Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Vinylume - Signature Exteriors

Founded 1951 • With Angi since February 2006

4.8

(126) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

65 Davenport St

Stamford, CT 06902

Description

Signature Exteriors (formerly Vinylume Home Improvement) is a family owned business with a 60+ year record of outstanding service to homeowners in Westchester and Fairfield County. We specialize in quality, professional installation of vinyl siding, roofing, replacement windows, patio doors and entry doors. From start to finish, we make the experience of improving your home easy and hassle-free. We can help you to plan your project – and make the best choices – to make your home more beautiful, energy efficient and maintenance free. Once the planning is done and the choices are made, we put many of our years of experience – an award winning team – to work for you. The end result is an expert installation, backed by one of the oldest and most respected companies in the home improvement field. Call us today to find out why thousands of your friends and neighbors use Vinylume for their exterior remodeling projects. Award winning. If you are unsure if you need a roof repair or replacement, please give us a call. Additional DBA: Signature Exteriors Inc...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

04/18/2018


Mary N.

They're terrific and we love them. We had them do our siding about 12 years ago and they've done all of the repairs since. They come when they say they're going to be there, and they're extremely neat!

Description of Work
They've done our siding, roofing and our windows.

Category roofing, replacement windows

5.0

04/18/2018


Doria F.

They did a good job, they worked really hard. The work was done very well, cleaned up afterwards. Very satisfied.

Description of Work
They replaced a roof and put in new siding.

Category roofing

5.0

07/20/2017


John M.

Was completed within the time estimate given by Vinylume.

Description of Work
Vinyl siding was done on the entire house.

Category siding, replacement windows

5.0

02/14/2017


Rapeephan S.

Grest job so far. No problem with my roofing at this time.

Description of Work
Great service. Very professional. I can always reach them for question.

Category roofing, replacement windows

5.0

10/19/2016


Evgin H.

It was top of the line. It has saved us a lot of money on our heating bill. We did a cost comparison and they were comparable. Their work was phenomenal.

Description of Work
Vinylume Incorporated did roofing, siding, and windows done.

Category roofing, siding, replacement windows

5.0

10/02/2016


GEOFFREY C.

All went very well, knowledgeable, friendly, not pushy salesman Robert, and job supervisor Bob was very much involved to ensure job went to their high standards. Workers on point, polite and professional. Very good clean-up. We have a rental house in the county and plan to use them for that also.

Description of Work
Took off old shingles, replaced with new shingles and plywood where needed. Replaced flashing and all necessary items. Took off antennas that were not functional, neatly kept antenna wiring for over the air and satellite in case I want to put up new antennas. GAF materials are top notch, but more expensive than others. Great warranty, 50 years materials, 20 years labor. Was also given at no extra cost 18 months, no interest, same as cash to pay off the job.

Category roofing

5.0

01/21/2016


Camille H.

They came, they gave me a bid, they walked me through everything and explained the material. They cleaned up perfectly. They covered up everything around the outside of the house so nothing would fall on the lawn, the exterior or the deck. They were real professional. It was an expensive roofing. They took off two layers of an old roof. They said the job was a very messy thing to do. They replaced the plywood underneath the roof. We have 30, 40 mile an hour winds so they were careful about which way they positioned the roof material. They've done a lot of work for me in the past. It was a good experience. Whoever uses them can feel secure in followup and workmanship which is very important.

Description of Work
They put on a whole new roof.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

These are the kind of reviews we strive for. We're thrilled that you're happy with the outcome of your roof and the whole process from start to finish. Thank you for allowing us to continue helping you with your home improvement projects! Sincerely, Bob B., Bob M., and David B.

4.0

01/19/2016


Yanjing W.

It was a pretty long project. Most of their work is good, but sometimes I don't know. To get a better grade they could have checked on the work after it was done to make sure everything was okay. There were problems with the work because of the weather during the installation. I was not 100 percent totally satisfied. They were responsive before I paid the money, but after that I don't know. They were very professional.

Description of Work
They put in siding and a whole window.

Category siding, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Due to unfortunate circumstances with the weather, we apologize for any inconvenience. We hope you're satisfied with the outcome of the project and are happy with the way your home looks now. We stand behind our work, and we want all of our customers to be happy and satisfied. Thank you for your feedback and ratings, we appreciate it. Sincerely, Bob B., Bob M., and David B.

5.0

01/14/2016


Clemencia D.

