Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Dexter Home Improvement LLC

Founded 2004 • With Angi since March 2011

Dexter Home Improvement, LLC is a full service remodeling, renovation and repair company that has become the go to in the greater East-Lyme area for high quality craftsmanship adjusted to meet your specifications and needs, regardless of the extent of the work you need done. As a family-run business, we are committed to providing our East-Lyme clientele with more personalized services that make your bottom line our top priority. Without the cumbersome overhead costs associated with larger, less versatile remodeling companies, with Dexter Home Improvement, LLC you can rest assured that more of your hard earned money goes into the work itself. I provide excellent customer service and craftsmanship. All work is done in a timely fashion and the job site is spotless. Full service remodeling company with all trades to service the type of workscope. I take great pride in my work and strive for excellence. Additional email - info@dexterhomeimprovementllc.com.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(20) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews
Ronald K.
5.0
07/12/2017
Great - always on time and worked hard.
Description of Work
Miscellaneous home repairs
Category
remodeling
Judith M.
4.0
05/03/2016
Mr. Dexter was recommended to us by a coworker. We were selling our house and needed to get some things taken care of. The popcorn ceiling in the hallway was the biggest concern. We found his price a bit on the high side. I did feel that perhaps by hanging plastic from ceiling to floor instead of only halfway down he could have saved me some clean up of dust debris from the sanding of the ceilings. Mr. Dexter did come when he said he would, he did the work he said he would do and he charged what he said he would charge.
Description of Work
Contractor scraped the popcorn ceilings, scrim coated, primed and painted front hallway, and second story hall. Rehung the front screen door, fix a piece of broken siding on the house.
Category
remodeling, interior painters, doors
Rose N.
5.0
11/16/2014
George is an excellent communicator and is very punctual. He does excellent work. The quality of his work is reflected in his many years of experience. He was very good about minimizing mess and cleaning up after himself. We would not hesitate to hire him in the future as well as recommend him to others.
Description of Work
Replaced two entry doors and inside trim.
Category
remodeling, doors
Diane R.
5.0
08/30/2014
All work provided was finished to perfection. Very detail oriented- a true craftsman! We have a household with 2 dogs and widely varying work schedules- George was flexible with all of it.
Description of Work
Installed 3 new entry and storm doors; replaced 1 window; removed 1 window and installed ac sleeve ;replaced 1 interior door;replaced section exterior trim; installed new lock sets as well as trimming, painting, patching, staining and varnishing.
Category
remodeling, replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed] I enjoyed working for you!
Suzan B.
1.0
05/15/2014
True, you DID NOT DO ANYTHING...which is exactly what I said ! You never got that far. You were on the phone then set an appt for an estimate. I waited at the time YOU chose and yet you never showed up or called. I called you after you never showed and you seemed confused and then became rude lecturing me on the cost of bay windows ? As I stated ! FYI it was 6 windows not ALL my windows and 5 were perfect. The and quot;bayand quot; was installed by Action windows and they also were PERFECT contractors. So you still seem confused.....as I stated !
Description of Work
George did nothing. He called me back twice. First time to lecture me on if I knew what a bay window cost " as I have one already yes I do and that's not his concern". Second was to reschedule the apt for the estimate. That apt he never showed up for at 6.00 PM " the date and time he chose" and he never bothered to call. That was nearly a week ago. Typical callous contractor. I wouldn't have him do work for me now anyways as I see how unprofessional and untimely business George is running.
Category
remodeling, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Well this is totally false,this person is angry at all contractors.When i spoke with her she was very upset about all of her windows that she had done many times by someone and still had problems,i understand her frustration and wonder who did them? theres a lot of shoddy workmanship going on out there.I DID NOT WORK FOR HER,NOR MADE ANY APPOINTMENT WITH HER OR CONTRACT FOR WORK! I LOVE WHAT I DO AND TREAT ALL PEOPLE WITH RESPECT AND GIVE EXCELLENT SERVICE
Leah F.
5.0
05/13/2014
My home looks like a new place!!!! Very professionally done. George is a great person and very engaging. We had a lot of great conversations. Felt very safe to have George in my home as I am s single woman. I have hired George to put in my new sliding glass doors. Would highly recommend Dexter Home Improvement for all your home improvement projects!!!!
Description of Work
George is wonderful!! Painted my living room, dining room, foyer, stairs and hallway.
Category
remodeling, interior painters, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed],i enjoyed working for you and look forward to future projects on your home
Conrad S.
5.0
01/17/2014
George is an experienced craftsman who shows up on time and does excellent work.
Description of Work
Installed a new tile floor in kitchen.
Category
remodeling
Debra S.
5.0
08/22/2013
NA
Description of Work
I was very impressed with the conversation I had with this company. The owner knew I wasn't going to be hiring him at this time but still took the time to help me with questions I had about remodeling my bathroom. He also gave me the names of a good electrician and plumber. I really appreciated the time he took with me !
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Vincent T.
5.0
02/11/2013
There's not much to say except that George did an outstanding job diagnosing our rotting back door, giving us multiple options for solutions, with grounded opinion on each, and finally delivering the work on time, to budget and earning our full trust. Excellent.
Description of Work
Excellent work by Dexter Home Improvement
Category
remodeling, doors
Kurt Z.
5.0
12/26/2012
Great. Professional and nice.
Description of Work
We have used Dexter Home Improvements twice. First to restore damaged wood frames around window exteriors. His quote was very reasonable and the work was accomplished in a professional manner. Then, after Hurricane Sanday, we had George repair the deck and peergula attached to the house. Again reasonably priced. He is friendly and very professional. We will use him again, should we have the need.
Category
decks, remodeling, replacement windows
Karen S.
5.0
10/01/2012
George did an excellent job. He is particularly good at follow up. He would call me about an issue before I had a chance to call him. My quote was very detailed and thorough. The work was done on time even though because of damage to one of the doors he had to work on Labor Day to meet my timeline.
Description of Work
Replacement of an entry door, two interior doors, and a patio door, painting, power washing
Category
remodeling, pressure washing, doors
Gary & Pam W.
5.0
05/07/2012
George came out to the house to perform an estimate for painting. I was hopeful that he would be able to fit the job into his schedule as he was the only provider that actually measured the areas to be painted and was one of the most professional. Unfortunately he is unable to meet our schedule.
Description of Work
George came out to the house to perform an estimate for painting a ceiling.
Category
interior painters
Beverly M.
3.0
04/30/2012
We ended up having to complete the work ourselves because he claimed the possibility of lead paint may raise the cost several thousand dollars.
Description of Work
We hired him to work on our bathroom.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

