Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Climatech Mechanical Heating and Air Conditioning

Founded 1994 • With Angi since August 2009

Climatech Mechanical Services has been offering HVAC Mechanical Solutions to a wide range of customers for over 20 years.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.6

(20) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews
Richard Y.
5.0
12/24/2018
Had to make multiple contacts after the job before getting the rebate form done. Very annoying, but rest of work seemed fine.
Description of Work
Replace furnace and AC
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] Thank You, for the kind words & input. - We are have added to our office crew with some great new people and are starting the new year with improved software for better customer care. Please call again if you have any other heating or cooling needs. Michael Naski Operations Manager
Ziad C.
5.0
07/22/2017
They were very professional and responsive to my requests. They came out to take a look and sent me quotes the same day I contacted them. I wanted to explore additional options after seeing the initial quotes and they turned those quotes around quickly. Unlike some of their competitors, they didn't use high pressure sales tactics. They just provided pricing on different options and let me make up my mind. This is very important to me because I didn't want to be rushed into a bad decision on a condenser that I have to live with for 5-10 years. I ended up choosing them over their competitors for all the reasons above and because their pricing was very competitive. I lucked out and they were able to schedule the install quickly. Their tech was very thorough and professional. I had a very good experience with them both during the sales/quote process and during the install and I highly recommend them.
Description of Work
The compressor inside my A/C condenser unit failed at the height of summer just as the warranty was about to expire and I had to decide whether to replace it or the entire condenser.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank Your for Kind words, Please call again for any HVAC needs Michael Naski Operations Manager
Scott W.
2.0
09/20/2016
I wouldn't recommend them. The service was not good. They installed the system and they did not stand behind their original service very well.
Description of Work
I used Climatech Mechanical. They ended up servicing my air conditioning.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Timeline : Installation of new condenser unit 8/2012. Customer had not called us for 3 years up till [Member Information Removed]/21/2015 that the A/C was not performing properly (Note: we had contacted them for maintenance visits in both 2013 and 2014 to ensure system was running efficiently etc but never heard back). Warranty period was one year up till 8/2013 if any issues occurred with outdoor unit. Unsure why customer is upset from a 3 year later event taking place. Unit was in need of maintenance and has a potential leak on indoor lines/equipment which was original to home. This is similar to getting upset over a 3 year old vehicle in need of maintenance (oil/transmission fluid change), new tires etc.
Elizabeth G.
5.0
06/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
No issues; will use again
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank You for choosing Climatech Heating and Air Conditioning. - Call again if you have any heating cooling needs Sinceerly Michael Naski Operations Manager
Michael L.
5.0
06/04/2014
Called one day and was given appointment for next day. Service man arrived within given time parameters. Service man was pleasant and very professional. Installed a new thermostat that corrected our problems. Inspected system and cleaned outside coil.
Description of Work
Needed to replace a malfunctioning thermostat and have general maintenance on central air system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
John S.
5.0
05/24/2014
Good follow through by staff after initial inquiry. Came to house at convenient time. Successful installation.
Description of Work
Replace damaged AC Condenser
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Art H.
5.0
02/20/2014
.
Description of Work
Performed an analysis to improve the effectiveness of my gas hot air heating system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Jill C.
4.0
01/26/2014
I felt it was a little expensive for a whole new furnace, but what choice did I have at that point- I needed heat! It took 2 days. My only basic complaint was that the 2 workers took way too many breaks outside for smoking- I felt the job could have been finished much more quickly the second day.
Description of Work
My furnace quit on the coldest day of the year so far. They responded quickly- Paul, on the phone, was wonderful.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
JD I.
5.0
08/09/2013
The rep. arrived reasonably within the time frame given. He listened to what we were experiencing with the system then immediately went to work. We were informed of the problem and roughly how much it would cost to repair. The problem was corrected properly when an other company could not find the problem.
Description of Work
Determined the problem and repaired central A/C.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Hector P.
2.0
07/25/2013
He spent an hour or so looking at the wiring and concluded that the zone board was bad. During past services, the Climatech personnel had recommended changing the zone board and thermostats for about $800 since they're 17 years old and could go bad any time. We paid the ~$250 for the diagnostic service call and the technician said that someone in Climatech would get back to us with a quote for the replacement system and one without all the bells and whistles the $800 system had. Three weeks later, we had not heard back from Climatech, so I went online and purchased a direct replacement zone board for $100. I hooked up the board and after a few hours of research (and switching out thermostats), I figured out that someone in a previous service call (probably not Climatech) had incorrectly wired the condenser to the zone board instead of the forced air unit. We had not noticed since we had deactivated the zone system years back due to faulty dampers (which were properly replaced at a previous Climatech service visit, see different review). The replacement board now works fine (the old board probably did too) and the old thermostats work fine. I'm disappointed that we had two technicians review the system wiring and did not notice that something was off. We ended up paying $350 (service call + new board) for nothing; not to mention the weeks of discomfort. I'm disappointed that someone did not get back to us. Unfortunately this has been a trend with Climatech, in past visits, I had to follow up with them instead of being contacted as I had been told I would be. After 4 times, we would not use them again..
Description of Work
A technician came to the house to check out the zone board system since one of the zones was not turning on the a/c condenser.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Hector P.
4.0
06/11/2013
