Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AA-MSA, Inc Inspection & Environmental Testing

Founded 1973 • With Angi since June 2011

3.9

(14) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1399 State St Suite 6

New Haven, CT 06511

Description

ASHI Certified, Licensed (CT License #-39) to do residential & commercial inspections. Phase I Environmental Site Assessor, Lead-paint & Asbestos Inspectors, Mold, Air, Radon, Soil, Water testing & Termite inspection....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/10/2021


Besim K.

AA-MS did a home inspection for a home my Fiancee and I were looking to purchase. They were on time, very thorough and made sure we were provided with the best service. I rate it a 10/10, if you need a home inspector these guys should be a first call.

Description of Work
Home Inspection

Category home inspection

4.0

09/08/2021


Dominic R.

It went really well it just that at the end. We found out there was a pool but they closed it up. And the tile floor there a little crack.

Description of Work
Home inspection

Category contractors, home inspection

5.0

08/24/2021


Michael B.

OMG! John was the absolute BEST!! He arrived early ("if you're early you're on time, if you're on time, you're late".), he was professional, and so thorough! John addressed every nook and cranny of the home we are looking at purchasing. He told us what would need to be addressed in order of importance, and we had his comprehensive report when we woke up the next morning!! John explained things to us clearly, as he inspected the home, pointed things out to us so we would know what he was referring to, and so there were no "surprises" in the report. John didn't just do the inspection, and send us a report, he made sure we understood what the concerns were and how concerning they were. I can not say enough about John and AA-MSA. We were able to schedule quickly, and the price was reasonable. I will definitely be recommending him to others, and will look to have him inspect any projects we so at our new home!

Description of Work
Home Inspection

Category home inspection, radon testing

3.0

10/19/2020


Caroline T.

The initial visit was fine. The company never came back to pick up the RADON test which they were supposed to retrieve and mail in for results was never retrieved. Called several times to try and remedy this failure to complete service; I am still waiting. I received report in a timely manner but sent questions via email and they were never answered. Overall not I am not a happy customer. Would not recommend plenty of options go somewhere else.

Description of Work
Home inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

09/23/2020


Erika F.

Excellent services

Description of Work
Home inspection

Category home inspection, asbestos removal

2.0

08/27/2020


Wahid H.

I am writing this review 8 months after my home was inspected by AA MSA. I have come to find out that my chimney is severely worn and needs to be replaced. If this was a small matter or something that one would normally expect an inspector to catch I would let it go. I have asked two masons to come take a look at the chimney to make sure I get more than one opinion on this matter. The chimney definitely needs to be replaced. I strongly discourage anyone from hiring AA MSA for their home inspection as there is no use for shelling out hundreds of dollars for incompetence.

Description of Work
Home inspection

Category home inspection

4.0

06/29/2020


Noah G.

While he was late, he was very thorough with the work.

Description of Work
Home inspection.

Category home inspection

1.0

05/31/2020


Hugh H.

I've bought and sold six houses in the past twenty years. I can't speak to the quality of the inspection yet as that often takes some time to shake out, but I can say that I've never had a worse experience with an inspector. I called him to let him know that he had missed the HVAC comments in the detailed report and I got the defensive answer "the realtors only look at the summary". When I told him I would like it in the detailed part of the report he told me to email him with that request and he would deal with it on Tuesday when he got back to the office. I never got it. I then emailed him that we had access to the property the following Thursday to pick up the radon test, giving him 48 hours of notice. He replied two days later saying that would not work for him. Additionally, he said the septic inspection was free and on the day of the service he said he could not do it because no one was there to open the cover to the tank. I asked him who was supposed to open the cover to which he responded 'they' should do it. I asked who 'they' was and got no answer. I ended up hiring a separate company at almost half the cost of Joe's inspection to get the septic done. There was access to the attic during the inspection but Joe did not even take a look at it. I also asked him via email what the foundation of the roof was and three days later he replied that he did not know. Just to demonstrate to how objectionable this man is, I witnessed all the traffic on the street grind to a halt with horns blaring when Joe came by to pick up the radon test because he missed the turn and was backing up in on the main road, forcing the other people behind him to also back up. If that doesn't say it all I don't know what does. The icing on the cake is the hammering you get with the constant upsell of all his other services. Total jack of all trades and master of god only knows what. Do yourself a favor and find another company.

Description of Work
Full home inspection for the purchase of my new home.

Category home inspection, radon testing

5.0

03/22/2020


Batreece J.

Amazing Experience! Thank you for you service. I'd recommend you in a heart beat.

Description of Work
Home Inspection

Category home inspection, radon testing, mold removal

1.0

10/02/2019


Kelsey H.

They were terrible. They checked one outlet, 2 windows, left the heat on at 90, came unprepared with equipment that had dead batteries and didn’t go on the roof. When I asked for details they ignored my questions. See my review on yelp or thumbtack. Pay a little more and go with someone who will actually fully inspect the house, not just parts of it.

Description of Work
A full house inspection, including, roof, appliances, outlets, windows, attic and crawl spaces.

Category home inspection

5.0

12/20/2018


walter S.

Joe was quick to respond, and provided a very thorough home inspection. He walked us through every aspect of concern and provided detail that we could understand. The process provided us peace of mind. I would use him again, and recommend him to anyone who needs a quality inspection.

Description of Work
Home Inspection

Category home inspection, radon testing, lead paint removal

5.0

09/11/2018


Elaina C.

