Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

American Overhead Door

About

Founded 1987 • With Angi since January 2010

Residential and commercial garage door and opener sales and service. We can service and repair all major brands of doors and openers throughout the entire state of CT. We pride ourselves on having the BEST service anywhere and have a huge showroom in Middletown with several doors on display as well as openers and small color and material samples. We have been in business in Connecticut for over 30 years and are experts in garage door and opener replacement and repair. If your garage door is broken, off the tracks, has broken springs or is just not working properly, do not attempt to repair the door yourself. There are components on the door that can cause serious injury if not handled properly. Call the professionals at American Overhead Doors. American Overhead Doors offers a wide selection of Clopay door styles and construction options to meet your home style and budget. From custom carriage house doors to insulated raised panel doors, we have it all. Financing available. Cost is determined by job....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

Clopay 9130 short raised elegant panel with colonial 509 design glass

+33 more images

Verified Reviews

4.9

(61) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

57

4

1

3

1

2

1

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

garage doors (61)
Showing 1-25 of 61 reviews
5.0

11/14/2019


Adam H.

Had one of two springs break on single bay door.Showed up on time, friendly and fast. Replaced all springs, pulleys, and cables in 45 minutes. Will definitely be calling to do same on other door, before breakage hopefully.

Description of Work
Replace springs and associated hardware

Category garage doors

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/14/2019

5.0

03/27/2018


nancy R.

They were able to get me in within 2 hours. The serviceman was on time, professional, friendly, and very knowledgeable regarding my problem. He fixed the issue very quickly and I'm very pleased with the work! I would definitely call them for any future needs. Keep up the good work!

Description of Work
Fixed loose wire in garage that is connected to door opener

Category garage doors

Cost $129

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/27/2018

5.0

10/30/2017


Jeffrey T.

Fine, on time fix problem right away very pleasant. Would hire again

Description of Work
Garage door fix and lube

Category garage doors

Cost $129

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/30/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you Mr. [Member Name Removed]! We look forward to working with you again in the future!
5.0

10/09/2017


Ellen N.

Everything was fine. Professional and prompt.

Description of Work
New pulleys for the garage door and a motor.

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/09/2017

Service Provider Response

We are happy you had a pleasant experience and hope you are enjoying your new motor! Please give us a call if you need anything!
5.0

10/06/2017


Donald B.

A+ installation after only a 2 day wait. In preparation for their installation, I went to Home Depot and bought a Genie Garage door opener. It was a mistake that was well explained by the installer, Todd. He installed a Liftmaster garage door opener that is far superior in so many ways from the Genie I paid for at Home Depot for almost the same price for the equipment. So when you need to replace your Garage Door Opener, use American Garage Door Opener's equipment that they sell. The original installation price was quoted at $198 but, with their garage door opener, the total was $418. Given that the Genie was $170... that's only a $38 difference in price for a MUCH better garage door opener. I'm bringing the Genie back to Home Depot for a refund. Oh, and Todd had the door opener changed out within ONE hour. Great technician who has been doing this for over 20 years... and his experience was very evident. The installation is clean and perfect... which are words I have, sadly, been unable to use with all Contractors who have come to my house to work. So would I use them again for the other garage door opener when it needs replacement? Yes... and I'll recommend this company to family and friends.

Description of Work
Needed to replace an automatic garage door opener that was 30 years old.

Category garage doors

Cost $418

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/06/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We are very lucky to have Todd as part of our team and are grateful you feel the same way!
4.0

07/19/2017


Rebecca O.

They came out quickly after calling for appt. Should have been a clue. But they arrived on time and I could have sent them packing before they did any work.

Description of Work
I found this company off the intErnest not Angie list. I had a broken opener which had also damaged the door itself. My husband fixed our other door with same damage about 15 years ago. Technician refused to make similar repair. Felt like he was trying to sell a door instead of fixing what was there. He did fix the opener but charged a pretty penny for what took a half hour. He did tell me the cost before he did the work. I just wanted it fixed but you can be sure I'll call another company if I ever have a similar issue.

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/22/2017

5.0

05/23/2017


Julius R.

The technician arrived early, quickly diagnosed the issue and made the repairs in one hour. It works like new.

Description of Work
The garage door opener needed a critical gear that was failing

Category garage doors

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

05/08/2017


Karen M.

