Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A & W Carpentry

Founded 2007 • With Angi since January 2012

4.9

(26) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

39 Eager Rd

North Franklin, CT 06254

Description

Owned & operator by Wes Crawford. Additional e-mails - info@awcarpentryct.com, wes@awcarpentryct.com. Additional fax - (860) 642-8075

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

06/10/2014


Rosemary L.

The door looks great - the job was very good. My only issue was I had mentioned saving the old door to send to Habitat and it was cut so we couldn't donate it. I guess they just forgot. Since then A&W has gotten smaller and their time line is longer so...we'll see if we use them again.

Description of Work
we used A&W to replace our front door. We selected and bought the door through them, they painted it prior to installing and then installed.

Category remodeling, doors

5.0

05/06/2014


Mary Anne C.

Working with Wes and his wife Aimee was a pleasure from the very first minute. Both are very professional and courteous - so refreshing and different that it made an immediate impression. You can have complete confidence in Wes to get the job done - done well and done on time. Now that I have found A&W Carpentry there is no reason to look any further. The other reviewers were all right. You'll see!

Description of Work
Built and installed a new loft railing.

Category contractors, remodeling

5.0

04/29/2014


Shala G.

They were very professional when they were here and they were on time. I would consider using them again.

Description of Work
I used A & W Carpentry to get a quote for some basement work.

Category basement remodeling

5.0

04/28/2014


Steve W.

Description of Work
A&W Carpentry replaced rotting exterior and interior walls of our solarium, replaced a damaged window in the solarium, fixed woodworking around bedroom doors that had been damaged by cat scratches, replaced a rotting front door and some wood trim around the door, replaced a bedroom window, repaired porch support beams, installed gutters, replaced wood baseboard in bathroom, installed wood trim around doorway in family room, built faux beam in kitchen. The owner of the company, Wes, was wonderful. If he said he would be at the house at 10 AM, he drove in the yard at 10 AM. My husband is a bit of a perfectionist and Wes exceeded his expectations. He came to work on our home when he said he would, accomplished his tasks in a timely manner, and was extremely neat. He never left a mess and never left a task undone. We highly recommend A&W Carpentry - we cannot find enough adjectives to express how pleased we have been with the quality of his work and the professionalism of A&W.

Category decks, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

04/07/2014


Chuck T.

I met Wes on Angies list last year, so I'm a happy repeat customer, and I will call him again. This time I had some challenging upper kitchen cabenets that I started to do myself, and set up the first corner cabinet and said self, you'd better call Wes, (my 1920 house predates thstraight lines). They came out beautiful! Call Amy and Wes, you'll be happier than you expected to be.

Description of Work
Installed upper kitchen cabinets.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

03/10/2014


Carol P.

From first contact, until the final walk-through, Wes, Aimee and their team were the best. Estimates were accurate, communication was excellent, and attention to detail was consistent from start to finish. Every effort was made to make the process as painless as possible for us, and the jobsite was cleaned up every night. Our project took several months and these standards were maintained the entire time. The final result is absolutely beautiful - better than I dreamed of. AW Carpentry will be coming back to side our house later this year. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Remodeled our home

Category remodeling

5.0

03/03/2014


Brenda H.

It went very well. Wes is a great person to deal with. He listens to all your details and is always taking notes as you talk. Loved that. (So many contractors act as though they are listening and never write anything down and you do not get want you ask for.) His assistants were polite, friendly and hard working. After the job, they cleaned everything. The porch is beautiful. They paid attention to every detail. I am definitely using them again soon.

Description of Work
They remodeled our front porch replacing floor boards, reducing the 6 columns to 4, and replacing old lattice work around the bottom portion of the proch.

Category decks, remodeling, woodworking

5.0

12/06/2013


Susan S.

A&W hung two sets of doors for me in the basement, and put in new skirting on my stairs (to cover ugly skirting that was revealed when I switched from carpeted stairs to wood). Their work was top-notch.

Description of Work
I used A & W Carpentry.

Category handyman service

5.0

09/06/2013


Matthew O.

So far they have been very responsive. We are waiting on a quote to see if we are actually going to use them. The first quote was $110,000 that they gave us in July and the second one was $150,000 in August. They are one of two companies that we are bidding.

Description of Work
We got two quotes from A & W Carpentry. The first quote was for remodeling and the second quote was for a room addition.

Category remodeling

5.0

07/30/2013


Brenda H.

They arrived when they said they would. It was a bad week for HEAT and HUMIDITY but they were still there working. Cleaned up after each day. Very, very pleasant people to talk to. Listened to everything we said. Followed every detail of the job we asked for. Wes, the owner, really takes pride in the work he does and it shows in the ending results as does Jim, his assistant. Never saw them in a foul mood. Would I use them again............already asked them to do another job. So, yes, I can't recommend them enough.

