Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Creative Exteriors LLC

Founded 1997 • With Angi since July 2010

4.9

(25) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1145 Hartford Turnpike

VERNON ROCKVILLE, CT 06066

Description

Creative Exteriors LLC is a family owned business. Our home office is in Tolland, Connecticut and our Design Studio and Showroom is located in Vernon, Connecticut. Our staff is comprised of a number of talented individuals including landscape architects, master stone, paver & brick masons, forestry and botanical science graduates, and design technicians. Jim Gorman, the owner and one of the Designer Project Consultants has over thirty years of experience in hardscape and landscape construction and plant knowledge. Our designers and project managers work with every client on a personal basis, consulting with them about their ideas and vision while providing professional insights and suggestions that spring from abundant practical experience. Also serving Somers, Stafford Springs & portions of Mass....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/19/2017


Christina H.

Wonderful. Very happy. Would use again

Description of Work
Landscaping

Category landscaping

5.0

11/10/2015


JoAnn B.

Description of Work
They helped me when I was in a bind health wise. I only needed help short term and they still came.

Category landscaping

5.0

08/27/2015


Patricia A.

Description of Work
Everyone at Creative Exteriors was wonderful. The job was done just as we discussed and when promised. Mary was especially gifted in listening to what I wanted done, keeping the cost reasonable and contacting me intermittently to discuss the job and plantings. I will be using their services again. I recommend them without hesitation.

Category landscaping

3.0

04/01/2015


Hugh B.

They did the initial work agreed upon. I needed my backyard done which wasn't in the original quote. They said if I did the backyard while they were already there doing the front yard it would cost less. However, it ended up costing me the same amount as the front yard and the backyard did not include sod. They just leveled the backyard, put down grass seed, and put in some shrubs. They had to come back twice to fix things they didn't do correctly. They left debris buried under dirt and we had agreed that the debris was to be cleared out. I would never recommend them and I certainly would never use them again.

Description of Work
They landscaped the front yard and put sod down.

Category landscaping

5.0

12/18/2014


Radha R.

Description of Work
Remodel the exterior our Home Entrance and the pathway. Also remodel the exterior lighting system and pathway brushes and plants.

Category landscaping

5.0

12/02/2014


SHARON B.

From our first phone call to the completion of the work, everyone at Creative Exteriors is very professional and customer-service oriented. They responded to our initial phone call promptly and set up an appointment to review our existing landscaping at a time that was convenient with our schedule. We met with Mary, who took the time to really listen and understand our needs. Knowledgeable about plants and aesthetics, Mary was very thoughtful in her recommendations. Her suggestions for new plants complemented our existing plantings, yet were still well-suited for the spoil and sun conditions. Like the experience of another reviewer, the work was scheduled sooner than expected but we were able to accommodate and were happy to have it done so quickly. The day the work took place, the crew arrived on time and did a great job. We plan to use Creative Exteriors on a regular basis to help maintain our newly renovated landscaping and keep it in good shape.

Description of Work
We requested a "refresh" or "renovation" of our existing landscaping. Creative Exteriors removed some plants/shrubs that were no longer healthy, added new plants, added additional soil and new mulch as needed, fertilized and pruned all existing plants, removed weeds and debris, and edged the entire landscaped area.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

10/17/2014


Todd B.

Definitely do the best work in the area. Not only do they mow but they'll do all the weed whacking, cleaning the clippings and edge the walkways. They do a fantastic job. On a few occasions I've needed an extra mid-week mow or need it down immediately after a rain storm before a weekend party and they've been very accommodating. And the price is very reasonable for the service we're getting. Glad we found them when we moved into town.

Description of Work
mow the lawn

Category landscaping

5.0

09/19/2014


Reina M.

They responded to initial requests for quote in a fair amount of time. The actual scheduling was a bit chaotic (last minute call to go to the property same day). Performance-wise we were extremely satisfied. After they were done the place looked amazing. They actually found some edging bricks hidden in the shrubs/bushes and went the extra mile and actually found places to use them. Barely any instruction needed since they knew what they were doing. Would use again.

Description of Work
Hired them to perform extensive maintenance to neglected landscaping around the entire property.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

09/17/2014


John M.

Extremely satisfied with work and vast improvement of our landscaping. Work crews were very professional, on time and hard working. Lead men offered many suggestions that produced a better result. Work was completed in a shorter elapsed time than we expected. Would not hesitate to recommend Creative Exteriors to others.

