Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Canine Co

Founded 1983 • With Angi since December 2005

4.7

(88) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

493 Danbury Road

Wilton, CT 06897

Description

Canine Company is a family of pet-loving professionals who provide expert installation of the Invisible Fence® Brand pet containment solutions and training to keep pets out of harm’s way while providing their owners with peace of mind. We now offer the flexibility of eConsults done via the Zoom video platform in addition to in-home consultations. Canine Company also provides Manners obedience training to facilitate a simplified, rewarding, and lifelong relationship between pets and their owners....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/06/2017


elizabeth C.

So far, so good. The fencing was installed. Our dog had some anxiety after the system was turned up from training to regular level. The trainer at the next lesson was very helpful with ideas for making the dog comfortable and confident in the yard.

Description of Work
Invisible fence system for our dog, plus training to use the system.

Category dog trainers, dog fence

5.0

04/12/2017


Kim S.

Fantastic - they were prompt, great with my dog, very fast in installing the fence, and helped me train my dog quickly. They've also followed up to make sure everything is still working for us.

Description of Work
Had an invisible fence installed for our dog.

Category dog fence

5.0

04/11/2017


LISA A.

Works perfectly, dogs are completely trained

Description of Work
Fence w/ 2 collars

Category dog fence

5.0

01/16/2017


Kathi N.

Unfortunately due to circumstances beyond our control, we needed to cancel the installation. The customer service representative was very kind and accommodating, issuing a refund of our deposit (as stated in the initial agreement). This was processed within a few business days.

Description of Work
We inquired and set up an installation for underground fencing for a new dog.

Category dog trainers, dog fence

5.0

09/05/2015


Beth B.

First, Kelly checked the wires on our system- and found out our neighbors fence wires (recently added by DogWatch) interfered with the frequency of our wires at the boundary between our houses. When DogWatch refused to do Anything (even as simple as changing their frequency because it would have meant a house call for them), Kelly's supervisor gave the OK to dig up and re-place our wires closer to our house. This was our best solution, as both our dogs need the fence while I'm at work all day and I don't have time for a long battle with DogWatch. Kelly and I trained our new rescue dog (first visit with flags and a 'tickle'), next visit with flags, "No", and a correction) and she went over every part of the transition- increasing distractions, protecting against a traumatic experience.This dog is a 'special needs' dog, on Prozac for anxiety- and had a good- even pleasant- experience training by the Canine Fence People. My opinion: You get what you pay for...They are a first-rate, responsible business and a humane way of protecting dogs from harm. They stand by their word and stick around if you need help.

Description of Work
Everything necessary for our new rescue dog to be safe within our pre-existing wired property.

Category dog fence

5.0

07/29/2015


Sharon C.

We had our driveway repaved which interfered with the perimeter of our electronic fence. The service technician (who was very friendly and helpful) repaired the connection which ran under our driveway and made sure everything was working properly.

Description of Work
Repaired electronic fence.

Category fencing, dog fence

5.0

07/09/2015


Rebecca G.

It went great, they were on time and did a fantastic job with installation. I would highly recommend them. People had said we could do it ourselves, and there is no way we could have done this system as well, or efficiently as Canine Company- the transmitter was installed in our home , all the wire and flags set as we asked... they are really outstanding. And best of all, the system works great and is keeping our wandering dogs within the yard! It works for dogs of all sizes from our Bernese mountain dog at 120 pounds, our foster shepherd mix at 55 pounds, a 17 pound terrier and a little 8 pound chi/dachsund mix! If you need a great system, expect professional and timely service and want exactly the system and service as promised, this is your company.

Description of Work
Installed an acre of invisible fencing, and provided instruction and collars for four dogs from a chihuahau to a Bernese Mountain dog. They were professional, up front and honest and gave us more of a system than we expected when we first called them! It was more expensive for us, due to the fact that we have four dogs and the collars are pricey (you get one with the system and each additional is $219). However, they will allow a return within a month, for a dog we are fostering who has found a new home. We greatly appreciated their willingness to take the collar back for a full refund no questions asked.

Category dog fence

5.0

06/12/2015


Wesley F.

It was a really good experience, the person who came out to give us a consult was very professional and knew what he was talking about, they even squeezed us in for installation. The trainers were great, and showed us how to work with the dogs to teach them about the fence. Also about $600 of the cost was the collars for our 3 dogs.

Description of Work
Installed Invisible Fence, with 3 collars and 2 training sessions

Category dog trainers, dog fence

5.0

06/08/2015


Janet C.

