HM Construction & Painting

About

Founded 1993 • With Angi since May 2012

HM Construction and Painting was founded in 1990 to provide customers with the most incredible home remodeling and renovating services in Fairfield County. We Provide Architectural and Structural Drawing Design Services. We provide general contractor services to both residential and commercial customers. Above all, our goal is to give you an extraordinary standard of excellence, quality, and professionalism each and every time you hire us. We know that referrals run businesses, so we strive to give you the best experience possible. From painting to carpentry home repair and from roofing to flooring, there is very little we can’t do! We specialize in bringing homeowners’ dreams to life. Whether you’re making a few cosmetic changes or you’re gutting a room and starting over, we are fully equipped to take your project on. We proudly provide service to Greenwich, CT and Darien, CT, as well as the surrounding areas! Ready to get started? Take a look at our Services page to see what we can offer you. Don’t forget, we offer free estimates at your convenience, so feel free to contact us at any time for an estimate....

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+51 more images

Verified Reviews

4.7

(145) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

121

4

9

3

3

2

4

1

9

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

woodworking (95)home remodeling (61)basement remodeling (17)general contractors (10)home builder (6)patio enclosures (4)countertop installation (2)interior painting (67)electrician (43)drywall (42)house painting (36)tile installation (36)
Showing 1-25 of 145 reviews
5.0

08/19/2022


Irene S.

Very happy with the end result! Helio is a man of his word. We refinished a basement and renovated the existing bathroom. Each member of the team brought their skill and expertise to the job and we couldn’t be more pleased! There were no surprise additional charges at the end and Helio went above and beyond to make sure we were happy with the outcome of the job. Top notch finishing skills with Van and crew made the final finish details of the project outstanding! We look forward to working with HM Construction in the future!

Description of Work
basement and bathroom renovation

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, basement remodeling

Cost $45,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/29/2022

5.0

07/25/2022


Adam H.

This is our second time using HM Construction. First time we used them was to replaced our old deck with new composite decking and railing in which they did an amazing job! For our second project with the company we need old trim replaced on our home. The price was extremely fair and they completed the job thoroughly and well. The crew was always very polite and cleaned up all the garbage and dust from the job. We will most definitely use Helio and his team for future projects.

Description of Work
Replaced Trim on Home with Hardi Board

Category handyman service, siding

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/18/2022

5.0

05/26/2022


Dorothy S.

As always, Helio provides exceptional service. Helio’s team has done several painting and electrical projects for me now and I could not be more pleased. Most recently he returned to paint a garage door that he installed. He replaced and installed new hardware on an outside door and replaced some basement ceiling tiles for me. Always dependable, prompt, professional, and honest. HM Construction has my highest recommendation.

Description of Work
Painting garage door; changing hardware on outside door; replace ceiling tiles

Category pressure washing, house painters, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/25/2022

5.0

03/25/2022


Tony A.

Great work and responsive !!! Looking forward to using it. Great finishes!!!

Description of Work
Renew bathroom and bedroom

Category drywall, electrician, hardwood floor, lighting, pressure washing, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/25/2022

5.0

03/24/2022


Gene C.

Work was excellent. All tradesmen were skilled, punctual, courteous and worked very neat and clean. Fit and finish of completed job was perfect. We would hire HM Construction again and would unreservedly recommend them

Description of Work
Total bathroom renovation

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, pressure washing, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/24/2022

5.0

02/11/2022


Ann Marie A.

We had a very good experience with HM Construction. We had our kitchen and master bathroom remodeled. When we first met with Helio, he was very animated and excited about the project and gave us ideas as to what we can do and what we could expect. Other contractors that gave us estimates did not show any enthusiasm whatsoever. He had a kitchen designer to help us figure out the best design that worked for the kitchen and bath. Helio has a great team and a great project manager that supervised every detail to perfection. There were no hidden fees, no surprises and HM Construction we’re upfront and honest. The crew cleaned up and we’re very careful with our furniture by protecting it from dust and dirt during the demo process. HM Construction gave us a selection of cabinets and counter tops to choose from. The whole process was smooth and painless. The outcome surpassed our expectations and for this we recommend HM construction for any projects that you may have. If I could give 100 plus stars we would.

Description of Work
Kitchen and bath remodel

Category pressure washing, home remodeling

Cost $85,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/12/2021

Images

Review for HM Construction & Painting - 60 Newtown Rd, Danbury, CT - 39625430

+6 More

5.0

11/20/2021


Dorothy S.

