Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

House Doctors LLC

Founded 1992 • With Angi since July 2010

4.2

(19) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 1777

New Britain, CT 06050

Description

We are your one stop home improvement contractor.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

10/01/2011


G H.

It went well. It took longer than they estimated and it ended up costing me more which we already discussed but otherwise the work was good. They were very professionally and they did a high quality job for me. I am not sure if I would use them again in the future.

Description of Work
I used the services of House Doctors LLC a month ago for some handyman work.

Category handyman service

1.0

09/12/2011


Wendy S.

He was doing a lousy job on the floors so I hired someone else to do it and I told him that I would have him come back as soon as that was finished. He returned the wood that I put on my charge card and took the money, and then he stopped returning my calls. I haven’t been able to reach him since and I plan on taking him to small claims court. He gave me a $3,000 estimate but when he found out insurance would be covering it, it hiked up to $10,000. They were very responsive in the beginning but not at the end. Things started well but then it went all to heck.

Description of Work
House Doctors was doing a lot of work on our home. He was repairing the roof, repairing some sheetrock, taking care of some mold, and replacing the hardwood floor.

Category drywall, handyman service, hardwood floor, roofing, mold removal

2.0

07/12/2011


Linda S.

They were good with the painting, but had a problem with the flooring. There was no electricity for a part of the day and hence, they had swept the floor and not vacuumed it. A few days later we found dust in parts of the floor and I called him to come and check the same. I called him several times and he never received my calls; as he had all my numbers. I then blocked my number and called him and he received the call, after which he advised that he will come over to visit the same. It‘s been over 2 weeks and he has never turned up. I paid him in full, in good faith and this is what I get. I will never use their services in future.

Description of Work
I used the services of House Doctors LLC for interior and exterior painting; pressure washing and hardwood flooring, on 12 June, 2011.

Category hardwood floor, pressure washing, house painters, interior painters

1.0

07/03/2011


Natalie K.

I initially called on Thursday, June 23rd and left a message. No return call was made by late Friday afternoon, so I called once again and Nick answered the phone this time. I asked if he did rotted window sill replacement....he said "yes" and proceed to briefly explain how it would be done and how much he charged depending on addtl damage to framing. I also needed our deck looked over for damaged board replacement, and possible water damage in an upstairs room. He said an estimate could be done, but the work wouldn't start for up to 2 wks. At that time he asked for my information (name, number and address) to return my call when he returned to his calendar which he didn't have with him being on the road. He didn't call over the weekend and I was unable to reach him. After many failed attempts on Monday he finally answered my call and agreed to setting up an estimate on the work that week in the early evening. I was asked to call my husband to confirm the day and time and return his call with that information. He didn't answer the phone when I called, so I left a message. No return call on Tuesday, June 28th, and no answer when I called so I e-mailed requesting a response and confirmation to an appointment being made. My husband then called Wednesday during business hours and Nick answered. Nick told my husband he didn't remember talking to me (that he must have forgotten to write it down), but he would come to do the estimate for the work on Thursday evening at 6pm. Thursday came and no Nick or phone call by 6:30, so we called him, no answer and mailbox full!! Now I don't know about anyone else, but we just expected common courtesy and/or the truth if someone is really unavailable. This is not the way to run a business and expect clients to come back.

Description of Work
No services were performed. There was an appointment scheduled for an estimate on work to be done. NO CALL and NO SHOW! As well as no way to contact company, because mailbox was full and not accepting calls.

Category decks, handyman service, replacement windows, woodworking

5.0

05/25/2011


Marilyn F.

I contacted Nick and he was at my house within a few hours to provide me with an estimate. He was courteous and explained the entire process to me. We agreed on a date and when the weather didn't cooperate, he called to reschedule. They came on time, and were courteous and cleaned-up--to the point that they even washed the driveway down because the powder that they use when reglazing made footprints. I will definitely use Nick and his crew again.

Description of Work
My home is about 50 years old and the windows were in dire need of re-glazing. The caulking was peeling and flaking and I was afraid that the window panes become loose and break. I was also probably losing heat through the cracks. Nick and his crew removed the cracked caulking and then re-glazed the windows. Then they painted the wood and glazing with Quick Dry oil primer, then they put 2 coats of A-100 exterior paint for the finish. Then they cleaned the windowsills and washed the exterior windows.

Category handyman service, window cleaning, replacement windows, house painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review, I hope we can do more business again, you were a pleasure to do work for!!
4.0

05/13/2011


Adam A.

The services performed achieved the desired goals of the project.

