Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Alcraft Inc

Founded 1993 • With Angi since July 2010

4.1

(17) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

605 Washington Ave

North Haven, CT 06473

Description

Complete home remodeling company. Fully licensed and insured. We offer 100% financing options with 0% interest. We accept credit cards. Free Estimates. Find us on Facebook www.Facebook.com/AlcraftInc...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/28/2016


Sal C.

Salesman came to our home showed us license and insurance.he explained the new roofing system .the crew did an excellent job they cleaned up didn't leave one nail which we were concerned with having two dogs gutter guys came to install new gutters that's about it

Description of Work
I had a new roof

Category gutter repair, roofing

1.0

10/21/2015


Paula S.

Description of Work
New roof which is leaking when it rains heavily. Sales people are relentless wanted to take up two hours of my time selling the company. terrible customer service-does not return call or keep the customer informed. Refusing to accept that the leak is due to their work.

Category fencing, siding

3.0

09/11/2015


Zaida W.

Description of Work
"Poor customer service after roof was replaced and financed |

Category siding

5.0

06/20/2015


William H.

From start to finish they were very professional. The new roof looks great. They were on time ,spotless in clean up, and put back everything exactly as it was on the deck. The price was in line with going rates. They required only a $10.00 deposit and I paid them in full only after it was completed and inspected by me. I have only good things to say about them and would definitely recommend them to anyone and call them to do work in the future.

Description of Work
Installed new asphalt shingle roof. Included installation of ridge vent. Installed over one existing layer of shingles.

Category roofing, siding, driveway pavers

2.0

04/05/2015


Victoria C.

Estimate seemed high, and since this was a fall project, there was a fair amount of pressure to make a decision and commit to the job "before the asphalt plants close." Once we decided to go with Alcraft to do the job and take advantage of the 0% loan to cover the job, we didn't hear from the company for several weeks, and had to call several times to ask about scheduling. Enough time passed that, by the time the company called us to ask if the could start the job in 2 days, it was a few weeks past the date they had earlier told us would be "too late" in the season to do the job. By that point, we were so frustrated with the poor communication, and certain that the temperatures were too cold to guarantee a quality finished project, we cancelled our contract.

Description of Work
Visited site and gave estimate for job, which was to repave a driveway and add a small parking area for an extra vehicle.

Category siding, driveway pavers

5.0

12/18/2014


Adam S.

Description of Work
Fenced in the play area in my yard. The job went very well had everything done very quickly.

Category fencing, siding

3.0

10/23/2014


Zaida W.

Description of Work
They replaced our roof, back gutter, and added a leafguard in the front. Overall it went okay but have not received a prompt response to various requests.

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding

5.0

09/24/2014


William L.

Description of Work
They replaced the roofing shingles on my parents house.

Category gutter repair, siding

3.0

09/23/2014


Scott M.

So the original sales person(not a contractor) spent almost three hours at my house with a binder selling me the company, not the work. The after taking 2 measurements he gave me a quote of 17000 dollars for roof and gutters. It IS important to note that the warranty and quality of supplies was top notch. However, as I found out from other contractors, 170000 was a good 7-9000 dollars too high. They do offer an unmatched 0% for 60 month Well Fargo financing option, however the salesman led my wife and I to believe that they were only allowed a few applicants, and their owner turned down a free gift to pass that financing on to us.(sounds a little strange? I thought so). Anyway, the Well Fargo line of credit is available through a whole list of vendors so it wasn't and quot;entrirelyand quot; accurate. The issue, and why I selected another contractor, was that after I called to cancel the contract(yes, you need to sign a contract to get the credit card), another saleman came to my house, he was the manager I guess, and offered to do the work for 8000 dollars less. If it cost 9000.00, why wasn't the only quote I got 9000.00? That is my issue, and why I will never use Alcraft and do not recommend them. For every couple like us doing research, there could be an elderly woman paying over 2 times what the job should cost. Unacceptable. Both salesman were nice however, and I am under the impression they do gfreat work from a friend who used them. I just can't get past the quote shenanigans, it isn't right.

Description of Work
Gave a quote for roofing and gutters.

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding

5.0

08/22/2014


Geraldine N M.