The representative (Jim or James or Jeff) was very professional, friendly, and great with my dog. After he completed reconnecting the underground wire where it had been broken during construction and landscaping, he provided a brief "refresher" for my dog and left me feeling confident that Bentley would remember how the fence works.

Description of Work
Reconnected underground wiring where it had been broken during construction and landscaping

Category fencing, dog fence

5.0

06/04/2015


Karen F.

They had a very gentle attitude toward my dog. The first week there was only a radio signal of beeps to tell my dog that she was outside the fence. My dog learned very quickly and needed only a very low correction signal when they came after a week. When they check back again we will see if it needs to be increased. I loved the the way the representatives of Canine Company were so gentle with my dog. I would recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Canine Company was intelligent in how they placed the wire around my house. They placed the control box in the house in just the right place for me. The outside installation was very neat and clean. I loved it.

Category fencing, dog fence

5.0

05/19/2015


Evelyne A.

Extremely professional. Done in less than an hour. He also took the dog out on the leash to reacquaint him with the invisible fence.

Description of Work
We had had work done in our yard during the fall and the invisible fence wire was cut in three different spots

Category fencing, dog fence

5.0

03/18/2015


Sandra H.

They are everywhere. Their price included the collars and the fencing. I have a big yard. It turned out excellent; they don't go out of the yard. They come three separate times for each dog to kind of start the training and to show me how to finish it. They show me how to train the dogs and then we are supposed to practice. A different person came out every time. The trainers were always different. There were two installers who came to install the fence.The trainers were good with the go dogs and were friendly and personable. They were excellent instructors. Their prices seemed reasonable. They were recommended by my vet.

Description of Work
I used Canine Company to train two dogs and put in an invisible-type fence.

Category dog trainers, dog fence

5.0

02/21/2015


Patricia R.

The technician not only repaired the break, but was pleasant the whole time, although due to the snow it was difficult to find. I couldn't be happier with the service.

Description of Work
I have an Invisible Fence system they installed and a break occurred. We have about 5 feet of snow, so I didn't know if they would be able to find and fix it. The technician came out the day after I called, in below 0 weather, found the break and repaired it.

Category dog fence

5.0

02/02/2015


Eva N.

It works wonders! It is very liberating! This company is very responsive.

Description of Work
They did an invisible fence for us.

Category dog fence

5.0

10/09/2014


James H.

perfect, very satisfied with the technician. Very prompt, courteous and neat!

Description of Work
Installed electronic dog fence.

Category fencing, dog fence

5.0

10/03/2014


Lisa L.

Trainer was Very Professional clear on instructions showed us how to complete the training our selves. We have the service plan so our out of pocket cost are covered

Description of Work
help re-train our cat to stay in the yard with the invisible fence.

Category dog trainers, dog fence

5.0

09/26/2014


Susan K.

The system alarm went off during core aeration-I think the cores were deeper than when done in the past. I have 2 puppies recently trained to the fence and the company managed to be out at 7 AM the next morning to fix the lines. I love that they call ahead to say they are on the way and when they are done.

Description of Work
Repaired many breaks in the wire caused by core aeration of the lawn.

Category dog fence

5.0

08/12/2014


David S.

I highly recommend you use them for invisible fences! Each fence has it's own frequency and they programmed ours to match my in-laws so our the collars can be used at either house!

Description of Work
My in-laws used the company and recommended them to me. They were prompt, courteous, and reasonably priced.

Category dog fence

5.0

07/28/2014


Talia F.

I called and they came out the very same afternoon...! A lifesaver as I have a full-time job, two kids, and three stepkids, all under age 12, and I really don't have time to go hunting for the dog around the neighborhood when she decides to go explore. They fixed the fence within 10 minutes, were polite and professional, and didn't charge me for the fix even though it's technically not covered by our service plan (because it was related to house construction). I made a note to myself that I needed to enter a rating on Angie's List for this excellent company. This is actually the first rating I've ever submitted online on Angie's List. Use this company for your dog fence -- they have terrific customer service (for people and dogs).

Description of Work
Repaired a break in our invisible dog fence caused by the contractors putting on our addition; they accidentally cut through the line.

Category dog fence

5.0

07/13/2014


Judy L.

We are thankful for this wonderful staff. Everyone who has ever come to our yard is concerned with one thing and one thing only, keeping our pets safe! Very helpful, very kind, and very dedicated!!

Description of Work
Thankful for this system! It keeps everyone safe. Just got a new puppy and needed a collar and training. Kim was FANTASTIC!! She spent time with the new pup and trained him around yard and then played with pup and our older dog in the yard to make sure everyone was safe!!

Category dog trainers, dog fence

5.0

06/24/2014


Eric P.

