Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Floor Covering Warehouse

Founded 1934 • With Angi since April 2005

Floor Covering Warehouse is stamford's oldest and finest full service flooring store. We have been in business since 1934 and proudly serve the fairfield and westchester county areas. We have products for every budget and area of your home or office.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

5.0

(13) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews
Michael K.
5.0
05/08/2018
We had an excellent experience in the showroom choosing the carpeting and at home with installation.
Description of Work
carpeting replaced in 2 bedrooms
Category
carpet installation
Barbara N.
5.0
01/10/2017
Very happy with the carpet and installation.
Description of Work
Installed wall to wall carpeting in basement family room and bedroom.
Category
carpet installation
Christopher S.
5.0
02/13/2016
We hired Floor Cover Warehouse to refinish hardwood floors and install new hardwood in 1 room that only had plywood. The floors were in pretty bad shape when we purchased the house and Greg assured us that we would be happy with the final product. The job was started and completed on time and the 50 year old hardwoods look brand new. The workers were very clean and did an excellent job while finishing on time as promised. I would highly recommend this company to anyone looking for flooring repair or installation.
Description of Work
Refinished hardwoods throughout the whole house, installed new hardwoods in 1 bedroom.
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
Matthew K.
5.0
12/23/2015
At first, we went with one of the home renovation big box stores. They were nice enough, but when the estimate came back 1/3 more square footage than the basement required, we started looking around. Fortunately we found Greg. He walked us through how Floor Covering operates, their history (family business for 2+ generations!) and what they could do for us. We felt really comfortable with what he was telling us, and with how patient he was--we looked at probably two dozen samples! After another estimate came in at around the same price, it was a gut-level decision. We went with our feeling that Greg an his team would be the best choice for our basement. When the day for the installation came, Greg's team was fast and very responsive--our basement had some leveling issues, and they handled them with aplomb. We were very happy that they were able to correct the previous owner's errors and level the floor before they laid out the new carpet. Our new carpet looks amazing and we are very happy with Floor Covering!
Description of Work
From the minute we walked into his family's store, Greg took care of us, advising in the showroom as to carpet grade and quality, texture and durability. You could tell that he'd been doing this his whole life and he knew his stuff.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor
Michael G.
5.0
12/15/2015
The crew showed up on time, worked hard, and left the place clean every night. The were careful with my belongings and were responsive to any request. The quality of the work appears to be top notch and the finish on the floor is so way beyond my expectations. I couldn't be happier. Gregg's prices are fair but now that I see the end result, I actually think I got a bargain.
Description of Work
They removed the old carpet, installed a plywood sub-floor and installed a 5 in wide, white oak finished floor.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor, hardwood floor
William R.
5.0
07/09/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Reinstalled some carpet padding and repaired some carpet seams. The owner suggested ways of saving money which were very effective. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to friends. |
Category
carpet installation, hardwood floor
britton T.
5.0
06/09/2015
Greg was extremely helpful and knowledgeable in the selection of products and was flexible with installation timing. Would highly recommend based on variety of flooring and carpeting, expertise and cost.
Description of Work
Selection and installation of carpeting and selection of flooring
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor
Charles W.
5.0
10/07/2014
.
Description of Work
Hardwood floor
Category
carpet installation, hardwood floor
MICHAEL T.
5.0
05/31/2014
unknown
Description of Work
FCW provided an estimate for doing a staircase and 19.5 foot hallway with a rug runner. We also had our basement steps re-carpeted which included some carpentry. They were very helpful in the showroom picking out the carpet and had it cut to provide the best price. The carpet is a high quality nylon carpet for the stair and hallway. The basement steps were carpeted with a remainder carpet - very affordable. They showed up on time and did a good job.
Category
carpet installation, hardwood floor
Russell F.
5.0
07/24/2013
They were excellent. The price was reasonable and the work was of high quality.
Description of Work
Installed carpet in 2 rooms
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor
Mark S.
5.0
12/21/2012
Greg at Floor Covering Warehouse was very helpful in going over the various carpeting options. He let us take a number of samples home for as long as we want. I was able to schedule a measurement/estimate for after work which was quite nice.
Description of Work
Wall to wall carpet replacement.
Category
carpet installation
Ginny P.
5.0
08/06/2012
This man is over the top with old fashion customer service. Such a rarity in this age of automated answering customer service ,limited time and the desire to make the most you can with the least amount of effort.. My friend , Diane,was temporarily living out of state In the meantime she wanted to have some work done here in her home which I was to oversee. I spoke to several different flooring representatives but felt most comfortable with Gregg`s friendly but professional approach. First, he quoted a great price and stayed true to that price regardless of the fact that some changes were required. His men were quick,efficient and tidy. They did a spectacular job. Because Diane was concerned about the process she spoke to Gregg a number of times and he was always informative and reassuring. He was honest enough to tell her the hardwood needed only a simple cleaning she could do herself rather then refinishing (for which he could have made another $1000 or so). The most amazing thing was that Diane was attempting to duplicate the flooring she has in Maine in the kitchen here in Connecticut because it blends well with the color of the counter tops. She had some concern because Armstrong use to make this particular vinyl in a plant in England and was now doing it in the United States. Armstrong assured her the color was exactly the same. After it was installed it was lacking the warm tones of the original flooring. Gregg spoke to Armstrong and they refused to accept any responsibility . But Gregg, wanting his customers to be fully satisfied , replaced the floor at his own expense! Who does that????? This man truly stands by his word of guarantee customer satisfaction.
Description of Work
Picked up carpet from hardwood floors, Removed glued down carpet to install vinyl downstairs, Installed new vinyl in kitchen and bathrooms. Owner made the price quoted work even though some extra work was required.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor, hardwood floor
DOROTHY J.
5.0
04/07/2005
THEY DID A WONDERFUL JOB; THEY CAME ON TIME. THEY ALSO CHARGED A REASONABLE PRICE AND THEY WERE THE CHEAPEST THAT I COULD FIND ON SUCH SHORT NOTICE. THEY DID GREAT.
Description of Work
THEY CAME IN AND PLACED CARPETS IN MY LIVING ROOM AND IN MY ROOM AND MY CHILDREN'S BEDROOMS.
Category
carpet installation

