Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

CertaPro Painters® of Danbury & Ridgefield CT

Founded 1992 • With Angi since September 2008

4.6

(65) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

51 Sugar Hollow Rd Suite203

Danbury, CT 06810

Description

Additional DBAs - CertaPro Painters Ltd, Certapro Painters. Independently owned & operated.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

10/12/2022


BRIAN C.

We hired CetraPro to repaint out house, including fixing any rot. We also had them do work inside the home. It quickly became apparent that the crew that came out to our home had little to no experience painting. The inside paint was passable, but not professional looking. The outside was so bad that they ended up having to send a second crew out to fix the first crew's job. They painted over rot, missed rot, applied single coats of paint so thin you could see through them and failed to seal areas. When the second crew was much better, but instead of redoing the entire house, they went around trying to fix the most obvious mistakes. We needed to call them back once initially to remove rotted wood both crews missed. But then five months later, sections of the paint on our house was peeling up. We called them back out again and they said they would fix it but it's been weeks. They also said we would have to pay for the paint. Today, we discovered even more rot that has clearly been present for years, its so bad that when it rains its damaging a new door we had installed. We contacted them again today to have them come out and fix that. So far this has been a complete disaster by a company that clearly isn't interested in ensuring there painters do good work.

Description of Work
House repaint

Category contractors, house painters, interior painters

5.0

08/23/2017


Seth D.

Great! Very happy. The crew was great. Nice. Worked very hard.

Description of Work
Painted four room, entryway, hallway and stairwell.

Category interior painters

5.0

01/22/2017


Bill M.

Thoroughly professional, flexible and efficient. This is the 3rd time we've used them and they are very good at what they do.

Description of Work
Repaired drywall and painted bathroom.

Category interior painters

5.0

10/17/2016


Kathleen P.

Mike my salesperson was great, punctual, knowledgeable. He even came on the morning the work started to confirm the details of the project with the crew. Elmer and his crew were courteous, punctual and very clean. Highly recommend!

Description of Work
Exterior painting for all wood surfaces including trim work and porches. Powerwashing of all vinyl siding and decking.

Category pressure washing, house painters

5.0

10/15/2016


Reina G.

The workers were punctual and courteous. The job was well done and completed in the estimated time frame. They also did a great job cleaning up. I would hire Certa Pro again.

Description of Work
Painted dining room, living room, entry way, kitchen and hallway

Category contractors, interior painters

5.0

10/10/2016


Leslie T.

All went well... from estimate to finish/ clean up.

Description of Work
replace wood rot outside of home around doors and windows

Category contractors, house painters, doors

1.0

08/14/2016


Bill K.

This was the worst experience in my entire life. A strong warning to anyone considering this company. First, be aware this company sub contracts out their contracts with private painters. Price agreed and contract signed, preparation, sanding, primer on sanded spots, power wash and two coats of spray application. Painter sent was a con man from the beginning, planned to do the job solo even though he told certapro he had a team and the contract called for a team. Damaged house power washing, etched the shingles. Sanded only what he could reach from a step ladder. Did no sanding at all on the trim around the roof trim. Came home on the third day and found most of the house painted with just one coat. Painter said he was done. Looking closely I realized only one coat and it was ROLLED applied. Painter missed large sections and painted over on sanded areas. Also painted some of the azek PVC window and door trim which was told to not touch. Called certapro with the complaint and the sent out a manager. Painter was fired. Sent painter #2 out who resanded the house and correct the damage from the first guy. Asked to use my ladder because he did not have one which is outrageous. The day he was set to spray the paint, a second worker was assigned but never started because of a bad back. The guy who was left did not know how to use the sprayer so he called a friend and the friend sprayed the house. Now end of week two but still problem with the painted azek PVC. Tried to get me to allow all PVC to be painted as a solution but I said no way. Conversations with the owner were rough and he was reluctant to offer any price adjustment. Following week sent carpenter to replace all painted PVC trim who did an average job, worse than my original work. Supposed to send out painter to caulk and touch up paint on the third week of the job but I fired everyone and ended the job and immediately broke connection with certapro. Nothing exaggerated here, this all happened as fact and I left out a lot of other details like the third day of the job I came home and found my garden hose running water and the painter gone for the day. Please take my advice and hire another company.

