Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

American Overhead Door

4.9

(61) Verified Reviews

Founded 1987 • With Angi since January 2010

Licensed
Trade License Number
HIC 0548325
Trade License Locale
CT
Trade License Authority
Connecticut
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Company Contact

1885 South Main Street

Middletown, CT 06457

Description

Residential and commercial garage door and opener sales and service. We can service and repair all major brands of doors and openers throughout the entire state of CT. We pride ourselves on having the BEST service anywhere and have a huge showroom in Middletown with several doors on display as well as openers and small color and material samples. We have been in business in Connecticut for over 30 years and are experts in garage door and opener replacement and repair. If your garage door is broken, off the tracks, has broken springs or is just not working properly, do not attempt to repair the door yourself. There are components on the door that can cause serious injury if not handled properly. Call the professionals at American Overhead Doors. American Overhead Doors offers a wide selection of Clopay door styles and construction options to meet your home style and budget. From custom carriage house doors to insulated raised panel doors, we have it all. Financing available. Cost is determined by job....

Verified Reviews

4.9

(61) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

57

4

1

3

1

2

1

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

garage doors (61)
Showing 1-10 of 61 reviews
5.0

11/14/2019

Had one of two springs break on single bay door.Showed up on time, friendly and fast. Replaced all springs, pulleys, and cables in 45 minutes. Will definitely be calling to do same on other door, before breakage hopefully.

Description of Work
Replace springs and associated hardware

Category garage doors

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/14/2019

5.0

03/27/2018

They were able to get me in within 2 hours. The serviceman was on time, professional, friendly, and very knowledgeable regarding my problem. He fixed the issue very quickly and I'm very pleased with the work! I would definitely call them for any future needs. Keep up the good work!

Description of Work
Fixed loose wire in garage that is connected to door opener

Category garage doors

Cost $129

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/27/2018

5.0

10/30/2017

Fine, on time fix problem right away very pleasant. Would hire again

Description of Work
Garage door fix and lube

Category garage doors

Cost $129

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/30/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you Mr. [Member Name Removed]! We look forward to working with you again in the future!
5.0

10/09/2017

Everything was fine. Professional and prompt.

Description of Work
New pulleys for the garage door and a motor.

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/09/2017

Service Provider Response

We are happy you had a pleasant experience and hope you are enjoying your new motor! Please give us a call if you need anything!
5.0

10/06/2017

A+ installation after only a 2 day wait. In preparation for their installation, I went to Home Depot and bought a Genie Garage door opener. It was a mistake that was well explained by the installer, Todd. He installed a Liftmaster garage door opener that is far superior in so many ways from the Genie I paid for at Home Depot for almost the same price for the equipment. So when you need to replace ...

Description of Work
Needed to replace an automatic garage door opener that was 30 years old.

Category garage doors

Cost $418

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/06/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We are very lucky to have Todd as part of our team and are grateful you feel the same way!
4.0

07/19/2017

They came out quickly after calling for appt. Should have been a clue. But they arrived on time and I could have sent them packing before they did any work.

Description of Work
I found this company off the intErnest not Angie list. I had a broken opener which had also damaged the door itself. My husband fixed our other door with same damage about 15 years ago. Technician refused to make similar repair. Felt like he was trying to sell a door instead of fixing what was there. He did fix the opener but charged a pretty penny for what took a half hour. He did tell me the cost before he did the work. I just wanted it fixed but you can be sure I'll call another company if I ever have a similar issue.

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/22/2017

5.0

05/23/2017

The technician arrived early, quickly diagnosed the issue and made the repairs in one hour. It works like new.

Description of Work
The garage door opener needed a critical gear that was failing

Category garage doors

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

05/08/2017

Jay arrived on time and assessed my situation. He advised replacing both springs and the pulleys. He completed the job in an hour, performing a "tune up" which included replacing the cables. The new springs and hardware are much more robust and makes the door much more sturdy. Open/closing is much quieter and more stable. Jay explained everything he was going to do, everything he did, cleaned up t...

Description of Work
Replace broken spring on garage door

Category garage doors

Cost $310

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/08/2017

5.0

04/21/2017

We LOVE this company. I phoned one a Thursday...they came the very next day!!! Quoted 9 - 11 A.M....arrived at 9 AM. Fixed promptly...he was a great guy...and will acknowledge him as Brion Griffin....so nice and efficient. We will absolutely use them for any garage door issues in the future. This company is first class!!!

Description of Work
We had problems with one of our garage doors not closing.

Category garage doors

Cost $230

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/20/2017

5.0

02/16/2017

Very smoothly. Work was completed on schedule and the installer was very knowledgeable and had 30 years of experience in the industry.

Description of Work
Replaced two antiquated Genie garage door openers with two 8550W Lift Master overhead garage door openers. WIFI and there is an app so you can open and/or close the door if you are away from the property.

Category garage doors

Cost $1,032

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/16/2016

Services Offered

Residential garage doors, overhead doors, custom carriage doors, and door operators. We have full crews for commercial doors and openers services as well.

Services Not Offered

Don't see your need on our list of services? Give us a call to further discuss your needs!

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa, Check, American Express, Financing Available
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes