Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Action Windows & Siding LLC

4.8

(26) Verified Reviews

Founded 2006 • With Angi since May 2011

Licensed
Trade License Number
HIC.0616966
Trade License Locale
Connecticut
Trade License Authority
Connecticut
Trade License Expiration
03/31/2023
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

220 South St

West Hartford, CT 06110

www.ctwindows.com

Description

Action Windows & Siding, LLC is home improvement/construction corporation organized with over 20 years in manufacturing, engineering and installing experience. Our extensive product line we have formed partnerships with over dozen of the leading manufacturers in our field. This allows us to offer an even larger selection in wood, vinyl, composite, aluminum and steel windows and doors....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(26) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

23

4

1

3

1

2

1

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

window replacement (26)door installation (2)siding companies (1)egress window (1)
Showing 1-25 of 26 reviews
5.0

03/26/2019


Stephanie O.

I cannot say enough positive things about Action windows. From the informative and non-pushy sales person to the incredible installation crew, it was a very positive experience. The price for the high quality windows was very competitive and fair. The installation crew was on time and very considerate. I work from home and they really worked around me. The cleaned up everything

Description of Work
Replaced all (18) windows

Category replacement windows

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/22/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you
5.0

01/14/2018


Suzan B.

Second time hiring Action windows and I wish I could hire them for everything. Where it counts us if you have an issue and how it's handle. Small. Problem was handled asap and they even sent manufacturer out right away to repair it. Said they would do it themselves if necessary. Wonderful superb company to work with. You won't be sorry. I look forward to siding next with Action windows and siding.

Description of Work
Front door with frame, 3 replacement windows and outside metal frame on 6 windows.

Category replacement windows, doors

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/02/2017

5.0

05/16/2017


Lynn L.

Wonderful! From the first appointment with Felix (introduction and pricing) the second with Zach (measurements) to the installation with Leon, it was perfect! All were on time, professional and so nice to deal with. Also,, the finish work on the outside is beautiful. Leon took his time to ensure each window was perfect then cleaned up the mess:) It is now a month later and I cannot say how much I LOVE my new windows!! My house is so much brighter and fresher! So easy to use and keep clean. Thank you Action Windows!!

Description of Work
full house of windows including mostly double hungs and one picture window with two side casements.

Category replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/27/2017

5.0

05/09/2017


Lynn L.

Excellent. Installer did a great job. He was punctual, courteous and cleaned up after himself.

Description of Work
Replacement windows.

Category replacement windows

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/13/2017

5.0

04/24/2017


David W.

Job went exactly as described. Timeframe was perfect. Worked diligently to ensure outside was buttoned up for cold/bad weather over weekend. Greatly appreciated them keeping me informed with what was being done and what to expect next. Quality workmanship done in very respectable timeframes.

Description of Work
Replaced 12 windows. Installed as new construction so extra work pulling back siding and getting to raw opening, etc...

Category replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/24/2017

5.0

01/24/2017


Mario M.

I think it is a good company. I didn't work with them for particular reasons, but from any other company that I contact these guys were the most easier to work with. I like the way they worked, no pressures, no issues coming to our house and looking at the things that need to be done. They always listen and provide feedback on that. The cost I don't know remember but it was very good price. I can't give you the quality because I didn't use them. I like the product but I can't grade the quality and if it is for service it was good. I would consider using them in the future and actually I am thinking that was my decision but again we postponed the project and once we take the project we are actually going to use them.

Description of Work
I got a quote from Action Windows & Siding.

Category replacement windows

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

10/15/2016


Salvatore P.

Action windows installed 15 double hung and 1 bay window Okna 800 deluxe windows. From the initial consultation to the install everything went buttery smooth and the price couldn't be beat. They will definitely be back to do my sliders and front door in the spring. Couldn't be happier with the quality and workmanship.

Description of Work
16 replacement windows

Category egress windows, replacement windows

Cost $10,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2016

5.0

09/19/2016


Donald N.