First and foremost buying a home is overwhelming to say the least. Also, once you find the right one you want to make sure it's as amazing as it appears to be! My experience with Joe Raffone as our home inspector we were beyond pleased! He is easy to reach and accommodating for appointment times to coordinate with realtors which is a job all in itself! Once we met he put the fears of our home inspection at ease immedietly! He got right to work and starting evaluating and inspecting every square inch of the home. He will address any issues or concerns you may have and is very knowledgeable and professional. Once his work is done he will talk to you in great detail in what to expect on his report and issues that need to be addressed. He will even explain things several times until you understand completely and feel comfortable. The whole inspection is much more detailed and thorough than I would have expected. His report is very prompt and extremely detailed!! He is just a phone call away and will answer any questions you may have on his report. Overall, we could not have been more pleased with Joe Raffone as our home inspector. Buying a home is a large investment and you need that peace of mind that you are aware of what you are getting into. He helped us with several inspections until we found just the right home and he never let us down!!! We since have told family and friends that have used him and they too have had amazing experiences! Like I said his job performance in my opinion deserves an A++++++++

Description of Work
Home Inspection

Category home inspection, radon testing, septic tank, wells, mold removal, lead paint removal

5.0

08/25/2018


Staci P.

We are a young couple buying our first home and did not have any knowledge with home inspectors. We decided to not use the realtors inspector (way over priced) and shop around for prices and more information. I started with Yelp and call around for quotes. Right from the start Joe the owner was very professional and answered all of my questions thoroughly. He walked me through the whole process of what is needed for inspection and what he recommends to be done as well. The home we were purchasing also need a septic and well inspection. I told him I was shopping around for prices and he told me that he would garrantee to beat the lowest price...and sure enough he did! He told me about himself and what he is certified in. He met all of our needs for the inspection, making us feel very comfortable with our decision. Inspection day. He went through the entire home and combed out every detail. While he was going through the home he expained all the issues in the home and sevarity. In the inspection letter he thoroughly explained the issues with the home and the cost of each repair. We again were very confident with our decision. There were issues with the home, that we took in to consideration with the inspection. But the one problem in particular was an active leak in the roof. The sellers ended up not fixing the roof and we backed out of the deal. Seeing this was our first home, we had alot of confusion and Joe was always a phone call away to answer all the questions we had...even after the inspection was done. He also said if the sellers and reators had any questions about the inspection to contact him. He was great. So we are back to house hunting!! But when we find our next dream home and need an inspector, Joe will be on speed dial. I would recommend Joe to all of my friends and family!!

Description of Work
Home Inspection

Category home inspection, radon testing, septic tank, water damage restoration, asbestos removal, mold removal, lead paint removal

5.0

08/07/2018


Jessica B.

Fine, very quick.

Description of Work
They did a home inspection before I brought my house

Category home inspection

    Other local Pros in your area

    E. Garrity Water Solutions, LLC.

    E. Garrity Water Solutions, LLC. is a family owned and operated business. We take pride in are work and use the highest quality products. We offer 24 hour service, 365 days a year. We provide 0% financing to qualified buyers.  

    C & J Pumps, LLC

    Family owned and operated since 1994.Free Estimates.Great Service for Fair price.10% discount with mention of ad. 24 hour emergency service  

    J Corrigan LLC

    No Jobs too big or small. All work is performed by professionals. Preparation is key to a good job done.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    39
    Trade License Locale
    Connecticut
    Trade License Authority
    Res, Comm, Phase I, HUD-FHA 203k, VA, EPA, RRP, OSHA, Lead, Asbestos, Mold, Septic, Radon, Water, Soil, Air, Inspection
    Trade License Expiration
    06/30/2019
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Building Inspection: Res/Comm, Structural, Mechanical, Phase I Environmental Site Assessment, HUD/FHA 203k, VA, FNMA, CHFA, Lead, Asbestos, Mold, Air, Radon, Soil, Water, Termite,

    Services Not Offered

    There are no exclusions

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about AA-MSA, Inc Inspection & Environmental Testing

    How is AA-MSA, Inc Inspection & Environmental Testing overall rated?

    AA-MSA, Inc Inspection & Environmental Testing is currently rated 3.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are AA-MSA, Inc Inspection & Environmental Testing open?

    AA-MSA, Inc Inspection & Environmental Testing is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does AA-MSA, Inc Inspection & Environmental Testing provide

    AA-MSA, Inc Inspection & Environmental Testing accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does AA-MSA, Inc Inspection & Environmental Testing offer free estimates?

    Yes, AA-MSA, Inc Inspection & Environmental Testing offers free project estimates.

    Does AA-MSA, Inc Inspection & Environmental Testing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, AA-MSA, Inc Inspection & Environmental Testing offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does AA-MSA, Inc Inspection & Environmental Testing offer a senior discount?

    Yes, AA-MSA, Inc Inspection & Environmental Testing offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does AA-MSA, Inc Inspection & Environmental Testing offer emergency services?

    Yes, AA-MSA, Inc Inspection & Environmental Testing offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by AA-MSA, Inc Inspection & Environmental Testing?

    Yes, AA-MSA, Inc Inspection & Environmental Testing offers warranties.

    What services does AA-MSA, Inc Inspection & Environmental Testing offer?

    AA-MSA, Inc Inspection & Environmental Testing offers the following services: Building Inspection: Res/Comm, Structural, Mechanical, Phase I Environmental Site Assessment, HUD/FHA 203k, VA, FNMA, CHFA, Lead, Asbestos, Mold, Air, Radon, Soil, Water, Termite,

    Are there any services AA-MSA, Inc Inspection & Environmental Testing does not offer?

    There are no exclusions