Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Total Chimney Care LLC

Founded 1996 • With Angi since July 2006

4.6

(54) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

116-P Research Drive

Milford, CT 06460

Description

We offer full service chimney service and repair. We also have a retail store which we sell and install gas, wood, and pellet stoves, fireplaces, and inserts....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/29/2021


Jean S.

They were informative and honest. Robert told us that our crumbling chimney was not an imminent problem and gave us a fair estimate if we chose to do work now. His explanation was very clear and he did not charge us for the inspection and advice. Will definitely use them in the future.

Description of Work
Assessment of our chimney

Category contractors

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for telling us about your service. I’m so happy it went as it should and you are happy.
5.0

01/14/2021


Wayne H.

Total Chimney installed a new stainless steel cap over my three flue chimney. An initial misunderstanding about price was quickly and fairly resolved with the owner. The three crews which came to my house were all very professional, although the lead tech at the first visit did not measure, so the special order cap did not fit and a second one had to be ordered. During the whole process, my phone calls to the office were quickly returned and communication was excellent. I am very pleased with how everything was handled and recommend Total Chimney.

Description of Work
new chimney cap installed

Category chimney caps

5.0

12/24/2016


Jeff O.

worked on the flue damper and got it better adjusted

Description of Work
chimney sweeping

Category chimney sweep

5.0

12/14/2016


Pat B.

They came in, they did the job and left. I was just pleased with their work.

Description of Work
They did a chimney sweep and something else, I forget what it was.

Category chimney sweep

3.0

12/05/2016


Carol D.

serviceman gave me a hard time to get the discounted price and the the girl that scheduled the appointment told me the wrong info on whats included

Description of Work
clean chimney

Category chimney sweep

5.0

10/17/2016


Martin B.

Very well, work done promptly and very cleanly

Description of Work
Fireplace cleaning

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

2.0

09/22/2016


Thomas B.

they would not even discuss doing this project at this time of the year.

Description of Work
chimney repair / pointing

Category chimney repair

1.0

10/20/2015


Lee G.

They came out on September 9th to inspect my igniter for my gas fireplace. I was told that they would need to order/find a part, an E-clip. He told me that he would call me back in a few days. It has now been 6 weeks. I have tried calling them over and over and still they have not come back to finish the job. Expect for one instance they have not even answered or called me back.

Description of Work
Fixing the igniter on my fireplace

Category fireplaces

Service Provider Response

We had initially came out for a service call to try and fix said unit. Apparently, unit was worked on by other technicians before us, and there were signs of wear present on ignitor. Technician tried to fix log set and got unit running with notations of e-clip looking worn out. He said he might be able to find clip, but was unable to find exact parts elsewhere. At the same time, our office was completely slammed and we lost our office manager, so calling him back was not done in proper manner. I understand Mr [Member name]'s frustration, but we have been completely back logged and have had limited time to work on his issue. Recently we contacted the log company, but have not been able to get resolution from them either. Being that we don't sell this log, we are at their mercy getting parts. We recently contacted Mr [Member name] and told him that we can not get part from said manufacturer and recommended he contact the store he bought it from.
5.0

10/04/2015


Pamela P.

I had emailed them for an estimate. It was a week or so before I got the return call which was not an issue for me as I was not in a rush. I hired them for an oil flue cleaning. They were efficient and clean. Chimney caps were suggested to keep out debris. Caps were something I had considered but procrastinated getting. I had the 2 chimney caps installed during the appointment. I would use them again for future cleanings.

Description of Work
Oil flue cleaning and 2 chimney caps

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words and giving us the opportunity to service your chimney. We apologize greatly for our delay in getting back to you in a more timely manner. We are in our busy fall season and a little back logged in the office. Thanks for your patience and we are greatly appreciative of the kind words here on Angie's List.
5.0

08/10/2015


Michael W.

They were prompt, reasonably priced. The gentleman were clean and left absolutely no mess behind. They were knowledgeable and were able to refer me to other companies that could help me with work that they couldn't take care of.

Description of Work
They cleaned and inspected the chimney.

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive review and for your business. We look forward to doing business again in the future.
1.0

04/21/2015


Deborah S.

They should stick to outdoor work and leave interior work to those who know what they're doing. We ended up hiring someone from Tile America to lay tile on the hearth (which was don't perfectly) and hired a local handyman to raise the mantle. They have not responded to our multiple calls to the owner. They did not bill us for the door installation (which they shouldn't since it was done incorrectly) but now we need to un-install the doors, take off the mantle, rip out the fireplace tile and have all this work done at our own expense. I would never recommend this company to anyone.

