Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Natural Choice Landscaping

Founded 1998 • With Angi since September 2012

5.0

(7) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

187 Hartford Turnpike

Tolland, CT 06084

Description

Natural Choice Landscaping is a local business which prides itself on high quality craftsmanship at fair prices. We will work with you on your project from design to completion begining with a free estimate at your home or business. Owner Jim MacGillvary is present at every job and available seven

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Daniel L.
5.0
08/02/2017
Working with Jim was fantastic! He took the time to answer all of our questions, and was patient while we debated what exactly we wanted done. Jim and his team completed the work on-time, and everything is beautiful. We would recommend Jim and Natural Choice Landscaping to anyone!!
Description of Work
Removal of overgrown ivy and bushes; installation of new plants, bushes, and stone borders.
Category
landscaping
Erin F.
5.0
09/03/2016
Great! They did beautiful work for a fair price and also fixed a drainage issue we had.
Description of Work
Paver walk way
Category
hardscaping
Diane D.
5.0
06/29/2016
Jim came and estimated the job very promptly and I had the estimate within 48 hours, He promised me the job would be done within 3 weeks and it was done in that time frame. My only complaint was that I had to call him to find out the exact date he planned to come and I called to confirm the date the day before but I believe he would have called me that evening I just wanted to know sooner such that I could more easily plan around the work. We have been wanted the bushes gone for years and hence we are very happy to see the area cleared.
Description of Work
They remove several bushes and filled in the spots with topsoil. They also went through all my gardens and removed sapplings as well as removed a tree stump.
Category
landscaping
Rosalind K.
5.0
03/09/2016
Service was excellent. The retaining wall was a challenge because we were on a steep slope but the workers did a very thorough and professional job. The owner, Jim, was very helpful with suggestions and oversight. We couldn't be more pleased and would highly recommend Natural Choice to anyone seeking landscaping and other services provided by this fine company.
Description of Work
Built a retaining wall behind our property which was on a slope.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
Jennifer A.
5.0
09/03/2014
Jim was great. He was very responsive, on time, and did a fabulous job. After meeting with him, he offered ideas, drew up plans, and was on our site all within 3 weeks. His crew is meticulous with their work and our patio came out amazing. I would use him again in a second!
Description of Work
Natural Choice Landscaping excavated and leveled out under our deck to build a patio with retaining walls, a fire pit and a sitting wall.
Category
hardscaping, patios
Jeff S.
5.0
09/09/2013
Jim and his team were professional, courteous and punctual. They did a really great job. He was fair and honest and worked hard to help us stay within our budget, His prices are sigificantly lower than all of the competitors in the area and his work is comparible if not better. His team was polite, knowledgeable and respectful and tried their best to work around our schedule and needs. Jim, the owner was on site for all of the work. We recently moved into a new home in a new development and many of our neighbors paid much more and got much less quality. We have recommended Natural choice Landscaping to a lot of our neighbors and we would highly recommend them to anyone.
Description of Work
Completed Landscaping work including plantings, patio pavers and retaining walls. The home builder did not do a good job with the grading and drainage in our yard. Natural Choice Landscaping was able to rectify the problem by building retaining walls and regrading the yard away from our house.
Category
hardscaping, patios

Service Provider Response

(Member names removed), Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Natural Choice Landscaping. We strive to meet and exceed every customer's expectations. I look forward to working with you again in the future. Jim MacGillvary
Marcia B.
5.0
10/23/2012
Our house is a U-shaped house with a and quot;courtyardand quot; between the U-shape. It was a muddy drainage nightmare, graded right toward the foundation and causing expensive basement flooding issues. This was compounded by the pool deck, which was higher than the courtyard area, so it wasn't as simple as just regrading. They regraded the courtyard away from the foundation, installed a retaining wall at the edge of the courtyard between the courtyard and the pool deck area. The crew regraded above the new retaining wall. The patio itself is gorgeous, with custom-built steps leading to two patio doors and up the retaining wall. In addition, there was very poor, steep grading from the back yard into the side yard which also caused seepage into another part of the basement during storms. Natural Choice built a retaining wall and regraded to decrease the slope. The whole area was covered with decorative stone which matches the colors in the patio. Once construction began, the work proceeded in a very timely manner. The crew was very meticulous with their construction. We observed the construction of the patio steps and retaining wall and were very impressed with the care taken to make the stonework perfect. The company owner, Jim MacGillvary, is a very good problem solver (and our yard had problems!!), and is very willing to discuss options to get to the best solutions. The drainage system and the regrading work, and we no longer have basement flooding issues. Everything looks great, and we just love our new patio!! This is the firm we will be using in the future when we want more hardscaping done in our yard.
Description of Work
Constructed a sunken patio with retaining wall, corrected grading/drainage issues with another retaining wall & hard piped drainage system, upgraded existing concrete pool deck with polymer sand between pavers.
Category
hardscaping, patios

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Natural Choice Landscaping. I look forward to working with you on any future projects. Jim MacGillvary

    Other local Pros in your area

    DH & K Construction LLC

    DH & K Construction LLC is a locally owned and family run business with over 20 years of experience in our trade. We specialize in anything related to masonry including but not limited to hardscaping, paving, retaining walls, outdoor kitchen and living spaces, pool decks and much more! We do not leave until everything is completed to 100% satisfaction. Call us or text us directly at (203) 592-3347. Free estimates - thank you for considering DH & K Construction LLC for your masonry needs.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Chaput Natural Stone & Pavers LLC

    " At Chaput Natural Stone & Pavers LLC, our team strives to deliver a superior product to each project. We constantly focus on the finer custom detail and set ourselves apart from any others in the field. We enjoy what we do and warranty our work from the ground up. A vast majority of projects undertaken are through recommendation by previous clients. We will work closely with you to turn your investment and vision into a reality. You can have the peace of mind knowing that we are licensed, insured and a member of ICPI"  

    Angi Certified

    Alex Masonry

    We specialize in all types of masonry. We fulfill all your masonry needs. Give us a call so you can see what we can do for you.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Natural Choice specializes in the design and installation of walkways,patios,retaining walls,firepits and outdoor kitchens. We also offer planting design and installation as well as full property maintainence for both commercial and residential customers . Commercial snow plowing and sanding services.

    Services Not Offered

    Lawn fertilizing.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Natural Choice Landscaping

    How is Natural Choice Landscaping overall rated?

    Natural Choice Landscaping is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Natural Choice Landscaping open?

    Natural Choice Landscaping is open:

    Sunday: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    What payment options does Natural Choice Landscaping provide

    Natural Choice Landscaping accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal

    Does Natural Choice Landscaping offer free estimates?

    Yes, Natural Choice Landscaping offers free project estimates.

    Does Natural Choice Landscaping offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Natural Choice Landscaping does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Natural Choice Landscaping offer emergency services?

    Yes, Natural Choice Landscaping offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Natural Choice Landscaping?

    Yes, Natural Choice Landscaping offers warranties.

    What services does Natural Choice Landscaping offer?

    Natural Choice Landscaping offers the following services: Natural Choice specializes in the design and installation of walkways,patios,retaining walls,firepits and outdoor kitchens. We also offer planting design and installation as well as full property maintainence for both commercial and residential customers . Commercial snow plowing and sanding services.

    Are there any services Natural Choice Landscaping does not offer?

    Lawn fertilizing.