Description of Work
Removal of all layers of shingles, replaced w new shingles, gutters and roof vents. They were on time early AM, completed everything in one day. When they left everything was clean, lawn was perfect, no piece of anything on the driveway, sidewalks, lawn, etc. I definitely would call again for any renovations.

Category gutter repair, roofing

4.0

06/23/2014


Kristin M.

Description of Work
We had our roof replaced. It cost far more than other companies would have charged (which the salesman freely admitted), but we went with them out of convenience. The roof does look good, but the promised thorough yard cleaning was anything but that. We're still finding nails and bits of aluminum, and found a whole roll of unused roofing nails in our gutter.

Category siding

5.0

06/05/2014


Patricia M.

Description of Work
They replaced a double layer of roofing shingles. Then put on a high quality roof that is guaranteed for as long as I own my home. They were efficient, polite and cleaned up afterwards.

Category roofing, siding

4.0

04/21/2014


Brett C.

Overall the work was good but it was not done well the first time. The was a problem with the roof products they used too - color of shingles was different on some boxes so there is variation.

Description of Work
Replaced roof and repaired water damage

Category siding

Service Provider Response

We appreciate receiving reviews from our customers, however you state in your review that you would NOT hire us again. You called us on June 5th requesting an estimate to remodel your kitchen. We set up an appointment for you with the owner of the company. He was personally going to assist your needs. He has made several attempts to contact you to confirm the June 9th appointment and you have been unresponsive to his messages. We ask that you please change your answer here on Angies List to inform others that you in fact WOULD hire us again for future jobs. These sites are important for future customers to base their choices on. There shouldn't be false information posted. We appreciate all of our customers. Thank you.
3.0

05/06/2013


Andrea T.

n/a

Description of Work
I cannot speak to the quality of their windows but I was very disappointed by their salesman. He was more suited to being a used car salesman. While he did show me the window & features briefly, most of his time here was spent on just talking to me about random things, making flirty-type comments and refusing to take no as an answer. I ended up signing the contract to get him out of my house. The total price for replacing 10 windows (all average sized - no huge bay windows or anything) never crossed his lips. All he talked about was the monthly price on a 9 YEAR loan. That fact (9 years) only was spoken once. Another tactic was that he offered to have the company make the first 3 payments in an effort to get me to sign. Strangely enough, on the contract he had written one price ($7,250) then crossed it out & made it $7,750. It looked like this was to recoup the first 3 payments. He never asked me about any options I might want (divided lights or plain, for instance). He did not thoroughly review all the documents he wanted me to sign. He also "confidentially" shared with me medical information about the owner's wife which I found completely inappropriate. However, when the owner called me when I cancelled the contract, he himself shared this same information with me about his wife. I have to assume the owner approves of this salesman's methods. This company did come highly recommended to me for their quality and willingness to stand behind their products with their warranty. I have no reason to doubt that but I found their sales approach distasteful, to say the least. When I am ready to replace my windows, I will come back to Angie's List & seek out a company that treats their customers with more respect.

Category siding

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your feedback. We value everyone’s opinion whether they are past customers, future customers or even the occasional person who isn’t happy with us. If it weren’t for people like you leaving feedback, we wouldn’t have any idea how to improve our customer service. We take people’s comments very seriously. If someone isn’t happy, we address this issue to the best of our capability. We even call some of our past customers just to check on their satisfaction. We understand that not everyone can be satisfied, but we go above and beyond to do the best of our ability. While we are a large corporation, one main thing that sets our company aside from the rest, is our “small town, friendly, feel” service. The owner is still hands on and available to the customers 98% of the time. That doesn’t usually happen in a Corporation the size of ours. Our company has been in business for over 20yrs. We are registered with the BBB. We are fully licensed and insured. We treat our customers with respect and give them the best options possible. On occasions the company has done jobs for less than company cost because the dire need could not be overlooked under the circumstances by the owner of the company’s kind heart. That being said, this company does NOT take advantage of anyone. The salesman that made you feel uncomfortable was addressed. We apologize for any comments he may have said. We also apologize for any medical conversation that you deemed inappropriate. That happened to come up because of your occupation as a nurse. We have looked at your cancelled contract and wish to set the record straight for future viewers. Your original contract price was $9228.00 crossed out with a single line and then reduced to a final price quote of $7735.00 of which you gave a $10.00 cash deposit. Your deposit was returned to you immediately upon cancelling. (We don’t keep deposits) Nowhere on your contract does it state $7750.00. We understand you were not happy but we are here and willing to help if you need us.
4.0

07/31/2012


Richard G.