Description of Work
They cleaned and added a cap to our chimney earlier in 2014 which went very well but all interior work they did was completely awful. We had them add tile to our fireplace wall (over existing brick), raise our mantle and install fireplace doors. The tile installation was done incorrectly (sub-surface was never smooth/straight) so once they installed the doors, there was a gap at the top of the doors we didn't notice until soot started seeping up and stained the recently installed tile when we lit a fire. They also were about to simply install wood blocks at the bottom of our mantle to raise it and we told them to stop.

Category chimney sweep, masonry, chimney caps, fireplaces

5.0

01/30/2015


Theresa M.

Everything went fine and they did a good job. They were careful about keeping things clean, too.

Description of Work
They did a chimney sweep.

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the business and the kind words. Both are greatly appreciated.
5.0

11/08/2014


Ann N.

I was very happy with them, because I had two other Chimney Companies come out first to give me an estimate and they tried to tell me a need a chimney liner. Top Notch Chimney was charging me so much more than even the other one. (1700 app). Rob, from Total Chimney came out and told me I don't need a liner, that they were just trying to get more money from me. He was very kind, honest and thorough in explaining things. He took pic's and showed me, telling me the chimney is in great shape, that he just needs to fix the crack on the crown. I would highly recommend them. They gave me a discount because of Angie's Lost. Top Notch Chimney on the other hand is very dishonest. I will make sure I tell people to not use them!

Description of Work
Crown seal application

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

I am quite proud that Rob did the right thing by you and of his honesty. Having employees in the field is always a worry for a business owner. Good people are hard to find. Rob has always been a good representative of Total Chimney Care. We are lucky to have him on our team. I think it is sad that another company tried to take advantage of you and try to sell you unnecessary repairs. Good thing you called us for a 2nd opinion. Thank you for the kind words here and thank you for giving us the opportunity to service your chimney!
5.0

10/06/2014


Cyndi B.

Robert, the serviceman, went beyond removing the old rusted damper and all the rust that would drop down whenever I opened the damper. The fireplace and my living room where absolutely spotless when they left.

Description of Work
I needed two flues cleaned. One of the flues went to a fireplace where the damper was completely rusted but I had already added a top of the chimney damper.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I will let the crew know that you were happy with them and the service provided.
1.0

09/03/2014


Deborah S.

The initial estimate was performed timely, however after we selected the tile and were ready to proceed with the work was when the communication brokedown by Total Chimney. After Total Chimney measured how much tile I needed to order, they have yet to call me to confirm what the amount of tile is necessary to order. I spoke to multiple admins and they reported that the worker who tallied my tile was on a big job and would get back to me. After multiple phone calls/follow-up with Total Chimey they have not called me with finalizing the quote, and it has been a month. I do not understand how "one" person cannot provide this info or be contacted to send the amount of tile. I heard good things based on Angies, however poor communication, and over promising that I would have this answer with a "total" quote of the work has led me to feel differently.

Description of Work
The company provided estimates for a new cap, doors, hearth tile work, clean chimney and reseal.

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

I truly apologize about the frustration we have caused you in regards to the fireplace renovation. My office gave me a message that you called yesterday and wanted to speak with the owner. I left a message on your machine this morning with my personal cell number to voice your complaint. Today was the first time that this has crossed my desk and I would like the opportunity to deal with this myself and at least hear your complaint first hand, so that I can evaluate our systems here and work with my staff to ensure that this does not happen again in the future. In speaking with the technician who initially met with you, and with the office, it does seem that we have been dropping the ball in regards to communicating with you. During this mornings company meeting, we spoke about this job and it was said to me that your husband had spoken with our office this morning and the quote was actually emailed last week and was sent to his spam folder. If I was given misinformation about this by my staff, please call me direct so I can get to the bottom of things. In regards to the delay in getting quote generated and whatever other miscommunications with you, I do understand was not acceptable, and I as a consumer would be as disappointed as you. Please accept my apologies, there really is no excuse for our unprofessionalism, but please understand that we did not mean to upset you. Thank you for taking a moment to read this. I truly hope we can have a dialogue about this in the future.
5.0

08/04/2014


Eric D.

Excellent performance by both professionals. Explained work procedure and particulars. On time and well done on job overall.

Description of Work
repaired 2 chimneys; crown coated one rebuilt the crown on the other and replaced bricks and mortar on both.

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words and we appreciate the opportunity working with you.
5.0

06/18/2014


James S.