Overall went well. My wife and I were actually asked to reschedule from the previous week due to the heat wave. Thankfully, they notified us a day in advance so we were able to re-arrange our schedule. On the day of service, the service guy (Brad) showed up about a half hour after the scheduled start of the appointment without apology. Aside from the late start, he was friendly through the whole process. He first looked at the equipment and took some measurements before heading back to get the proper size dampers. About an hour later, he came back with the equipment. The actual installation took about 2 hours and, so far, it's been working well. As part of the quote, the sales rep had included a new zone board and thermostats, but I actually didn't need one since the old one was in good working order. There was a brief moment of confusion where he misinterpreted the old zone board functionality and recommended a replacement, but he tested out the old board and verified it worked as we needed it to.
Description of Work
Replaced 2 A/C zone system baffles.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Jeremy D.
5.0
08/27/2012
Service went well - the tech was very knowledgeable and fair, but did arrive 35 minutes late. As I was the first call of the day and need to be be at work that was somewhat disappointing as this was noted when I called to schedule the appointment. Overall the service was great, went well and was completed quickly. I think that price is a bit high - if it hand been about $100 less it would probably more in line with other providers, but Climatech was the only company open on Sunday to call for advice and schedule an appointment so it works out in the end. I am giving an A rating, forgiving the late arrival, but they are slightly pricey.
Description of Work
Tested the A/C unit upstairs in the house to check for reason as to why the heat ex-changer and lines were freezing and not providing cooling. Tested both the upstairs and downstairs units for refrigerant levels. Added 5 pounds of R22 coolant and retested the system, which was returned to full capacity.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Hector P.
5.0
07/18/2012
unknown
Description of Work
They were able to fit us in the same day to fix our a/c even though it was in the middle of a heat wave. Kyle was very professional and recommended the lowest cost option. Given that, it was still a little expensive but we were grateful that they were able to help us in the same day unlike other companies I called.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Judy F.
5.0
07/03/2012
There was absolutely no pressure to chose one of the more expensive options. He repaired the unit and we are quite happy with how it is functioning now. We will definitely use Climatech in the future.
Description of Work
Our decades old central a/c stopped cooling. Climatech was the first company I called. The office personnel were exceptionally pleasant to work with. We scheduled a time and the service repair person arrived within the time frame agreed upon. He was courteous and clear in his explanation of what he would be doing during the diagnostic phase of the work. He offered several options, along with explanations of what each would entail and the costs.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Janine B.
5.0
07/01/2012
I turned on my central air conditioning for the first time this season on Memorial Day and the compressor was running, but the house was not cooling down. I found Climatech on Angie's list and called them and left a voicemail. A rep called me back within 10 minutes and said that he would have a technician call me within 1/2 hr and gave me a heads up that the service call on a holiday would cost $210.00. The normal diagnostic fee is $160.00. While that sounded high, I needed to have someone come that day and was happy when the tech called me within the 1/2 hr. He came over shortly afterwards, was courteous, covered his shoes before coming in the house and explained everything and gave me an estimate before starting the work. Our A/C system is 20 yrs old so it was not surprising that it needed 7 lbs of refrigerant. He also chemically cleaned the condenser unit and replaced two old caps. I declined the head start kit that he suggested for an add'l $170. The tech also made sure that the a/c vents were all at the right temp before leaving. Overall, I was very satisfied with my experience with Climatech and would use them again and would recommend them to others. I was also given a new customer discount of $30.00 which was helpful.
Description of Work
Service central air conditioning unit that was not working.Diagnosed problem, added refrigerant, replaced caps and washers and cleaned condenser.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Robert K.
5.0
09/16/2011
Over all the service was punctual and provided all cost and estimates prior to beginning each phase of the work. The repairs are effective and we have had no further issues with the unit.
Description of Work
Diagnosed and repaired the compressor motor of a home A/C unit and filled it with freon.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Matt L.
5.0
08/10/2011
The job went good. The technician was honest and gave me multiple options for how best to fix the problem. They included a more expensive one or another one that might not work as well. He gave his opinion on what was the best option at the time and I thought that was great to have his honest opinion on the situation. I will use him again in the future.
Description of Work
I used Climatech Mechanical Heating and Air Conditioning to fix my central air conditioning unit.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Nancy W.
5.0
07/21/2011
Technician detected a possible leak with the condenser but upon checking it a second time, the problem did not appear again. However, he made a note on the record that this situation needs to be checked again next year during the yearly maintenance check. I appreciated the fact that he did not immediately try to pressure me into replacing the condenser, which would have been quite expensive and possible unnecessary. He did, however, list the things to look out for that would indicate that the compressor is leaking and to call the company if any of those conditions happen. The company was very accommodating in arranging a time for the maintenance that fit my schedule and the technician was very professional and considerate of our property.
Description of Work
Performed a routine checkup and cleaning on the central A/C system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Carolyn K.
5.0
06/09/2011
They were punctual and professional. The guy that came out inspected my HVAC system. He said that they could do service (such as cleaning the coils on the heat pump and add more freon but told me that I really didn't need it (which I appreciated). I would use them again.
Description of Work
Inspected my HVAC system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Susan M.
5.0
08/25/2009
Very well.
Description of Work
It was the first day of the heat wave. My air conditoner wasn't working. I had never had a problem before, so I looked in the yellow pages. The person answering the phone was extremely courteous. They came out within 2 hours, diagnosed the problem quickly and fixed it within another 2 hours. The service personnel were knowledgeable and professional. I would definitely recommend this company to anyone!
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Other local Pros in your area

