Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

MUSCLE MEN MOVERS INC

Founded 1989 • With Angi since December 2005

4.9

(28) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

57 DOOLITTLE RD

Stamford, CT 06902

Description

Movers that Work Muscle Men Movers, Inc. 20 years ago, Mike Hennessey, founder and President of Muscle Men Movers, Inc. started a moving company based here in Stamford, CT. He started this business with one moving truck and a phone number. “ I used to sit by the phone and wait for the phone to ring.” It has paid off 20 years later. Mike and his crew service the Fairfield county area with honest, reliable and fair service. Priding himself with taking care of the customer needs during a stressful time of moving , he has gained a top notch customer service rating of an A+ with the Better Business Bureau. Muscle Men Movers provides residential and commercial service. Rated as one of the most reputable licensed and fully insured movers in Fairfield County, you will be in good hands with Muscle Men Movers. ...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/25/2017


Clare P.

He and his team are impeccable in every respect. Nice, honest, careful (no dings on the walls or door jams). I cannot imagine using anyone else. I am hoping I can hire them to move me to NJ but not sure they do long-hauls. Fingers crossed. I'd add the cost but I honestly don't remember.

Description of Work
Over the past 10 or so years I have hired Mike and his team to move me from one townhouse to another in Stamford. I also hired him to move my furniture to the garage while my floors were refinished.

Category moving companies

5.0

06/26/2017


Rudolf W.

They did a great job had 9 guys, 2 trucks and the owner. Started promptly at 9 am. Moved 7 rooms and done by 3:30. Professional and courteous, did not complain, when things had to be moved to a different room (husband error). Would highly recommend.

Description of Work
Move from Eastchester NY to Norwalk CT

Category moving companies

5.0

12/30/2016


Kelsey S.

I reached out to Mike from Muscle Men as well as a couple other companies, and Mike was definitely the best priced and was extremely easy to schedule over the phone. The morning of, they called me and were able to get started about a half hour early despite the bad weather. They had everything packed up extremely fast. I met them at the second location and they unloaded the truck and brought everything upstairs just as quickly. Everyone on his staff was friendly and professional. While wedging the couch up the stairs it got a little dirty, and they quickly pointed it out to me and started cleaning it themselves. I don't plan on moving anytime soon, but I would 100% recommend them to anyone looking for an affordable, reliable moving company.

Description of Work
I was moving from a one bedroom apartment to a two bedroom apartment in the same town. I had a couple larger furniture pieces that I needed help with, as well as some packed boxes.

Category moving companies

5.0

02/26/2016


Janice M.

Description of Work
From my first exploratory phone call, Mike was responsive and professional. This was a more from Norwalk to Darien. He estimated the time it would take and was right on target. He had 4 men with him and they all were cheerful, professional and helpful. I can't emphasize enough how pleasant and even enjoyable they made this move. I've already recommended them to others and, while I hope I don't move again, I'd use them again in a heartbeat.

Category moving companies

5.0

01/22/2016


Helene N.

Description of Work
Move us from a house to a condo in Stamford, CT. They were terrific and did a wonderful job!!

Category moving companies

5.0

03/29/2015


Peter M.

Excellent they packed well while bringing a sufficient amount of packing material and the move went smoothly without a hitch.

Description of Work
Moved and packed my apartment and office to two separate locations.

Category moving companies

5.0

12/08/2014


megan P.

They were outstanding. on time, on budget and completely professional. Mike made a really tough day easy with his attitude, his professionalism, and his ability to get the job done fast and efficiently. Every item from the piano to the artwork was well cared for . The minute he walked in the door we knew we were in good hands and we were right. Would recommend them and would use them again.

Description of Work
Mike and his team moved my 81 year old mom out of her third floor walk up in NY and moved her to her new location in Stamford CT.

Category moving companies

5.0

05/28/2014


Jessica W.

Category moving companies

5.0

05/14/2014


Hillary J.

Description of Work
I was very pleased with Muscle Man Movers but I was apprehensive without all the paperwork of coverage in case something went wrong. It was a nonissue in the end. I interviewed several movers and felt I couldn't go wrong with anyone but the price was much different with Muscle Men and I had friends who referred them too.