Helio and his crew were outstanding! This is the second time I’ve used his services. The first time was for installation of a new door. This time his team did a great job of painting a badly needed old office and a closet door and installing new light fixtures. Helio and his people were professional, courteous, efficient, and punctual. They were here every day, all day, until the job was done. I highly recommend HM Construction and painting!

Description of Work
Painting and electrical

Category electrician, lighting, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/19/2021

5.0

10/01/2021


Michael M.

The remodel went smooth. Helio and team stayed on schedule even with me throwing changes into initial plans. Helio communicated frequently and honestly throughout the process and remained close to the project. I’m looking forward to work with HM Construction on more projects soon!

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, masonry, plumbing, remodeling, home builders, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2021

5.0

09/25/2021


Victor C.

HM Construction did an outstanding job. The team was very professional. They made sure my wife and I were happy with their work. The job was done on time and on budget. I plan on using Helio and his team again and would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Window installation. Trim work. Painting

Category replacement windows, woodworking, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/23/2021

Images

Review for HM Construction & Painting - 60 Newtown Rd, Danbury, CT - 39486946

+1 More

5.0

09/24/2021


Brian H.

We hire HM Construction to remodel our very old and outdated kitchen and adjoining bathroom. HM Construction previously worked on our den, and it was a no-brainer to go with them again for the next big project. HM's quote was fair and there were no hidden costs along the way. Helio is incredibly responsive and is always able to fairly address any issues that may arise during construction. HM got us in touch with a designer who came up with a floor plan that we never would have thought of otherwise. Our kitchen was a huge project and the results are unbelievable. The workmanship is top notch and we could not be happier. HM is trustworthy, fair, and does excellent work. We could not more highly recommend HM Construction for any home project.

Description of Work
Complete remodel of kitchen and bathroom

Category ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/24/2021

Images

Review for HM Construction & Painting - 60 Newtown Rd, Danbury, CT - 39486004

+2 More

5.0

03/30/2021


Liz M.

We had a wonderful experience with HM CONSTRUCTION. We had Helio come see the basement and within a few days we had an estimate back. We were impressed at how honest and thorough the estimate was, no hidden costs. Once hired work began within two weeks and the team was consistently on site between 7:45 and 8, some nights staying past 7pm when something needed to be completed. Van, our project manager, was willing to work with us on ideas and took our Pinterest visions and turned them into our own (we were very prepared and had our vision for the project and wants noted) The project was completed ahead of schedule and we could not be happier! The built ins are beautiful, the new floors look great, well done paint job and perfect small bathroom. We highly recommend!

Description of Work
Basement renovation

Category closet systems, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, lighting, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, interior painters, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/29/2021

Images

Review for HM Construction & Painting - 60 Newtown Rd, Danbury, CT - 39271808

+4 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much miss [Member Name Removed], we will always be with you to acomplish your needs.

5.0

03/24/2021


Mary N.

Hulio was very reasonable with pricing. The job was excellent and completed on time. He was very attentive to my special requests. Will hire him again for another job.

Description of Work
Install new kitchen cabinets

Category ceramic tile, electrician, lighting, woodworking, ceiling fans, home remodeling

Cost $21,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/19/2021

5.0

03/15/2021


Myron D.

The job came out in amazing!!! Helio, the owner is a man of his word. He is professional, meticulous and very personable. He will get right back to you. His workers all came with expertise and were a pleasure to interact with. Very willing to please. The job exceeded our expectations!!! We will be using them for many projects in the future. We highly recommend this company!!!

Description of Work
Total staircase reconstruction, painting

Category drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, handyman service, lighting, basement waterproofing, woodworking, buffing & polishing, doors, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/15/2021

5.0

03/13/2021


Louis D.

Helio the owner of HM construction remodeled a 25 year old bathroom. Was finished on budget, on time, no surprises and looks beautiful. I'm going to have him check out another bathroom for a friend who saw the job progress and loved it.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile, electrician, glass repair, plumbing, pressure washing, home remodeling

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/13/2021

Images

Review for HM Construction & Painting - 60 Newtown Rd, Danbury, CT - 39246960

+3 More

5.0

10/06/2020


Santhosh N.

Helio and his crew did an excellent work to completer our both bathroom projects on time. We are very happy to have him as our contractor.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel.