Description of Work
The cost of the services was for labor only. We purchased the materials. Wes and his crew remodeled our front porch replacing the wood floor with Azek flooring and replaced the six thin posts with 4 fiberglass columns. They also replace the vinyl lattice work with a better framed lattice. Reducing the number of posts required them to increase the framing of the deck on the header and bottom front frame which gave us a few more inches of deck space.

Category decks, remodeling

5.0

06/23/2013


Chuck T.

I found Wes on Angie's list and gave him a very difficult cabinet leveling job and he burned through it like a hot knife through butter. The cabinets formed a 6-foot L shape, and was 1 3/4 inches off level over the worst run...that's a lot. The first thing he did was turn two problems into an advantage... Rather than having the end of the countertop way up in the air and the other run of the L up blocking the bottom of a window, he suggested scribing and cutting the cabinets down (instead of shimming up as normally done), to instead lower the high point which also brought the countertop nicely below the window. Two problems solved by thinking outside of the box; it never would have occurred to me, now would I have been capable of doing it. Wes scribed with a compass and took a skillsaw to the bottom of the cabinets, even the complexly shaped corner cabinet of the L...and dropped the cabinets in and each was within a tenth of a millimeter on his first try...amazing talent. Just hire Wes, you will be so glad you found him.

Description of Work
Installed lower kitchen cabinets on a very difficult wavy floor in a 1920 house, accurately leveling them for a large, L-shaped granite countertop.

Category remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much (deleted member name). It was equally a pleasure to work with you!
5.0

05/26/2013


Elaine L.

Better than we expected. We did it ourselves only because Wes was booked through 2nd week in July.

Description of Work
We decided to put up our own kitchen backsplash and when we ran into some problems. We called Wes who gave us all the tips of the trade to complete it by ourselves.

Category drywall, remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you (deleted member name) so much for the wonderful review.
5.0

03/20/2013


Carol P.

They are fabulous. They are fair in their pricing and excellent in what they are doing.

Description of Work
I have used A & W Carpentry to do some remodeling to my house.

Category remodeling

5.0

03/10/2013


W Ross T.

Wes and Aimee were great. Always responded to questions/concerns promptly. Completed the job on time and on budget. Wes and his crew worked around a plumber and some work I was doing in the kitchen without problem or complaint. Most expensive of quotes I received, but Wes was willing to come down on price a bit, and glad we went with him. Very satisfied with the final result.

Description of Work
Removal of existing tile floor in kitchen and dining area (approx 300 sq ft). Leveling of floor, installation of Ditra and new tile.

Category remodeling

5.0

11/07/2012


ARTHUR C.

He does such a great job. The price is reasonable and I would let him do anything to my home. I always call him for any needs that we have to see if he can do the work and I know he will provide service. I plan to use him in the future.

Description of Work
He put in all of our windows. He built us a four seasons porch in the past. He installed two air conditioners for us most recently.

Category decks, handyman service, replacement windows

5.0

11/07/2012


Mary H.

From start to finish? it was WONDERFUL can't wait to start the living room!!!!

Description of Work
Ah! Now, the downstairs powder room...Again, such vision. My hub and I have eclectic tastes, and decided to use an iredescent glass tile as a back splash, and extend it around as a chair-rail border. Wes laid a new sub floor, as well as the flooring, installed the toilet and sink/vanity, installed the lights, and best of all, allowed me extra days in between to paint. (I prefer to paint my self, but Wes does a great job of that as well.).Again, the work was done well, the price was fair, and Wes was lovely as usual.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

10/30/2012


Eileen S.

Wes came out to see the the damage the day that I called. Two of his employees came out the very next day and completed the whole job. They were very professional and spent time making sure that everything fit and worked just right. They even cleaned up all of the broken glass and took the broken door, frames, etc. away. In addition to their good work, they were also very supportive to me about the traumatic aspect of the door having been destroyed during a forced entry. I appreciated their kindness in addition to their workmanship.

Description of Work
My house was broken into. The side door was kicked in with great force, breaking the door, shattering the glass, ripping the door casing right out of the frame and destroying all of the door hardware. The door, the casing and all of the hardware were replaced.

Category woodworking, doors

5.0

09/15/2012


Mona G.

Wes and Amy are fabulous to work with. Wes came right out to take a look when it was convenient for me. Not only that, but he and Amy were great in working things out with me. I could be perfectly honest with them in what I could and could not afford but still have something that was not only cost effective, but energy efficient. They were both very personable on the telephone as well as in person. Since it was an odd sized opening, it had to be custom made. Wes and Amy knew I was starting school soon and tried to work everything around my schedule. The work was done and finished in one day. Everything was cleaned up and Wes also replaced the custom made shelf I had above the door back into place, as well as the iron curtain rod. My neighbors spoke with me later to tell me how professional Wes' service was as they could see the whole thing going on from their own deck. They also told me that Wes had done everything "with care." But being he and Amy were so professional, I wasn't even worried. Not only that, but I received a lovely notecard from them thanking ME for letting them perform the service on my house. Great find on Angie's list for sure!

