filled their fountain, played with them and kept me apprised if there were any problems.

Category pet sitters

5.0

04/06/2016


Elizabeth B.

For the nearly 10 years Puppy Love has walked my dog, they have been unfailingly reliable, responsive and professional. The dog walkers have all been true dog lovers who are wonderful with my dog. It's very important to me that Puppy Love provides walks one dog at a time and thus that my dog gets the dog walker's full attention. My dog loves people (more than other dogs) and he loves his Puppy Love walkers! I would recommend Josh, Will and team without qualification.

Description of Work
Puppy Love provides two walks a day for my dog, on an as needed basis, but generally has walked my dog at least once a week for almost 10 years.

Category dog walkers

5.0

06/27/2014


Carol K.

We are long-time customers of Puppy Love, dating back to the 1990s and through three generations of pets. We have had a few breaks in that time period, but most recently, they have provided excellent care in the past two years of our small (10-lb) and large (70-lb) dogs. They have been unfailingly flexible in accommodating near-weekly schedule changes, owing to dynamic work schedules. They also have been unfailingly thoughtful in ensuring comprehensive care of our dogs as well as our home. To share some specifics -- on one occasion, our dog walker was critical in alerting us to a gas leak that was likely initiated when one of cats jumped on the stove and in doing so hit one of the dials. On several other occasions, our walker went above and beyond in cleaning up after "digestive issues" experienced by our dogs. Lastly, our walker has been very patient in the last year, as we all worked through the puppy phase of our large-breed dog. Josh and Will run a professional organization -- their billing is always correct and timely; they are near-instantly responsive to emails and phone calls; and they are personable. We have come to view them not just as "service providers," but wonderful people on whom we can rely on to keep our pets happy and our home life well-functioning. We recommend them without hesitation.

Description of Work
Daily walks for two dogs

Category dog walkers

1.0

06/04/2013


RONALD C.

Horrible experience. We hired Puppy Love several months ago to walk our dogs. They agreed to provide a daily mid-day, Monday-Friday walk for 30 minutes. We had received negative reports from our neighbors and our cleaning lady that our dogs were not being walk. The employee would simply let the dogs out in the back yard for a few minutes to take care of their business. I had to witness this for myself. On 3 occasions I was home during the service, the dog walker did not know I was home. On all 3 occasions she never walked our dogs, but simple let them in the back yard. I confronted her on Friday, May 17th. I asked her if there was a reason that she had not walked the dogs, she replied - no. I asked her if this has happened in the past and she said yes. I called Puppy Love they did not respond for 3 days, When they did respond they were very cavalier. I talk to the Wil, the manager and the owner Josh, neither were concerned, but very cavalier and made excuses for the employee.I explained that we hired them so our dogs could get exercise, not to simple go to the bathroom. They seem not to care for the dogs health. Additionally, we had noticed that both dogs were getting up in the middle of the night. We now know why, it was because they were not getting proper exercise. If you care about your dogs - don't hire Puppy Love!

Description of Work
The provider was to walk the dogs.

Category dog walkers

Service Provider Response

This client was clearly very unhappy with the service we provided for his dogs for over a year. I take my job as a pet care service owner very seriously. This is how I keep a roof over my head and how I feed my children, and I have been in business for about twenty years. The overwhelming majority of my clients are raving fans. A very small percentage are not. I stay awake at night worrying about the few clients who I have disappointed. When this particular client called to complain, he was screaming at me. I tend to shut down when approached so aggressively. His complaint that the walker had provided a short walk was accurate on this particular day. I apologized profusely, offered him a huge discount on his bill for the month, reprimanded the walker ( who was not feeling 100% that day). I did not understand his anger. He had had the same walker for over a year, and I had never heard any complaints. If anything, I thought he was happy with the service. He frequently asked for last minute visits which we always accommodated. He hired us to do overnights when he traveled. I sincerely was confused by his fury. I wish that he had discussed the issues that he was having with me earlier, so we could have tried to resolve them or at least parted ways amicably. I also wish that I had been better about insuring that he paid me on time. He left the service owing me for three months. I truly hate when clients are not satisfied with the service I provide. I am still upset that this particular client seems to hate my service to the degree that he does. As I said, I have had thousands of very happy clients throughout the many years I have been in business, but it is still hard to hear complaints.
5.0

02/05/2013


Patricia C.

We've been using Puppy Love to do a mid-day walk for our two dogs for about seven months. Our dogs are a bit challenging as we have a 130-pound Newfoundland and a very high-energy lab/pitbull mix. Our walker is phenomenal. From observing him a few times when we were home plus the notes he leaves, he definitely adores dogs. We feel totally confident that they are in good and loving hands. Overall, the service has been great. Reliable, dependable, responsive. We would recommend them very highly to anyone.