Category moving companies

5.0

05/08/2014


Victoria E.

They were great.

Description of Work
They moved us.

Category moving companies

5.0

04/17/2014


Berry V.

We called John and team to do a local move. We mainly needed help with big pieces of furniture. The movers showed up early and were very professional. The service was very reasonably priced and I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Move furniture

Category moving companies

5.0

02/01/2014


steven Z.

.

Description of Work
.

Category moving companies

4.0

05/16/2013


Darron M.

For the most part, the move went really smoothly. Prior to their arrival, I bought some wrap from the U-Haul store and wrapped my couch like a maniac. I knew it would take some damage going down the elevator…I was already aware that it was going to be an incredibly tight squeeze in there. After quite some struggle, the guys were successful and the couch indeed took some damage, but not more than I expected. I actually expected more damage, but I’ll selfishly take some credit for doing such a good job of wrapping. Overall I was very happy, but the one thing that got to me was my TV stand. After the move was over, I noticed that the top of my TV stand was really scratched up. I couldn’t imagine how that could happen. I didn’t bother to wrap it because it just seemed so easy to move; it’s pretty small and not at all heavy. The theory that I have is that they stored it in the truck upside down (so that the surface which the TV is placed on is actually on the floor of the truck). That boggles my mind as it will of course be scratched if it’s sliding around upside down in the back of a truck. This is just a theory though, and thinking back I believe one of the movers may have also noticed that my TV stand was scratched up. I understand that some damage is to be expected during a move, but good TV stands are expensive and that damage just seemed so unnecessary to me. So that was a bummer, but I still like Muscle Men Movers…all the guys were really personable and great to work with. Apart from that one item, they did a good job with everything else. I would most likely use them again…just need to be extra cautious, wrap EVERYTHING up, and be more observant during the loading process.

Description of Work
They helped move a big couch and my 50” plasma screen TV, along with some other bulky items (full-size mattress, bed frame, chest of drawers, dining table, dining chairs, small TV Stand). The move was less than a mile…from one apartment in Stamford to a new apartment just a few minutes away. I needed help mainly with the couch and the plasma TV, so I decided to hire a moving company for this. I called a few companies who quoted me some insane prices (like, seriously ridiculous), but then I found Muscle Men Movers who moved everything for $300. This was way more reasonable than the other companies I called, and the entire job was pretty quick.

Category moving companies

5.0

09/19/2012


Dorothea H.

It went well. Mike was very accommodating about my dates. He showed up with two or three guys and then called in a few more to get the job moving faster. It was raining lightly for part of the time they were packing the truck, but they seemed to manage to keep things dry. They did break one bookcase that was made of particle board with vinyl veneer, and I think they must have handled it carelessly for that to happen, but they were careful with everything else. One tricky item I had was a large armoire that breaks down into many different pieces in order to be able to move it. They assembled it without asking me how to do it and didn't get it right, but when I noticed it was wrong, Mike called everyone back in and they all worked together until the armoire was exactly right. They also accommodated me in repositioning a treadmill when I changed my mind about exactly where I wanted it. They were reluctant to take things apart and preferred to try multiple tricky maneuvers to get large items through small doorways. I would have preferred that they not do that because I was worried there would be damage, but in the end everything was okay. They were very nice and I would use them again.

Description of Work
Move furniture and boxes from a two-bedroom apartment to a home in the same area.

Category moving companies

5.0

09/12/2012


Amber J.

I'd never hired movers in the past as I considered it money wasted. Oh, how wrong I was! After accumulating a good amount of furniture (and a baby) in our prior apartment, I bit the bullet and decided that hiring a mover for the large items (beds, dressers, crib, sofas, etc.) would be necessary. Muscle Men Movers had all of our items carefully packed up, moved and unpacked in an hour and a half (our new home was a mile away from the prior, but still!). They worked quickly and diligently and the price I was quoted over the phone was the price charged on-site. I was extremely pleased with the service and would highly recommend them to friends and family. They made moving an enjoyable experience and are complete professionals.

Description of Work
Mike & his team moved all of the large furniture from a three-level townhouse rental to our new home.

