Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Baybrook Remodelers Inc

Founded 1992 • With Angi since July 2006

4.5

(66) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

824 Boston Post Rd

West Haven, CT 06516

Description

The Baybrook Remodelers Inc. philosophy is simple:Offer only quality products with outstanding workmanship. We provide remodeling services throughout the state of Connecticut and our goal is always to make you satisfied so you will consider us for all of your home improvement needs. Our accomplishments speak for themselves. Throughout your neighborhood we have designed and built additions, dormers, kitchens, bathrooms and decks. We have beautified your neighbors’ homes with the finest vinyl siding, windows and roofing the industry has to offer. Our commitment to excellence has resulted in thousands of satisfied customers. Become one today!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/03/2022


Walt T.

Excellent. Top-quality work done promptly (even given the COVID challenges). This is the third project Baybrook's done for us. And, Ken, the owner, stands behind his work. Can't ask for more.

Description of Work
first-floor bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile, countertops, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

4.0

10/26/2021


Peter O.

Very well. It's a good job and very professional.

Description of Work
Re-sided the house.

Category remodeling

5.0

07/25/2020


David B.

We engaged Baybrook to do a complate remodel for my mother's new residence a senior living facility. I cannot say enough positive things about Baybrook - beginning with Adam Wallace who was the lead, and including all of his colleagues performing the work. While, the quality and workmanship was of the highest level, they were incredibly responsive at every stage of the project. Superb professionals, nice people and I would highly recommend.

Description of Work
Complete remodel

Category bathtub refinishing, contractors, countertops, electrician, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

04/26/2020


Edward E.

For the last several years, Baybrook Remodelers, Inc. ("Baybrook") has performed excellent work with respect to our condominium unit in Harbour Landing. Our unit was completely rebuilt by Baybrook and we could not be happier. Ken Carney, the founder and principal of Baybrook, provided invaluable design, remodeling and construction advice. He has a wealth of knowledge in design, construction, renovation and remodeling. and he and Baybrook used all their resources to perform highly professional and excellent workmanship in rebuilding our unit. Ken is a hands on owner and is involved in every detail and aspect of the work. He always made himself accessible to us and was extremely responsive to all our requests. We relied heavily upon his expertise and was rewarded with a great apartment. Ken is also an excellent communicator and made it easy for us to understand the rebuilding process and to create the best apartment for us. Baybrook's office personnel, especially Melissa, who I deal with most frequently, provide excellent service and are always responsive to our needs. Baybrook and Ken get our highest recommendation.

Description of Work
Re Build entire Condominium Unit

Category remodeling

5.0

01/10/2020


Harvey E.

Ken, Thanks so much, for the quick response today Ken, with our plumbing problem. We really appreciate you, and all you do. It's great to have a reliable company, we can really count on, with life's little emergencies. My wife and I, want to wish You, and Your Family, A Very Healthy & Happy New Year! P.S. My wife Vicki just liked your Fb page and intends on posting great comments about your company. Thanks again! Emoji

Description of Work
Leaking shut off valve for kitchen sink

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

07/01/2019


Kathleen K.

After many years of thought and planning I decided the time had arrived to completely remodel my 1959 ranch house in Orange, CT. Knowing the project would involve all aspects of renovation (electric, plumbing, windows, siding, painting, kitchen/bath demolition, etc.) I knew a design/build team would be a smart investment. With all the decisions involved in the process the very best one I made was to select Baybrook Remodelers for the transformation of my home. Baybrook’s strength is the depth of service received from the initial consultation to the final creation. The advice and patience of Bill(salesman), Dan(design/estimator), and Maria(designer) was invaluable, they listened to all my questions, looked at all my inspiration photos (egads!), and then helped guide me through the details without pressure or judgement. There was some trepidation on my part as I would be living in the house with my two dogs during all the work, but my fears were unfounded. The project manager Pat came to the site every day to update me on the plan, always inquiring if there were any concerns or problems. The crew arrived on time every day and always made sure all was clean and safe before they departed. John (painter), Percy and Josh (carpenters), Gilson (demolition and more), Wonderson (tile artisan), and many others made each day a pleasure as I watched old become new! The entire project was completed on time even though some unexpected problems (rotted wood and joists) were encountered. All issues that arose were explained thoroughly and addressed immediately. Baybrook has been given my permission to phone me or see my home if you need further reassurance. Just give them a call, they may begin as strangers to you but will feel like family at the end. Thanks for reading and thank you Baybrook for everything. Kathi Kidd

Description of Work
Whole house remodel

Category countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, siding, wallpaper removal, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

5.0

01/17/2018


Anthony R.