Description of Work
Exterior painting of home

Category pressure washing, house painters

Service Provider Response

We value all our customers and are disappointed when we see a review like the one Mr. [Member name] has written. There are times when a project does not go smoothly and mistakes are made. The Certainty with CertaPro is that when any mistakes happen we always return to correct any problems and make the customer happy. In this case we not only returned to address the issues Mr. [Member name] pointed out to us, but had our master carpenter replace the PVC trim as requested by the customer. We also reduced the price of the project to compensate Mr. [Member name] for his inconvenience. As soon as the customer told us about his issues/concerns, we did everything possible to make this project right and satisfy the customer. Our last 10 reviews on Angie’s List include nine “A’s” and one “B”. This review by Mr. [Member name] is out of the ordinary for us and we hope that Angie’s List members take the time to read the many great reviews we have on Angie’s List. CertaPro has also earned the Angie’s List Super Service Award for 2015 which attests to our high level of performance and commitment to our customers.
4.0

07/21/2016


Elissa J.

They subcontract everything. They were very responsible but it was the subcontractor that I had a lot of trouble with.

Description of Work
I used CertaPro Painters.

Category handyman service

5.0

05/30/2016


Maureen M.

We hired Certapro Painters of Danbury & Ridgefield to paint our living room, dining room, hall, entry hall, and ceilings. Their estimate wasn’t the cheapest, but it wasn’t the most expensive. The two-man team showed up on time, working quietly, neatly, and quickly for two days (I don’t think they took a lunch break). The painters spent about a third of their time on prep, fixing nail “pops” and blending a small crack I had patched into the ceiling texture. The prep paid off. The walls and ceilings probably haven’t look this good since the house was built. We’d definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Prepped and painted 2 rooms, 2 halls, and ceilings.

Category interior painters

5.0

03/13/2016


Jason R.

CertaPro was a pleasure to deal with from start to finish. Their business is extremely professional and well-run. Michael came to meet with me first, in order to talk through the requirements of the project and to quote a price. They were running a winter promotion at the time of the job, which really made the pricing competitive, especially considering the quality of the work that was done. I was offered the help of a color consultant for free (for up to an hour), which I took advantage of. Geri, the color consultant, was very knowledgeable and was very valuable in helping me make my final color selections. The office was happy to work with me to select a start date that worked for me, and communicated well with me throughout. Angel (our head painter) and his team were very thorough and professional, and did an excellent job. We couldn't be happier with the results of this project, and we will definitely be using CertaPro again in the future!

Description of Work
Interior painting of entire main floor of house, entryway, upstairs hallway, 4 bedrooms, and baseboards in whole house.

Category interior painters

5.0

03/01/2016


Chris M.

We would highly recommend Certapro painters! They were professional and punctual and even vaccumed up before they left. Mike was a pleasure to work with everything went smoothly. Don't look anywhere else, you get what you pay for with Certapro painters!!! Thank you again for everything.

Description of Work
Painted our master bedroom

Category interior painters

5.0

02/23/2016


Monica D.

Certapro was very professional and the salesmen was very knowledgeable. There estimate was very detailed. The company was very concerned that I was completely satisfied, and I was.

Description of Work
This is the second time that I hired Certapro Painters for our painting projects. The most recent project they painted the interior of 5 rooms. Two of the rooms were bedrooms that had popcorn ceilings and although this is a very messy project, they did a great job in containing the mess and cleaning up. Certapro was extremely professional and kept us up to date as to the progress of the job. Based on my other estimates, they were very competitively priced. The first time I used them was for an exterior project where the painted the siding and trim of my house and they did a great job staining our deck. Whenever we had a concern, they took care of it right away. I would highly recommend using Certpro Painters for any of your painting projects and will use them on my future painting projects.

Category drywall, house painters, interior painters

5.0

02/22/2016


Danielle B.

