Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Floor Covering Warehouse

Founded 1934 • With Angi since April 2005

5.0

(13) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

112 ORCHARD ST

Stamford, CT 06902

Description

Floor Covering Warehouse is stamford's oldest and finest full service flooring store. We have been in business since 1934 and proudly serve the fairfield and westchester county areas. We have products for every budget and area of your home or office....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/08/2018


Michael K.

We had an excellent experience in the showroom choosing the carpeting and at home with installation.

Description of Work
carpeting replaced in 2 bedrooms

Category carpet installation

5.0

01/10/2017


Barbara N.

Very happy with the carpet and installation.

Description of Work
Installed wall to wall carpeting in basement family room and bedroom.

Category carpet installation

5.0

02/13/2016


Christopher S.

We hired Floor Cover Warehouse to refinish hardwood floors and install new hardwood in 1 room that only had plywood. The floors were in pretty bad shape when we purchased the house and Greg assured us that we would be happy with the final product. The job was started and completed on time and the 50 year old hardwoods look brand new. The workers were very clean and did an excellent job while finishing on time as promised. I would highly recommend this company to anyone looking for flooring repair or installation.

Description of Work
Refinished hardwoods throughout the whole house, installed new hardwoods in 1 bedroom.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

12/23/2015


Matthew K.

At first, we went with one of the home renovation big box stores. They were nice enough, but when the estimate came back 1/3 more square footage than the basement required, we started looking around. Fortunately we found Greg. He walked us through how Floor Covering operates, their history (family business for 2+ generations!) and what they could do for us. We felt really comfortable with what he was telling us, and with how patient he was--we looked at probably two dozen samples! After another estimate came in at around the same price, it was a gut-level decision. We went with our feeling that Greg an his team would be the best choice for our basement. When the day for the installation came, Greg's team was fast and very responsive--our basement had some leveling issues, and they handled them with aplomb. We were very happy that they were able to correct the previous owner's errors and level the floor before they laid out the new carpet. Our new carpet looks amazing and we are very happy with Floor Covering!

Description of Work
From the minute we walked into his family's store, Greg took care of us, advising in the showroom as to carpet grade and quality, texture and durability. You could tell that he'd been doing this his whole life and he knew his stuff.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

12/15/2015


Michael G.

The crew showed up on time, worked hard, and left the place clean every night. The were careful with my belongings and were responsive to any request. The quality of the work appears to be top notch and the finish on the floor is so way beyond my expectations. I couldn't be happier. Gregg's prices are fair but now that I see the end result, I actually think I got a bargain.

Description of Work
They removed the old carpet, installed a plywood sub-floor and installed a 5 in wide, white oak finished floor.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

06/09/2015


britton T.

Greg was extremely helpful and knowledgeable in the selection of products and was flexible with installation timing. Would highly recommend based on variety of flooring and carpeting, expertise and cost.

Description of Work
Selection and installation of carpeting and selection of flooring

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

07/24/2013


Russell F.

They were excellent. The price was reasonable and the work was of high quality.

Description of Work
Installed carpet in 2 rooms

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

12/21/2012


Mark S.

Greg at Floor Covering Warehouse was very helpful in going over the various carpeting options. He let us take a number of samples home for as long as we want. I was able to schedule a measurement/estimate for after work which was quite nice.

Description of Work
Wall to wall carpet replacement.

Category carpet installation

5.0

08/06/2012


Ginny P.

This man is over the top with old fashion customer service. Such a rarity in this age of automated answering customer service ,limited time and the desire to make the most you can with the least amount of effort.. My friend , Diane,was temporarily living out of state In the meantime she wanted to have some work done here in her home which I was to oversee. I spoke to several different flooring representatives but felt most comfortable with Gregg`s friendly but professional approach. First, he quoted a great price and stayed true to that price regardless of the fact that some changes were required. His men were quick,efficient and tidy. They did a spectacular job. Because Diane was concerned about the process she spoke to Gregg a number of times and he was always informative and reassuring. He was honest enough to tell her the hardwood needed only a simple cleaning she could do herself rather then refinishing (for which he could have made another $1000 or so). The most amazing thing was that Diane was attempting to duplicate the flooring she has in Maine in the kitchen here in Connecticut because it blends well with the color of the counter tops. She had some concern because Armstrong use to make this particular vinyl in a plant in England and was now doing it in the United States. Armstrong assured her the color was exactly the same. After it was installed it was lacking the warm tones of the original flooring. Gregg spoke to Armstrong and they refused to accept any responsibility . But Gregg, wanting his customers to be fully satisfied , replaced the floor at his own expense! Who does that????? This man truly stands by his word of guarantee customer satisfaction.

Description of Work
Picked up carpet from hardwood floors, Removed glued down carpet to install vinyl downstairs, Installed new vinyl in kitchen and bathrooms. Owner made the price quoted work even though some extra work was required.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

04/07/2005


DOROTHY J.

THEY DID A WONDERFUL JOB; THEY CAME ON TIME. THEY ALSO CHARGED A REASONABLE PRICE AND THEY WERE THE CHEAPEST THAT I COULD FIND ON SUCH SHORT NOTICE. THEY DID GREAT.

Description of Work
THEY CAME IN AND PLACED CARPETS IN MY LIVING ROOM AND IN MY ROOM AND MY CHILDREN'S BEDROOMS.

Category carpet installation

    Other local Pros in your area

    Artwood Floors LLC

    Artwood Floors LLC - Providing the finest flooring services for every space and style. Our services include hardwood, vinyl and laminate floor installation. We also provide hardwood floor polishing and refinishing.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Artwood Floors LLC on Angi
    Artworks Home Improvement LLC

    Artworks Home Improvement, LLC has over 10+ years of experience in the residential construction/renovation business. Through our experience, knowledge, and service, we provide professional results and help assist them in achieving their dream home. Our clients have the confidence to refer us to their friends, relatives, neighbors, and co-workers because they know our reputation for quality, professionalism, and integrity. Artworks painting takes great pride in its ability to provide professional service and efficient completion of all of your residential or commercial painting needs. Our staff of courteous professionals is capable and attentive to detail. they will prepare the workspace and protect all surroundings. Our business founded on the basic principles of honesty, quality, and customer service.  

    New Generation Flooring LLC

    Specializing in HARDWOOD FLOORING SERVICES! We always guarantee your satisfaction and won’t leave until the job is done right. We take pride in ourselves and on the quality work we provide, while always delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered, then call --or-- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing Available
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    CARPET, HARDWOOD, LAMINATE , VINYL, & CERAMIC TILE FLOORING

    Services Not Offered

    Marble & Granite

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Floor Covering Warehouse

    How is Floor Covering Warehouse overall rated?

    Floor Covering Warehouse is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Floor Covering Warehouse open?

    Floor Covering Warehouse is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: Closed

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:30 AM - 1:30 AM

    What payment options does Floor Covering Warehouse provide

    Floor Covering Warehouse accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing Available

    Does Floor Covering Warehouse offer free estimates?

    Yes, Floor Covering Warehouse offers free project estimates.

    Does Floor Covering Warehouse offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Floor Covering Warehouse offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Floor Covering Warehouse offer emergency services?

    Yes, Floor Covering Warehouse offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Floor Covering Warehouse?

    No, Floor Covering Warehouse does not offer warranties.

    What services does Floor Covering Warehouse offer?

    Floor Covering Warehouse offers the following services: CARPET, HARDWOOD, LAMINATE , VINYL, & CERAMIC TILE FLOORING

    Are there any services Floor Covering Warehouse does not offer?

    Marble & Granite