Polar Bear Air Conditioning And Heating Inc

About

Founded 2001 • With Angi since August 2005

Family owned and operated. We’ll get the job done right and in a timely manner. We respect your home, from the planning stages of an installation to cleanliness during any visit. We respect your busy schedule and punctuality is important to us. That is why we’ve made a commitment to be local. We

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Verified Reviews

4.6

(220) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

174

4

14

3

8

2

6

1

18

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.6

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

HVAC Companies (213)water heaters (4)electrician (3)air duct cleaning (6)plumbers (5)well & water pump repair (1)
Showing 1-25 of 220 reviews
5.0

09/09/2022


Alden O.

I've been pleased with Polar Bear since they installed my A/C 16-17 years ago. Always prompt response to any problem, always knowledgeable professionals. Now it's time for a new system, I was walked through my options with no pressure to spend more, just the info on variables, and an offer of a discount, and very flexible deposit/payment arrangement. Great company.

Description of Work
Repair for old system and estimate for new

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/09/2022

5.0

08/12/2021


Stephane C.

I call them and they came on the same day and fix it quickly. i have use them for 3 years and was never disappointed.

Description of Work
AC not starting

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $159

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/12/2021

1.0

12/11/2020


Heidi C.

The positive - They answered the telephone and sent over Angel promptly. The person who answered the phone was pleasant. The negative - Angel looked and left within 10 minutes. When I called the office later that day for an update, they told me that I needed a new boiler because parts were completely unavailable for my old one. They said someone named (I believe) James would call me back with a quote for a new boiler. That was the last I heard from them. This all happened in late November/Dec 2020, when it was cold out. The result - Fortunately someone else came by to take a look at the boiler, and he was able to fix it within 2 hours. The broken part was readily and locally available and was not expensive. I paid my invoice to Polar Bear ($139, I have a copy of the invoice) and will never, ever call them again. I generally do not give bad reviews but in this case the service was so bad I feel others should be aware.

Description of Work
My boiler was not working, we did not have heat in the house.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $139

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/27/2020

5.0

06/22/2020


Christina F.

Angel was informative and quick! Our AC was on our roof, so he needed to use a ladder to climb up. We were out of the new R-22 freon, He showed us the gauge and gave us additional information with pictures about issues with the way our duct work was installed to make sure that we didn't lose efficiency when we got things repaired.

Description of Work
Our AC stopped blowing cold air, so we had then come out to do an inspection.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $139

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/19/2020

5.0

06/04/2020


Michael S.

My call to the company was promptly answered by a knowledgeable and very helpful representative who dispatched a technician to my house the next morning. The very knowledgeable technician arrived promptly, fixed the problem, and taught us about the system and how to best monitor it in the future.

Description of Work
A/C wouldn't start.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

Cost $139

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/04/2020

5.0

05/28/2020


Victoria W.

Went great. He knew the issue right away just by looking at it. He was honest about not needing a big repair and was super professional. Will definitely use them again!

Description of Work
Our AC was not working

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/13/2020

5.0

05/27/2020


paul Z.

Very honest and forthcoming about what was needed and what could be expected

Description of Work
Repair AC in Rowhouse

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

Cost $135

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/27/2020

5.0

05/22/2020


Alec S.

Fantastic. First of all, it was fixed and is now functioning properly. Everyone was prompt and professional. They work long hours (until 7 pm) which is especially helpful for scheduling. They answered the phone by like the third ring all 6x I called. No answering services. No 4p quitting time like some of their competitors. I also feel like the technician and the company was fair with the pricing, which is obviously important and appreciated. Enough so that I'm happy to recommend them.

Description of Work
Condensate line was clogged

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, air duct cleaning

Cost $217

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/22/2020

Images

Review for Polar Bear Air Conditioning And Heating Inc - 1045 Wisconsin Ave NW, Washington, DC - 38585992
5.0

04/17/2020


Carl S.

From making the very friendly appt. for service to the prompt arrival of the technician to the immediate determination of the problem and fixing it without delay, the service was an excellent example of professionalism.

Description of Work
Repair gas heater.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

Cost $140

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/16/2020

5.0

03/30/2020


Tom F.

PolarBear came quickly and fixed the problem. Always efficient and great service!

Description of Work
HVAC was no longer pumping hot air

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $139

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/30/2020

5.0

01/22/2020


Geoffrey G.

I called Polar Bear around 09.30 (the Tuesday after MLK long weekend) & they had a guy at my house around noon. He diagnosed the issue, installed a replacement part & had it up & running before 1pm. He was extremely helpful in explaining the process in layman's terms so I understood fully what had occurred & how he was fixing it. The total cost was $119 which included the call out charge, labor and replacement part which I think is wonderful value. I cannot recommend this company any more highly, they are top notch.

Description of Work
My furnace stopped working overnight, woke up to a 52 degree house.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/21/2020

1.0

10/29/2019


j.c. R.