Description of Work
A Cost Estimate Analysis and Work Sheet Repair List was generated by the House Doctors LLC. The job (free estimate) consistend of a total walk through and inspection of the house for the purpose of determining the total repair costs needed to put the single family home into marketable and rentable condition and then engage in work service to perform the actual repair work.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking out the time to review us, I hope we helped with your cost evaluation, I look forward to working for you!
5.0

05/13/2011


Alison V.

We called Nick to replace 4 rotted shutters and roof flashing, paint siding, seal the gaskets on our sunroom and recoat the entire sunroom roof. I've hired him to install electric heat in our sunroom as well. We called for an appointment last week and he came out the following Monday evening to look and gave us an estimate right there and told us he could come out by the end of the week to do the work. He needed to special order the shutters so he notified me as soon as he knew the price. He took care that it wouldn't rain for several days so the paint on the shutters would have time to properly cure (he actually came on Thursday as opposed to Friday due to the cure time). At the end of the day, besides the exceptional work performed, you couldn't even tell someone had been out because they cleaned up everything! I've already recommended Nick to someone I work with ; I'm only sorry I didn't call him sooner (I had 3 other guys come out earlier in the Spring with no response back--even after phone calls and emails). Nick will be back to install electric heat in our sunroom in a few weeks and we plan to hire him next year to paint the house. I can't go on enough. I highly recommend House Doctors, LLC! Thanks to Nick and his team!

Description of Work
Nick removed 4 rotted shutters, special ordered the replacements so they would match, matched the paint exactly and coated the new shutters with 3 coats of paint. Replaced the flashing over our front porch and seven panels of cedar siding over the front porch. Painted the high peak on our roof. Cleaned the sunroom roof and resealed the gaskets and recoated the roof.

Category decks, handyman service, roofing, siding, house painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for hiring us for your projects, we pride ourselves on being clean, I look forward to working for you in the future. Thanks again!
5.0

05/11/2011


Beth I.

Very fast from first call to clean-up. Professional, courteous and justifiably proud of their work. Protected everything and cleaned up everything afterwards. Very pleased. UPDATE 7/6/11: Based on the work that was done for me eariler, I heartily recommended them to another person. This has turned out to be an embarrassing situation as I have been getting updates from the person who contracted with HouseDoctors based on my recommendation. It is apparent that they committed to a project that is simply too much for them. They did electrical work that, according to an electrician who has since been called in, posed a danger to the residence. Tiles that were installed are cracked. And now, they have stopped work completely, mid-project, with no calls and a full voice-mail box. It is a shame, because Nick and his sons (I think that is the relationship) are nice people, but Nick seems to be very different than he was when he did my work.

Description of Work
Nick & Co. repaired a ceiling damaged by water leakage and caulked a couple of external areas. Scraped and repainted a popcorn ceiling.

Category handyman service, water damage restoration, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great report, hope we can do business with you again!
5.0

05/09/2011


Lisha N.

Nick and his crew were very nice and eager to please. He gave me a quote immediately and started the work within the week. They were very helpful and patient while we chose a color. They taped/covered the windows and doors and stained the house and painted the trim white. Nick replaced some wood that was rotted. He made sure I inspected and that I was happy with the work. They were neat and clean and made sure everything was picked up and any oops paint/stain were removed from driveway/patio/walkways. The house, shed and fence look beautiful and we are very happy with the work. Thanks Nick, Justin, Nate and Joe!

Description of Work
Power washing the house, shed and fence. Staining the house and shed and repair wood damage. Installed new light fixture.

Category handyman service, lighting, pressure washing, woodworking, house painters

Service Provider Response

Member, I was a pleasure working for you, I hope you will use us on your next home improvement. Thanks again!
5.0

03/28/2011


Ben T.

We had a problem where ice was building up in our gutters and causing water to leak into the house. We had tried just having the snow removed off the roof, but it wasn't sufficient. So I looked these guys up on Angie's List and gave them a call. And even though it was late in the day and they told me that they had just come from the town I lived in, they came anyways. They got to work right away and started getting rid of the ice quickly. And when the sun went down, instead of quitting for the day, they turned the headlights on their truck on and kept going. There was 8 inches of ice up there and they got rid of it in just a few hours. They even suggested that we contact our insurance company, which we did, and were then reimbursed for their work and given money to fix the roof when it got warmer. And we'll probably use them to do that.

Description of Work
They removed the snow and ice from our gutters.

Category roof snow removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the great review, I hope we can do business with you again!
2.0

03/28/2011


linda D.

At first I was impressed because he was punctual. I needed repairs done on damage to my. home. He called me continuously to ask if I had received the check from the insurance company yet. He never ended up giving me an estimate, which was not free as he advertises, and even accused me of trying to make money off of it. He was also very discouraging regarding using American Express. He does accept it but doesn't really want to take it. I did not give him the job.

