Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Floor Covering Shop, Inc.

Founded 1963 • With Angi since September 2010

5.0

(9) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

385 Central Ave

Norwich, CT 06360

Description

The Floor Covering Shop is Eastern Connecticut's home of in-stock flooring, with hundreds of carpet and vinyl remnants in stock. Family-owned and operated. Financing available....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/24/2021


Jurica I.

They provided a professional, timely estimate and were punctual and answered our question.

Description of Work
Looking to replace 4 bedrooms that are currently carpeted with carpet or hardwood floors (engineered most likely).

Category carpet installation

5.0

05/24/2021


Lori H.

Excellent! The crew was friendly, neat and considerate. And they were so hard-working, putting in long hours and hardly taking a break! The finished project was awesome and I am thrilled with the flooring that they recommended. Highly recommended!

Description of Work
Replace floor carpeting with hard flooring on first floor and replace stair carpeting.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

05/04/2018


Anne S.

Floor was expertly installed. Just wish they had clarified in advance which direction we wished to have the flooring material installed.

Description of Work
new hardwood floor installed

Category hardwood floor

5.0

03/20/2018


Miriam G.

I had a difficult sub floor which needed repair in my old house. They worked tirelessly to find a solution. The end result was wonderful and exceeded my expectations. As importantly, the installation team was extremely professional in all ways.

Description of Work
They replaced vinyl flooring in my kitchen.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

10/01/2017


Leon F.

They did 750 sq ft. They also put down some rug. They did everything they said they were going to do and the price they said they would do it. The installers were all good, we could not have been more pleased. Price was competitive. We could have saved a little more, but we were uncomfortable with the other company. They were excellent. I would for sure use them again and recommend them to anyone who asks.

Description of Work
Hardwood flooring installation.

Category flooring contractor

4.0

02/02/2016


Tom D.

The installers were nice enough, but they weren't the owners. They put the wrong carpet and pad into one room and had to re-do it once we noticed the problem. I wasn't particularly impressed with them, and now, 3 years later, we're seeing some places where the carpet's not staying down in the doorways like it should. Otherwise it's fine. I like the final product, and I really like the owners, so i'd use the same company in the future, but I'd keep an eye on the installers for careless mistakes.

Description of Work
The owners are great. They helped us sort through the maze of carpet types and colors with patience and professionalism. We were very happy with our eventual choice.

Category carpet installation

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] - This review was recently brought to our attention. If your carpet is lifting at the doorways, this is something we could address. However, we don't have any record of having installed carpet for you. Are you reviewing the correct flooring company? Could work have been performed under somebody else's name? Please advise. - Jonathan Graf
5.0

12/18/2014


Patricia S.

Description of Work
Installed our daughter's bedroom carpet. As always, The Floor Covering Shop, helped from the beginning of picking out the right carpet, measuring, ordering and a very quick installation date. We will be using them again very soon for our kitchen backsplash.

Category carpet installation

5.0

07/26/2012


Jessica A.

Greg and John were great to deal with, gave us a good price, and finished ahead of schedule. Couldn't be happier, highly recommend.

Description of Work
Two rooms of carpet, lower floor laminate.

Category carpet installation

5.0

07/12/2012


Gail C.

I am very happy with the services and prices. They are personable, reasonable, and helpful. They have a big selection to choose form. We have been using them for years. They have always done a good job and given us a fair price.

Description of Work
I went to Floor Covering Shop to get carpeting.

Category carpet installation

    Other local Pros in your area

    JOHN H ROBBINS JR

    We are a family-owned and operated business, serving the New London, New Haven, Fairfield and Hartford Counties for 30 years. We have a broad experience in various fields such as hardwood floor installations, repairs, custom staining, sanding and refinishing. We are insured with workers compensation, and are licensed in Connecticut, Rhode Island, and New York. Our team has experience working with antique flooring, reclaimed wood, custom staining, chestnut and other uncommon woods. Our team understand that just like homes, no two floors are built identically. Our extensive experience in the industry allows us to focus on your individual needs in order to meet your expectations. We take in consideration the number of rooms, shapes of rooms, types of flooring used, and types of sub-flooring used to give you an honest and accurate estimate. The owner is on every job and employees are covered by workman's comp and we have liability insurance and an additional umbrella  

    Chris Peterson

    I have 40 years of experience as a carpenter and am well rounded. I’m a very dependable quality craftsman, I pay attention to detail.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    TLC Floor Center LLC

    We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service. Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    HIC.0507721
    Trade License Locale
    Connecticut
    Trade License Authority
    State Of Connecticut
    Trade License Expiration
    11/30/2019
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Sales and professional installation of carpet, tile, hardwood, laminate, luxury vinyl and sheet vinyl. Free no-obligation in-home estimates.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Floor Covering Shop, Inc.

    How is Floor Covering Shop, Inc. overall rated?

    Floor Covering Shop, Inc. is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Floor Covering Shop, Inc. open?

    Floor Covering Shop, Inc. is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Floor Covering Shop, Inc. provide

    Floor Covering Shop, Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Floor Covering Shop, Inc. offer free estimates?

    Yes, Floor Covering Shop, Inc. offers free project estimates.

    Does Floor Covering Shop, Inc. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Floor Covering Shop, Inc. offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Floor Covering Shop, Inc. offer emergency services?

    Yes, Floor Covering Shop, Inc. offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Floor Covering Shop, Inc.?

    Yes, Floor Covering Shop, Inc. offers warranties.

    What services does Floor Covering Shop, Inc. offer?

    Floor Covering Shop, Inc. offers the following services: Sales and professional installation of carpet, tile, hardwood, laminate, luxury vinyl and sheet vinyl. Free no-obligation in-home estimates.