Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Birch Hill Landscape & Design LLC

Founded 1993 • With Angi since September 2007

4.6

(23) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

700 N Mountain Rd

Newington, CT 06111

Description

Birch Hill Landscape & Design, LLC is a family run, woman owned, business in operation in the Central Connecticut area for over 30 years. You may have seen our fire engine red work vehicles around West Hartford, Newington, Farmington and the rest of the Greater Hartford region. Frank and his

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/14/2017


Justin M.

Couldn’t have been more pleased. Bill came out to assess the job and provided a timely estimate and comprehensive plan. He thoroughly explained everything and made sure to disclose the time frame for project commencement. Once the excavation began, the workers arrived on time and put forth extreme effort and care. From the beginning, it was quite evident that the job was even more involved than originally planned. However, at no time did I hear about it - I merely observed the arduous task on a day by day basis. In addition, the amount of decorative rock installed was rather obscene, given the slope and area to be covered. Nonetheless, the plants and the rock were carefully placed according to plan. Also - in any large job, there will always be unanticipated obstacles and unforeseen hurdles. The true mark of a great business is how it handles these situations and accommodates its customers. In this case, Birch Hill went above and beyond and will absolutely receive my future business - and most likely, that of my neighbors.

Description of Work
Considerable excavation of stumps, roots, grass and debris on a steep slope, preparation of area, installation of rock and numerous plants.

Category landscaping

1.0

10/03/2017


Cammi O.

`1. AVOID this place as they are complacent, inflexible, arrogant, stuck in the past trying to operate in modern times. Short staffed. 2. I had suggested they change their process as no one in this era of email and IPAD technology should wait up to 2 weeks to receive a price quote. The owner went on to complain that their estimator is overworked + doesn't have time to crank out price quotes. When I offered advise + told them that their competitors are eager, willing and WANT my business, their reply was basically that they don't need the business ! (" we work with our competitors") . i don't want to work with establishments who don't have a competitive edge + don't court their prosective clients.

Description of Work
1. NO WORK DONE b/c : Price quote took too long ( Up to 2 weeks ), Overworked estimator( Short staffed) and, The owner refused to quote after I suggested they get they improve their process.

Category landscaping

2.0

08/15/2017


Tracey M.

Here's what you can expect from Birch Hill. This is a small family operation, so if ANYONE takes the day off, they have to cancel on you, at the last minute, which happens FREQUENTLY. The daughter, who answers the phone, has a poor attitude, so that's not fun. I would suggest that you provide actual pictures and names of trees and plants that you want, because using descriptive words will not get your message across. Be aware: There is a BIG difference in the quality of trees and plants they offer. Initially, I got small, scrawny trees that died. After I pitched a fit, those were replaced with larger, healthier trees that lived. I would have preferred not to pitch a fit, but unfortunately, that seems to be what they respond to. I saved up for a year to be able to afford landscape design, and I am sorry I chose Birch Hill. Ultimately, they finished the job and replaced dead trees according to their warranty, but it took 15 months from start to finish and caused me a lot of stress. Also, although they say they are "woman owned," I saw no evidence of this and, as a woman, I felt like I was condescended to.

Description of Work
Over $11,000 of outside plantings

Category landscaping

5.0

08/09/2017


Ingrid D.

They just completed the work and exceeded my expectations. We prune, remove some bushes, mulch everything, cut a tree. They cleaned up the entire front and back yard. They ended working 2 and half days and my landscaping look great!

Description of Work
I got a quote and we schedule the work. They did a front and back landscape renovation.

Category landscaping, lawn service, tree service

5.0

06/27/2017


Elizabeth R.

We were very pleased with the results of our new landscaping. It looks lovely and the staff was professional, respectful and thorough.

Description of Work
We recently moved to a condominium where the grounds had been neglected for years. Birch Hill planned and installed our new landscape. They listened to our request for low maintenance plants and were open to our suggestions. They installed cobblestone along a walkway and along the driveway and it turned out beautifully. They also installed an automatic drip watering system for our pots and planters. Initially their solution to watering the pots was not successful but they resolved the problem and created another type of system which works very well.

Category landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping

5.0

12/06/2016


Rick S.