Jay arrived on time and assessed my situation. He advised replacing both springs and the pulleys. He completed the job in an hour, performing a "tune up" which included replacing the cables. The new springs and hardware are much more robust and makes the door much more sturdy. Open/closing is much quieter and more stable. Jay explained everything he was going to do, everything he did, cleaned up the old parts, and then explained everything on the invoice. Cost is very reasonable. Well done and would hire again!

Description of Work
Replace broken spring on garage door

Category garage doors

Cost $310

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/08/2017

5.0

04/21/2017


Sue M.

We LOVE this company. I phoned one a Thursday...they came the very next day!!! Quoted 9 - 11 A.M....arrived at 9 AM. Fixed promptly...he was a great guy...and will acknowledge him as Brion Griffin....so nice and efficient. We will absolutely use them for any garage door issues in the future. This company is first class!!!

Description of Work
We had problems with one of our garage doors not closing.

Category garage doors

Cost $230

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/20/2017

5.0

02/16/2017


Marilyn C.

Very smoothly. Work was completed on schedule and the installer was very knowledgeable and had 30 years of experience in the industry.

Description of Work
Replaced two antiquated Genie garage door openers with two 8550W Lift Master overhead garage door openers. WIFI and there is an app so you can open and/or close the door if you are away from the property.

Category garage doors

Cost $1,032

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/16/2016

5.0

01/15/2017


Les B.

Very well! Jay was extremely helpful, courteous,and professional. He went out of his way to smoothly solve any compatibility issues. There are quite a few fly-by-night garage door companies around. There seems to be good reason that American Overhead Door has the high ratings that they do. We'd hire them again in a heartbeat. They did it right the first time and on time.

Description of Work
Installation of replacement garage door opener and adjustment of door

Category garage doors

Cost $410

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/13/2017

5.0

08/16/2016


tina F.

Very friendly and punctual. Charged over $300.00 to replace spring even with coupon.

Description of Work
Garage door spring broke

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/09/2016

5.0

07/29/2016


William S.

From start to finish one of the smoothest business transactions I can remember. I called in the evening and received a call back the next day. I was given a very reasonable quote and their service man arrived right on time. Work was done quickly and done right. Price came in as quoted and our door is operating again, only now it is a lot quitter;-)

Description of Work
Replacement of two torsion springs on my door. It is a two car garage with a single door.

Category garage doors

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/29/2016

5.0

07/28/2016


Mike D.

Very smooth and fast! The technician who came to my home to install the new garage door opener was professional, courteous and very efficient. He did an amazing job, cleaned up everything, didn't even leave the empty boxes or the broken opener for me to discard.

Description of Work
Needed to have a new garage door opener installed. I called to inquire about a new opener and was greater nicely on the phone. The woman I spoke with suggested an opener similar to the one I had in power. She even volunteered that there was a special price for the one she suggested.. In less than 24 hours they were installing my new garage door opener. Highly recommend this company!

Category garage doors

Cost $436

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/28/2016

5.0

07/12/2016


Janet C.

I contacted American Overhead this morning and spoke with Peter. He was able to walk me through what needed to be done. He sent a repairman to our home that same afternoon. Jay arrived exactly when he said he would. Jay made what seemed like a daunting task look relatively easy and assured me he would have me up and running in no time. I am a very satisfied customer and will definitely use them when the time comes to upgrade our current doors. Thank you!!

Description of Work
One of our garage doors fell off it's hinge and was left hanging in an awkward position, leaving no way to get our car out.

Category garage doors

Cost $284

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/12/2016

5.0

03/04/2015


M H.

The service was exceptional from the initial call I made to their office after finding them on Angie's list to the installation of the doors. I called and within two hours a sales person was at my house, evaluated the existing doors, which were falling apart, provided me with an array of options, helped my pick a type, style and color of door that worked with my house and ~two weeks later I have beautiful new doors. Their expertise in the doors and their ability to match them architecturally with the house were impressive. They did not oversell me on what I needed (exiting openers work fine). They provided a current license and proof of insurance. The installer was on time for the installation, worked hard for the time he was there, finished within a few hours and left the place cleaner than he found it. He gave clear instructions for how to care for the doors and most importantly - they work wonderfully! I'm not easily impressed and I'm impressed. Thank you for your excellent, quick and professional service!

Description of Work
Replaced 2 existing garage doors with new ones.

