Able Roofing

About

Founded 1998 • With Angi since April 2007

SUPER SERVICE AWARD WINNER-Roofing -4 Years in a Row! (2015-16-17-18) Licensed in Westchester, Dutchess, and Putnam Counties, and the state of Connecticut. Hello, my name is Chris Sanservino, I am the owner of Able Roofing and Home Improvements. For over 25 years I have been involved in the

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

sleepy hollow RD , Ridgefield sleepy hollow roof Ridgefield CTsleepy hollow roof Ridgefield

Verified Reviews

4.9

(105) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

95

4

4

3

0

2

3

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

roofing (101)roof snow removal (3)gutter repair (24)skylight installation (20)gutter cleaning (12)chimney repair (5)
Showing 1-25 of 105 reviews
5.0

08/22/2021


Wayne H.

Chris is a pleasure to work with. He showed up quickly after my call and was up on our roof looking for causes of several leaks we had. His assessment was thorough and he took the time to explain in detail our roof situation including issues with the structure underneath the shingles. He was willing to simply fix our leaks but also offered his opinion of the entire roof and other problem areas. His quote was prompt, had great detail on scope of work and was very competitive. He was able to fit our job in quickly. Also want to thank Chris for his willingness to work with our Home Warrantee Insurer who was difficult and required several hrs. Of his time on the phone to gain approvals. His crew showed up as promised on time, set up quickly and were removing the old roof within an hr. Of arrival. They did a great job and clearly know what they’re doing. Chris was on the job and on the roof overseeing the work and making sure everything went perfectly, which it did. His lead guy was professional and his crew stayed busy throughout the job. They did a thorough cleanup after day 1 which was nice. Chris also walked around the house several times as did his crew making sure the final cleanup was complete. Appreciate the effort. I not only would hire Able again, but have already given Chris’s name to several people in my family. We’ve gotten several compliments already on the roof and gutters so a final BIG thanks to Chris and his crew for a job well done. You won’t regret hiring Able for your roofing needs.

Description of Work
Complete roof replacement, removal of old skylight.

Category roofing, skylights

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/03/2021

5.0

05/05/2021


David F.

Without a doubt, their work was outstanding. Prompt, professional, respectful of the property, quick, and friendly. Will definitely use them again when needed. I recommend them without reservation.

Description of Work
Replaced an ancient and complicated roof

Category roofing

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/05/2021

5.0

07/17/2020


Min Q.

Chris and his crew did a great job with the roofing, skylight replacement, and the gutter replacement. We were well informed of the process and caveats. And the prices are the best among the three quotes we had Would recommend. They are located in Danbury, but serve Westchester area as ell.

Description of Work
Roof, gutter, skylight replacement

Category gutter repair, roofing, skylights

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2020

5.0

07/09/2020


Eli F.

Chris came over to give me a free estimate; he was easygoing, professional, and very informative. It's a pity that he no longer really does the specific kind of work I need, because I would have hired him to do it. I very much appreciated the insights he provided, including estimates and detailed technical information that I can use in my dealings with subsequent pros. Thanks, Chris!

Description of Work
Gutter replacement, potential facia/soffit replacement, chimney flashing, vent flashing...the list goes on.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/08/2020

5.0

05/01/2020


Deborah J.

it went very well and they did a very fine cleanup job after the work was completed.

Description of Work
Replace to broken skylights and part of throof surrounding them

Category roofing, skylights

Cost $4,390

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/29/2020

5.0

04/17/2020


Kirsten R.

Chris was friendly and easy to work with. He replied to my request within an hour and came to our home to go through our concerns. When he arrived he explained all the possible options to fix a potential leak coming from our roof vent. He also provided his costs upfront, which were very reasonable. After meeting with two other contractors, Chris was the most sensible and reliable and provided great detail about the repairs. He repaired the vent right then and there and did excellent work. We would hire Chris again and highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Roof repair for potential vent leak

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/16/2020

5.0

11/30/2019


Carla C.