Description of Work
We've been very impressed with Puppy Love

Category dog walkers

5.0

01/29/2013


Carol W.

We started using Puppy Love last summer and they are unfailingly unfailingly reliable, courteous, prompt and meticulous in tending to our dog's needs (and yes, even his whims). Their services also go beyond your pet. Are you on a trip and worry about whether you left the oven on? Just email them and they'll check it when they come by for a walk. Do you need plants watered while you're gone? Ask them! Did you lock yourself out of the house? Am embarrassed to say that I know from personal experience that they'll come by to let you in with the key you've given them. Most importantly, judging from our experience, the walkers will love your pets, foibles and all and give you walk-by-walk reports on how they're doing. We've got an older but still frisky dog with high affection needs. He loves his Puppy Love walkers and we come home to a happy creature, even when we're gone for several days. They are also wonderful about last-minute requests. I've never had one ignored (or turned down!). Can't imagine life without Puppy Love. Nor, I'm sure, can Scrappy.

Description of Work
Terrific experience with Puppy Love. They're great.

Category dog walkers

5.0

01/27/2013


JANE G.

We've been using Puppy Love for about three years for our two dogs. It's a terrific service. They do a home visit to meet the pups and get a lay of the land, and then assign you a regular dog walker. We've had two regulars (a change after the first one moved away) and both have been exceptionally responsible and very nice people. Puppy Love is also able to supply you with an overnight stay -- your regular "walker" if s/he's available, or another, vouched for, person if s/he's not. We've had nothing but reliable, caring good service. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Regular dog walking for two dogs, and occasional overnight stays.

Category pet sitters,dog walkers

5.0

01/25/2013


Virginia H.

Puppy Love joined our family seven years ago,shortly after we acquired our Jack Russell Terrier, Tilly. I agonized over hiring a service. After all, Tilly IS my only child. Looking back over these seven years, I have had not a single complaint with the services provided by Puppy Love. Josh and Will love pets, and the dog walkers are dependable. A real plus is that there is very little turn over with their walkers so your dog gets to bond with the assigned walker. Lee, Tilly's current walker, even made her homemade dog treats at Christmas! We used to use Puppy Love five days a week, but with my retirement, we only use them on an "as needed" basis. Will has always been most accommodating and professional about scheduling (or even canceling) walks at the last minute. They truly care about their customers--both the two and four legged ones! I would not hesitate in recommending Puppy Love for your dog walking needs.

Description of Work
Best Dog Walkers Ever!

Category dog walkers

5.0

01/25/2013


Megan I.

Excellent! Our dog loves Will, the dog walker, and they are great to work with.

Description of Work
Very highly recommend Puppy Love. We have used them for dog walking for three years and they are great with our dog, highly professional and flexible.

Category dog walkers

5.0

01/24/2013


Gary R.

Excellent, dependable service. Our puppy adores her Puppy Love walker. I highly recommend Puppy Love service.

Description of Work
Puppy Love walks our puppy three times a day, and has for 4 months now.

Category dog walkers

5.0

01/24/2013


Orit F.

It has been great for 10 years-- I would recommend them highly and so would my dog!

Description of Work
Puppy Love has walked my dog daily for 10 years! He early awaits his walker, who never fails to come (and leaves me a note to show he was there). They are very reliable and wonderful! I would recommend them highly and so would my dog!

Category dog walkers

5.0

01/24/2013


q A.

Great experience. The older dog had health issues and Puppy Love kept detailed logs. She even was sick and they cleaned up the mess and left a little note. Felt bad about that as she was very sick. Both dogs were very happy when the dog walkers came to the house. They were very good about leaving little notes as to what happened during the walks. Also, my schedule could be crazy at times and Puppy Love was extremely flexible in accomodating me. Would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Hired Puppy Love to provide a 30 minute walk for my two dogs. Did not want them to be part of a "group" walk with other dogs as one was elderly and highly arthritic and the other was a bouncy beagle and high flight risk so he needed to be watched. However, they were inseperable and had to be walked together so this was perfect. Saw that the price was mentioned as an issue in another review but I found it was competitive for two dogs and service needed. I've sinced moved to the suburbs and it's comparable to what I pay here.

Category dog walkers

5.0

01/24/2013


Carol K.

Except for time living overseas, we've been using Puppy Love services for many years. They are probably the most responsive of any service providers with whom we have worked -- pet oriented and not. We've enjoyed all of the various dog walkers over the years and have found them to be thoughtful, professional and unintrusive. As long as we have pets, we will be looking to Puppy Love to back-stop our care of them.

Description of Work
Dog walker.

Category pet sitters

5.0

01/24/2013


Karen E M.