Category garage doors

Cost $2,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/03/2015

Service Provider Response

We couldn't be more delighted to hear this and it was an absolute pleasure meeting and helping you with this project. Thanks so very much. -Brian
5.0

08/11/2014


D. E.

American Overhead Door provided service on very short notice. They arranged to have one of their technicians, Todd, stop by enroute to another location. Todd was very thorough and did an excellent job. The garage door runs smoothly. We're very happy with their service and will contact them again in the future when needed. Special thanks to Todd - he's great!

Description of Work
Replaced broken spring/cable on garage door and bottom weather seal strip.

Category garage doors

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/27/2014

5.0

06/30/2014


Jay J.

They installed a brand new insulated garage door for me. It went excellent. They showed up on time, were very personable, and explained everything they were doing. They were very respectful of my property and cleaned up after themselves as well.

Description of Work
They installed a brand new garage door.

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/13/2014

5.0

06/30/2014


Marguerite B.

This is the second time I have used American Overhead Door, and both times the service was impeccable. The first time was about two years ago when one of the springs broke. This time one of the rollers cracked and the fell off the track. I called over the weekend and left a message. The answering service provided a number for emergency service which I didn't use because luckily my car was outside the garage when the problem occurred. But I appreciated that the after hours options provided clear directions in case I did need emergency service. I left a message and received a call first thing Monday morning. They were able to send someone out right away, and he arrived exactly when they said he would. The technician was very professional and courteous. He repaired the broken roller and inspected all the rollers, hinges and springs. He recommended replacing all the rollers after showing me the wear and tear. I felt completely confident that his recommendation was sound

Description of Work
Garage door roller had fallen out of the track. Replaced rollers and inspected and oiled all the rollers, springs and hinges

Category garage doors

Cost $235

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/30/2014

3.0

04/30/2014


Peter T.

Contacted American Overhead, Service Manger returned the call with 2 hours. Good Offered to schedule an appointment for that afternoon (I was unavailable); Made it for 2 days out. Good Service Tech arrived on time and was very social and attentive. Good Here's where the issues are: The opener install from December 2012 was only $330 or so. The Service Tech informed me the Circuit Board had failed inside of of the opener, after 16 months. Most likely it was due to a lightning strike. "Lightning hits the garage floor/water when it rains, it travels to the sensor eyes, up the wires and shorts out the circuit board". He implied it was not unheard of and almost bordering on common. The warranty was only 1 year on the circuit board through American Overhead and if it was Registered with LiftMaster, it was another year past the 1 year from American. Since I contacted American and not Liftmaster, I had to eat the $117 replacement part price + $129 Service Call charge. Per the Tech, "If you registered it, Liftmaster would have just sent you a new board". That board was held in with 3 screws and a few wire connections.Well with in the basic repair scope of a normal home owner. Contacted Liftmaster; They informed me that the warranty does not work per the above conversation, and that Liftmaster always recommends installing a surge suppressor. Liftmaster also informed me that the lightning strike scenario the Tech informed me of "doesn't happen like that" and it's a dwelling strike that surges the opener through the house electrical wiring. Cliff Notes: Cheap Opener, wasn't offered a $50 surge suppressor to save a $250 Service Call/Board Replacement. American Overhead ill-informed me of the warranty coverage and lightning strike scenario. Liftmaster Customer Support told me they wouldn't do anything for me and that it was out of warranty and that was that. Should have put in a quality opener from a different vendor.

Description of Work
From a Previous Install of a new Liftmaster Garage door opener (Dec 2012), Opener Fails to Open. Schedule Service call to repair the opener

Category garage doors

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/30/2014

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], Thanks for your review, and I'm sorry a power surge/lightning strike etc fried your circuit board. It stinks. We appreciate your feedback are constantly striving to provide the best customer service we can and will use your review to improve our communication to our customers about the importance of filling out the manufacturers warranty forms with any new product to ensure you receive the maximum coverage in case the un-expected should happen.
5.0

02/21/2014


John M.

Excellent service, quality work. Very good price, Very good communication following a snow storm

Description of Work
Replaced garage door opener

Category garage doors

Cost $395

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/14/2014

5.0

01/16/2014


James M.

Got it done and were reasonably price

Description of Work
Fixed garage door spring.

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/06/2013

5.0

01/04/2014


MJ M.

Everything went well. They responded quickly and set up an appointment within a couple of days. The were punctual and efficient. I was very happy with the work.

Description of Work
One of the pulley wires snapped and the door would not open. The company came over and replace the part and the door worked great.

Category garage doors