Chris and his crew did an excellent job cleaned up nicely and the job was done quickly and On time very pleased

Description of Work
roof replacement

Category gutter repair, roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/30/2019

5.0

11/30/2019


Robert Z.

Work was performed in a very efficient and professional manner despite a weather problem.

Description of Work
roof replacement

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/02/2019

5.0

09/25/2019


Geralyn C.

Chris and his crew did a great job when they replaced my roof. They arrived on time and did the job in one day. They were professional and courteous and left my property spotless. I highly recommend Chris.

Description of Work
Roof Replacement

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/23/2019

5.0

08/29/2019


Evan B.

Amazing! Chris and his crew are top notch. Very professional. Definitely recommended.

Description of Work
Full roof replaced

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2019

5.0

08/08/2019


MARIA Q.

Chris did a great job installing a great looking roof and new gutters in my rental property. He used the best materials and schedule the installation ASAP as I was in a rush because my roof was having a leak and new tenants moving in that week. They worked really **** ** a 90F weather and finished everything within 2 days back to back. Nice Job, competitive price, good clean up, and good work ethics. I'm very pleased with Able Roofing and I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Whole house roof and gutters

Category gutter repair, roofing

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/29/2019

5.0

07/29/2019


chris H.

Able roofing did a awesome job replacing my roof and installing custom skylights and new gutters. Chris and his team were a pleasure to work with and provided outstand work and great customer service. Chris and his team are very easy to work with. They finished the work ontime and on budget. If you are looking for a great roofing company, Able roofing is the one you want!

Description of Work
I needed a new roof

Category gutter repair, roofing, skylights

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/18/2019

2.0

07/29/2019


Jeffrey G.

Chris came via Thumbtack, and was highly rated, as per here. However, my experience was not positive, unequivocally Chris arrived promptly, as promised, and was responsive via Thumbtack. He climbed the roof, came down, and told me it required ripping up a section of shingles to find the leak, and he wouldn't do job unless half the roof minimum being redone... maybe $4,500 or so ballpark price. Time for opinion #2 with contractor #2 who upon visiting the roof not only was extraordinarily clear about the source of the issue, but had a tactical, affordable solution. He also noted some vulnerabilities in plumbing air pipes on the roof and had a great fix for that as well. The fixes are aesthetically pleasing and affordable. Able Roofing non-consultative / solution oriented, seemed to only want to get out of bed for big bucks. He was either unable (it was obvious the source of water leak so... why wasn't it noticed and reported to me), and / or unwilling (wanted only big jobs) to help properly. So information with incorrect or withheld. Luckily, no cost for the assessment. Maybe he had a bad day.

Description of Work
Fix of Water Leak on the roof

Category roofing

Work Completed On 07/24/2019

Service Provider Response

I stand by my recommendation and it has nothing to do with getting out of bed for "big bucks". There were obvious hack attempts at a repair before you called me. What I recommended would be a permanent fix to last the next 50 years. I could have slapped some tar on the area and called it done but that would not last more then a year or two at most. I felt it was in your and my best interest to just do it proper and final.
5.0

07/11/2019


Matthew H.

Able Roofing is fantastic. Chris, the owner, was quick to come out and give an estimate. He was very thorough talking me through his estimate along the way and explaining what he'd like to do, what might be a problem, and why. It was very helpful as a new home-owner. Within a week he was working on the roof, and did a great job. He and his team were done in about a day. My roof looks great, and I'm very happy with the job.

Description of Work
Roofing - Full Roof Replacement

Category gutter repair, roofing, skylights

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/11/2019

5.0

06/29/2019


Donna L.

Called Chris on Thursday. He came over the same day to give us an estimate. He completed the job the next day. Have had our gutters cleaned a few times by him, and he is very reliable. He had recommended the guards which we just had done yesterday.

Description of Work
Gutters clean and gutter guards installed.

Category gutter cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/29/2019

5.0

06/18/2019


Seth C.