Very Well. Contractor replaced three defective windows installed 15 years ago by the previous owner of the property, and converted two 60-year-old casement windows to energy-efficient double-hung windows. Other vendors said they could not do this job without replacing a large picture window between the casement windows. Very pleased with the result.

Description of Work
Replaced 5 windows

Category replacement windows

Cost $2,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/07/2016

5.0

03/28/2016


eric H.

Description of Work
I had them replace one 5' wide sliding door unit and 11 double hung windows with mid range Okna windows. A crew of 5 removed my old windows and replaced them in about 5 hours. They were polite and cleaned up very well. The entire crew was Russian and only the crew chief spoke English. I tend to be talkative and inquisitive and the language difference kept me from slowing them down. I had chosen Action based on their excellent reviews and great prices. I would recommend Action Windows to others looking for a good deal on a professional installation of very good windows.

Category replacement windows, doors

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/06/2015

5.0

03/24/2016


Darryl M.

Description of Work
Action replaced all the windows in my house, 17 total. The total price they gave me for OKNA windows and the labor was less some contractors gave me for labor alone. The windows look great and the installers did a tremendous job. They work efficiently and they clean up after themselves. Very happy.

Category replacement windows

Cost $12,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/18/2016

5.0

11/27/2015


Nancy M.

Description of Work
Whole house window replacement. Excellent price and quality. They installed 23 windows in one day with impeccable craftsmanship. Could not be happier.

Category replacement windows

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2015

5.0

07/01/2015


Susan E.

The work and the windows were high quality and have held up well. The crew was knowledgeable.

Description of Work
Installed nine new Okna windows in a condo.

Category replacement windows

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/15/2014

5.0

04/19/2015


Craig P.

They were the right price for a quality product. Installers showed up on time and did great work. Would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
8 windows - 4 double hung, 4 basement hoppers

Category replacement windows

Cost $3,850

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/18/2015

5.0

02/04/2015


Mikki G.

Description of Work
We had windows installed on our porch. Action was able to supply us with the size and style we needed whereas other companies did not have those same windows available to us.

Category replacement windows

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2014

5.0

01/04/2015


Suzan B.

We can not encourage you enough to use Action windows for your job. I wish I could rate them higher than one ( A ). I have had good and bad contractors over the years so I have dealt with it all. Action EXCEEDS expectations of contractors. Fast, courteous, clean, affordable, conscientious and attentive to our desires. From the salesman giving the estimate to the last man on cleanup after the install, it was a pleasure working with Action Windows. I look forward to working with them in the future. HIGHLY RECOMENDED !!! A +++++

Description of Work
Installed bay window along with 4 bedroom windows

Category replacement windows

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/22/2014

5.0

12/18/2014


Kimberly B.

Description of Work
Supplied and installed replacement windows.

Category replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/22/2014

3.0

11/20/2014


Mark H.

In 2001 Action Windows replaced two (2) windows for us. They installed pre-painted trim instead of the unfinished trim we agreed upon. When we confronted them they were very apologetic but did NOT want to rep[lace the trim. We were gracious enough to accept this MAJOR mistake for a discount because we were very happy overall with the quality of the replacement windows them selves. Flash forward to Nov 2014. We ask Action Windows to replace the four (4) front windows on our cape. They are colonial 6 over 9 double hung windows. We are very specific that we want the unfinished trim as we will be staining it to match the rest of the downstairs woodwork. The work appeared to be done very well but when we went to stain the trim the installers had gotten glue all over the trim at the seams along the window edge. Anywhere between 1/4 and 3/4 inches of trim going out from the window would not take stain because there was glue on the wood. We asked them to replace the trim and they refused. Instead they sent a person out today who sanded down all the edges around the window where the glue was. This was only 80% successful as there are still several very visible 1"-2" places where the original white wood would still not take the dark stain. Once again my wife and I love the windows themselves, but are not happy at all with the quality of the work or Action Windows response to their mistake.

