Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Jennings Oil & Propane

Founded 1982 • With Angi since February 2006

4.8

(36) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

30 E Franklin St

Danbury, CT 06810

Description

Jennings Oil is a locally owned and operated business headquartered in Danbury, CT that has provided home comfort to families in Fairfield, Litchfield and New Haven counties since 1982. Throughout the years we have built an organization that goes the extra mile to take care of all your heating oil delivery and heating/cooling needs, including new equipment installations, repairs, maintenance plans, and 24-hour emergency service. Additional phone number - (860) 354-4303. Additional DBA - Jennings Oil Co....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/26/2019


joan S.

Rep was exactly on time. Explained what he did and the reasons. Very nice person, smile and thankyou when he left. Definately a good company. They have always been prompt and helpful when we have had heating issues. 100% in my book!

Description of Work
furnace cleaning

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/14/2019


Annette F.

Professionally, very thorough, neat, completed in the discussed time frame.

Description of Work
Annual furnace service

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,heating oil companies

5.0

12/12/2018


David A.

Great. These guys know their stuff.

Description of Work
Annual boiler maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,heating oil companies

5.0

09/22/2018


Michael B.

Honest advice, very professional all around. Would definitely recommend to others.

Description of Work
Furnace Replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,heating oil companies

5.0

07/16/2018


gail S.

They continue to amaze me with their courteous and responsive service. They are the best oil company in the area and the fact that they are equally as good in installing and maintaining your entire HVAC system makes them the best choice by far!

Description of Work
They have been taking care of all my HVAC and oil needs

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,water heater repair,heating oil companies

5.0

04/07/2018


Carol H.

Very well. Chris did a very complete job of cleaning this dirty furnace ,replacing parts and giving detailed explanations of what was done.

Description of Work
furnace tune up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/14/2017


Brad F.

Excellent, very professional and worked to get my boiler up and running.

Description of Work
Triangular Tube NG to LP boiler conversion.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review. I am happy to hear our technician was able to fix the problem in an efficient manner. We appreciate your business, and look forward to servicing your heating needs.
5.0

11/08/2017


Fran T.

We did a fair amount of research on brands and units and had a good idea of what we wanted. From our readings, we realized that the installer was as or even more important than the equipment so we researched many installers within a certain radius of our home, from independent plumbers to local oil companies. Quality work was equally important as price, but quality installation and service were our main drivers. After meeting with three different vendors, we chose Jennings Oil for a number of reasons. We met with Eric Olsen, Jennings' Installation and Sales Manager, and were very comfortable with his knowledge and recommendations. We haggled a bit on the price of the units and installation and felt the final price was fair. They were also more competitive than our current oil provider so we decided to use Jennings as our sole provider of oil and service. We were very happy that everything Eric outlined and committed to in terms of timing and installation was strictly adhered to and installation went very smoothly. The team was pleasant, professional and neat, and we especially liked having Eric on site for the install. Since we had the installation in June, we of course only utilized hot water. We did have a minor issue develop a few days after installation involving the oil feed line to the burner which resulted in a little fuel oil leaking onto the floor and a smell of oil. What is comforting to us is the quick response from Jennings when we called Service. They came promptly and fixed the problem within 30 minutes. We also received a call back from Eric to ensure that everything was satisfactory. We'd also like to mention how pleasant everyone at Jennings has been while setting up our new account for oil delivery, etc. We are very happy with our decision to go with Jennings. And now that the weather has cooled and we can finally try out our oil burner, everything is working beautifully.

Description of Work
We replaced a 33 year old combination oil burner and hot water heater. We wanted a more efficient oil burner and a separate hot water heater since we couldn't face another winter running out of hot water in the middle of a shower. Although not a primary reason for replacing our oil burner, it's interesting to note that when we were shopping around for a more competitive price on home owner's insurance, many companies would not offer insurance if the boiler was over 25 years old.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,water heater repair,heating oil companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you choosing Jennings Oil Co. and for taking the time to write a review. Eric is a great asset to our company and I will be sure to pass along your kind words. We strive to provide the highest quality services at reasonable prices.
5.0

08/21/2017


Christian M.

The guys did a great job; they were flexible on day and time, completed the job really quickly and neatly, and were very friendly and helpful. If we weren't happy with our oil delivery company we would switch to Jennings on the spot. Would recommend them without hesitation. Oh, I forgot one thing-their bid for the job was $1500 less than anyone else's! A win-win situation all 'round.