I like that they were very receptive to my concerns. The quality of their work is very good. One thing I didn't like was leaving a mess when they replaced the windows but other than that, everything was fine. One thing they did for me was to help me replace the front screen door. They sent the parts of the screen door to my house and instructed me how to go about it. I was able to do it without issues.

Description of Work
I used the service of Alcraft Inc. to replace the windows of my house. Also, I had a problem with the front screen doors that needs to be replaced and they told me how to go about it.

Category remodeling, siding

5.0

04/23/2012


Janice B.

Roofing was completed promptly and efficiently. Porch remodeling was done somewhat later but constructed well. Because of a misunderstanding a wooden porch was constructed. When I expressed my disappointment because I was picturing a vinyl covered porch and the fact that we never discussed what material would be used, the company agreed it was a misunderstanding and constructed a vinyl coated metal porch at no additional cost to us. The president of this company is very conscious of making sure that the customers are satisfied with their work. Only negative is that they sometimes are behind schedule but their workmanship is great.

Description of Work
Removed old layers of roofing. Replaced needed plywood. Vented and re-roofed house. Constructed a small porch. Removed old rusted cellar stairs and rebuilt pressure treated wooden stairway.

Category remodeling, roofing

4.0

07/21/2011


Richard G.

I had a problem with the screen door they replaced but they were able to take care of it right away. I had them put a cap on my chimney but my chimney isn't a standard size so they had to order it. It took quite a long time but they did get it and put it on as soon as it came it. I think they do a good job and I would use them again if I needed to. They gave me a break on my windows because I was a repeat customer. They always answered my phone calls when I had an issue and they took care of whatever issues I had.

Description of Work
Alcraft replaced my siding and gutters and then I had them back this year to do my windows.

Category gutter repair, siding, replacement windows, chimney caps

    Other local Pros in your area

    Juggs Paving & Masonry Inc.

    WE ARE A 3 GENERATION FAMILY OWNED AND OPERATED COMPANY. WE TAKE PRIDE IN ALL OUR WORK WE TREAT YOUR HOME AS IF IT WAS OUR OWN WE DO ALL TYPES OF DRIVEWAYS, WALKWAYS, PATIOS, STEPS, POOL AREAS FIRE PITS RETAINING WALLS, STONE VENEERING FENCING, BELGIAN BLOCKS BLUE STONE PAVERS CONCRETE ASPHALT PAVING WATERPROOFING AND MUCH MORE ........  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    C & J Pumps, LLC

    Family owned and operated since 1994.Free Estimates.Great Service for Fair price.10% discount with mention of ad. 24 hour emergency service  

    Awning Place Inc

    Full service Awning Company with three showroom locations, 16 employees, offering free in-home consultation, Installation and the most comprehensive warranties in the industry. services include parts, repairs and up/down and awning storage.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Financing Available, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Our company offers full home remodeling services such as vinyl siding, custom, energy efficient, windows, roofs, seamless gutters, decks, fences, redesigned kitchens and baths, as well as insulation, driveways or just about anything else you dream of improving in your home.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Alcraft Inc

    How is Alcraft Inc overall rated?

    Alcraft Inc is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

    What days are Alcraft Inc open?

    Alcraft Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Alcraft Inc provide

    Alcraft Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Alcraft Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Alcraft Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Alcraft Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Alcraft Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Alcraft Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Alcraft Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Alcraft Inc?

    Yes, Alcraft Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Alcraft Inc offer?

    Alcraft Inc offers the following services: Our company offers full home remodeling services such as vinyl siding, custom, energy efficient, windows, roofs, seamless gutters, decks, fences, redesigned kitchens and baths, as well as insulation, driveways or just about anything else you dream of improving in your home.

    Are there any services Alcraft Inc does not offer?

    Ask for details