They are very good and stand behind there work. Even though it might some years down the road if there is something that needs to be done. They will come and fix it with no problems

Description of Work
They did my roof for me.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We love knowing that our customers can trust us and our work and know that they are in great hands for many years to come! Sincerely, David B., Bob B., Bob M.

5.0

09/28/2015


Peter R.

It went great. We discussed all the roofing options and chose a high quality roof with a great, and transferable, warranty. We also decided to replace a skylight. The work was done in the time frame promised, and Bob, the project manager, was very responsive to our requests and concerns. We had used Vinylume for our siding and would recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Removed the old roof; repaired some water damage and replaced some roof decking; installed new roof, incorporating it into the existing siding. Also replaced a skylight.

Category roofing, siding, replacement windows, skylights

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your feedback and allowing us to be apart of your home improvement! We're so glad you are happy with our work and that we were able to complete the job on time as promised. Sincerely, Bob B., Bob M., and David B.

1.0

06/29/2015


Rachel R.

On 6-19-2015 I contacted Vinylume for a quote on siding. I wrote "Im interested in having vinyl siding installed on my home. Sepcifically, I have stucco covering the attic portion of my house. I would like to have the stucco removed and replaced with flat shake style vinyl." Vinylume responded quickly and stated "We'd love the opportunity to look at your project with you. What is your telephone number so we can call you, get some additional information, and set up a time to meet with you?... David Balog" It turns out, they arent interested in my "small job" despite giving the impression via Angieslist email that they were. Very dishonest and a waste of time. Just say you like big jobs and you dont work with stucco... sheesh

Description of Work
Quote for vinyl siding

Category siding

Service Provider Response

We apologize for any inconvenience or mixed feelings this may have caused you. Unfortunately, we do not work on stucco. We often do take on small jobs, this one in particular we couldn't accommodate. We hope you keep us in mind in the future since we also do roofing, and window replacement. Again we apologize for any misunderstanding.

3.0

10/06/2014


Owen L.

update: after two months back-and-forth emails, I still did not get reimbursed for the electric code violation caused by Vinylume siding workers. Not sure how long I need to wait in order to have s resolution here. ============= Since the wood siding paint was starting to peel off, and I do not want to paint the wood again and again, so Vinylume Inc. helped put vinyl siding cover on top of the wooding siding, cost $15000 with ~ 1200-1300 sq. feet. I must say it is pricey compared with other vendors I quoted. ( ~ 25% more expensive than the other vendors, but the salesman ( Dennis ) convinced me that Vinylume will have good quality, and deliver super service for that, and I took it. So far the overall experience is positive, with only two minor issues: 1. Majority of the siding work is out side of the 2nd floor of the house, and we asked to cover all the wood area with vinyl. Everything is good, but there are two minor triangle area outside of the kitchen area was not covered. Execution team (Bob) told me that these areas were covered by stucco, so not in the contract. // to me, there are still wood area exposed now, and I would pretty these two triangles to be covered by vinyl too. // probably less than 15 sq. feet total area. 2. Another electric meter problem, in which case, I must rate Vinylume inc " fail" at this moment since the issue was not resolved yet. When I talked with Dennis about what steps going first, doing the siding work, or replacing the old electrical panel, and moving the electrical meter from inside to outside of the garage. Definitely both his suggestion and my desire is to do the electrical wires replacement first, so after the vinyl siding was done, not much wires exposed visibly. Now the issue came up. The electrician helped finish the electrical panel replacement, and put the meter outside. Now for the Vinylyme employees to put siding there, they need to move the meter a little bit. The bad thing is that they did not put the meter to the original shape, which led to the code violations by the power company. I need to fix this problem urgently, otherwise ConEd will cut off the power supply. So I asked the original electrician to come over and inspect. he said all these code violations were caused by Vinylume Inc, and in order to fix these, he needs to come back, and will charge me $450.00. I feed back to Vinylume, and the execution manager only agreed to pay $200.00, which means I need to pay additional $250.00 out of pocket. The issue was still not resolved, and the response from Vinylume Inc was slow at this moment, but I need to move forward to fix the code violation issue now, since my family won't enjoy the home without power in the near future.

Description of Work
vinyl siding

Category siding, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, and I am very sorry for some of the experiences you had with our company. At this point, we trust you have received your refund check for the electrical work, and that your satisfied with the explanations we've provided you in the areas you've commented on during our phone conversations with you. We do our best to provide the best service possible and to communicate everything clearly and effectively. We pride ourselves on our thoroughness, our craftsmanship, and our ability to provide solutions to our customers' needs. We appreciate these types of reviews so we can grow as a company and know where we can improve. Thank you again. Sincerely, David B., Bob B., Bob M.