Description of Work
Installed four 6 over 9 double hung windows. Two in living room and two in dining room. Previously in 2011 they installed a windows in the downstairs bedroom.

Category replacement windows

Cost $3,200

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/20/2014

Images

Review for Action Windows & Siding LLC - 220 South St, West Hartford, CT - 9606371
4.0

10/07/2014


Adele F.

Description of Work
All of our windows, with the exception of the picture window and a kitchen window were replaced. The two windows I mentioned were replaced about 16 yrs ago by Action Windows also. Both jobs were done efficiently and professionally.

Category replacement windows

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/30/2011

5.0

09/08/2014


Andrew M.

From the initial quote to installation everything went smoothly. Everyone was friendly and courteous and really knew what they were doing. The quality of the materials was top notch. The installers took great car e to protect all surroundings whilst working on installing the window (which was over the kitchen sink). I am also deathly afraid of ladders and the installer offered to caulk around my upstairs outside windows at no charge (I needed to caulk before we get ice dams in the winter). I would not hesitate to use them again and will definitely refer them to friends.

Description of Work
Installed Garden window in kitchen.

Category replacement windows

Cost $1,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/09/2014

5.0

06/18/2013


Judith H.

It went well; I noticed that two of the screens had small holes in them in the late fall so I called Action Windows back, Lenny, the man who answered the phone said to call back in the Spring, and Zack, the Manager, would come by my place and fix them. I waited until May then I called them back again, Zack stopped by couple days later and took the broken screens fixed them and brought them back within a few days. I am completely happy with the Company and would hire them again.

Description of Work
Installed all new windows and screens in my Condo.

Category replacement windows

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2012

5.0

06/03/2011


IGOR K.

I liked their service a lot. It was quality service and everything was good. They are knowledgeable and polite.

Description of Work
Action Windows & Siding LLC did my windows about three years ago.

Category replacement windows

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/09/2008

2.0

07/29/2009


JIM W.

I regret just about everything in my dealings with this company. The salesman was pushy and I admittedly overpaid. He also was misleading saying they manufactured their own windows. The windows are UniFrame made by Great Lakes Windows. The two installers left my house a mess. Caulk on the hard wood floors and paint chips all over my front yard. The window jams in my 1928 colonial had screws that they just left on tables and bureaus around the house. They put felt insulation in the window weight wells, but my wife and I thought they could have insulated better. Communication was difficult with the crew who didn?t speak much English. The crew said they couldn?t give us a receipt. We had to call the company for a receipt and warranty information. I do really like the UniFrame windows.

Description of Work
Nine double hung top of the line gas-filled replacement windows with institution

Category replacement windows

Cost $6,500

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/27/2009

Service Provider Response

The only true statement in this review is that our installer had an accent in English. He is a legal refugee from Belarus, working very hard to support his family. 1. I can provide you with copy of the members contract there on the bottom half of the paragraph “NOTICE OF CANCELATION” were according to Connecticut Law it is allowed to customers to cancel this transaction without any penalty or obligation within 3 (three) business days from date of contract to prevent any rush decisions. 2. Window brand is clearly specified on the contract. 3. I can provide you with copy of the INSTALLERS COMPLETION REPORT signed by XXX (wife of the member) stating that she is satisfied with the installation. And not one comment about calking on the hardwood floor or cigarette butts…. Furthermore the member never called us about any problem during the installation 05/20/2009. He called us twice after installation (1/21/2010 and 3/01/2011) for services and both times we provide our services free of any charge.
5.0

07/07/2006

HE WAS EXCELLENT OVERALL BECAUSE OF HIS GREAT WORKMANSHIP, RESPONSIBILITY AND PUNCTUALITY. EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT. I WAS GLAD MY SON KNEW HIM BECAUSE HE RECOMMENDED HIM TO ME.

Description of Work
HE SIDED MY HOUSE.

Category siding, replacement windows