They arrived on time and tarped all work areas. The installation was neat and clean, At the end of the day it was like they were never in my house. Very easy to deal with. Absolutley love my new windows

Description of Work
I had all my windows replace and both storm doors.

Category remodeling, replacement windows

5.0

08/01/2017


Kent G.

Short version: Baybrook has been excellent for our project and I would definitely recommend them. Details: We dreamed of expanding our garage for more car room and storage space. We started with another contractor who was priced very well, but wound up making mistakes and not being able to finish the job he started. We wanted someone more established and reliable, and while we had never worked with them before, Baybrook seemed to fit the bill. Definitely pricier than the first guy, but when it comes to construction projects it seems you often get what you pay for. Having worked in construction myself in the past, I recognize good work and people when I see them. Baybrook is as close to a "Make it Right" kind of outfit (if you get the reference) that I've seen. Baybrook answered all of our questions throughout the process, and were even agreeable to letting us do portions of the project ourselves (to save some money). Even though we were pretty set on what we wanted from the get-go, we worked with one of the designers (Dan) and owner (Ken) to look at different options, and did actually change our plans a bit. It was great to sit down and visualize different options using 3D software to see what our house would actually look like in different ways. Even if we didn't go ahead with Baybrook as the contractors, this design process was great and gave us some printed plans that we could have used with someone else (or ourselves). I definitely recommend doing this, especially since you get a credit for the design cost towards your project if you do go with them. The project went ahead at a steady pace, and there was good hand-off from each "team" to the next (site/concrete first, then framing, then roofing). Communication via text and phone was great. Ed was our project manager, and was incredibly nice and helpful. I liked that he talked with us a lot about what we wanted and offered suggestions about what might benefit us. We did make a few small modifications to the project (for example removing a column support to give us more car maneuvering space), and we are very glad we did. As with any construction project you have to be prepared for a few inconveniences (living with a dumpster and portapotty, debris, rain delays, etc.), but Baybook is by far the best outfit I've worked with so far, and we will definitely be working with them in the future and recommending them. A big thanks to Baybrook for a job well done, and I hope this helps someone else to make a good decision!

Description of Work
Garage expansion with flat roof deck on top. Site work/excavation, poured concrete foundation, concrete slab, framing, siding (T-1-11), EPDM (rubber membrane) roofing, drainage, and Azek composite trim.

Category contractors, concrete repair, decks, excavators, gutter repair, masonry, remodeling, roofing, siding, home builders, woodworking, doors

5.0

07/26/2017


Robert H.

Ken and his team are a class act, through and through - dedicated, professional, and on time. The work is excellent and the cost is more than fair. In addition, Ken's resources extend beyond that of his own crew. Consolidating efforts in this respect is a true time saver for anyone working on a project with varying levels of detail. Ken takes personal responsibility for every job, however small it may be. Don't be surprised if he is the person answering your call at midnight. Given a crew of 40+, this is not the norm.

Description of Work
Baybrook, through its owner Ken Carney, serves as general contractor of a major fire re-build in my condominium complex. In addition, Ken, through a separate entity, serves as facility manager of the entire condominium complex. Finally, many individual unit owners utilize Baybrook for personal purposes.

Category bathtub refinishing, custom cabinets, carpet installation, ceramic tile, concrete repair, countertops, decks, electrician, flooring contractor, gutter repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, masonry, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, home builders, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling

3.0

05/23/2017


Charles F.