WELL THIS IS TOTALLY NOT TRUE!!! NO WORK WAS DONE ON THIS HOME BECAUSE OF THE LEAD PAINT RULE!! HOME IS BUILT IN 1920! I SPOKE TO THE MEMBER AND THEY DID THE WORK THEMSELVES AND SAID SHE DID NOT POST THIS ARTICLE, SHE WAS VERY UNDERSTANDING TO MY DISMAY OF THIS ARTICLE AND IS GOING TO CORRECT IT.THANK YOU! I DONT KNOW WHO OR WHY SOMEBODY WOULD DO THIS. THEN AGAIN IT COULD BE SOMEONE ELSE ? I DONT KNOW
Mary G.
5.0
04/14/2012
It was very difficult to find someone that would be willing to install the vinyl floor as it should be in one piece. George Dexter did not hesitate. He knew exactly how to do it with making a template. The floor came out beautiful and many people have mistaken it for tile due to the pattern. I really appreciated the hard work that went into the installation.
Description of Work
I had the kitchen floor replaced with vinyl over the existing original floor that was deteriorating.
Category
home remodeling
Mary G.
5.0
04/13/2012
George Dexter assisted me with picking out the pre fab counter tops. He did deliver one to my home in advance as I could not put it in my home. He did a good job with installing the countertops. There was not much room to work in as I have a small kitchen. The countertops made a big difference in finalizing the make over in the kitchen.
Description of Work
George Dexter installed new countertops, kitchen sink, and all the piping. The job was a little difficult as my place is an older modular and was not the easiest to complete. He was thorough and diligent in getting the sink in working order and making sure that the counter top was installed in good shape.
Category
countertops
Aimee P.
5.0
03/20/2012
This was our first contract with Dexter Home Improvement. George installed our vinyl flooring for our basement bedroom. He replaced the broken tile in our basement, which withstood the floods of 2010 which came 2 weeks later. He replaced the tile in the bathroom and worked on the shower, repaired some drywall, then painted the bathroom. He installed a ceiling fan in a bedroom, and did his trademark beautiful paint job in the living room, including windows and the difficult popcorn ceiling. We were so pleased to have met him and appreciate his work ethic. Each contract has him arriving promptly at 8 a.m., and he cleans up every day. His worksite is left spotless and he is a perfectionist with his work. We've recommended him to 4+ colleagues. We'll always call George.
Description of Work
Replace floor tile Install vinyl flooring Install ceiling fan Paint bathroom repaired drywall Paint living room Paint vaulted living room ceiling
Category
ceramic tile, remodeling, interior painters
Aimee P.
5.0
03/20/2012
George's work is A+ quality. He is a perfectionist, and everything he has done for us is exceptional. The access panel, the beautiful paint job, the perfect walls, and the front door repair will all last. He cares for a house as if it's his own. He always explains what he's doing and tells us if there's a better way to do something. This was our 4th contract with Dexter Home Improvement, and we will always call George.
Description of Work
George Dexter worked on 3 items for us this winter. in the bathroom, he fixed the shower fixture that had come out of the wall, and installed an access panel. He perfectly patched 2 walls in the foyer that had been torn by previous owner's dogs, making the walls look new. Then he painted the 12 foot stairwell for us, doing a beautiful job. George gave me simple steps to orders parts necessary for our front door, which he had installed on a previous visit. The storm door had broken from a delivery man's efforts, and George repaired it quickly.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters, doors
Aimee P.
5.0
03/20/2012
George Dexter of Dexter Home Improvement replaced our octagonal window and frame last fall. He had to cut a new frame for the exterior, as well as interior. It's a perfect fit, and sealed with caulk. It is water tight and better than the original. George also built and installed new gables for the attic. We developed these problems with the window and gables after Hurricane Irene came through the area, and he came promptly after our call because of the water that could come in through the broken window frame. This was our 3rd contract with Dexter Home Improvement. When we want things done right and done to last, we always call George.
Description of Work
Replacement of Octagonal window and frame, inside and outside Replacement of exterior gables in attic Exterior painting of siding around octagonal window and gables, and caulked
Category
siding, replacement windows
Aimee P.
5.0
03/20/2012
Dexter home Improvement is responsible for our entire basement remodeling, intentional as well as unplanned renovations. He helped us determine how to reconfigure our laundry room and basement bedroom, and told us step by step what had to be done to repair the damage from the flood. This was our 2nd contract with Dexter Home Improvement. It came just weeks after his first job with us. All the tile he replaced survived the flood, and he didn't have to replace it on this contract. The tile that did not withstand the flood was not installed by Dexter Home Improvement and he had to replace it. The vinyl flooring that he had installed in the basement bedroom just a few weeks earlier had to be completely replaced due to water underneath. He installed the vapor barrier on the concrete basement walls and put in new studs, removing the molding studs. He also built the new walls for the laundry room, and framed the closet. The drywall was put up after that, and he coordinated with the electrician and plumber. he also built new window frames for our basement windows. This was a huge job for us, and we were lucky that we had met George just a few months earlier.
Description of Work
After the flooding rain in March 2010, George came out to estimate our damage. He remodeled our basement including: replace tile, replace vinyl flooring, replace studs, install vapor barrier, install drywall, reconfigured the laundry room and built another closet in basement bedroom, hung ceiling tiles,
Category
ceramic tile, remodeling, home remodeling, doors, basement remodeling
Jeanne H.
2.0
03/28/2011
He gave me a quote for $65 an hour. Then when he completed the job he said that it was $65 for each and there were two men. Hence he doubled his quote. They did a very nice job on the fence. One area he put it too low, but I fixed it. The fence has held up well.
Description of Work
Dexter Home Improvement built a fence for me about four or five months ago.
Category
fencing