Layla, the technician, was very thorough and deliberate. I had a broken line that was not easy to find. She ultimately found the break and repaired.

Description of Work
Wires lose at transmitter and break in fence line.

Category dog fence

5.0

06/10/2014


Heather M.

It went very well. The fence was installed in one morning's time and we received our first training session then. Each session, we were told how to work with each dog and how often we should train them until the next session. The trainers got to know each dog and gave recommendations on how to work with them so it would be a positive, successful experience. They answered all my questions and we're very good at handling each dog.

Description of Work
The provider installed an invisible fence around our front and back yard areas to contain our two dogs. They also provided four training sessions for the two dogs. Each dog was handled individually during the session time.

Category dog fence

5.0

06/08/2014


Debbie E.

They arrived on time, checked the entire line around the property and replaced the control. We were lucky that we had purchased the lifetime warranty when we had the fence installed. They have been here before and have always been professional, courteous and prompt. I highly recommend them for your pet confinement - they will help train your dog on use of the fence (and you too!) Our dog loves to be able to go into the woods to do her business and just snoop around - and we are very much at ease knowing she is never very far away and is safe.

Description of Work
Our dog fence was struck by lightning. It totally blew the control in the garage. We called the next day (Wednesday) and they scheduled the first available time they could which was the following Monday, with an estimated arrival time of 7:30 a.m.

Category dog fence

5.0

06/06/2014


Jacky S.

The service was scheduled within 1 day of my call. They called me to let me to confirm my appointment and again to let me know they were on their way. They arrived on time, the technician was very courteous and professional and competed the job quickly. I was still able to get to work on time! I had the same experience with a prior service call. I can't say enough good things about Canine Company!

Description of Work
Fixed a break in my invisible fence

Category dog fence

5.0

05/08/2014


Kathy L.

They are reliable. reasonable price. In Maine they must travel a lot. The service is backed up by a call or email. If there is a problem they are listening. For me, I called after work because that is when we heard the warning beeps gthat the fence was nor functioning (safety for us and dog).. They answer the calls... It is a 1-800 so people answer after and quot;hrsand quot;. I did not pay telephone tag or have to take calls a work.. Thru email we got the schedule etc.

Description of Work
We have a well established invisible fence that with problems over the winter has lead to need for repairs. One call and they come and fix the problem. You know when they are coming, what they did and they ask for feedback on the quality of service.. We pay yearly and have had them out to the house just about yearly. We also had 2 dogs needed batteries but one only one dog battery arrives after a simple call as we lost the older aged dog. No problem and no mistakes We work a lot so not having to deal with fence issues adn knowing the dog is secure for $200 a yr is fine with us.

Category dog fence

    Other local Pros in your area

    Freedom Fence

    WE ONLY DO INVISIBLE/ELECTRIC FENCING -- Established in 1998, we are a licensed, insured, locally owned & operated business with a focus on customer service & satisfaction. We are licensed by the States of Connecticut and New York, where we also carry full liability insurance coverage. We have the latest technology offered in our industry and are the largest Freedom Fence dealer in the United States. We will always help train your dog, to get accustom to the fencing, to put your mind at ease. Our dog, Roxy, is loved by all of our customers. Free financing is available if you qualify and we offer discounts for Angie's List members (check out our coupon offer). Give us a call for all your invisible/electric fencing needs today!  

    Connecticut Pet Containment Co

    I started in 1995 with my brother after our own Two dogs were chasing the UPS trucks down the road, and having fun doing it. It was then we decided to call a pet containment company to get a quote. I was shocked, I knew that there were many pet owners like me who would not or could not pay that amount. I also knew that we could do better if we checked around, we contacted a distributor and started our own business Over the next 20 years 3,000 systems installed and trained over 5,000 dogs to our system we have the most experience in this field. We pride ourselves in being a small company that provides one on one service to our customers. 20 years later, I am fully hands on with my crew installing and personally have trained every customer's pet from day one. Put your trust in us, and we will not disappoint.  

    Fairfield County Fence Co.

    As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Animal Training
    Animal Grooming
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10.00%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Fencing, animal fencing & training.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Canine Co

    How is Canine Co overall rated?

    Canine Co is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Canine Co open?

    Canine Co is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Saturday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Canine Co provide

    Canine Co accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Canine Co offer free estimates?

    Yes, Canine Co offers free project estimates.

    Does Canine Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Canine Co does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Canine Co offer a senior discount?

    No, Canine Co does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Canine Co?

    Yes, Canine Co offers warranties.

    What services does Canine Co offer?

    Canine Co offers the following services: Fencing, animal fencing & training.

    Are there any services Canine Co does not offer?

    Ask for details.