They showed up on time and performed the work in an efficient and professional manner. Steve and Nick were great. They were very helpful and answered all of my questions. They were very neat and protected the rugs before they worked. They went the extra mile for me in dealing with an old squirrel's nest and dead squirrels in one of the chimneys without complaining. They worked fast and hard. Nick pointed out some additional work that needed to be done one the roof regarding mortar work and flashing and gave me a price on the spot to do it. He took pictures with his phone of the work that needed to be done and offered to e-mail them to me. I would definitely recommend these guys for any work on fireplaces or chimneys. .

Description of Work
Chimney inspection and cleaning of 2 fireplaces and chimneys

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for reviewing us here on Angie's List. I am happy that you were pleased with the service provided and plan on sharing the review with the crew at our weekly meeting. We appreciate the business and hope to be here for you in the future.
5.0

05/10/2014


Tobey E.

Two neat, polite,men. One of the men was teaching a new employee how to do the job which was helpful. they worked together well and cleaned up after themselves. did not even know we had work done in the home. they came the same day I called because I began to have an odor in the home. I appreciate all the work they did and would have them back if needed. just thought the cost could have been a bit cheeper.

Description of Work
cleaned chimney, removed an animal and installed and animal guard

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review and we greatly appreciate your business. I will let the men know your were happy with their service and give them the recognition they so deserve. Thanks again.
5.0

04/29/2014


Roger M.

These folks did a great job with both areas. Steve was kind enough to take the time to explain why the fireplace in our family room with a vaulted ceiling was hard to get started. He even gave us the 10% Angie;s discount after my wife forgot to mention it to them. We will definitely use them again.

Description of Work
TOTAL SWEPT OUR FAMILY ROOM FIREPLACE CHIMNEY AND ALSO CLEANED OUR DRYER VENT

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces, dryer vent cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review our company here on Angie's List. I love to hear about when the guys do a great job and our clients are happy. We greatly appreciate your business. Thank you!
5.0

04/22/2014


gayle G.

called office for appt for estimate. They showed up on time and they did an inspection of leaking chimney and gave written estimate at same time. We phoned office to schedule repair and they came within window given (two hours) and were finished and totally cleaned up in a few hours. They removed previous owners DIY silicone and ground out mortar, pushed flashing back into place and resealed with mortar on two sides/levels. So happy to have it fixed correctly. Neat, on time, polite, will use them for future jobs and would not hesitate to recommend to friends/neighbors!

Description of Work
repair chimney leak

Category chimney sweep, masonry, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

I am happy to hear that we were able to fix the chimney leak you were experiencing. Thank you for letting others know that we were successful in the repairs and that you were happy with the level of service you had received. We value our customers greatly, and will be sure to share your positive experience with our staff. Thanks!
3.0

04/16/2014


Marianne C.

First they did not show up for the first appointment. I had to call and ask if they were coming. Another appointment was made. A third appointment was needed for the cricket . When they installed the cricket, they did not vaccume out the mess. They had a tarp on the ground, but still were disrespectful of my home, walking over the mess and tracking the dirt. I requested information on cleaning the indoor brick. I was told, they had a great product and would bring it out for me to sample. They never came or called me about this product. The never called to ask if the outside brick work was effective after a rain storm. Yes, the re- pointing of the outdoor bricks did not leak, and the work was satisfactory. They need to improve customer service. I will not use them again.

Description of Work
The furnace chimney was redlined and the outdoor chimney was reprinted.A fireplace cricket was also installed.

Category chimney sweep, masonry, chimney repair, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

I apologize that you were not 100% satisfied with your experience. I know that we had some puncuality issues and we were able to work through that. I wish you would have called me and let me know that the guys left a mess, I would have sent them to your home immediately to clean up to your satisfaction. In regards to us calling you back to make sure we fixed the leak, I suppose we could have done that, especially since there were other issues. If I knew you were unhappy, I probably would have made sure we did. Since we were successful in repairing the leak, and never heard about the things you were unhappy with, we just assumed everything was fine. If there is something I can do to make everything 100% right, please give me the chance. Thank you.
5.0

03/17/2014


Lola G.

They were really great. They didn’t overcharge me or try to rip me off.

Description of Work
They went on the roof and checked out my ventilation with the chimney. They diagnosed the problem for me. Two days later they told me they found the part. However I had it fixed at that point but I appreciated their help.

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you SO much for giving us some feedback here on Angie's List. I am glad you were satisfied and we appreciate your business.
5.0

03/03/2014


Jonathon H.

great - it was very dirty and they did it no problems, no mess.