The entire experience went absolutely perfectly. We needed our entire townhouse painted. The estimate was very fair and the process to get the estimate went smoothly and quickly. I had a hard time deciding on colors and they were very patient with my changing my mind and never made me feel rushed or badly for being for having trouble choosing my colors. The painters arrived on time, they were professional, clean and neat and a pleasure to have in my home. The job took a few days so they left their materials in a neat and organized area. We felt completely comfortable having the painters work on our home. The paint job was absolute perfection. We had no complaints whatsoever and we were extremely happy with the job done. I would highly recommend using Certa Pro of Danbury.

Description of Work
painted our townhouse

Category interior painters

5.0

02/22/2016


monica D.

Everyone I dealt with from this CertaPro office; from the customer service, salesman who came over, and the painters were all so professional and friendly. They always were on time when they said they would be starting and ending the job and each day cleaned up after themselves before they left. The cabinets look brand new and changed the entire look of my kitchen. Originally I didn't think of changing the hardware on my cabinets but the last day of the job I asked if they could put new hardware on for me and they told me of course. Before painting the interior the painters were meticulous in filling in all holes and sanding down each surface making the walls look new again. It was a pleasure working with them and I have and will continue to recommend them to friends and family for painting.

Description of Work
I used CertaPro twice for my new home already. They painted the entire interior of my home on a short time line before I moved in. Then about a few months later they painted the cabinets in my kitchen and replaced the handles and knobs on the cabinets as well.

Category interior painters

5.0

02/19/2016


Ismael R.

I would highly recommend CertaPro Painters of Danbury & Ridgefield. They were very personable and professional from the first call and through out the entire project. I felt they were priced fairly and that I received a finished job that was done to my expectations, they definitely delivered what they promised. The Painters were on time everyday and respectful of my property and they made sure to clean up after themselves. They provided a daily follow up and made sure that when the project was complete I was satisfied with the finished job prior to leaving. I will definitely use CertaPro Painters for my future projects.

Description of Work
We had 3 bedrooms painted and a hallway as well as repairing some damaged sheet rock.

Category drywall, interior painters

2.0

02/17/2016


Chris J.

The first day, we had some issues with them. Now you can see that they rushed through it. They didn't power wash our porch. There was a broken piece on our porch. We're told that if there was something broken, they would repair it and paint it. The job got done but it wasn't very good. You could see the old color of our porch a week after. We had to call them back and say that the quote was also for the porch. They had to come back out and do the porch. They rushed through that.

Description of Work
They pressure washed the house, cleaned the house and painted the porch. They gave us a quote for the whole house including the porch. They painted the house.

Category pressure washing, house painters

5.0

02/01/2016


Linda B.

It is with great pleasure that I provide this recommendation for CertaPro Painters of Danbury & Ridgefield, CT. Last fall Certapro provided a bid for our condo carpentry and siding project that was very competitive but, more important, impressively professional and thoroughly detailed. We felt very comfortable that we know what work they were bidding to do and how they planned to do it. Blew the other bids out of the water because it was in the same price range (or better) but demonstrated a completely superior level of professionalism. When they go the job, they continued to outshine others we have used in the past. They came when they said they would and did whay they said they were going to do. They provided a weekly status report. And they responded promptly when I emailed or left a message for them. Prior to this experience I had enough really, really bad experiences to think that only non-communicative, unreliable people were attracted to the construction trades. But this experience with CertaPro was really, really good!

Description of Work
condo carpentry and siding project

Category woodworking, interior painters

1.0

01/26/2016


Tina W.

It took 3 return trips to finally finish the job they way they were supposed to. They rushed the job. There was paint, caulk, and dust everywhere. They didn't wipe anything down, and even when they came back, they still missed a large amount of the stuff. They didn't move anything around, and we wound up with large paint splatters on furniture, doors, and carpeting. When they prepared the quote, they were supposed to repair part of the ceiling. When they came out to do the work, they didn't touch the ceiling, and instead told us that it would be an additional charge. This was easily a 2-day job, but instead, they stayed through until about 7pm on the first day. They still had to come back, per our request, several more times to actually finish the job the way they should have in the first place. There was no supervisory follow-up. We eventually gave up and finished the job ourselves.