Description of Work
Removed existing decorative plantings on front and one side of house and in island at intersection of driveway and street. Removal included crushed stones, tree stump, and walkway from driveway to front porch. Redefined bed, added top soil and over 60 plantings (shrubs and perennials) with riverbed stone dressing. Also installed new walkway and stone slab front porch step.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

07/09/2014


Tracy J.

Creative Exteriors just finished my landscaping project. To say that I'm happy with the result is a gross understatement. This was no small project. They removed two truckloads of overgrown brush and weeds from my yard. It went from looking like an overgrown, unkempt mess to looking like a picture perfect postcard of a yard. The team from Creative Exteriors worked like crazy over two days to make this transformation a reality. I highly recommend them to anyone needing landscaping services. I had previously had our yard landscaped several years ago, and paid much more for that work than I did for this project. This time the project was complete - no small area of my yard was left unfinished - and the result is beautiful. Creative Exteriors was reasonably priced, professional and thorough. My experience was nothing but positive!

Description of Work
Creative Exteriors was contracted to remove A LOT of overgrown brush from our yard, trim our miniture Japanese Maple tree and all our evergreen shrubs, transplant some of the shrubs and some perennial flowers, remove three small trees that were in bad locations and weed, edge and mulch all the planting beds in our yard.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

02/23/2014


Gerard L.

The entire team at Creative Exteriors is incredibly professional. The designers worked with our sketches and made excellent recommendations for appropriate materials. We have a large brick Georgian house here in CT and needed about 70 feet of sidewalk installed to create a more impactful entrance. With the use of antique granite, peastone and other materials, the craftsmen created a gorgeous curved wall, 6 landings up the hill to our house and beautiful rounded entrance paths to the front door. They worked non-stop, were courteous, friendly and professional. They accommodated sprinkler systems, electrical conduits and worked with other contractors who were managing these utilities. I kept their sign up until Thanksgiving so people would know who did the great work!

Description of Work
installed new sidewalk and steps

Category landscaping, hardscaping

4.0

01/26/2014


Sherman Y.

.

Description of Work
.

Category landscaping

5.0

08/05/2013


Gene A.

Just perfect. No issues whatsoever.

Description of Work
Mow and trim

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

07/21/2013


Gene A.

I was going away for several weeks and needed lawn care. Found these folks on Angie's List with a very good rating. It's no fluke, they listened to what I need, sent a supervisor by within two days and came back with a very reasonable quote. Services performed flawlessly and I couldn't come up with a complaint if I wanted to. :)

Description of Work
Mow and trim my grass

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

06/23/2013


Mark C.

The hardscape (patio; stone sitting wall; decorative retaining wall) are outstanding. The general outline of the flower beds is very good. My wife ended up selecting most of the flowers and worked with Garden Barn in Vernon. My response on price reflects the great quality and final look of the hardscape. (You get what you pay for.)

Description of Work
Designed and installed a hardscape. Designed the surrounding flower beds.

Category landscaping

5.0

06/03/2013


William D.

First you get more than you paid for. They seem to do what's best instead of the letter of the details. The reset stone wall looks great. The second thing you get is a great looking result even if you don't have great design ideas yourself. The walkway was designed with creativity (and it didn't come from ME) so that it looks like a custom design. All this at a great price. This was my second job. They also designed and executed a great patio. The $ was so good, that I add some sitting walls and was still within budget.

Description of Work
Built paver front walkway with underlayers, redressed about 50 feet x 10 ft of stone under bushes, and dismantled and reset about 50 ft (2 ft high) stone wall that was falling down. ..using mortor to fortify wall.

Category landscaping

5.0

05/25/2013


Jeff R.

Jim and his team were very punctual and professional every day they were at the house. They cleaned up every day after they were done and when the job was done left the area better than they found it. I always look at what I am paying to determine if I got value out of it and I can tell you with 100% confidence that Jim and his team provided me with a great value for what they did in my yard. So much so, that we asked him to do more for us in the front yard. What I especially liked about Jim is that he does the job to make sure it looks right not necessarily what is written on the contract. He put in at least 15 more plants than he had planned as well as mulched an additional area that I had not asked for simply because he wanted it to look right. If I ever need any additional work to be done in my yard, I know who I will be calling to get it done....Creative Landscapes!