Description of Work
A/C replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our goal is to provide service and installation in a professional manner and a competitive price. Thank you for the recommendation.
5.0

03/13/2017


Steven T.

Thanks to the attentive and follow up by Eric at Jennings, the job was done right and on time. From the removal of the old 800+ lb. burner to the installation of a reasonably complicated new system, we are very pleased with our new heating system. Highly recommend Eric and Jennings Company.

Description of Work
We had an old burner removed and new burner and hot water heater installed.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,heating oil companies

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the opportunity to install your new heating system. We appreciate your business Best Regards, Eric Olsen Project Manager Jennings Oil Company
5.0

03/10/2017


Wayne T.

All done professionally and on time

Description of Work
Installed two minisplit heating systems (Fujitsu)

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

12/24/2016


Kimberly M.

Got charged for an expensive service call even though the techs couldn't figure out the problem and said they'd "call back". Never did, despite reminders.

Description of Work
Heating problem

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/20/2016


David A.

Delivery was made when promised. Overall very positive experience.

Description of Work
Annual contract using the Angie's list 2 for 1 special and delivery of 200 gallons of oil at market rate.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,heating oil companies

5.0

12/08/2016


Donna V.

Exceptional customer service. Very meticulous with the installation. Professional, courteous and knowledgeable. We have used Jennings Oil for home heating oil since we built our home 23 years ago. The management and staff at Jennings Oil Company have always provided exceptional customer service! After 23 years, it was time to proactively replace our furnace. Eric Olsen provided guidance in an appropriate replacement furnace. We are extremely pleased with the new furnace. Eric's professionalism, knowledge, and meticulous installation work was both appreciated and comforting. We highly recommend Jennings Oil Company to service your home heating needs.

Description of Work
New Furnace Installation

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,heating oil companies

5.0

09/02/2016


Orin W.

This is an amazing new approach to centrally cool and heat older homes which used to be nearly impossible. These new mini-split systems using state-of-the-art inverter technology finally make it doable with the added benefit of significant energy savings. After discussing options with their sales manager Eric, the Fujitsu system became the obvious choice. Once the process started he handled the permits and subcontractors and worked through the variance issues with the local town board. Jennings saw it through from start to finish jumping every hurdle that could be thrown at them. The MBR zone uses a small attic mounted air handler with insulated flexible ducting which allows for invisible central air type wall vents. The wall mounted controller is programmable, back-lit and extremely simple to use. The 2nd zone is an exercise room and uses an inconspicuous wall unit with silent air flow, programmable temperature settings, and uses a smart hand-held remote control. They are paired with a near silent wall-hung outdoor unit that produces the cooling and heating. Overall excellent experience. Punctual, professional, and pleasant. Very good communication. Fair and reasonable pricing. Great suggestions on how to accomplish a challenging installation. Have used Jennings for years for other AC/heating systems and will continue. The highest recommendation.

Description of Work
Installed a multi-room Fujitsu Halcyon AC/Heating system in a 50 year old home.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/18/2016


Michael L.

the sales manager was very informative and helpful, explaining every phase of the project. the workers we friendly and answered all my questions. I was very pleased with their work. will definitely recommend this company.

Description of Work
remove in ground oil tank and install new above ground oil tank. disconnect old supply lines and install new fuel line.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,heating oil companies

5.0

02/14/2015


madeline I.

Technician arrived on time and performed service. He was neat in appearance. He explained in detail what he was going to do. He worked efficently and left the work area clean.

Description of Work
Services oil burner and air conditioner

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/20/2015


Caroline D.

These folks are really great. No matter who I speak with, they are courteous and helpful. The burner maintenance person was unbelievably kind and everyone I have spoken to on the phone as a new homeowner has been tremendously helpful in helping me understand what the program was and what we would need. Absolutely recommend them and don't think we will ever leave them!

Description of Work
Oil provider service plan also offering annual burner maintenance. Cost of service reflects the coupon they were promoting here re: 2 year service plan for the price of one.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/07/2014


Karen M S.

It went very well. I received reliable deliveries throughout this difficult winter. The staff is always very courteous whenever I call with a question or concern. I had to estimate my usage since this is my first winter in the house and my usage turned out to be less than I guessed. They reduce my monthly cost accordlingly and I believe I will have fuel to start the next winter.

Description of Work
I became a contract customer for oil delivery service.

Category heating oil companies

5.0

01/24/2014


RANDY E.