Chris was timely with his detailed estimate for roof and gutter replacement. It was a fair price. They showed up on the agreed upon date and finished the work quickly even after running into some logistical issues caused by prior electrical work done on the house by previous owners. The final bill was in line with the estimate and there was some plywood and rafter replacement needed which Chris consulted me on as it was revealed in the process. Chris and his crew did end of day clean up each day including going over the ground with a magnetic bar to catch any small pieces of metal that might have landed on the ground. I am very happy with Chris's work and my new roof. I would recommend him without hesitation.

Description of Work
Replace roof and gutters

Category gutter repair, roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/14/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for me. You were a pleasure to work with and i enjoyed working on your home.
5.0

05/27/2019


Aidan B.

Able Roofing just put a new roof on our house in Danbury. They were recommended highly to me by a co-worker who was very happy with their work and price. Able Roofing also did my next door neighbors' roof some years ago. My neighbors haven't had a single problem in all that time, and they recommended the company highly . We are happy with our experience as well. The work was quickly done in two days, and the new roof looks great. Chris is a gentleman, and an honest guy. He has a great reputation around here - and deservedly so. My sister is getting ready to replace her roof and I've been telling her that she should go with this company.

Description of Work
roof replacement

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/26/2019

Service Provider Response

it was a pleasure working with you. thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
5.0

05/19/2019


Mary G.

Chris is knowledgeable, honest, and kind. The previous person I hired was unable to successfully banish my leak. Chris came by on a weekend to check it out, which I really appreciated. It wasn't entirely clear where the leak was coming from, so he tried a simple fix first, on the spot. He then explained what my other options would be if the leak persists, and gave me an estimate for that (which was the same figure the first guy quoted me, but for more work - first guy did next to nothing). His communication was excellent; he genuinely wanted me to understand the bits of roofing knowledge that were relevant to my situation, and it gave me confidence in his expertise. Going forward, I hope my roof can just do its thing without bothering me, but if it does bother me, I will call Chris.

Description of Work
Eliminate leak in roof

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/18/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It was a pleasure to work with you.
5.0

05/17/2019


J T.

Timely and professionally done work. Done in a day as promised. Completed extra detail needed around our unusually positioned chimney. Extra care for removal of nails fallen around the house and offered to come back in the fall (this is May) to go over the ground again with magnets to get all the nails that may have dropped. Very satisfied with the quality and the price. Owner is attentive to detail and responsive to all of our questions from start to finish. We plan to call ABLE ROOFING again for our next roof. WE also had new copper flashing added as well as work sealing our sky light windows. All done the same day from start to finish!

Description of Work
Replaced roof entire house and garage.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/17/2019

1.0

05/16/2019


Matthew G.