Description of Work
We had water issues in our backyard and Jim (Creative Landscapes) came in with his team and did a great job of making our backyard look awesome! He put a French drain in to handle the water drainage issues, re-graded the back part of the yard to ensure that the water would ruin toward the drain and then took a bad looking drainage area and made it look like a piece of art.

Category landscaping, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

5.0

04/13/2013


Robert M.

fine

Description of Work
Full landscape design for front half of property. Relocation of plants and shrubs. Placement of new plants & shrubs. Very proferssional and polite. Thought the price was somewhat high. Notwithstanding, will engage them again for the remainder of our property

Category landscaping

5.0

10/16/2012


Lorraine Y.

Can't say enough about his company, they showed up every day and worked hard. They were maticulious with measuring to make sure the patio, fire pit, sitting wall and counter were level and straight. They spent a great deal of time preparing the ground before laying pavers. They were extremely careful not to destroy the lawn as much as possible. The men who worked on our property were a pleasure to have around, very personable and also very talented. I was impressed with how the more experienced workers were patient teaching their less experienced guys, it was done in a very professional manner, no yelling and screaming ever! All workers treated each other with respect with exception to the occassional teasing which was fun to watch. To watch how the stone masons picked trough a pile of rocks looking for the exact rock was amazing. They brought in soil and graded and re-seeded the area around the patio, fixing everything they disturbed. The entire project went without a hitch and was completed in a very timely manner. The quality of the workmanship is outstanding. I highly recommend this company! Rock_Vern Electric were also a pleasure to have around. We were nervous about having them drill a hole through the house for the electric cable, but it came out great! Hard workers, reliable, came when they said they would come. I highly recommend them. I will certainly use them in the future for electrical needs.

Description of Work
We wanted a patio but had no idea what the possibilites were. The owner stopped by to look over the lay of the land and within a few days had suggestions mapped out and provided books which gave us additional ideas. We decided to go with a two style paver patio, a natural stone sitting wall with cap and back rest, fire pit and combination counter / wood storage box. We came up with a design in the pavers which required additional cutting. The wall, fire pit and counter were backfilled with concrete, Creative recommended Rock-Vern Electric for lighting (another very positive experience). Rock-Vern Electric provided low voltage lighting under the counter top and seating wall, and installed two electrical outlets,one on the side of the counter for our grill, and one on the end of the seating wall.

Category hardscaping

5.0

10/10/2012


Gloria M.

WOW! Again, I can't say enough about Creative Exteriors! All of the work in both areas was completed in one day. Five trucks and about 9 men arrived as scheduled at 8:00 AM and got it ALL done in no time! All of the work was done as planned and we are very happy with the results. We needed minor adjustments in the front yard lighting (due to our initial requests) and the changes were made within 48 hours. We received plant maintenance documentation so we can keep our home beautiful! This company is an EXTREMELY PROFESSIONAL company that delivers on time as promised! Will use them again for another project I have in mind!

Description of Work
We had two major areas on our property that needed work. First, we needed landscaping in the front of our house. We had a great experience with this contractor last December when we tore out the unsightly, hugely overgrown 16+ year old shrubs. Now, we wanted a planting that fit in our woodland setting, that would grow slowly and would stay low with maintenance. Jim listened to us and quickly understood our needs and style. He immediately offered options for plants that fit the bill and started sketching a plan as we spoke. He asked questions about what we liked and didn't like. He listened. He offered plants that filled and fit the space and light. He also suggested low wattage lighting with uplighting on the plants that we had not even considered, but add to our 'curb appeal'. The plan was to clear the area, bring in some good soil, plant according to the plan, spread a pre-emergent to avoid weeds, mulch and to add soft overall lighting to the front yard. We also needed a mess cleaned up at the edge of our property. We had planted forsythia bushes years ago and used landscape fabric to keep the weeds down. What a mistake! It was a mess and had gone wild. The area must be 100+' long and 8' to 10' wide. Here, they would plow up the bayberry and wild stuff growing between the bushes, spread a pre-emergent, mulch and trim the forsythia so they were closer to each other in shape without making them "boxy".

Category landscaping, lawn service, outdoor lighting

5.0

08/20/2012


Valerie H.

This job from start to finish was superb. Everyone we dealt with was extremely professional and courteous. We had a bit of trouble setting up the start date, but other than that it was smooth sailing. The company really wanted to get the work done before we went on vacation and they did. The crew was outstanding. You can tell that they love their jobs. The craftsmanship and care that went into the creation of a front walkway and the patio was unparalleled. They used some of our existing field stone to create a gorgeous retaining wall as a way to keep costs down. We will use Creative Exteriors for our next landscaping project for sure. So wonderful!