Description of Work
Window/door combination replacement, approximately 104" in width. 2 fixed panels and one door panel. Wood had rotted near bottom of one of the fixed panels, causing the glass to slip down approximately 1/4", exposing the living room to the outside elements.

Category picture framing, remodeling, replacement windows, doors

5.0

07/27/2012


Caroline S.

The work was estimated and some initial work began before I actually moved here, so a lot of coordination was necessary during the early phase of the job, and working with Aimee and Wes (they are the "A" and "W" in the company name) during this time went extremely well. When the worked actually started and was performed, Wes was always punctual, is very professional and friendly. He was great about communicating with me during every phase of the job, was open to ideas and very flexible with regard to some minor adjustments we made along the way. When there were decisions to be made, the ideas he brought to the table were great, showed creativity, and were truly welcomed. He is a real pleasure to work with. The quality of the job was outstanding, and Wes' commitment to superior quality and customer satisfaction is evident.

Description of Work
A & W Carpentry performed hardwood floor installation, door replacement, window trim/door trim/baseboard upgrading, shelf building/carpentry, drywall patching, and painting in my recently purchased home.

Category hardwood floor, remodeling, woodworking, doors

5.0

07/12/2012


Korine R.

Wes did a remarkable job updating my home! He performed the work well within the time frame of our contract. At the end of the work day, the project site was spotless. Wes listened and made suggestions to any changes that were made. Wes is a master in his craft and all work was done with meticulous detail. Wes will be the one carpenter I will allow to do work on my home.

Description of Work
Replaced aluminum siding with vinyl siding; replaced all trim around windows and doors with vinyl trim; replaced window in the garage, garage door window and bulk-head door; also replaced aluminum shutters with new ones.

Category remodeling

5.0

06/28/2012


Elaine L.

Although my job was a small one, Wes Crawford fit me in on his way to another job. Since several coats needed to be done and allowed to dry in between, he'd arrive about 8:30 am each day, spend an hour and confirm time for the next day. He was punctual and and always cleaned up before he left.

Description of Work
Wes Crawford patched a few drywall seams for me. . He did an outstanding job and I would definitely recommend him to others.

Category drywall, remodeling

5.0

06/20/2012


Robert E.

Excellent overall experience. We were very pleased with the services.

Description of Work
Installation of a tile back splash.

Category plumbing

5.0

05/07/2012


Richard P.

Much of the story is in the section above. This was our first time, after over two decades in our home, that we were able to hire a contractor for some much-needed remodeling. Finding a contractor who was personable, responsible and skilled was a daunting task, but we lucked out with Wes. While we had some delays, none of them detracted from the job. Wes always kept us updated on what was going on and kept his promises. He works with Carboni Plumbing out of Franklin and Maynard Electric, so we have those resources at hand now as well. We learned a lot about what constitutes quality and durability vs a cheap quick fix. The last part of the story revolves around the toilet that we kept from the downstairs bathroom. We thought of it as new, or at least new-ish, but it was actually fourteen years old. When it went back in, it decided not to work properly. We had a time crunch, but Robin, who runs the showroom at Carboni, came through with a replacement. Wes has a good working team on hand, which is also an important factor when choosing a contractor. Much of the rest of our house is in need of future upgrading, so Wes has a standing invitation!

Description of Work
NOTE: The total $ spent also includes the price of fixtures purchased by us. While searching for a contractor to completely remodel both of our mid-century bathrooms, Wes Crawford came highly recommended by Leonard Patera from Hampton Remodeling as a contractor who takes jobs in our area (southeastern CT). We could see why right off the bat: Wes is courteous, organized, conscientious and a true craftsman. Estimates were thorough and detailed, and we had a good 'flow' of ideas. Our upstairs bath was first, starting in mid-January. On the first day, we had a few inches of snow on the ground. Wes arrived early and immediately shoveled out the area where the dumpster was going, even before coming to the door. The demo was fast and fascinating (there were crumpled pages in the walls from the New York Times dated September 21, 1958, which he saved for us to peruse!).Our toilet's orientation was shifted 90 degrees to a more practical angle, and an overly deep closet area was made into a smaller, more practical space. Electrical outlets were revamped, and an exhaust fan and electric heater were installed. Much of the wall was tile, with a running glass mosaic. The tile work was meticulously and beautifully executed. Most important was the attention to what went underneath: Wes is certified to install underlayments by Schluter (ever see the 'orange stuff' on "Holmes on Homes"?) that prevent moisture from seeping into the walls and floor. The project was finished during the first week of March (for the most part delays were with peripheral issues such as deciding to go with foam vs fiberglass insulation, inspections, etc.). The downstairs bath was begun in the second half of April, also a total gut with the exception of the toilet. This bathroom was original to the 1950 construction, complete with bumblebee-like yellow and black tile and no electrical outlet. It was built like a fortress, but it came down after much whacking with a sledgehammer. The existing window was removed and replaced with a higher one with textured glass. The walls around the new soaking tub and shower were replaced with Swanstone panels, and the rest of the area done in beadboard wainscoting and wallboard. The old door was replaced and stained. Once again, an exhaust fan was added, and a real outlet! The best part was a built-in cabinet that went in the wall opposite the sink. Wes had completed it at home and brought it in to be installed. He had framed it with the same trim that went around the door, and inlaid the middle of the doors with beadboard. It is a work of art.