Description of Work
I wanted to get an estimate on repairs due to ice damage. Bowing and cracking in ceilings.

Category drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service, remodeling, woodworking, interior painters

Service Provider Response

I Do insurance jobs all the time and work with the insurance adjusters, this lady is OBVIOUSLY trying to make money off of her insurance company, this is why our insurance rates keep climbing. I don't do shady deals, and never asked if any checks came, asked for the quote from her adjuster with all the info and what her insurance company wanted done for repairs.
5.0

03/03/2011


Deborah G.

Overall it went great. They came on Monday as discussed and completed the work 2 days early. Nick kept me informed along the way. When I returned home on the final day, the area they had worked in was entirely cleaned up. dusted, floors cleaned, etc. and all the furniture was put back just as they had found it. I will absolutely use House Doctors again.

Description of Work
My house had damage from ice dams. The services performed were scraping of paint that had bubbled and peeled. Retaping, sanding and repainting various areas. Repairing multiple stains on ceiling, then scraping and repainting family room and kitchen ceilings.

Category handyman service, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for hiring us and being a great customer. Hope to do business again, thanks for the referrals.
4.0

02/16/2011


Lori S.

Called the morning that I first noticed leaking. The owner came at 3pm with two guys and they were able to clear the ice and snow within 2 hours from one portion of the roof that I thought was the problem. The owner was honest in telling me I may not actually be solving the problem with the lower roof and should really do the whole house. He could come back Sunday but I needed to book him with an $800 non-refundable deposit in order to guarantee I could be on his schedule. I did schedule him to come back and he was right, the leaking got worse and started in another area of the house as well. He came with 3 men on Sunday. They arrived about 9:30 and worked hard for about 6 hours until all gutters were cleared of ice and the ice and snow was removed from about the lower 3ft of roof edge. The owner was helpful as far as offering his services to come back and quote on the interior work and renovation. The end result is we have not seen any additional leaking since the job was completed.

Description of Work
removed ice from gutters and about 3ft from edge of roof. cleared snow/ice off sunroom roof and around 3 skylights. Cleaned walkways when they were finished and invited my husband to walk around the property to ask any questions and make sure he was satisfied with the job.

Category roof snow removal

Service Provider Response

Thanks for leaving a great response, I hope we can do business again.
5.0

02/10/2011


Karen P.

The owner, Nick, was very responsive to my call. He came to my home within two hours to assess the situation and quoted a price of $1,400, which I accepted. He didn't have tall enough ladders with him for the job and said he would return the next day, which he did. He and his crew did an excellent job removing the snow and ice on a rather steep roof. I thought that $1,400 was rather pricy for what amounted to about one third of my roof where I thought most of my potential problems would be, but they did do an excellent job, and Nick was very professional!

Description of Work
I had snow and ice removed from part of my roof and gutters (about 1/3 of a rather large, very sloped roof)

Category roof snow removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you for a good review, we are working hard to build a great company, hope you will call us again on your next project!
5.0

02/10/2011


Deborah G.

It went great. I discovered the leak and looked on angies list to find someone who removed ice. Many will do snow removal, but not all will do ice. I called House doctors and left a message. My call was returned within a few hours. Nick and his team had been out plowing as it was during and ice/snow storm. They were able to come out within a couple of hours and spent the entire day up on ladders removing the ice...which is not an easy job nor a safe job. I have a very high roof in spots, but they did not have a problem getting up there. I had very bad ice dams and it took them almost an entire day, working til dark to remove it all. They also helped to clear some of the big chunks of ice off of my deck as well. I would highly recommend them. They were all very nice and professional.

Description of Work
My house was badly leaking from multiple ice dams, into my house and down into my basement. I needed to have the ice dams removed. The service performed was removing snow and ice from all my gutters.

Category roof snow removal

4.0

02/09/2011


Marlene D.

On a Friday (from Boston, MA) I called several companies to remove ice and snow from my elderly father’s CT home. I called House Doctors after seeing the company and a review on Angie’s List. The company’ owner Nick called me back the same night and stated that he was able to visit my father’s property the following day. In our conversation, Nick explained how his company does business (e.g. safety is primary, care is taken in removing ice and snow from the home, the use of more than one worker, method of payment, etc). An estimate could not be given at this time without seeing the property. The following day Nick arrived at the property, called me and informed me of the situation. Pictures were sent to my phone for me to see the tremendous amount of snow and ice on my dad’s house (as I live out of state). With the senior citizen’s discount, I was quoted $1,800. In order to start work on the house, payment was required to start the job. The option to pay via credit card was not available and ultimately, I had to ask a relative to deliver an initial payment in person to Nick until I could pay the remainder via bank account to bank account. This arrangement was made after I had two unsuccessful attempts at delivering payment via Western Union and missed Saturday banking hours. Payment in this manner is something that is not the norm but Nick took me at my word and he was paid. A report was written for my dad so that he could submit it to his insurance company and additional pictures were emailed to me to submit along with the report.