Completion date was to be 6 weeks out at the latest. They gave extra time in case anything unforeseen happened of course, which is understandable. However, this ended up taking 8 weeks. Not due to size of the project (bathroom is small) or really anything unforeseen happening. I believe it was likely due to poor planning/scheduling. There was over two weeks worth of days that no one showed up. And most of those days, I was never informed no one would show. Often, I was not made aware of the schedule, if there was even one that was followed. I did not have to be here for every day work occurred but when you have strangers coming to your house, it would make sense to know when they were going to come and when they weren't. The Salesman was easy to work with and understandable. We went with a package which included vanity, vanity top, shower, fan, and tile. When we did pick out these items, particularly the vanity and top, along with colors, that process didn't go well. It was found out during vanity delivery, that the vanity we thought we picked, was not even an option. What went wrong, who knows, but I believe they had options to view in a booklet that are not even available anymore. The Project Manager was seen once. Before the job started. I don't believe he ever came to inspect or check up on any of the work. So if you do decide to go with Baybrook, make certain you look over everything as often as possible. And if you aren't sure you know what to look for, get someone you know that does. Some of the quality of work needed corrected and I had to rely on myself to make note of it and inform the Project Manager. Even then, it took multiple times and even work having to be redone because workers ignored, forgot or weren't told about it. Do not expect that work will be inspected for quality along the course of the job. Lack of and poor communications seemed to be the biggest takeaway from this experience. Not just between them and me, but even among themselves. Overall, not all the workers seem to be perfectionists. Not to say much was half a**ed, but I didn't get the feeling they all went above and beyond to make sure work was done as good as it could be. Near the end I made it known I was frustrated and not pleased with the length of the job and the quality of some of the work. At that point, they did make an effort to correct. It was unfortunate that it took me reaching out to higher up in the company. I appreciated the effort to get it right in the end, but it shouldn't have come to that in my opinion. Here it is even weeks from the job being completed, and after informing them weeks ago, they still have yet to pick up their lock box and sign (too large to fit in trash can or Id throw it away myself). I don't like the idea of a lock box, which workers still no the combo of, still being at my house with my house key in it. The job has been done for weeks and it should not be here anymore. I can not say I would use them again. I hope to do a kitchen remodel sometime in the future, and I really plan on doing more in depth research of the company and read all reviews first. Some of the employees for Baybrook were friendly and whatnot, this review isn't personal. But they either get too much work and can't schedule it properly or maybe I lucked out with the wrong Project Manager. Or it's possible some work is prioritized by how much it costs.

Description of Work
Total bathroom remodel. Demolition and gutting of everything, including drywall. New drywall, toilet, tub/shower insert, vanity, tile floor, etc installed.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

1.0

11/14/2016


Katherine S.

There was no evidence that they tested for any additional damage. They replaced the damaged insulation and drywall in the ceiling and reused the recessed light fixtures after determining they were not damaged. They did not end up needing to repaint the entire walls as they anticipated in their quote and used our leftover paint for the portions they did need to paint. I took pictures of the areas they replaced and compared the measurements to their quote. They did 1/3 the amount of work that their quote covered but did not adjust their price to fit within our insurance quote until I argued with the owner. They asked if we wanted a sand texture in the paint to match a portion of the ceiling that wasn't damaged but the texture they added was not applied evenly. Overall a very bad experience.

Description of Work
We had ice buildup in the insulation under the roof which resulted in the collapse of several ceilings. We got 3 bids and the other 2 were pretty close to the insurance quote. Baybrook's was much higher but they claimed they would only charge that higher price if additional damage was discovered during demolition and they would clear it with our insurance company before performing any additional work.

Category remodeling

5.0

10/23/2016


John S.

Quote was reasonable. Had three vendors all quoted within $200 of each other. Dennis was excellent at explaining what he would do. He was responsive, cost reasonable, and professional. The cost was not affordable at this time.

Description of Work
A quote on vinyl siding my cottage

Category remodeling

1.0

10/20/2016


Alexandra W.

we signed the contract in august and the project was supposed to last 6 weeks. There was lack of management and lack of knowledge by the project managers. Here we are in the middle of October and project isn't done. We asked for the room to be painted in compensation for the delay in the deadline and the owner refused to do that. Nobody cares about the many incomviniences that this delay has caused to my family. I hope that people will read up and definitely do your research before you choose a company to do any work.

Description of Work
We added a dining room and a deck to our house. I wouldn't recommend this business to anyone who needs work done. There was tremendous lack of management on my project which delayed the deadline tremendously. It's three weeks after the deadline and project isn't finished. Also all the work was subcontracted out , so you never knew who the people were who was doing the work, I have never dealt with a big company that was so unprofessional and very inconsiderate to their customers . Worst experience of my life! I will tell everyone I know to go elsewhere

Category decks, remodeling

3.0

03/04/2016


Scott M.

Initially this was a great experience, Baybrook was a good company to deal with, the designer was attentive and responded quickly to my wife. When we met for the initial price proposal, the price was incredibly high, especially since I was doing some of the work. We conveyed this information and were told they made a $20,000 math error. They found $20,000, just like that!? Regardless how off-putting that was we still attempted to engage in price negotiation however we were left hanging. No response to our email so they were apparently no longer interested in doing the work. We cannot attest to the workmanship of Baybrook, but the experience ultimately resulted in us having a bad taste in our mouth.