Awful nightmare of an experience! Save your money and your home! Very unprofessional! The workmanship was appalling on my roof replacement. Literally the worst contractor I've had the displeasure of working with. I've been in the home remodeling business for many years of my career so I know what I'm taking about. I'm downright upset and sick to my stomach that my home was treated and left this way! Chris and his inexperienced crew don't care about you or your home just your money! 0 Stars if possible. Everything was fine until I handed over a check to Chris. Almost immediately he disappeared for 99% of of the day leaving 2 men and 1 woman onsite. Some of the plywood around the lower sections needed replacing. So, the crew of workers used a nail-gun and shot huge nails through my exposed eves that are visible! They completely missed the rafter tails and shot 3" nails through my eves! This leaves a jagged nail hanging out of the bottom eves all around my house and can be seen walking up to the door with wood blown out of the bottom of nail holes. This leaves a very unpolished look and can be a hazard. Looking out the window I see one of them throwing debris off the roof and it hitting my fence that's shared with my neighbor. I attempted to talk to him to say be careful, but none of them spoke English. I texted Chris with my concerns and NO ANSWER leaving me feeling helpless and trapped as the workers pounded away without direction or any way of communicating. One of the workers was actually standing directly on my downspout extension for my gutter system. It was completely flattened and trashed. Next I noticed another downspout (other side of the house) had been whacked/dented and torn away from the stone wall with the masonry anchor just hanging. Chris reappeared for 3 minutes I showed him the damage and was told it was fine and not to worry about it and it would be taken care of. He promptly disappeared again. At the end of the day the workers just stopped and left. Minimal cleanup was done even after my wife had begged them to please grab the debris and papers before they blow into the trees and neighbors yard which had been happening all day. The mess was everywhere and weeks later we are still finding pieces of roof shingles, tons of nails and paper from packaging. My wife and I had to walk our neighbors yard collecting all the garbage left behind. That's when the real fun started. This list of issues below was found after the workers had left for the day. My wife and I spent some time walking the property with a horrible feeling finding problem after problem. We did all we could do at that point - we made a list of the issues discovered and drafted an email to Chris. We got a one sentence unapologetic response with his go to response "we are not finished and it will be addressed." The next morning Chris rang the door bell and was yelling at my wife and I with his chest puffed out literally arguing with us screaming that we dont know what we are talking about and said all the issues were "trivial" and "it's just a few nails! Once he calmed down it wasnt much better but he did apologize for being too aggressive and fired up when he rang our door bell. He tried to excuse the unprofessional and antagonistic behavior with "I have other stuff going on." Issues with Portico. The flashing that was installed is too short and it looks like the crew tried to caulk the gap where the flashing should have met and gone above the wood siding- leaves a gap, that then had to be excessively caulked but this is extremely messy. Also caulk left on the brand new shingles areas that should be watertight are missing caulk, especially the gap between the flashing and the house, over the nails, etc. The Ice Shield is also exposed on the side portico and white flashing was used when we have brown trim – it does not look finished at all and appears very messy. Our original flashing was brown! Gutters rehung improperly (peak in middle)! Argument to get them to fix it! Chimney flashing looks crooked! Too many problems to list!!!

Description of Work
Roof Replacement

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/16/2019

Images

Review for Able Roofing - 178 Middle River Rd, Danbury, CT - 37886138

+6 More

Service Provider Response

Ok [Member Name Removed] lets go through your lies and exaggerations 1 by 1. 1) I was on the job 3 hours the first day and 6 hours the second day. 2) two of the 3 people I left at your house speak English very well. . They do not know how to deal with home owners calling them “****** ********” and being violent towards them. Your behavior was totally unacceptable. There silence was from fear not an inability to speak English!! 3) 4 nails missed the rafter on over 100 linear feet of ply wood replacement 4 misses out of over 3000 nails on a crooked 1930s summer cottage conversion home is not unreasonable. . We pulled the 4 nails and caulked the holes with silicone that matched the color of your soffit. Your soffits are over 80 years old and full of imperfections. 4) The crooked gutter. I told you the existing gutter needed to be replaced with a 1 piece seamless gutter before we started the job and is no different then the way infound it. 5) I replaced the 2 damaged leaders at no charge to you and even gave your wife 10 additional feet for free!! Angies list will not allow any more room for me to address the rest of your lies and exaggerations.
5.0

05/14/2019


Jen L.

Chris did a great job and quickly got back to me with any questions that I had. They were neat and the job was well done. I would definitely recommend them.

Description of Work
Replaced my roof and gutters

Category gutter repair, roofing, skylights

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/04/2019

5.0

05/10/2019


Helen O.

Found Able Roofing online and observed consistently good reviews. The owner, Chris, responded very quickly and arrived the next day. I had shingles coming off the roof so the job needed to be done fairly quickly. We agreed on a time roughly 6 weeks later. I had two offers and the offer from Able Roofing was both cheaper but also more comprehensive. Chris used satellite images to determine the size of the roof and the cost. When water started coming through the dry wall Chris was able the push the job forward within days and deployed a big team and completed the work in just 2 days! The roof looks great and the team also cleaned up well and none of the flower beds were affected. He stayed within budget. Am already recommending Able Roofing to friends and neighbours! Helen Olafsdottir Pawling

Description of Work
Replacing roof

Category gutter cleaning, roofing