Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Top Coat Painting LLC

Founded 1988 • With Angi since July 2010

With over 20 years of experience Top Coat Painting, LLC offers the most professional painting services to the communities of New Haven County, CT including Branford, East Haven, Hamden, New Haven, North Haven and Whitneyville. No matter what you need done we have the tools, expertise and skill to get the job done quickly, efficiently and beyond your expectations!Learn More About Top Coat Painting, LLC: Residential Painting Services – We offer professional painting, staining, wallpapering and light wall repairs for homes in New Haven County. Commercial Painting Services – We are licensed and insured providing you with experienced painting services any time day or night, we accommodate your schedule. Testimonials – We are committed to customer service and it shows!Well-Trained Staff Our painters at Top Coat Painting, LLC are experienced, courteous, detail orientated and take pride in each and every job they complete.Affordable - Budget Considerations Get high quality work at an affordable price. We provide free estimates and are more than willing to discuss any budget concerns you may have. With our diverse application techniques and painting options available we will find something that fits both your style and your budget.Flexibility We are committed to providing professional painting services when you need them, no matter what time day or night. We accommodate your needs and work within your time frame. We even offer nights and weekend! MaintenanceKeep your property looking its best! Whether it’s your home or business first impressions are important. We can create a maintenance program to help you save money, extend the life of your paint job and continue to impress your neighbors or clients. Expertise Don’t trust just anyone. We are licensed, insured and have over 20 years of experience. For a professional paint job by knowledgeable and respectful painters call us today! Contact Us For A Free Estimate! By phone - (203) 204 0322 Or By Email at mjdep1@hotmail.com

Verified Reviews

4.5

(22) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-22 of 22 reviews
Alexander W.
5.0
03/19/2018
Project went great, every room looks much better, all for a good price and done within a week. Michael's crew also patched up lots of wall damage and took down a heavy old TV in addition to painting.
Description of Work
Paint whole house
Category
drywall, interior painters
Michelle F.
5.0
05/31/2017
Job was done n a timely manner and I'm happy with the quality of the work. Had a small problem with miscommunications that was corrected to my satifisfaction.
Description of Work
Painted my house and a rental condo that I own. 2 separate jobs.
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

thank you
john V.
5.0
12/29/2016
very pleased !!!!
Description of Work
whole inside of house painted,ceilings,walls and trim
Category
interior painters
Theresa B.
5.0
12/13/2016
Top Coat Painting was very professional from the time they came to give us a quote for the job to the time they completed it. They were here on time on the date and time we set for the job. They were extremely neat and took great care not to get any paint on the building. We were extremely pleased and will use them for all our future office painting needs.
Description of Work
We contracted Top Coat Painting to paint a very large exterior fire escape stairway and also interior stairs inside the warehouse
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

thank you
randy S.
5.0
11/22/2016
It went fine, and they "rolled with the punches" from my eccentric 90 year old Mother, and were very patient and tolerant with her.
Description of Work
Repainted entire exterior of single family residence, plus some carpentry in rotted areas.
Category
pressure washing, house painters

Service Provider Response

thank you
Ron H.
5.0
11/21/2016
Clean, neat, quick and professional while being cost effective.
Description of Work
Entire exterior of house painted/stained several years ago and recently majority of the interior painted.
Category
wallpaper removal, house painters, interior painters
Ralph E.
5.0
11/21/2016
Michael and his helpers did all the work promised, did it well and punctually. In fact we had a demanding deadline and they rescheduled some other work that was not as time-sensitive in order to take on our job and get our place all done on time. On the exterior of our house there were imperfections to be fixed before paint; some needed materials replaced, and some only needed repairs. Michael and his crew were helpful and resourceful and conscientious about saving us needless expense, and they gave us suggestions for options, and ran ideas by us so we could choose how to proceed. We were very happy with that whole approach. Michael and his helpers did not need to be managed or instructed or scheduled, but came and went as they needed, and did what they needed to do, and brought the job in on time and according to his original estimate. When we found a couple spots where the color was not even in one room (there had been no lights working in there) and pointed it out, they agreed and were happy to put another coat on the area. We are "absentee landlords" and could not be there all the time to oversee the work. Michael and his crew were able to take care of everything even when we could not be around. We would hire them again and be happy to trust them to take care of things when we could not be there ourselves. We're glad we used them.
Description of Work
Exterior paint entire two-story three bedroom house, and power-wash and stain two-story deck. Trim, including some horizontal trim around sill and bottom of second floor, had some rotted areas which needed repair and replacement. Michael quoted a flat price for the painting and deck. He quoted an hourly rate for the trim repair, because you could not know in advance how much would be involved with that until the work got started, but he did estimate how much time and repair work there might be, and his estimate worked out well.
Category
house painters
Ralph E.
5.0
11/21/2016
Michael and his helpers did all the work promised, did it well and punctually. In fact we had a demanding deadline and they rescheduled some other work that was not as time-sensitive in order to take on our job and get it done on time. Michael was also very helpful to us by suggesting some strategies and methods for handling specific situations such as trim, natural-finish woods, small repairs, and the like, and gave us ideas and solutions we would not have thought of ourselves or been able to do ourselves. Also he helped us to $ave money by pointing out areas that did not need to be repainted; when someone has a chance to take your money, and says, you don't need to $pend that much, try this idea, it's a sign they have your best interest in mind, so it's good to consider their advice carefully . . .) Michael and his helpers did not need to be managed or instructed or scheduled, but came and went as they needed, and did what they needed to do, and brought the job in on time and according to his original estimate. When we found a couple spots where the color was not even in one room (there had been no lights working in there) and pointed it out, they agreed and were happy to put another coat on the area. We are "absentee landlords" and could not be there all the time to oversee the work. Michael and his crew were able to take care of everything even when we could not be around. We would hire them again and be happy to trust them to take care of things when we could not be there ourselves. We're glad we used them.
Description of Work
Painting of almost entire interior of 1500 square foot house in preparation for selling the house.
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

