Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Cook & Sons LLC

4.6

(151) Verified Reviews

Founded 1943 • With Angi since September 2005

Licensed
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Saturday
Closed

Company Contact

1833 Jackson St NE

Washington, DC 20018

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. Ask about Angie's list discount. Additional e-mail -cookandsonsllc@hotmail.com....

Verified Reviews

4.6

(151) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

99

4

17

3

16

2

11

1

8

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

plastering (127)stucco (31)drywall (23)interior painting (21)house painting (9)pressure washing (5)water damage restoration (7)woodworking (6)masonry (3)
Showing 1-10 of 151 reviews
5.0

02/22/2021

They may need to come back and replaster the ceiling wall where they covered up the electric-box for hanging a kitchen ceiling light. I spoke with Mr. Cook about it and he said no problem.

Description of Work
Sand the wall, drywall one that can a hold and painted the entire kitchen. Sand down and plaster the wall before the Powder bathroom too. Beautiful job!

Category drywall,plastering,interior painters

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/22/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much!
5.0

08/27/2019

Mr. Cook and his team repaired 40+ holes in our ceiling after we had insulation installed in the attic, and also did the painting after they finished repairing the drywall (it was a mix of drywall and plaster). He was prompt and responsive, and charged a competitive price. His team did a fantastic job, and also did a good job cleaning up when they were done. I would definitely recommend them!

Description of Work
Repairing drywall and painting

Category drywall,plastering,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/12/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your business and the review. Cook and Sons, LLC
5.0

03/08/2019

Antoine Cook and his crew are artists with the trowel and have long experience in working in historic houses and government buildings on Capitol Hill. The quality of their work is outstanding, the company is businesslike, responsive, and easy to deal with. I am proud of the work they have done and look forward to using them on future projects.

Description of Work
Re-plastering of laundry/utility room, kitchen, and other water damaged areas in the house. Priming and painting of re-plastered areas.

Category plastering,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/07/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so very much for your review. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you and working for you. Cook and Sons, LLC
5.0

01/03/2019

Mr Cook came to our home to view the work be done. He is very knowledgeable and explained what the work would entail, and provided an estimate within 3 days. Mrs Cook scheduled the work and handled the payments. The crew who did the work were skilled professionals and the job looks great. They cleaned up completely afterwards. We would definitely call on Cook and Sons for any plaster work we need ...

Description of Work
Plaster repair for 2 areas where plaster walls and ceilings were damaged by roof leaks.

Category plastering

Cost $1,450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/15/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much.
2.0

12/27/2018

I emailed photographs and a verbal description of the work needed. Took them a week to provide an estimate, and then it was EXTREMELY high. I did not hire them to do the work.

Description of Work
Repair drilled holes and cracks in wall above fireplace

Category drywall,plastering

Work Completed On 12/27/2018

Service Provider Response

Sorry you were not happy with our turnaround time with the estimate. Hopefully, you found a company that could address your needs.
5.0

12/12/2018

Incredible amount of physical work involved in bringing down and replacing our home’s 19th Century ceilings with modern lathe support. Thorough job and personal attention by the company owner. His is a skill fast disappearing, having learned his craft from his father a generation ago. Painters I hired as a follow-up confirmed the work was as professional and smooth as ever seen.

Description of Work
Replace plaster ceilings in 2 bedrooms and repair kitchen plaster/drywall ceiling in our 120 year old Capitol Hill home.

Category plastering

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/07/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you
5.0

06/29/2018

The work was professional and perfect. I have absolutely no complaints and am brimming with compliments. If it weren't ridiculous, I almost wish I had more ceilings to repair. This is a fine fine company.,

Description of Work
Repaired two ceilings and painted.

Category plastering

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/22/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you
5.0

03/05/2018

They promptly responded and price was in line with what I was expecting. When I discovered more work to be done, they were flexible about incorporating it into their work schedule.

Description of Work
repair stucco wall; seal and paint rear wall; repair cement railing

Category masonry,pressure washing,stucco,house painters

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/03/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you
5.0

07/15/2017

the job went very well. I am very happy with of the job. cook& sons are very professional and the highest professional level. I would definitely recommend cook&sons. this is an old house and other rooms need work I will ask cook&sons to do the work. one last thing, mr cook respects the craft that went into these old houses so he can restory the house back to its original glory.

Description of Work
plaster wall replace and ceiling repaired in living room. then cook& son pain painted the entire room. the house was built in 1927.

Category plastering,interior painters

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much. Cook and Sons, LLC
3.0

05/22/2017

The crack in the ceiling returned, and it is larger than before, but I cannot be sure of the cause. Some of the repairs blend into the existing plaster better than others.

Description of Work
plaster repair

Category plastering

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/22/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you

Services Offered

Stucco. Plastering. Painting.

Services Not Offered

Drywall.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
No
Warranties
No