5.0

09/23/2014


Josephine G.

They are a very good company. I would recommend them to anyone. I would suggest going to their showroom to see the different materials and options they have. Their showroom and products are beautiful, excellent and superb.

Description of Work
They redid the entire roof at my mother’s house. They installed four windows. They also installed gutters and covers.

Category gutter repair, roofing, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thanks for writing about us on behalf of your mom, and for mentioning our showroom! We're one of only a couple throughout Fairfield County, CT and Westchester County, NY that has a showroom showcasing our products, and we're glad you visited with us there. Enjoy the new roof and call us if you need anything - We're always here! Sincerely, David B., Bob B., and Bob M.

5.0

09/22/2014


Stephen C.

They are extremely customer service driven. They will personalize what you want done to meet your needs. They are very easy to work with.

Description of Work
They did a vinyl siding on our garage.

Category siding

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the thoughtful words [member name removed], and send our thanks to [member name removed] as well. We aim to give everyone of our customers that personalized attention meeting their individual needs, and are glad you shared this experience with us. Have a great New Year! Sincerely, David B., Bob B., and Bob M.

5.0

09/22/2014


Karin B B.

It was a very difficult job because we have high ceilings and roof lines and they did an excellent job. The crew for the windows was superb in cleaning up. The crew for the roof did a fair job cleaning up and there were nails left in the driveway. I would recommend them to anybody.

Description of Work
They replaced all of our windows on our glass house. They also put on a new roof and redid part of the siding.

Category roofing, siding, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the feedback [member name removed], and we're glad you had a good experience with us. Regarding the nails - all I can say is sorry and it shouldn't have happened. We have checks and measures in place to avoid these types of problems and will look to improve in this area as we move forward. Your comment provides us with an opportunity to always do better, and we're grateful for that. Have a great New Year! Sincerely, Bob B., Bob M., and David B.

5.0

09/22/2014


ron G.

They were great to work with. They were prompt and did the work quickly. The siding looks very nice and I have no complaints. They were very nice to my mother.

Description of Work
They redid the siding at my mother's house.

Category siding

Service Provider Response

Thank you, we enjoyed working with you and your mom as well. Your house looks beautiful and we hope your mom enjoys it for many years to come. Sincerely, David B., Bob B., and Bob M.

5.0

04/03/2014


Peter K.

It has been 4 1/2 years. they were good, gave a solid estimate and performed the job. I had them back once for a leak near chimney and they were very responsive.

Description of Work
new roofing system

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed], we appreciate you taking your time to write about your experience with us. We do offer a great labor warranty on all of our jobs and pride ourselves on being quick and efficient in this area if something does come up. Sincerely, David B., Bob B., and Bob M.

5.0

02/19/2014


Diane L.

I am very happy with the work performed and how professionally the job was handled. I have also noticed a sharp decrease in my winter heating costs as was promised. Just in time for this long cold winter. I would use them again.

Description of Work
I had my house sided using siding that looks like shingles.

Category siding

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review, and great to hear about your heating costs! Most people think siding just adds beauty and saves money by not having to paint the wood siding anymore, but the insulation we install under the siding has many benefits as well. Glad you're enjoying them! Sincerely, David B., Bob B., Bob M.

5.0

02/07/2014


NOREEN R.

Two installers, were prompt, clean and courteous.

Description of Work
Installed 16 windows in our home.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

[Name removed] - Thank you for sharing your experience with us with others, we appreciate it. Glad you enjoyed our installation process. Sincerely, David B., Bob B., Bob M.

5.0

01/27/2014


Istvan F.

The salesman was not pushy and worked with us to find what we needed and to discuss the various options. They kept the agreed upon deadlines. There were no problems or delays during the work. Both the material and the quality of the work was excellent including leaving the work area very clean. All in all, a very good, reliable and professional company.

Description of Work
Replaced siding, front door, porch door and living room windows.

Category siding, replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the thoughtful review [member name removed] - a testament to our entire process and promise to our customers. We pride ourselves on striving to ensure each and every one of our customers has the same experience as you had. Thank you again! Sincerely, David B., Bob B., Bob M.

5.0

01/23/2014


Joseph B.