I've been working with Birch Hill for over 5 years (since my wife and I moved to CT). They're fairly priced (based on quotes for the same services from several other vendors in the area) do a great job. There have been a couple instances where keeping me informed of services completed and/or yet to be performed would be helpful. I've had to follow up once or twice thinking my lawn had been skipped or the fall cleanup was done even though only half the leaves had fallen. However, once I followed up they were prompt in responding and taking care of things. In addition to the weekly maintence and cleanups, Birch Hill also planted a large number of arborvitae and Cleveland pear trees on my property. They've grown very well and look beautiful. They also installed 15-20 shrubs in my backyard and were great about replacing a few shrubs/trees at no charge if they didn't make it through the first winter.

Description of Work
Spring cleanup, weekly mowing, pruning, mulching, fall cleanup

Category landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping

5.0

08/01/2016


marlee M.

Great, my yard looked fantastic when they were done.

Description of Work
Spring clean up

Category lawn service

5.0

07/21/2016


Michael D.

Description of Work
Did a great job.

Category landscaping

5.0

12/15/2015


Gene E.

Description of Work
Autumn cleanup

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

10/29/2015


Jose S.

Description of Work
Birch Hill Landscape designed and beautiful plan for our new home that desperately needed grass, landscaping and fencing. Bill from Birch Hill visited our home several times and designed a plan. The team was very professional and diligent to create a beautiful landscape that has been enjoyed by the entire neighborhood. We are very happy and will add more to the design in the Spring. We highly recommend Birch Hill.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

08/23/2015


Claire S.

Birch Hill was quick to respond despite it being busy season. They were able to provide the services sooner than they had first anticipated. They called ahead to let me know when they would be coming.

Description of Work
Planted 3 arborvitaes

Category landscaping, tree service

5.0

07/29/2015


Robert O.

.

Description of Work
.

Category lawn service

3.0

07/22/2015


LISA M.

.

Description of Work
Snow removal. Not done in a timely manner and price was high.

Category snow removal

Service Provider Response

I apologize for not meeting your expectations for snow removal services for your home. We have many customers and you have to start somewhere and end somewhere. We did although try our best to satisfy you as a customer and I apologize for our business relationship not working out.
5.0

07/22/2015


marlee M.

Description of Work
Trimmed bushes and weeded yard that had gotten out of control. Removed a truck load of brush and put down a truck load of mulch. Yard looks great. It took two men two and a half days of hard work. Very pleased with price and quality.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

We are very glad to hear you are pleased with the work that was done at your home! Thank you!!
5.0

07/21/2015


Elizabeth B.

Perfectly

Description of Work
Cut the lawn weekly

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

[Member's name removed] Thank you for the positive review on lawn mowing services for your home!
5.0

02/12/2015


Rosemarie S.

It goes good. We have been using them for 3 years. Their prices are reasonable. When I wasn't happy with something, they would come and fix it. They are very responsive. They are pretty prompt. They communicate well.

Description of Work
He checks all of the shrubs and winterizes them.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed]- Thank you so much for the positive review! It has been a pleasure working with you for the past three years!
5.0

09/10/2014


Ali G.

Description of Work
excellent!

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to install a back patio and front landscaping! It was a pleasure to help with curb appeal for your home and to enhance the backyard!
5.0

09/10/2014


Elizabeth B.

Description of Work
Very professional and attentive

Category landscaping

2.0

06/27/2014


Mark D.

.

Description of Work
This company installed a drainage system that did not work. Up[on several complaints, they made some minor changes and then stopped returning my phone calls. In 2013, I wound up spending another 3,000 dollars for another company to do it right. Buirch Hill (the first company) used incorrect piping that was so inferior that it was crumpled when my new contracted used the proper green pipe. Birch Hill used some cheap accordion pipe that did not hold up. I would NOT use these people again. Frank comes across as very friendly, but he does not back up his work. A grade F.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems

Service Provider Response

The drainage work that was completed at your home was done in 2009. We do have pictures of our installation to back up that we did indeed install the drainage correctly. I apologize that you were not satisfied with our company but we do back up our work 100%. We do not recall you calling us to fix the installation years later and we apologize that you had to re-do it.
4.0

06/11/2014


Michael T.

Contractor was very busy so it was hard to pin down a date for installation with him. Estimate was done in a very timely manner. Staff were friendly

Description of Work
Planted trees for a hedge; planted a small tree and built a raised garden bed. All work done in a timely manner

Category landscaping

5.0

08/26/2013


Rick S.