Description of Work
cleaned the chimney

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the opportunity to service your chimney and I am very pleased that you were happy with our service. Thank you for taking the time to review us here online and help us build our business.
5.0

02/20/2014


Tim L.

The excellent service started with the office staff. Ashley was very helpful, calling to confirm the appt the day before and then again when heavy snow necessitated a re-schedule. Nick was the gentleman who came out. You can see the professionalism in play when the first thing he did as he was walking into our home was to drap the floors with protective tarps. He gave our fireplace a through inspection and said it was safe to burn wood. It's what he didn't do that was most surprising. There was NO "upsell", no fake cautions that we should replace this and that or we would be in danger. No, he was very honest and forthright in his assessment and was also a pleasure to talk with. He gave several tips that will come in handy. If we convert to a gas fireplace, they will be the first place we call. thank you Nick.

Description of Work
chimney/fireplace inspection

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Wow! What a great review, thank you so much for the kind words. As you stated, Nick is one of the best techs here and we are blessed to have him. In regards to your future gas log purchase, when you are ready call the store and speak with our retail sales manager Steve. He can help you choose pretty much anything and everything hearth, and many of the products are available online to view. I will be sure to share your happiness with Nick and the rest of the staff. Thank you for your business and thank you once again for taking the time to let us know we had done right by you. Thanks!
5.0

12/13/2013


Cynthia S.

I had this company out for a second estimate after a first estimate by another provider. The difference was night and day. The two gentlemen that showed up seemed very knowlegable and were able to answer all of my questions, even the completely ignorant ones. They did the inspection efficiently and explained everything in clear language. They provided a written estimate before they left, something the other company was unable to do. It also helps that the estimate is significantly lower than the other company's. I have not decided when to schedule the service, and I have one more estimate scheduled, but I was very impressed and will probably hire this company. I will update after the work is done.

Description of Work
I had Total Chimney come out for a chimney inspection and estimate for a liner.

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the positive review and rating us here on Angie's List. We are happy that our crew impressed you and pleased that they presented to company in a good way. We pride ourselves on our knowledge, skill, and professionalism. I do hope that you choose us to make the required repairs and assure you if you do hire us, we will get the job done right. Thank you for considering us.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Arnold's Masonry and Construction LLC

    Call us today for a free estimate! 203-808-6886 E-mail: arnoldbestmason@aol.com Since 1973, Arnold's Masonry And Construction LLC is a Family Owned and Operated business. We bring decades of experience on masonry and construction. Providing the old worlds craftsmanship to the new world projects. We are fully insured and licensed. High quality craftsmanship, reasonable rates, local references upon request. We will treat your home like it is ours and make sure we leave you 100% satisfied with our work. Our Service will exceed your expectations! We cater to any type of masonry, concrete, landscaping and asphalt work.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Sammy Masonry

    A family owned company for 27 years our experienced staff is available to assist you with all aspects of you masonry and construction needs Customer service is our top priority ,We specialize in brick work,stucco,blue stone ect..... Take a look at our gallery and contact Sammy Masonry to further assist you on your visions and make them come true !  

    Offers by Sammy Masonry on Angi
    Alex Masonry

    We specialize in all types of masonry. We fulfill all your masonry needs. Give us a call so you can see what we can do for you.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask For Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Our company is a full service chimney and vent company. We keep fire in it's place by sweeping chimneys and dryer vents. We can repair pretty much anything to do with your chimney and fireplace. In addition to servicing chimneys, we clean air ducts also. If you don't have a fireplace, no problem. We can install one for you! Come down to the retail store and see what type of fireplaces and woodstoves we carry, or check out design options to rennovate your existing fireplace.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Total Chimney Care LLC

    How is Total Chimney Care LLC overall rated?

    Total Chimney Care LLC is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Total Chimney Care LLC open?

    Total Chimney Care LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: Closed

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Total Chimney Care LLC provide

    Total Chimney Care LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Total Chimney Care LLC offer free estimates?

    No, Total Chimney Care LLC does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Total Chimney Care LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Total Chimney Care LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Total Chimney Care LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, Total Chimney Care LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Total Chimney Care LLC?

    Yes, Total Chimney Care LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Total Chimney Care LLC offer?

    Total Chimney Care LLC offers the following services: Our company is a full service chimney and vent company. We keep fire in it's place by sweeping chimneys and dryer vents. We can repair pretty much anything to do with your chimney and fireplace. In addition to servicing chimneys, we clean air ducts also. If you don't have a fireplace, no problem. We can install one for you! Come down to the retail store and see what type of fireplaces and woodstoves we carry, or check out design options to rennovate your existing fireplace.