thank you
DOREEN R.
1.0
10/12/2016
After two days of drying and we were able to walk on the deck and inspect it, we were so disgusted, disappointed and angry of the job performed. We had one shot to get the job right on a brand new deck and decided to hire a professional (from Angieslist). We received several estimates and decided to go with Top Coat. His estimate was right along with the others and we just liked what he had to say. Boy, were we mistaken. Nice guy, but workmanship is awful!! What we ended up with was NOT a professional stain job! Several areas never saw stain, drips, areas of stain are thicker than others, inconsistency of brush strokes (areas were even painted against the grain! Number one rule of painting....go with the grain!)....have many pictures to show the unprofessional job!!! It's a good thing for Top Coat I don't know how to upload pictures!!! My husband and I could have stained it better! How do we fix this? We now have to sand the whole thing!!! Thanks, Top Coat!!
Description of Work
Staining a new 12 x 16 deck
Category
deck cleaning

Service Provider Response

we were willing to go back and fix deck , only need couple of hours in spring , we came to a settlement some people do not keep there word you can not complain if you do not pay and do not let people fix there work
Susan H.
5.0
10/12/2016
Their people arrived promptly. The Idea Paint had to applied in a specific manner -- they did a great job. Everything looks great!
Description of Work
Top Coat Painting worked on a single interior office. They applied latex paint to three walls and Idea Paint (creates a white board on the wall) on one wall.
Category
wallpaper removal, interior painters
Tricia H.
1.0
08/18/2016
unknown
Description of Work
Sloppy work. Paint on deck. Window trim painted the house color instead of trim color. Left s mess. Had to hire another painter to fix all the mistakes. Pictures available.
Category
house painters
Dave N.
5.0
08/01/2016
Great! The work was done at probably the hottest part of a very hot summer but the crew showed up early to make sure that things got done. Gene took care of some imperfections in spots on the replaced siding. He gave me tips on the deck work that we chose to do ourselves and on painting a front door for our daughter. The final product looks terrific.
Description of Work
Power washed the house and then sanded and sprayed stain finish
Category
pressure washing, house painters
Corinne W.
5.0
11/07/2015
Mike was very flexible on payment schedule and scheduling work needed to be done. Also, we didn't have to move any furniture.
Description of Work
Mike and team did a great job painting a five room multiple level interior house. His team was able to paint a foyer in places I would never been able to reach if I had done myself. Great value for what we paid and would use again !
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