Description of Work
Design and project estimate for full kitchen gut and remodel. No appliances needed

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], thank you for the opportunity to design and price your project. I reviewed your file and found that the typed scope of work contained two entries for cabinets. This duplicate entry resulted in the pricing error. Our customers tell us our pricing is in the middle of the bids they receive. We are able to achieve better pricing because we are not sub contracting projects out. The majority of our workers are employees. This means you are not paying the profit and overhead for multiple companies. Employees perform better at less cost to you.I wanted to speak to you in person but I am having difficulty getting a hold of you . Please call me if you need anything or wish to discuss your concern further. Thank you Ken Carney President Baybrook Remodelers Inc

5.0

10/29/2015


Bruce L.

punctual and conscientious service

Description of Work
remodel bathroom

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

10/02/2015


David M.

Generally very good. Work was completed on time, on budget, and met specifications and expectations. There were some minor communication issues during the project (where we didn't know what was going on or what the timeline was and didn't get any additional hints from the provider), but overall the experience was very good.

Description of Work
Removed a load bearing wall, installed appropriate supports. Built out faux wall to accommodate new gas fireplace.

Category remodeling

5.0

08/18/2015


Zehua X.

The contractor is great, but for personal reason, I chose different company.

Description of Work
Vinyl siding

Category remodeling, siding

5.0

07/01/2015


Meir D.

just got an estimate- very professional. we decided not to do the job right now - but would consider using baybrook in the future

Description of Work
basement estimate

Category remodeling

5.0

06/17/2015


Alicia S.

We didn't end up using Baybrook Remodelers for our project due to time constraints.

Description of Work
Called Baybrook Remodelers to give us an estimate to finish our downstairs bathroom. Including drywall, green board, tileing a stand alone shower and install marble around a tub. The company was very professional on the phone and in person. They came spoke with us about our options and then came back to the house to present us with a written estimate. Unfortunately we were unable to proceed with this company due to time constraints. We wanted to have the bathroom done before the holidays and they were unable to fit us into there schedule.

Category plumbing, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling

5.0

06/01/2015


bruce L.

Baybrook workers were highly skilled, punctual and did excellent work. Very pleased withe outcome. The men were very neat and polite and always cleaned up after each day. The workmanship was top notch. The entire project went very smoothly

Description of Work
Created a new laundry room

Category remodeling

5.0

05/28/2015


Karen P.

The job took a bit longer to finish off than expected, but we are very happy with the results! We have had Baybrook Remodelers do many projects for us over the last 15+ years, including: New Trex decks in backyard and by pool. Full Kitchen remodel. Full Bathroom remodel. New windows. New roof and gutters. They tend to be a bit higher on the cost side, but you get what you pay for. They return phone calls, show up when they are supposed to, keep you informed on progress, clean up afterwards, and most importantly, do a quality job. The owner, Ken Carney, is very hands-on and makes sure the work is done right. He has offered great suggestions and ideas that we would never have thought of on our own. We have been very happy with their service and will continue to use them in the future.

Description of Work
Installed automatic home generator and all associated electrical and gas work. Installed wall of cabinets and granite counter top.

Category countertops, electrician, gutter repair, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, marble & granite, home remodeling

5.0

04/28/2015


Crystal M.

The staff treated me good. It is taking a little bit of time.

Description of Work
I use Baybrook for interior remodeling.

Category remodeling

5.0

03/25/2015


Rebecca S.

They were so wonderful in every respect! They did the job perfectly. I was surprised to find they cleaned up after themselves every single day. I highly suggest this company!

Description of Work
They remodeled 2 rooms in my home.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

03/05/2015


Michael M.

Ken and his team did a total remodel of two baths in my home. About a year after the job was finished, nail pops started to form in the bath areas. All it took was a simple phone call to the office, and a repairman was scheduled to my home. Since that occurrence, I have brought the Baybrook team to do other projects, from painting to carpentry as I prepare to move. In each instance, the workers have been polite and professional, and the work looks beautiful. I would highly recommend Baybrook Remodelers.

Description of Work
Warranty work, general maintenance

Category contractors, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

4.0

02/03/2014


David P.