Category basement waterproofing, home remodeling

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/06/2020

5.0

09/30/2020


Frank D.

We hired H&M for a complete home remodel. Helio and his foreman were amongst the best I’ve dealt with. Professionalism and dependably were certainly nothing I had to worry about. He was responsive, patient, reliable and trustworthy. He took the time to hear my concerns throughout the entire project and never once wavered. Exceptional people !!!!!

Description of Work
Home remodel

Category contractors, ceramic tile, closet systems, decks, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, masonry, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, home builders, woodworking, house painters, interior painters, doors

Cost $210,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2020

Images

Review for HM Construction & Painting - 60 Newtown Rd, Danbury, CT - 38927286

+4 More

5.0

09/29/2020


Balmikki C.

I used Helio and his team for some major updates to my kitchen, bathrooms and sun room. He and his team did a fantastic job delivering what I wanted at a price that was reasonable. They kept me up to date on their schedule and where very helpful in tackling extra tasks that were coming up as the projects progressed. I would absolutely recommend Helio and H&M Construction to anyone looking to have projects, BIG or small, performed around their house!

Description of Work
Total Kitchen Refurbishment, Bathroom Updates, Sunroom Flooring and exterior house repairs

Category electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters, cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2020

Images

Review for HM Construction & Painting - 60 Newtown Rd, Danbury, CT - 38916672

+3 More

5.0

08/11/2020


Nelson T.

Helio and his workers were excellent. They were punctual to the minute, courteous and respectful to my needs. The work performed was professional and artistic and when the work was done they cleaned the area to the point it was spotless. Communication and price of the job was excellent....... Definitely will rehire again

Description of Work
Created a wall sleeve in living room for an in wall air conditioner

Category woodworking

Cost $1,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/11/2020

5.0

07/08/2020


Amy A.

Helio from HM Construction & Painting, gets it done! My family has had the pleasure to work with Helio on a few projects(kitchen, bathroom, new deck...) over the past couple of years. His quality of work is excellent. He and his team work quickly and efficiently. Helio is reliable, dependable and trustworthy.

Description of Work
Deck replacement and Ramp

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/08/2020

Images

Review for HM Construction & Painting - 60 Newtown Rd, Danbury, CT - 38714009
5.0

07/07/2020


Ben C.

I want to start with the conclusion. We definitely love our new bathroom. Helio is always available to discuss our needs and even willing to go beyond our requests. He and his crew are super professional and hard-working. With Helio's help, now we turn the storage room in the basement into a functional, beautiful bathroom within our budget. If you want to hire someone reliable, just contact Helio.

Description of Work
New bathroom in the basement

Category electrician, lighting, basement waterproofing, home remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/07/2020

Images

Review for HM Construction & Painting - 60 Newtown Rd, Danbury, CT - 38701309

+2 More

5.0

06/25/2020


Jennifer H.

We hired Helio and his team to completely gut a 2nd floor bathroom and remodel a den, which included tearing down a ceiling and raising the ceiling to a sloped pitch to follow our roof line, as well as to add a skylight. I can’t speak highly enough of Helio and his team. The work and craftsmanship were top notch. Pablo led the demolition of plaster and wood panel walls and the installation of drywall, and did a fantastic job. Everything came out beautifully. It is apparent that all of the workers take pride in their work. They were incredibly clean and respectful of our home during construction, which is a really important but often overlooked part of the job. Beyond the quality of work, we are so pleased with HM Construction for other reasons. First, Helio’s responsiveness and care for our wishes. Any questions or issues that came up, he was available to discuss and resolve. No modifications were a big deal to him, and he and his team were able to take care of everything we asked for. Additionally, his pricing is fair and we feel like what we paid was well worth the work done. It is really important to be able to trust the person that is working on your home, and we felt that we were 100% in good hands with Helio. It is clear that he values his name and reputation in the industry. He’s a man of his word. We absolutely recommend HM and will not hesitate to hire them again for future projects.

Description of Work
2nd Floor Bathroom Remodel and Den Remodel

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, skylights, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/25/2020

5.0

05/14/2020


Tommy R.

Super responsive, showed up early each morning and stayed till dinner time each afternoon. Said the job would take 7 days but finished in just 3.

Description of Work
Custom Back Yard Fence

Category contractors, decks, handyman service, masonry, remodeling, deck cleaning, home builders, woodworking, house painters, patios, outdoor kitchens

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/13/2020