thank you jeremy
Corinne W.
5.0
10/05/2015
They did a great job, and were in and out in 2 days time. We didn't have to move any furniture, which was very helpful for us, and they were very professional the entire time they were at the house. Will definitely use them again if we need anymore painting done!
Description of Work
Painted 4 rooms and a 2 story foyer and hallway
Category
interior painters
mark E.
5.0
06/22/2015
unknown
Description of Work
An of the wall request to paint part of a boat. Great service. Very very professional. Recommend if your looking for exalent service
Category
interior painters
JOHN S.
5.0
06/08/2015
Gene recommended a new ceiling structure and paintining method. He masked all arrays necessary. He repainted three doors. He recommended many color and finish options. My wife loved the crown molding, wall color choices and all the door choices. Gene always gave us fact sheets on the products he recommended and color choice options. I have complete faith in Gene and company to advise rus, educate us, do the project on time within budget. We consider him a gem among painting professioanls in the painting business. We hired him three straight year for various exterior and interior projects. He will do our next project this year. He is a fine painter and very professional.
Description of Work
He repainted celings, many walls, crown moldings, hallways, etc
Category
interior painters
Stephenie G.
3.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Paint 2 rooms, 2 hallways
Category
interior painters
Elias G.
5.0
04/22/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Randy and crew did an excellent exterior and interior paint job for me. In fact they exceeded my expectation when they found that I had some hidden water damage behind the mirror in my halfbath room when they removed it to paint the wall. They removed the damaged drywall and replaced it. In addition, they removed the damage ceiling and replaced it with a suspended ceiling so that I could have easy access to any leaky pipes in that area in the future. They finished the ceiling with crown molding which really made that halfbath really POP!!! I also got them to install a handrail on my stairs which was above and beyond what we had agreed on. It was another example of the great work they provide in addition to the excellent painting!!! I would gladly use them again!!!
Category
water damage restoration, house painters, interior painters
Dan S.
5.0
01/16/2014
They did a great job. They were efficient in their work, and they did a good job cleaning up.
Description of Work
We've used them a few times. The most recent time was for to paint the exterior of the home. We have a 2 full story home, with a deck, and a garage that they painted. There were a few cosmetic issues, nothing big, that they had to work around.
Category
house painters, interior painters

Service Provider Response

thank you
Brian C.
3.0
12/30/2013
All in all after months of thought it went poorly. I came home from work on day 1 and a double window without screens was left completely open. ( I called Mike and he said it was to dry the paint.) Had I come home a bit later and the Rainstorm would have cause big problems. In that same room a wet pillow was left on an a Hopechest. The pillow smelled of paint. There was a wet paint stain on the Hopechest. In the basement paint was spattered on the floor, doors, and bathroom sink and washing machine. The nightmare continued and got worse. I told Mike of my concerns. He listens but doesn't not hear. I had to show him the defects. He had to repaint the entire upstairs hallway after I pointed out the poor job. He failed to the sand spackle and just painted over it. When paint was spilled on the carpet he tryed to vaccum it up with my vaccum. Many nails were not set and spackled. Three missed spots on the Kitchen ceiling were touched up with gloss paint and not ceiling white. Some of the interiors of the inset ceiling lights were missed. I had to leave a six page note (note pad size) of problems for him. All for not. I just wanted him to leave. I have not had a chance to fix all these problems so they are still here for your viewing.
Description of Work
Interior painting
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

I am sorry you feel that way we tried hard to make you happy. I understand that you were very stressed taking care of your 90 year old mother. The hallway only had one coat we had not had time the 2nd day to apply two coats it was not a bad job it was not done. I have never in my 32 years in business ever treated as badly or screamed at the way you did. we were treat like a red head step child. I still said I would come back . We toke care of all your issues as they came up. There was No paint spill or vacuum on job. hope your mom is doing well michael
ann C.
5.0
10/18/2013
It went very well. I am very happy with the work. I have an older home that had never been professionally painted, at least not in the last 50 years. The trim was in very bad shape as well as some of the walls. I also had some big cracks in my ceiling. Now it looks like new house on the inside. They got all the work done on time and even did a few extra things I needed done while they were here. They arrived on time were very professional and easy to get along with. They even got along well with my little dog who insisted on watching them work. I plan on hiring them again to do some painting on the outside of my house next year.,
Description of Work
Painted 6 Rooms , ceilings , walls, trim and the hallway in my older home. About 1100 square feet total.
Category
pressure washing, interior painters

Service Provider Response

look forward to working with you again you are great to work with thank you Michael
Colin B.
5.0
07/11/2012
I just liked the person from Top Coat Painting. I think he was very professional and his price was good. His work was excellent.
Description of Work
I have used them eight years ago for painting the interior of our house. And more recently we used them for pressure washing the house.
Category
pressure washing

Other local Pros in your area

Luz Romero, Architectural Drafter

 

Angi Certified

J Corrigan LLC

No Jobs too big or small. All work is performed by professionals. Preparation is key to a good job done.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Picasso's Painting

we understand that each project is unique and each project has a budget. That's why we offer a wide range of improvement solutions, regardless of budget or project. Our team of professionals works with each client to create a customized solution that meets their needs, offering the best results. Let us work with you to make your vision a reality!  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

73 Arrowdale Rd

North Haven, CT 06473

Other Information

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Licensed
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/

FAQ

Top Coat Painting LLC is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

Top Coat Painting LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

Yes, Top Coat Painting LLC offers free project estimates.

Yes, Top Coat Painting LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Top Coat Painting LLC does not offer warranties.

Top Coat Painting LLC offers the following services: Residential & commercial interior and exterior painting, power washing, wallpapering, sheetrock repair, textured ceilings, wallpaper removal, pressure washing decks, wood preservation, drywall patching & repairs, plaster, water, smoke damage, vinyl & aluminum refinishing.