The people who actually do the work are fantastic. The project management is something to be desired. Absolutely no communication. There were days nobody showed and we didn't know why. I'm big on communication and they definitely lack it. We have a small bathroom. Not a huge job. They said about two weeks. Started December 2, 2013 and completed the bathroom last week (week of January 20, 2014). The port-o-potty is still here. They said they called to have it picked up which was two weeks ago. We called the actual place and they said they never received any call. Their garbage is still in our garage. They promise you the world before you sign, but once you sign it starts to crumble a few weeks into the job. Nobody ever called, such as the President who we signed the contract with, to apologize for all the delays and lack of management. We had to call the project manager a few times to get things done. We shouldn't have to do that. We would have liked them to redo our other bathroom, which is much smaller, because the workers were terrific, but due to their poor management ... NO!! They even said they would measure it and give us a price when they came out to do a preconstruction check. Never did. It's too bad because it is hard to find good people to trust to do it right with good communication and management skills. We wouldn't have been surprised with this if it was a one man operation, but a company like this, didn't expect it. It's unfortunate.

Description of Work
We replaced a one piece tub with another, redid the floor and had a new vanity put in and painted.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank You for your review and thank you for recognizing the quality of work that my employees deliver to our customers. We started your job on time and we had your flooring installed by Dec. 11th. As you know the flooring is the last thing we do prior to the vanity installation. The issue on you job was not lack of management it was the fact that we could not get your vanity in a timely manner. This effected the ordering of the counter top as well. Once the vanity arrived it was installed to the specifications of our contract. You expressed a concern that you did not like how the vanity projected beyond the side wall. This detail was also present for the vanity we removed. I responded immediately to your concern by sending Bob, your designer, to your home to discuss options. The option that you chose required additional pieces for your vanity and additional labor to install. I did not charge you for any of this and I did not know at the time that you were so upset. Every employee we sent to your house was the result of a work order created by my management team. No one just showed up on their own. We discussed your project every week at our Wednesday staff meeting. The fact is we value you as our customer and we appreciate the business that you gave us. The fact that you felt ignored bothers me greatly and I do apologize for it. At this point I will stand behind all of the work that I completed at your home for a full ten years, as is our standard. Should you experience any issues please call me directly and I will take care of them immediately. Ken Carney President Baybrook Remodelers

    Other local Pros in your area

    Total painting service CCL

    Total Painting Services Bridgeport,CT 06607 We have great prices and great references  

    Arnold's Masonry and Construction LLC

    Call us today for a free estimate! 203-808-6886 E-mail: arnoldbestmason@aol.com Since 1973, Arnold's Masonry And Construction LLC is a Family Owned and Operated business. We bring decades of experience on masonry and construction. Providing the old worlds craftsmanship to the new world projects. We are fully insured and licensed. High quality craftsmanship, reasonable rates, local references upon request. We will treat your home like it is ours and make sure we leave you 100% satisfied with our work. Our Service will exceed your expectations! We cater to any type of masonry, concrete, landscaping and asphalt work.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Matthew's Painting

    Matthews Painting specializes in residential interior and exterior painting and wall paper services. We pride ourselves in providing great customer service and high quality painting at a price that you can afford. Change the look of your home with one phone call. No job to big or small we do it all. Contact Mathews Painting to discuss your next project today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Matthew's Painting on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial design and build additions, dormers, kitchens, bathrooms, decks & garages, windows, vinyl siding, roofing, decks, patios, porches, masonry, carpentry, painting, counter tops, cabinets, gutters, framing & electrical work.

    Services Not Offered

    Driveways & Fences.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Baybrook Remodelers Inc

    How is Baybrook Remodelers Inc overall rated?

    Baybrook Remodelers Inc is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Baybrook Remodelers Inc open?

    Baybrook Remodelers Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Baybrook Remodelers Inc provide

    Baybrook Remodelers Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Baybrook Remodelers Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Baybrook Remodelers Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Baybrook Remodelers Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Baybrook Remodelers Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Baybrook Remodelers Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Baybrook Remodelers Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Baybrook Remodelers Inc?

    Yes, Baybrook Remodelers Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Baybrook Remodelers Inc offer?

    Baybrook Remodelers Inc offers the following services: Residential and commercial design and build additions, dormers, kitchens, bathrooms, decks & garages, windows, vinyl siding, roofing, decks, patios, porches, masonry, carpentry, painting, counter tops, cabinets, gutters, framing & electrical work.

    Are there any services Baybrook Remodelers Inc does not offer?

    Driveways & Fences.