E and R Plumbing

We pride our company on reliability, great communication, integrity, and quality work. We strongly believe in giving our absolute best in all of our projects, no matter how big, or small. We are experts in our trade, and will always keep you educated on your particular task or project. We look forward to earning your business.  

Angi Certified

Vallone Electric

Vallone electric offers 24/7 service  

Angi Certified

Power Forward LLC

Serving Shoreline Connecticut for 15 years, Power Forward offers a level of service to match the quality of the area. We understand that we are not working on a house, we are working in your home. By staying up to date with the rapidly advancing technology in the trade, Power Forward provides the latest in design and energy efficiency. With our experience in southern New England which boasts some of the oldest homes in the country, Power Forward has the unique ability to efficiently troubleshoot antiquated electrical systems or can seamlessly integrate the latest technology with your vintage home.  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Phone

Address

150 Dudley Ave.

Wallingford, CT 06492

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Duct cleaning, window air conditioners & domestic refrigerators.

Payment options

MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Check
Visa
Financing Available
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/

FAQ

Climatech Mechanical Heating and Air Conditioning is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

Climatech Mechanical Heating and Air Conditioning is open:

Sunday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Climatech Mechanical Heating and Air Conditioning accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, Financing Available

Ask Climatech Mechanical Heating and Air Conditioning for details on free project estimates.

Yes, Climatech Mechanical Heating and Air Conditioning offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Climatech Mechanical Heating and Air Conditioning does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Climatech Mechanical Heating and Air Conditioning offers emergency services.

Yes, Climatech Mechanical Heating and Air Conditioning offers warranties.

Climatech Mechanical Heating and Air Conditioning offers the following services: Commercial & residential heating, ventilation, air conditioning, refrigeration. Electrical & plumbing installation

Duct cleaning, window air conditioners & domestic refrigerators.