Description of Work
We hired them to paint about 80% of the interior of our home.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

“When a job is completed, we set the expectation that their satisfaction is Guaranteed. If you are not satisfied, all you have to do is let us know and we will fix the problem. After almost a year and a half, we are shocked and disappointed that the Angie’s List member is unhappy with the final result of our work since we had no indication from the client that there was a problem with this project. Please understand at this point we are actively reaching out to this member trying to remedy the situation. Members please make sure to look at the rest of our fantastic reviews and understand that if we start work and you keep open lines of communication with us you will be very satisfied. If you have any further questions please give me a call.” May Ann Alpert, Owner 203-244-9505
2.0

01/08/2016


Kimberly A.

The day they came it poured, and to save time (?) the painters put 5 coats in the bedroom to try to cover a dark color, and when it dried, the entire room was covered in streaks and bubbles and had to be sanded and redone. Some time saver. I had to have them come back again, of course, and was not happy. Were going to hire again to paint entire exterior ($11,000 job) but since they seemed to goof on "painting 101" stuff, not now. Not sure how they got so high on Angie's list. I recommend avoiding and maybe using local word of mouth as their ratings here were not at all believable in the end for my area, anyway. Fast talking smarty salesman comes out first, and then a squad of untrained workers, essentially. Too bad.

Description of Work
The painters were to paint a bedroom and a finished attic.

Category house painters, interior painters

Service Provider Response

The scope of this project was to paint the walls only of a boy’s bedroom, a stairwell and studio. The cost was $1,600. The project was estimated by one of our Residential Sales Associates who is very knowledgeable in the painting industry and who has several years of painting experience himself. He is a very nice and courteous young man who has never before been described to us as a “fast talking smarty salesman”. Perhaps the client is referring to his ability to thoroughly answer all of their questions. The Job Site Supervisor assigned to this project has more than 20 years of painting experience. He and his crew are far from “a squad of untrained workers.” The issue in the boy’s bedroom was immediately corrected by the painters who returned yet again to address the clients concerns. What the customer didn’t say in their review was that the proposal clearly stated that they might need additional coats of paint due to the dark color already on the walls of the boy’s bedroom and that there would be an extra charge for any additional coats if needed. The painters applied the additional coats but we did not charge the customer for the extra coats. On the first page of our CertaPro proposal we state: “At the end of the project, we will inspect our work with you and we are not done and will not request the full payment until you are fully satisfied.” We cannot always be perfect but if errors are made on our part, we will always return to correct them to the client’s satisfaction. We honor this commitment to our clients and that is reflected in the many excellent reviews we receive from both Angie’s List members as well as other ratings sources.
5.0

12/30/2015


Gregory M S.

They showed up when they were scheduled with a team of 6 painters; completed the entire word, cleaned up; and left within 5 hours.

Description of Work
Power washed, scraped and gave two coats of paint to the front exterior of my home.

Category pressure washing, house painters, interior painters

5.0

10/10/2015


Suzanne M.

Michael arrived quickly to give us a clear and fair estimate of the work. He was easy to work with and very pleasant. We liked that this was a larger company, licensed and insured. Our painter Manny and his crew were terrific. They were reliable and prompt everyday. Manny was personable, easy to communicate with, on-site everyday, and took excellent care of our home. The workers were conscientious and cleaned up after themselves each evening. They did the touch-ups we requested and work was completed and finished within the designated time frame. We would definitely contact them again for future projects.

Description of Work
Paint entryway, stairway, living room, dining room, hallway, kitchen and 2 bedrooms, including ceilings, doors and trim.

Category interior painters

5.0

10/08/2015


monica D.

CertaPro was very quick to schedule my appointment and was willing to work around my hectic schedule. They were extremely professional and knowledgable with advising on paint colors and paint finishes. We look forward to working with them On other projects we have.