Description of Work
Remove existing pavers in front of house to create a front walkway. Remove a cement slab at back basement walk out door and create a back patio with a retaining wall.

Category hardscaping

5.0

07/02/2012


Valerie H.

They were right on time, which is always very nice. They were very helpful, enthusiastic, and they seems like they would be easy to work with. They were very personable and they had good ideas. It was also clear they take pride in their work they were wanting to do what we wanted to do and they were not just trying to figure out ways to jack up the price. It was all these elements that won us over and why we will most likely be going with them. I have seen the work they have done in our neighborhood and they do good work.

Description of Work
I got a quote from Creative Exteriors LLC.

Category lawn service

5.0

06/26/2012


Edward A.

Creative Exteriors are extremely professional and responsible and I would recommend them to anyone who has one-time or continous landscaping needs. They have real talent with respect to both planning and execution of any landscape project. What I like best is their personal attention to how each project will fit in with the rest of my property -- they really care about how the finished product will look.

Description of Work
I have used Creative Exteriors as my primary landscaping service for many years and I am extremely satisfied. Prior to them, I bounced around with different services, and found there are many companies that say they are full service, but in reality are a couple guys with a pickup truck, lawn equipment and a snow plow. Creative Exteriors are truly full service -- they maintain a master gardener on staff, and they will perform any service you need on a one-time or continuous basis. I have them mow my lawn including blowing leaves off the driveway & deck, perform fall leaf cleanup, winter snow plowing and sanding, spring landscape cleanup including fresh mulch, new plantings, summer annuals, etc. Some years ago I had them build a naturual stone wall surrounding a mulch bed and it came out beautifully. They have their own major equipment like dump trucks and bucket loaders and can handle any size landscaping project.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

01/29/2012


Gloria M.

These guys were super! The team arrived on time, confirmed what I wanted done and went right to work. I was impressed with their professionalism and courtesy. They completed all the work in a few hours and left the area neater than it was to begin with! I will definitely work with them to continue with my landscaping plans.

Description of Work
Removed overgrown shrubbery in front of my house, dug a new bed in the backyard and transplanted 9 shrubs, cleaned up the area and mulched.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

08/09/2011


Cecil H.

Description of Work
Creative Exteriors performed the following services at my home:,replaced shrubs, re-landscaped entire front of house, built natural stone front stairs and accompanying wall, replaced walkway, built a separate retaining wall, stepping stone pathway and general yard work. The crew was professional and EXTREMELY courteous and polite. the result and makeover was outstanding. A little pricey but you get what you pay for - hand built stairs /walls made of natural stone with bluestone accents. A great, great result. I'll be using them again to build a rear patio.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Chaput Natural Stone & Pavers LLC

    " At Chaput Natural Stone & Pavers LLC, our team strives to deliver a superior product to each project. We constantly focus on the finer custom detail and set ourselves apart from any others in the field. We enjoy what we do and warranty our work from the ground up. A vast majority of projects undertaken are through recommendation by previous clients. We will work closely with you to turn your investment and vision into a reality. You can have the peace of mind knowing that we are licensed, insured and a member of ICPI"  

    Alex Masonry

    We specialize in all types of masonry. We fulfill all your masonry needs. Give us a call so you can see what we can do for you.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Fresh Cut Lawn Care

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in Lawn services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    HIC0558163
    Trade License Locale
    Connecticut
    Trade License Authority
    State of Connecticut
    Trade License Expiration
    09/15/2017
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, MasterCard, Visa, Financing Available
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Full service landscape construction & design build. Hardscape. Stone walls. Walkways. Planting. Design services. Mowing.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Creative Exteriors LLC

    How is Creative Exteriors LLC overall rated?

    Creative Exteriors LLC is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Creative Exteriors LLC open?

    Creative Exteriors LLC is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Creative Exteriors LLC provide

    Creative Exteriors LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, MasterCard, Visa, Financing Available

    Does Creative Exteriors LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Creative Exteriors LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Creative Exteriors LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Creative Exteriors LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Creative Exteriors LLC?

    Yes, Creative Exteriors LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Creative Exteriors LLC offer?

    Creative Exteriors LLC offers the following services: Full service landscape construction & design build. Hardscape. Stone walls. Walkways. Planting. Design services. Mowing.