Other local Pros in your area

CYR PAINTING & RESTORATION

We are dedicated to the highest quality and service for your painting and construction needs. We specialize in both interior and exterior painting as well as restoration services. Established in 1983, we are fully licensed and insured in Connecticut, Rhode Island and New York. Our team of professionals have the talent and experience to provide the skills and attention to detail that will exceed your expectations. We offer Specialize in the following: Interior and Exterior Painting Interior and Exterior Restoration Historical Home Paint Restoration Professional Paint Finishes Water and Fire Damage Quality New Construction Sheetrock Taping and Repairs Plaster Patching and Repairs Wallpaper Removal and Installation Textured Ceiling and Faux Finishes Mildew Problem Solving Paint Failure Analysis Furniture Refining  

Angi Certified

LTD PAINTING

We offer quality and affordable painting services. Specializing in Residential & Commercial Interior & Exterior Painting/Deck Staining/Power Washing/ Sheetrocking/Refinishing & Restoration.  

Angi Certified

Alvarez Painting and Restoration, LLC

Alvarez Painting and Restoration LLC has recently opened in 2021 offering a home services for residential and commercial properties. We work with you to plan every step of the process and ensure that your satisfaction is met. With a team of experts and a variety of professional services available, you can be sure your house will be taken care of. From the smallest to the largest task, we believe your home deserves top-priority service that is efficient and reliable. This is why we started Alvarez Painting and Restoration LLC, to deliver quality professional services that you can trust.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Phone

Address

7 Sunset Dr

Waterford, CT 06385

Other Information

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

CARPET, WALLPAPER.

Payment options

Check
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/

FAQ

Dexter Home Improvement LLC is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

Dexter Home Improvement LLC is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Dexter Home Improvement LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Dexter Home Improvement LLC offers free project estimates.

Yes, Dexter Home Improvement LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Dexter Home Improvement LLC does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Dexter Home Improvement LLC offers warranties.

Dexter Home Improvement LLC offers the following services: Remodeling