Category moving companies

5.0

05/31/2012


Jennifer B.

Moving is stressful but Mike makes it easy! We had arranged our move with another company when our realtor, without knowing who we were using, mentioned them as a company who was unreliable (we were selling/moving out of our condo on the same day we were buying/moving into our house so we needed someone we could count on to be on time and could hold our stuff on the trucks during the close) but said other realtors in her office had great experiences with Muscle Men. It was a little short notice but we called Mike and he came out to give us an estimate which was very fair and matched the one he had blindly given my husband over the phone. He squeezed our move out in/move in between other jobs he had and when those ran long, and we were tired and it was dark and I had a toddler who desperately needed his crib, I called Mike and told him I was unhappy. He QUICKLY pulled a few guys off the other job and they came and set up the crib as well as unloaded most of our stuff before the other guys arrived. I could tell the guys were exhausted from a long day (and we only asked them to set up a few pieces of furniture and everything else went into one room as we were having the house cleaned the next day) but they did it with smiles on their faces. The most amazing part is that I kept waiting to find the one piece of furniture or box full of broken glass but I didn't find a single thing damaged. Can't thank them enough.

Description of Work
Move in/Move out on same day

Category moving companies

5.0

04/10/2012


susan B.

They were prompt, clean, and very efficient.

Description of Work
Moved my valuables from one location to another.

Category moving companies

5.0

01/09/2012


Michael F.

I shopped around and Mike had the best rate in town. It was a flat fee and worked out better than paying an hourly rate. The five man crew was great. Mike allowed us to keep all the dressers, night stands, and an over stuffed toy chest completely full. Other companies wanted them emptied since they had to use an elevator. Mike's team wrapped the furniture and ensured nothing fell out or broke! They were very professional. No complaints, even when they had to move my large armoir a 4th time since it did not fit through a second bedroom door.

Description of Work
moved within Stamford

Category moving companies

5.0

10/02/2011


Rosemary H.

Overall, the job was excellent and I feel we got value for the money. The crew was in and out in an hour, without nicking either the furniture or the walls. This job was on very short notice, but Mike H returned my initial call quickly and was able to accommodate our schedule. I only wish I had asked them to remove the top drawers from the bureaus which had cosmetics and papers. The crew were strong enough to move the furniture without removing the drawers, but it meant that all the small items in the top drawers were a mess that had to be re-sorted after the move.

Description of Work
The crew moved 2 BRs' worth of furniture between floors in the house.

Category moving companies

4.0

06/10/2010


Joe B.

Muscle Men Movers brings a big crew. Our move had eight guys who worked very quickly in an assembly-line fashion. The guys were mostly very professional and friendly. My main complaint is that they didn't wrap/protect some of our bigger funiture items adequately for the truck. So our La-Z-Boy recliner, for example, received some minor scratches while in the truck. Next time, I would specifically ask them to wrap it in moving blankets and make no assumptions. On the other hand, they moved our dining room table set extra carefully and without any problems under my close supervision. They even brought a separate van lined with blankets for it. So overall, the move went very well for the price. A more "gentle" competitor had quoted 50% higher for the same move, which I felt was too high a price.

Description of Work
They moved pretty much the entire contents of a 2-bedroom home into a 3-bedroom house about 10 miles away.

Category moving companies

5.0

06/08/2010


Emily B.

They were able to schedule the move for the next day and showed up on time. All pieces were moved in good condition, including a glass front bookcase with glass shelves. Their price was fair and service very good.

Description of Work
They came to our home and packed up two large bookcases, a large desk and credenza and other ephemera to move to my husband's office in town.

Category moving companies

5.0

08/24/2009


Isaac B.

Everything was great! They came at the last minute. They moved a very heavy piece of furniture. They were very professional and polite. They made sure we were happy before they left.

Description of Work
I used Muscle Men Movers to help move some furniture.

Category moving companies

5.0

07/05/2007


Lauren D.