Description of Work
Removal of ice and snow from the roof and ice dams from the gutters and side of house.

Category roof snow removal

1.0

02/08/2011


Jeff S.

We called this company based upon the Angies' List "A" rating. They called right back and after we talked about my roof they said that due to the amount of snow and slope of the roof (we have a small cape) they said ok they'd do it for a (what I beleive) was a very high price. I balked at the high price but since noone else returned my calls.They explained that the high price was because they may need special roofing gear because of the slope of the roof. They arrived, hours late, and arrived complaining that there was too much snow (no more than anyone else in the state!) and they'd need special gear for the roof and that noone told them about the roof! The guy then deided to change the price by increasing it 30% and thereby pricing the job out of our reach. No appologies, no recommendations. We simply could not afford it. I've heard that contractors will do this on a job they dont want to do. I ended up borrowing a roof rake and doing part the roof myself. No thanks to this company.

Description of Work
Snow and Ice removal but it was never performed.

Category roof snow removal

Service Provider Response

We never give quotes over the phone, I told this customer a RANGE of what it has been costing previous customers and told him I would come the next morning. I did get there the next morning around 10 minutes late and saw that what he described to me was very deceiving. There was 3 feet of snow and over 12 inch icedams on his gutter system on his oversized Cape with an unworkable pitched roof. When I called him and told him the FIRM price he balked even more, safety is my first priority on any job and I will not put my workers in harms way so several safety measure needed to be in place. He did not want to pay for our services. I don't even know how he can leave a negative feedback when we didn't even provide any services all we did was give an estimate. Our company works for many fortune 500 companies and we have some of the best references in the business. Don't be fooled by this report!!
5.0

02/01/2011


J T L.

I had icy snow of about 3ft on the roof of my 2 story home. They came while it was snowing with a three man crew. Safety as a priority and efficient. They were friendly, and accommodating as best they could to keep the snow off the siding and windows of the house during removal. In all, about a 2 hour job, but took the weight off the roof for the coming ice storm.

Description of Work
Snow removal of approx 3 ft drifts from roof of 2 story home

Category roof snow removal

5.0

01/27/2011


Maria K.

After all of the snow and ice, our gutters were full of ice, which was causing water to back up and drip in through our windows. We called our regular roof contractor, who promised to show and never did. We called another person recommended by a friend, who also said he would come and did not. I left a voicemail for House Doctors in the morning and they called back the same afternoon and said they could come the next day. And they did - even after they were up all night plowing during yet another snowstorm. They removed all of the ice from our front windows and threw in a plowing of our driveway. The ice was very thick and frozen into the gutter and onto the roof, so it was quite a lot of work. They were prompt, responsive, and courteous, and we plan to use them in the future for other services. I very highly recommend House Doctors!

Description of Work
Removed very thick ice dams and buildup from roof and gutters.

Category roof snow removal

    Other local Pros in your area

    ENGINEERED WOOD INC

     

    Angi Certified

    American Home Building and Refinishing, LLC

    From extensive renovations, home additions, detached garages, and a new home to simple repair jobs and everything in between, American Home Building & Refinishing LLC is dedicated to providing customers in Bristol, CT with the highest standard of quality in workmanship and service.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Premier Plastering

    Plastering, repairing, inside, outside, steps, walls and foundations. Keep your home original!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Painting, wallpapering, drywall, power washing, carpentry, tile installation, vinyl siding, landscaping, patios, retaining walls & snow removal, landscaping, tree service, flooring, bathroom/kitchen remodeling.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about House Doctors LLC

    How is House Doctors LLC overall rated?

    House Doctors LLC is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are House Doctors LLC open?

    House Doctors LLC is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does House Doctors LLC provide

    House Doctors LLC accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa

    Does House Doctors LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, House Doctors LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does House Doctors LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, House Doctors LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does House Doctors LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, House Doctors LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does House Doctors LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, House Doctors LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by House Doctors LLC?

    Yes, House Doctors LLC offers warranties.

    What services does House Doctors LLC offer?

    House Doctors LLC offers the following services: Painting, wallpapering, drywall, power washing, carpentry, tile installation, vinyl siding, landscaping, patios, retaining walls & snow removal, landscaping, tree service, flooring, bathroom/kitchen remodeling.