Category handyman service, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

03/29/2012


Mary H.

Wes is a sweetheart. On time, great prices, and when he has a fellow working with him, the guy is just what we like - pleasent, trustworthy...and our dog LOVES them!

Description of Work
We were having a new-ish kitchen done (same lay-out, but new floor, stove, countertops, etc). Wes Crawford was involved in the cabinet refacing, and did a wonderful job. However; the really INCREDIBLE job he did was as follows:for 15 years, I've been collecting Polish Pottery (hand painted in Poland), and over the years have had several pieces break. I saved them, thinking I could do 'something' with them eventually. When we were discussing the backsplash, I thought it would be cool to have the pieces incorporated into the tile. I told Wes about the idea, and he took offf running with it - BEYOND our wildest hopes. Wes is an exteremely personable guy. He's incredibly good at every job he's done for us (6 and counting), but this backsplash showed what a talented artist he is, as well. The finished product is magnificent, and everyone who has seen it agrees. We have an older, less than well-made house, and Wes has bit by bit brought it to where it needs to be. After Wes did the first job for us, my husband and I agree: we'll use A&W contracting for ALL our needs. Go to Wes' website - I think there's a pic of this backsplash.

Category remodeling

5.0

01/26/2012


Josh F.

Wes was an exceptionally well qualified repairman, and went above and beyond what we expected for the repair. He was on time, courteous to the tenants living in the unit, and got his work done in the time scheduled. He kept me informed as he went, as well as providing documentation that was specific and granular in detail. I hesitater to add his name to the rolls of what is generally uninspiring roll call of general contractors in the area, because he is far and away the best of the lot. I will absolutely call him whenever there is work that needs to be done on my house.

Description of Work
Wes installed 2 new stair railings (ballisters and posts) replaced sheetrock in two bathrooms after electrical work had been done, sealed and caulked both bathroom fixtures, and installed new trim. (as well as other small repairs)

Category handyman service, remodeling, woodworking

    Other local Pros in your area

    A&V Remodel

    5 Years Of Experience. Servicing Eastern Connecticut. Our Mission Is To Be A Provider That Brings Back Personal Touches & Quality Work! We Build Lifelong Relationships With Our Clients. We Feel Invested With Our Clients & Strive For Customer Satisfaction!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Brennan Roofing and Contracting, LLC

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Offers by Brennan Roofing and Contracting, LLC on Angi
    Tetlow Builders LLC

    We are a full service contractor. From remodeling your kitchen, bath, or basement to adding on to your house we have all the necessary resources you need to get the job done correctly and in a timely fashion. There is no need to try to be your own general contractor. We will take the load off your shoulders. When we finish your project, all you will need is to move right in. We are licensed and insured, and have been in business since 2002, and still going strong. Super Service Award winner for 2016, 2015, 2014, and 2013. Please call us today to schedule your appointment - (860) 460-2088  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential remodeling, Carpentry, cabinet, trim, sunroom, decks, additions, windows and doors, siding, built-ins, bathrooms, kitchens, countertops, wood flooring, etc...

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A & W Carpentry

    How is A & W Carpentry overall rated?

    A & W Carpentry is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are A & W Carpentry open?

    A & W Carpentry is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does A & W Carpentry provide

    A & W Carpentry accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does A & W Carpentry offer free estimates?

    Yes, A & W Carpentry offers free project estimates.

    Does A & W Carpentry offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, A & W Carpentry offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A & W Carpentry offer a senior discount?

    No, A & W Carpentry does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by A & W Carpentry?

    Yes, A & W Carpentry offers warranties.

    What services does A & W Carpentry offer?

    A & W Carpentry offers the following services: Residential remodeling, Carpentry, cabinet, trim, sunroom, decks, additions, windows and doors, siding, built-ins, bathrooms, kitchens, countertops, wood flooring, etc...