I have moved four times in the past four years, and have to say that Muscle Men Movers were the best movers we've used yet. They were not only competitive from a pricing standpoint, but they were courteous, prompt, and unbelievably efficient and fast! Nothing broke, and they had us all moved in to our new place within about 2 hours of first arriving at our former residence! I would highly recommend Muscle Men movers, companies with similar rates use two-to-three men vs. Muscle Men Movers who use seven-to-eight men, (and they were all extremely nice and very professional as well!).

Description of Work
Tom and his team of about EIGHT men moved us from a third floor walk-up apartment into a house. We packed & unpacked the boxes, but they took care of everything else. They secured pieces before moving them and upon arrival at our new house, they moved boxes & furniture to designated rooms.

Category moving companies

5.0

09/19/2006


CHRYSTA G.

They were absolutely great. On time, polite and extremely fast. At least 6 people came for the job and the job was completed in about an hour from the time they entered the old apartment. Nothing was damaged and they were very conscientious and made sure to put everything exactly where I wanted it.

Description of Work
Moved furniture from a third floor walk-up to a new apartment.

Category moving companies

5.0

12/19/2005

THIS COMPANY DID AN EXCELLENT JOB. THE MOVE ONLY TOOK ABOUT FOUR HOURS AND THEY PLACED EVERYTHING IN THE ROOMS THAT WE WANTED. OUR NEW HOME HAS ALL WOOD FLOORS AND BEFORE THEY MOVED ANYTHING BIG THEY SENT ME TO THE STORE FOR FELT AND THEY APPLIED IT.

Description of Work
WE HAD OUR FURNITURE MOVED OUT OF STORAGE AND MOVED INTO OUR HOUSE.

Category moving companies

    Other local Pros in your area

    Northeastern Movers

    At Northeastern we consider your personal satisfaction our primary purpose, and are equipped to handle any moving and storage need you may require. When you choose us, you are treated as family and immediately benefit from the owners decades of experience and client service. We mainly rely on the referrals of our satisfied customers that include: designers, architects, furniture manufacturers, insurance companies and individuals. We are proud of our long term relationships, personal service and clear, precise communication with our clients. Our courteous and experienced team of managers and crew has been with us for many years and guarantee you a consistent and reliable continuity of service, which is unsurpassed in our industry. We specialize in same day service and large complex moves. We welcome all challenging projects. Any difficulties or questions are handled in a prompt, courteous and efficient manner. Your personal satisfaction and peace of mind are our primary concern. We're the premier moving and storage organization, combining the latest technology with old school values to provide you with a superior moving experience. The attention to detail shown by our professional accommodating staff is guaranteed on every move. We promise to deliver the peace of mind you deserve. Call today: 718-975-3486  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Northeastern Movers on Angi
    Shleppers Moving & Storage

    At Shleppers, we always remember that service is our business. It is our responsibility to satisfy and please each and every customer; that is what we strive for each and every time we say, “yes, we’ll be happy to move you.  

    MHO MOVERS

    MHO Movers is an experienced and trusted partner for all of your local and long distance moving needs. Through the years we have performed thousands of residential and commercial office moves, made thousands of furniture deliveries, provided packing and crating expertise, and suggest sensible storage solutions particular to your needs. Piano's and high value artwork are one of our specialties, and we can also get your belongings safely and afford-ably to any overseas destination. We have six skilled longtime employees.  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Moving Services Offered FULLY LICENSED AND INSURED

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about MUSCLE MEN MOVERS INC

    How is MUSCLE MEN MOVERS INC overall rated?

    MUSCLE MEN MOVERS INC is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are MUSCLE MEN MOVERS INC open?

    MUSCLE MEN MOVERS INC is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    What payment options does MUSCLE MEN MOVERS INC provide

    MUSCLE MEN MOVERS INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does MUSCLE MEN MOVERS INC offer free estimates?

    No, MUSCLE MEN MOVERS INC does not offer free project estimates.

    Does MUSCLE MEN MOVERS INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, MUSCLE MEN MOVERS INC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by MUSCLE MEN MOVERS INC?

    No, MUSCLE MEN MOVERS INC does not offer warranties.

    What services does MUSCLE MEN MOVERS INC offer?

    MUSCLE MEN MOVERS INC offers the following services: Moving Services Offered FULLY LICENSED AND INSURED