The owner Josh came to my house to meet our dog and explain the service. He was kind and professional. Then, I was assigned a single person who would be my dog's walker. That person came every day, which was great that one person, not a rotating cast of characters, would be in my house and with my puppy. Each day, my walker either took the dog for a walk or played outside with her. She left a note after each visit that explained what took place during her time with our puppy. She then returned the puppy to her crate and locked the front door behind her. Never a single problem. The company does everything possible to provide excellent service and, as a result, made my life easier in so many ways. I have a work schedule that changes a lot and they were happy to change the dog walker's schedule each time I needed it (which was almost weekly.) This included adding visits or canceling them, often without a lot of notice. The company will either email you a bill or bill your credit card. They always provide an itemized bill or receipt. You can also have them come at night if you have a commitment after work and cannot get home to let the dog out. They will feed your dog, play with your dog, help you train your dog, etc. And, always, always, with politeness and professionalism. I probably sound like a paid sponsor -- but I am not! I was just very very impressed by the way the company was run.

Description of Work
See below.

Category dog walkers

4.0

10/24/2012


Elizabeth E.

OK, BUT I HAVE A HIGH ENERGY DOG WHO NEEDS MORE THAN A THIRTY MINUTE WALK. i FIND THAT THE SERVICE IS EXPENSIVE FOR THE SERVICE PROVIDED.

Description of Work
walked and fed dog. WALKED 3 TIMES /DAY FOR THIRTY MINUTES EACH. i ASSUME THAT THE BILLING IS CORRECT BECAUSE I HAVE NO WAY TO VERIFY ACTIVITY.

Category dog walkers

5.0

08/16/2012


MEG N.

We've used Puppy Love for over 6 years, since we first brought our black lab home - and they have been consistantly fantastic and reliable. We used them for about 5 years on a 3 day per week basis - and each walker that we have had has been extremely professional and trustworthy with access to our home. The past year, we have only needed periodic service - and their flexibility has been key to why we love Puppy Love - if we need a last minute day of dog walk - they respond quickly and are able to turn around a walk perfectly timed to our needs. I haven't looked at other services as we've started so not sure as their prices have evolved how they compare - but we stick with them for the flexibility and willingness to jump in to help whenever we need it which is greatly appreciated. Josh and his staff are fantastic to deal with and I recommend them highly.

Description of Work
Dog walking

Category pet sitters,dog walkers

5.0

06/25/2012


Janalee R.

I have an account with Puppy Love and anytime I need them to walk my two dogs, a simple email or phone call produces fast reliable scheduling. The personnel are sensitive to my dogs and can be counted on for a good session walking as well as medications or other special needs. Bills arrive via email promptly and the company is very professional about service delivery. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Exercise of my two dogs and application of eye ointments or medications.

Category dog walkers

5.0

03/16/2011


MEG N.

We've used Puppy Love for our black lab for the past 4 years and they are consistently fantastic to deal with. Every dog walker we've had has been great with our dog (we have had 3 or 4 over this time - our most recent we've had for I think at least a year and a half) . Josh is incredibly flexible and always able to help us out if we have a schedule change - which we've greatly appreciated. I would refer them without hesitation - and thank them for all that they do!

Description of Work
Dog Walking - we have also used them for pet sitting a few times (also went well)

Category dog walkers

5.0

02/07/2011


Jennifer C.

It was an excellent experience-I was able to email them while I was out of town and ask them to change my dog's food, they gave me updates, it was like having a family member taking care of her. They left a very nice note about how my dog had done while I was gone which was also helpful. I would recommend them to anyone who doesn't want to put their pet in a kennel or boarding situation.

Description of Work
They did a great job of taking care of my elderly dog-three walks a day, dealing with a picky eater, giving several different medications with a complicated schedule.

Category dog walkers

5.0

01/27/2011


MAURA K.

I have worked with Puppy Love since I moved back to DC 7 years ago. I had one senior dog on a lot of meds and another dog that was hard to walk. In both cases, Puppy Love took faboulous care of them.

Description of Work
Puppy Love walks my dog three times a week at mid-day and also takes care of him when I travel. They feed, walk, pick up my mail, turn on outside lights, etc. and do a terrfic job.

Category dog walkers

5.0

07/22/2010


DIANE S.

He was very pleasant and forthcoming with information. The price seems right and they seem to do a bit extra than what the other companies offered. They will feed them and also sit and visit with the cats.

Description of Work
I contacted them to do possible pet sitting for me in the future.

Category pet sitters

5.0

07/19/2010


erin M.