Description of Work
CertaPro Painters came to my townhouse to repair the kitchen ceiling last year which was damaged due to a water leak. They scheduled the project quickly and did a great job leaving the place clean and neat with a fresh new coat of paint on the ceiling. You couldn’t even tell there had been a repair. That is why we hired them again when we purchased our new home. We wanted the interior painted before we moved in with our two small children. Again they were able to get everything done within a week after our closing date. We were able to move in to a bright clean and welcoming home thanks to our CertaPro friends. They recently returned to paint our kitchen cabinets from brown to a bright white which really makes the kitchen cheery. They knew just the right paint to use and Ed our painter was meticulous in both his workmanship and cleanliness. We are CertaPro customers for life.

Category drywall, interior painters

5.0

10/22/2014


Deborah P.

Fine ..Thomas the painter was very pleasant and very professional.

Description of Work
Paint Front Door

Category house painters, interior painters, doors

4.0

08/22/2014


Mary H.

It went well. I would recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Wallpaper removal and painting. Paid $90 an hour

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

We charge $45.00 per hour per painter. This project was for the removal of wallpaper. We had 2 painters removing wallpaper so that it would go more quickly with less inconvenience to the client. The charge of $90.00 per hour was for 2 painters. This is a common misconception of clients who don't realize that the hourly charge is PER PAINTER. May Ann Alpert CertaPro Painters 203-244-9505
5.0

06/20/2014


michelle T.

very professional and courteous staff. Did a nice job.

Description of Work
painted large stairwell and walls/trim

Category interior painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    Strong Hammer Contracting

    Strong Hammer Contracting is a Roofing & Gutter company that have employees with over 10 years of experience. Our Goal is to provide the best job for our clients.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    FS Sanchez Landscaping LLC

    Specializing in landscaping services, hardscaping, rock walls, patios, decks, and more! We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Service Pro llc

    Good work good people Service pro llc Power washing Interior- exterior painting Carpentry Gutter cleaning Kitchen cabinets painting Kitchen cabinets installation Flooring installation FREE ESTIMATE  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    HIC.0637920
    Trade License Locale
    Connecticut
    Trade License Authority
    Department of Consumer Protection
    Trade License Expiration
    11/30/2016
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Check, Visa, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential & commercial interior and exterior painting, deck staining, stucco repair, carpentry, power washing, wallpaper application and removal, popcorn removal & drywall repair.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about CertaPro Painters® of Danbury & Ridgefield CT

    How is CertaPro Painters® of Danbury & Ridgefield CT overall rated?

    CertaPro Painters® of Danbury & Ridgefield CT is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are CertaPro Painters® of Danbury & Ridgefield CT open?

    CertaPro Painters® of Danbury & Ridgefield CT is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does CertaPro Painters® of Danbury & Ridgefield CT provide

    CertaPro Painters® of Danbury & Ridgefield CT accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Check, Visa, Discover

    Does CertaPro Painters® of Danbury & Ridgefield CT offer free estimates?

    Yes, CertaPro Painters® of Danbury & Ridgefield CT offers free project estimates.

    Does CertaPro Painters® of Danbury & Ridgefield CT offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, CertaPro Painters® of Danbury & Ridgefield CT offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does CertaPro Painters® of Danbury & Ridgefield CT offer a senior discount?

    Yes, CertaPro Painters® of Danbury & Ridgefield CT offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does CertaPro Painters® of Danbury & Ridgefield CT offer emergency services?

    Yes, CertaPro Painters® of Danbury & Ridgefield CT offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by CertaPro Painters® of Danbury & Ridgefield CT?

    Yes, CertaPro Painters® of Danbury & Ridgefield CT offers warranties.

    What services does CertaPro Painters® of Danbury & Ridgefield CT offer?

    CertaPro Painters® of Danbury & Ridgefield CT offers the following services: Residential & commercial interior and exterior painting, deck staining, stucco repair, carpentry, power washing, wallpaper application and removal, popcorn removal & drywall repair.

    Are there any services CertaPro Painters® of Danbury & Ridgefield CT does not offer?

    Ask for details.