Looks beautiful. I got a few proposals and just like my first time, Birch Hill was the most competitive. They were timely and informative in explaining exactly what they were doing to the property.

Description of Work
Planted 11 Arborvitae, two Cleveland Pear Trees, 3 Mountain Laurel, 6 Andromeda, and 6 Rhododendron.

Category landscaping

5.0

08/19/2013


Rosemarie S.

The landscaping was a HUGE project that we thought about doing for months, while interviewing lots of different landscape companies. The BHL & D estimate was not the lowest, nor was it the highest, but we strongly felt it was a very fair price for the beautiful job that was done. All the work was completed, as expected, and there were no hidden costs or surprises! Your dad was fun to work with too, and he was very patient while we took our time to finalize the plan. The landscape artist was also a pleasure to work with, and, together, they came up with a beautiful design! From day one, to the end of the project, the crew was awesome! They arrived on time; were very courteous and friendly, and truly appeared invested in doing the best work possible. Despite some grueling hot days, they just kept on working, as hard as ever! They were also open to my questions and, quickly responded to, and resolved, any concern I may have had! It was truly a joy to work with such a professional, dedicated team. Many neighbors have stopped by to tell us how beautiful the house looks. My next door neighbor, in particular, made it a point to visit me to say how very impressed she was with the professionalism and work ethic of the crew, as well as the wonderful work they did. There are lots of companies out there, but, for all my family and friends, I would whole heartedly recommend they use Birch Hill Landscape & Design for all their landscape needs! it was truly a pleasure working with them!

Description of Work
Pulled out old shrubs, installed new ones, finished off with landscape stone and granite edging around all the shrubs and trees.

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

5.0

09/06/2007


MARGARET S.

They are a little expensive but they are right on top of everything. They do simply wonderful work. The pond is just absolutely beautiful. I may have had a little extra landscaping done at this time as well but everything is beautiful. I think they are really professional and I am very pleased with all of their work.

Description of Work
I had a pond put in my backyard by Birch Hill.

Category landscaping, tree service, hardscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    3D Masonry LLC

    We are two generation masons who specialize in European Style Masonry. With over 13+ years of experience I am confident in getting your jobs done right. Please call us today for a free estimate!  

    DH & K Construction LLC

    15 years in the business. Free estimate. Customer satisfaction is our priority.  

    Offers by DH & K Construction LLC on Angi
    Chaput Natural Stone & Pavers LLC

    " At Chaput Natural Stone & Pavers LLC, our team strives to deliver a superior product to each project. We constantly focus on the finer custom detail and set ourselves apart from any others in the field. We enjoy what we do and warranty our work from the ground up. A vast majority of projects undertaken are through recommendation by previous clients. We will work closely with you to turn your investment and vision into a reality. You can have the peace of mind knowing that we are licensed, insured and a member of ICPI"  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial trees & shrub installation, mulch, seeding, sodding, erosion control, lawn maintenance, spring & fall clean-up, pruning, water features, hedge trimming & seasonal pruning, landscape design & digital imaging, ponds, poolscapes, interlocking pavers, walks & patios, stones, hydro-seeding, cobblestone, wetland planting & seeding, snow plowing & tree and shrub installation.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Birch Hill Landscape & Design LLC

    How is Birch Hill Landscape & Design LLC overall rated?

    Birch Hill Landscape & Design LLC is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Birch Hill Landscape & Design LLC open?

    Birch Hill Landscape & Design LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Birch Hill Landscape & Design LLC provide

    Birch Hill Landscape & Design LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Birch Hill Landscape & Design LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Birch Hill Landscape & Design LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Birch Hill Landscape & Design LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Birch Hill Landscape & Design LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Birch Hill Landscape & Design LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, Birch Hill Landscape & Design LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Birch Hill Landscape & Design LLC?

    Yes, Birch Hill Landscape & Design LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Birch Hill Landscape & Design LLC offer?

    Birch Hill Landscape & Design LLC offers the following services: Residential and commercial trees & shrub installation, mulch, seeding, sodding, erosion control, lawn maintenance, spring & fall clean-up, pruning, water features, hedge trimming & seasonal pruning, landscape design & digital imaging, ponds, poolscapes, interlocking pavers, walks & patios, stones, hydro-seeding, cobblestone, wetland planting & seeding, snow plowing & tree and shrub installation.