Other local Pros in your area

Adeidson Wood Floors LLC

We specialize in everything under the sun concerning wood flooring. Sanding and refinishing, custom dual colors. Base boards, custom trim work, straight simple installations to personal custom layouts, & repairs on old busted up floors.  

Angi Certified

Artwood Floors LLC

Artwood Floors LLC - Providing the finest flooring services for every space and style. Our services include hardwood, vinyl and laminate floor installation. We also provide hardwood floor polishing and refinishing.  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Floors And More By Erick LLC

Floors And More By Erick LLC is a locally owned and family run business. We specialize in flooring installs including laminate, luxury vinyl, vinyl, hardwood; we also have expert experience in carpentry and woodworking. WE DO NOT REFINISH HARDWOOD FLOORS. We take pride in our ability to perform quality work at a fair price. Call or text us directly at (203) 667-1201 to set up a free quote.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Phone

Address

112 ORCHARD ST

Stamford, CT 06902

Other Information

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Check
Financing Available
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/

FAQ

Floor Covering Warehouse is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

Floor Covering Warehouse is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: Closed

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Saturday: 8:30 AM - 1:30 AM

Floor Covering Warehouse accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing Available

Yes, Floor Covering Warehouse offers free project estimates.

Yes, Floor Covering Warehouse offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Floor Covering Warehouse offers emergency services.

No, Floor Covering Warehouse does not offer warranties.

Floor Covering Warehouse offers the following services: CARPET, HARDWOOD, LAMINATE , VINYL, & CERAMIC TILE FLOORING