Everything went amazingly well. Eric, the sales representative from Jennings, was professional and very helpful. He provided us with multiple options and gave us an incredible deal on the replacement of our outdoor, above-ground 275 gallon tank. The work was done quickly and we are more than happy with the results. Would highly recommend Jennings Oil for oil tank work.

Description of Work
Replaced leaking oil tank.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/21/2013


leon B.

oil furnace stopped. consulted angie's list and found jennings (coincidentally my oil delivery people. I didn't think of them first; that's how upsetting it is when a furnace stops.) tech came out and went straight to the problems. great price, not an arm and a leg. overall great visit.

Description of Work
emergency service. routine tuneup with filters and unclogging oil and air lines brought the system back to life.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/07/2013


Joseph D.

There was a problem with an electronic control but they worked on it very diligently until they fixed it.

Description of Work
They installed a new furnace and I've also used them for oil. They're a locally owned company and very responsive. I've used them for years and have always been happy with their prices and their service.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,heating oil companies

5.0

05/09/2012


Thomas F.

It’s a family run business. They have very prompt service. Whenever I need repair they are right out on it. They are professional. I feel the rates are reasonable. I will continue to use their services.

Description of Work
They sell me the oil, and service the equipment.

Category heating oil companies

5.0

04/26/2012


Mary F.

I've been using their services for four years. They're always on time and whenever I have a problem with my furnace they come right out. Whatever is covered under the service contract they fix. Their prices are about the same as anyone else and the quality of service is excellent.

Description of Work
They delivered the household oil.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

02/10/2006

THEY HAVE BEEN OUR OIL COMPANY, AND WHEN WE HAVE A PROBLEM THEY ALWAYS DO RESPOND PROMPTLY. I DON'T LIKE TO JUMP AROUND TO DIFFERENT COMPANIES SO I AM LOYAL.

Description of Work
A NEW FURNACE WAS PUT IN ALONG WITH A NEW OIL TANK.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    E and R plumbing llc

    Water heater repair or replacement or installation we are fully licensed and insured we pride ourselves on excellent communication and work with all of our customers we offer free estimates for all .  

    Sila Heating, Cooling and Plumbing

    We’re Open and Committed to You: Since 1989, Sila has been proud to serve you and our community. As the situation around COVID-19 continues to evolve, we wanted to respectfully reach out to you. We are here if you need us. We are monitoring the situation on a daily basis and taking guidance from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and local authorities. Your health, our employees’ health and the health of our community is of utmost concern. * We are conducting daily briefings and ensuring enhanced operating protocols are followed in every home we have the pleasure to serve. * All technicians and comfort advisors are equipped with hand sanitizer and disinfecting wipes, along with protective equipment (gloves, booties, etc.) for increased precaution before entering your home. * We are asking our customers to notify us if they’re feeling ill or have been in contact with anyone exposed so we can take precautions. * We have taken measures in all Sila offices such as flexible work from home and paid time off policies. Your comfort is our priority. We’re committed to safely assisting our customers with the prompt and dependable service you’ve come to expect for over 30 years. Our hearts are with those who have been affected by this extraordinary situation. It is truly our pleasure to serve you and we’re ready when you need us. Stay safe and healthy, Lou Pellegrini CEO  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Sila Heating, Cooling and Plumbing on Angi
    Allied Chimney

    Family owned and operated for over 20 years! Providing unparalleled customer service and quality workmanship for over in the New York Metro area, Long Island and Connecticut. Call us today for an immediate response!  

    Offers by Allied Chimney	 on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial boiler, furnace, hot water heater, oil tank, central and ductless ac installations, aboveground and underground oil tank removal & heating oil delivery.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Jennings Oil & Propane

    How is Jennings Oil & Propane overall rated?

    Jennings Oil & Propane is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Jennings Oil & Propane open?

    Jennings Oil & Propane is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Jennings Oil & Propane provide

    Jennings Oil & Propane accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Jennings Oil & Propane offer free estimates?

    Yes, Jennings Oil & Propane offers free project estimates.

    Does Jennings Oil & Propane offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Jennings Oil & Propane does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Jennings Oil & Propane offer emergency services?

    Yes, Jennings Oil & Propane offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Jennings Oil & Propane?

    No, Jennings Oil & Propane does not offer warranties.

    What services does Jennings Oil & Propane offer?

    Jennings Oil & Propane offers the following services: Residential and commercial boiler, furnace, hot water heater, oil tank, central and ductless ac installations, aboveground and underground oil tank removal & heating oil delivery.