Puppy Love has been great. Josh came over right away to meet our puppy and walked her the first few days so he could get to know her and decide on the right dog walker. Josh is both very professional and very comfortable to be around. He has been in business for 18 years and was able to share with me his experiences of working with a variety of clients and dogs. As a result, he has worked with some very demanding clients and is used to adapting to different dog and owner situations. Further, we were concerned about handing over the keys and giving someone access to our house, but Josh really made me feel comfortable both in himself and the staff he hires. Since the first week, Will has been our walker and he is fantastic. He is very responsive to changes in our schedule which have included canceling at the last minute due to a spontaneous vacation and adding evening walks when we have to work late. They have also been great about working with us to crate train her and reinforce other training techniques. I would HIGHLY recommend their services.

Description of Work
We had a puppy that needed dog walks twice a day from when we brought her home at 11 weeks. They also fed her once a day and dealt with changing newspaper and calming her down in her crate when we first brought her home and she was not used to her crate.

Category dog walkers

5.0

10/19/2009


Frances V.

They have been very good. They came in and we made arrangements for them to spend time with our cat, feed our cat, take our cat out, and bring the cat back in. It is a 19 1/2 year old cat, and they took very good care of it. We still have the cat. They are expensive, but I have good faith in them. The quality is very good. It is a little pricey when you have an old cat, but they did a great job! I wasn't here, but the cat seems to do okay. I have used them a number of times.

Description of Work
I used Puppy Love to pet sit our cat.

Category pet sitters

5.0

12/11/2008


kathleen L.

We have hired Puppy Love for 9-10 years. We learned about the owner from a friend. We have used them continuously and love them. They love our dogs. Period. They care for our dogs as if they are their own. They are accommodating, prompt, and loving.

Description of Work
Puppy Love has cared for our 2 dogs for years. They have walked and fed them and would do any other chore. We have found them to be the most experienced, caring and professional dog walking/caring group you could ever imagine. We are very demanding clients, have used them extensively and they have made our life and our dogs' lives so happy. They are so caring and loving. They get to know each dog and understand when things are normal and when they should caution the owner about an issue. You cannot have a better service. We cannot say enough about them....just excellent.

Category dog walkers

5.0

08/30/2007


BRUCE R.

Puppy Love comes out to your home to take care of your pets. They are fantastic small business, the prices are reasonable and they are friendly. We have only used them a couple times but they already know our pets names.

Description of Work
The came to watch my turtle and two cats for two weeks while I was on vacation.

Category pet sitters

    Other local Pros in your area

    Pet Sitting by Patricia

    Pet Sitting by Patricia is a bonded and insured, full service dog walking and pet sitting company. Patricia’s dedicated team come from varied professional backgrounds: the team includes animal rescue volunteers, dog trainer, vet technicians, homeland security professional, law enforcement professional, legal assistant, law student, classical musician, school teachers, a neuroscientist, and some retirees, to name just a few. Each of our dog walkers/ pet sitters has a deep love of animals, as well as being active community citizens. Pet sitting by Patricia has been servicing the Bethesda/Chevy Chase and upper NW DC areas for 18 years. The company is considered one of the best dog walking/pet sitting services in the area – and have been recognized as such in both BETHESDA MAGAZINE as well as the WASHINGTONIAN. Patricia and her husband Jay, and their two cats Doris and Steve, happily reside in the Mohican Hills area of Bethesda. A Bethesda native, Patricia is a graduate of Georgetown University. Jay, also an animal lover, worked at one time for the Montgomery County Humane Society, is a graduate of the University of Maryland, and is currently an Environmental Engineer for Montgomery County. As a member of E.A.R.S., an emergency animal rescue organization, Patricia was honored to have been a part of rescue mission, to help lost or injured animals, after Hurricane Katrina. In addition, a few select team members volunteer, on a weekly basis, at the Washington Humane Society.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Dog Walking
    Animal & House Sitting
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Not Applicable

    Services Offered

    DOG WALKING & ANIMAL & HOUSE SITTING.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about PUPPY LOVE

    How is PUPPY LOVE overall rated?

    PUPPY LOVE is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are PUPPY LOVE open?

    PUPPY LOVE is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does PUPPY LOVE provide

    PUPPY LOVE accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does PUPPY LOVE offer free estimates?

    Yes, PUPPY LOVE offers free project estimates.

    Does PUPPY LOVE offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, PUPPY LOVE does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does PUPPY LOVE offer a senior discount?

    No, PUPPY LOVE does not offer a senior discount.

    Does PUPPY LOVE offer emergency services?

    Yes, PUPPY LOVE offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by PUPPY LOVE?

    No, PUPPY LOVE does not offer warranties.

    What services does PUPPY LOVE offer?

    PUPPY LOVE offers the following services: DOG WALKING & ANIMAL & HOUSE SITTING.