Went like clockwork, took about 3 weeks. Only glitch was, that during construction it was found (1) that the previous owner had shingled the house with no insulation lining under it; (2) that the windows in my family room were completely rotten and that the entire window set of 6 windows had to be replaced. When they discovered the rot, all work stopped until they showed me EXACTLY what the problem was and how they had to fix it. The house is no a show piece, all remaining wood trim was sheathed in aluminum or plasticized wood and the only maintenance you have to do is power wash the house every couple of years.

Description of Work
Complete re-siding of the house with carbon fiber shingles and a new Palladian Window in the family room.

Category roofing, siding, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review. Sometimes we run into unforeseen problems during an installation, and we like to think this is one area where we separate ourselves from the competition, by handling the situation the right way, quickly, and efficiently, so you're left with a beautiful, top-performing installation that will last many, many years to come. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us with others. Sincerely, David B., Bob B., Bob M.

4.0

01/22/2014


Karen P.

We chose Vinylume after meeting with a sales representative who showed us various shingle options and promised a discount for booking the job in Dec. 2012. The total came just below another solid bid and higher than others, but the workmanship and service promised seemed of much higher quality. We also had mentioned to the sales rep that we wanted the company to acquire the proper permit from our town. We knew the work would not get done immediately because Hurricane Sandy created a demand for services. The workers came in late February, which was fine with us. They worked very quickly and efficiently. Cleaned up and hauled away the refuse. The roof looks beautiful. However, by the time the job was booked, I had forgotten to ask about the permit and learned afterwards that it had not been obtained. Yes I would use again, but I would make sure that the salesperson communicated more clearly with the service team and that the proper permits were obtained. If it hadn't been for that matter, I would have given the company A's across the board.

Description of Work
new roof - completely reshingled.

Category roofing

5.0

01/22/2014


William W.

I really like them a lot and felt they did a good job. The people were nice and knowledgeable. The foreman has been with the company for 20 years and he was able to explain everything to me very well. They were the most expensive but they seemed like quality people that would do a quality for job for us on our roof.

Description of Work
They put on an entire new roof.

Category roofing

5.0

01/22/2014


Rosemarie V.

They were phenomenal to work with and I have nothing negative to say. The representative would come out to our home and answer any questions we had well. He was very helpful with our selection of siding and roofing. He also gave me some houses to look at that he had put roofs on. Their workers were also great and clean. They knew what they were doing and they always showed up on time. Even after they did our roof, they had called a national roofing company and they said it was put on perfectly. It is another guarantee that they give you.

Description of Work
They put on an entire new roof and put on all new siding on our house.

Category roofing, siding

5.0

01/21/2014


Stephen C.

They were wonderful to work with. We plan on using them again. They are very customer service oriented and they give immediate follow up to any requests. I did not feel like I got any hard sales push and they gave me the best economical options to fit my budget. They also pay attention to the details.

Description of Work
They put on the aluminum siding on our house.

Category siding

    Other local Pros in your area

    Quality work LLC

    I provide quality work because I know how to install and trim doors, windows, base boards, do crown molding, and install kitchens and bathrooms. I can also do outside work such as putting up fences. My company is fully insured and I have a license. I have been in the carpentry business for over 5 years and have completed many jobs.  

    MedellsCorp

    With over 9 years of experience, we are offering Painting and Handyman services in your area. Contact us today to discuss your project. We look forward to hearing from you.  

    Gino Group Corp

    professional on roof and gutter.we have a specialist for any kind of roof & gutter also we have a gutter protection.our job your happiness  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check, Financing
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Roofing, Windows, Siding Installation.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Vinylume - Signature Exteriors

    How is Vinylume - Signature Exteriors overall rated?

    Vinylume - Signature Exteriors is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Vinylume - Signature Exteriors open?

    Vinylume - Signature Exteriors is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Vinylume - Signature Exteriors provide

    Vinylume - Signature Exteriors accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check, Financing

    Does Vinylume - Signature Exteriors offer free estimates?

    Yes, Vinylume - Signature Exteriors offers free project estimates.

    Does Vinylume - Signature Exteriors offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Vinylume - Signature Exteriors offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Vinylume - Signature Exteriors?

    Yes, Vinylume - Signature Exteriors offers warranties.

    What services does Vinylume - Signature Exteriors offer?

    Vinylume - Signature Exteriors offers the following services: Roofing, Windows, Siding Installation.