Came home from the hospital to find their service truck parked in my driveway. There were plenty of places to park nearby while they worked on a neighbors house, and my property is obvious and clearly marked. After several beeps of the horn, their tech came out, stood by their truck and stared at me. After saying several times he was on my property, with no response, I asked if he spoke english, thinking there might be a language barrier. Still no response, still staring at me. Finally I got out of my car, asked again if he spoke english - he said he did - and repeated that he was in my driveway and had to move his truck. Nothing. Still staring at me. Then he started to argue with me, saying he would move his truck, only after I stopped telling him to move it, but he made no effort to do so. This went on for close to ten minutes. Only when I got out my cell phone and dialed the police did he finally, reluctantly, slowly make his way to the door and move the truck - to a spot nearby where he should have parked to begin with. It was about fifteen feet away. The arrogant, open defiance of this fellow made no sense, and when he then started calling me names and cursing, even though he was clearly in the wrong, made the situation much worse. When the beat car arrived, the officer made it clear to him he was in the wrong, and wasn't just a parking enforcement matter but was trespassing, and could result in the truck being towed as well as arrest. At least now I know who NOT to call for A/C work.

Description of Work
Work performed on neighbors home

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Work Completed On 10/29/2019

5.0

10/08/2019


thomas F.

Perfectly. James provided the initial estimate of a total of four that I got and even though Polarbear came in on the higher end they worked with me on some additional requirements and were ready to begin immediately. I was extremely happy with the crew they brought in who took out the old systems, replaced with the new and cleaned up after themselves. I will plan on using them for any maintenance in the future as needed.

Description of Work
Complete HVAC and Gas Furnace Replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/08/2019

5.0

09/27/2019


Mary Q.

Going to take two visits, but that is because they wanted to see if when the unit thawed the fan was still working and save me over $1000. Turns out the fan is shot. So, calling them back, but I know they will be able to fix it. They have done work for me on this unit before. They cannot service all units, as I have a business and they weren't able to fix that one. But, they said that when they got there and looked at it before they spent a lot of time or money on parts, so at least they are honest.

Description of Work
Fix my air conditioner

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $139

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/26/2019

5.0

09/14/2019


Donald H.

Great! They found the problem and fixed in same appointment window.

Description of Work
forced air A/C not working. Polar Bear repaired that same day!

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/14/2019

5.0

09/06/2019


Dustin T.

Joe and his team were fantastic in replacing our old HVAC Units. I really appreciated Joe’s willingness to hop on the phone with me whenever I had questions about the estimate or the work being done. He was very patient and never overbearing. The work was done correctly and quickly. The price was competitive compared to other quotes I received. I even had to call Joe a year after the work had been done to pick his brain about an attic renovation that might have had some impact on the HVAC system. Even though the question wasn’t going to lead to any more business for Polar Bear, Joe took the time to answer my questions about the potential impact of the renovation on the HVAC system. Truly appreciated his high level of customer service! Would definitely use Polar Bear again!

Description of Work
Replace HVAC System

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/06/2016

5.0

08/21/2019


Robert A.

The technician arrived in a timely manner. He was professional and very competent throughout the tedious work on my AC unit and fan motor. I have used Polar Bear for a number of years on all of my properties and would highly recommend them to anyone with heating or A/C repairs. They are fantastic!

Description of Work
The outside AC unit needed adjusting and cleaned

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $160

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/20/2019

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the feedback and recommendation. We are grateful for your loyalty and look forward to continuing to serve you!
5.0

08/01/2019


Chantal D.

Polar Bear was professional and accommodating from beginning to end. The workers who came to do the actual installation worked quietly and efficiently. They completed the project exactly on time. The estimator hit the projected cost exactly on the head. By the time the workers finished, it looked like my entire HVAC system had been redone -- very much for the better. No need to look elsewhere for this kind of company; Polar Bear is the best!

Description of Work
Needed to install new central air conditioning unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $4,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/22/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and letting us know what makes Polar Bear your choice for HVAC!
3.0

07/20/2019


Chris J.

Polar Bear offered a competitive quote, and what seemed a good solution for a somewhat tricky roof install for our AC. Problem is that we asked for a higher ton unit, fearing their initial recommendation would not be strong enough, but they did not follow through on that and installed a smaller unit. Lo and behold the AC does not work sufficiently for our home. They say it is because of poor duct work in our older home. That may be part of it, but the system cools worse than our old one did, before it conked out. After spending $10k on this system just a couple years ago, we just spent ANOTHER 10k for installation of supplemental AC systems (by another company) so our house can actually make it through the DC summer. Now our main floor cools great, but the upstairs, which relies on the AC system that Polar Bear installed, still struggles. I've had Polar Bear come out multiple times to see there is anything they could do to make the AC work better, and other than top up coolant, they haven't offered solutions. I'd not use them again, had more positive experience with another company that I just also reviewed here.

Description of Work
Air conditioning - replacement of main system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/04/2018

5.0

07/19/2019


Sandra M.

Polar Bear scheduled us immediately and the issue was resolved within 24 hours (on a very hot week).

Description of Work
Resolved air conditioning (compressor) problem

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/17/2019

5.0

07/19/2019


HATSHEPSITU T.

Alex checked my filter, which was clean, and my refridgerant, which did not need more substance. He advised that because my AC unit was from 1997, I should look into purchasing a new AC unit within the next year because the refridgerant would be discontinued as of December 31, 2019. Alex was helpful and competent about my AC unit. Thank you.

Description of Work
My AC unit was not working.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $140

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/17/2019

5.0

05/29/2019


Karen S.

Polar Bear handled all aspects of the project in a timely and efficient manner. Most importantly, they're experienced with the rooftop a/c rowhouse installation, which required scheduling a crane to lift unit on roof, and remove the old one.

Description of Work
install package a/c on roof of DC rowhouse

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $8,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/13/2019

5.0

05/27/2019


Brian D.

As always the service is top notch and I never feel like they are trying to sell unnecessary services or products

Description of Work
Split AC unit repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac