Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A&M Painting

Founded 1996 • With Angi since July 2011

4.3

(56) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4 Third St.

Danbury, CT 06810

Description

Are you thinking about painting your home or office, think about A&M Painting here our costumers`s satisfaction always comes first,and our team of experts painters, are ready to recoat your home office or building anew, in a neat and organized way. AT A&M Painting our costumers`s expectations are

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

06/23/2016


Alexandre R.

The individual is not eager to work and is finding reason to avoid the work. Unreliable. Doesn't return calls or emails. Very poor manners!

Description of Work
Power washing

Category plastering

5.0

06/02/2016


Ann S.

Description of Work
Painted ceiling, walls, closet doors, bathroom door and bedroom door. Also repaired and spackled walls and ceiling. Job went well.

Category drywall, home remodeling, interior painters

1.0

04/29/2016


Susan R.

The appointment was for 9:00 am. He didn't show up until 10:50 am. When I told him we were expecting him at 9, he said "it's too cold to do it then." I said "someone should have called to let me know you'd be late." His comment: "well, I'm here now." We found him to be arrogant and rude. Then he tried to scam me out of $100 more saying the house was bigger than the offer allowed (my house isn't and we offered to show him the house specs but he said no). Then he said he'd have to use a ladder and go onto the roof to do some of the work. No way, my house is a raised ranch, not even 2 stories. He was pushing and rude. My husband and I told him to leave, we wouldn't be using his services.

Description of Work
The provider was scheduled to pressure wash my house today. We spoke yesterday and set it up for 9:00 am today.

Category pressure washing

Service Provider Response

There was no appointment i went to actually do the work, got caught up in traffic costumer was told not to wait all i needed was water source and windows closed,house was bigger than the 2200 sq ft and charged them extra they walked away were told to get refunded, should nothave been allowed to even mention it here ,they're not my costumers.
5.0

03/14/2016


david S.

Monday, Auguimar with an assistant arrived somewhat late and set out to work, scrapping, cleaning, spackling, and caulking: and were done by noon. At 1pm after lunch decided to return next day to let spackle completely dry. Next day arrived on time and efficiently completed a coat of primer and paint. Room looks and feels great. Excellent job! Auguimar went above and beyond what we agreed to.....touching up white window frames and baseboards, he also recommended painting baseboard heaters. Something I am very happy I agreed to. Auguimar is very conscientious and I feel he had my and the room's best interest in mind. Walls were made of Plaster. The room was vacuumed and ready to be moved back into. I have received clients in the room and two have mentioned the beautifully painted room.

Description of Work
Provider, over a two day period prepped and painted a 13X13 room and installed rails in closet for shelves. I provided primer and paint.

Category interior painters

2.0

12/18/2015


Keith C.

I purchased 16 hours of painting/spackling for $499 as a deal. The work was originally scheduled to begin on Monday 12/14, but when he arrived over an hour late, he said it was a bigger job than anticipated, plus he needed to pick up his daugfhter at 1:30 so he would come back and do the work on Wednesday and Thursday. Wednesday he showed up at 8:45am and worked until 4:30 and though he was working slowly I asked him to just get as much done as he could in the 16 hours I purchased. The next morning he called to say he wasn't feeling well and would be back on Friday to continue, I asked him to make sure and give me the full remaining amount of hours I paid for to which he responded he doesn't work on a clock and the job is worth much more than I paid. He then showed up on Friday morning, offered to do the work for $1500 when all I asked for was the 16 hours I paid for, he then left and told me to get a refund for the remaining hours.

Description of Work
Paint and Spackling

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

I got to the house on monday as planned, he was not there, 2 hours later he arrived, and said he did not have the material( sheet rock compound) he thought i had to supply it. then i told him i'd give him, Wedsneday and Thursday, instead, he had massive dry wall taping and compound downstairs, and lots of painting upstairs, first he said for me to just do what i could, but then he kept rushing me to finish the whole thing in two days, I gave him a price for the whole thing done properly, with no shortcuts, to which he said no way.that first day i got his basement walls taped and compounded, painted three big doors upstairs as well as five windows loaded with lattices details, then he texted me next morning, telling me how he saw it on you tube, that i took me longer than it should have to paint the windows, and that i should come earlier and leave later next time for he had timed my arrival ,departure and my lunch time, i told him i do not punch cards, and that he could hire that you tube painter to do his work, i undestand the reaction, the guy needed a christmas renovation but just could not afford it.poor guy..
4.0

12/16/2015


GLENNA D.

They brought a very reliable person who did a good job, but he didn't speak any English. It was weird that I couldn't speak to him. He did a very good job in cleaning the house. He finished by 2:00 but his boss didn't come to get him until 4:00, so he sat there until then. That was weird.

Description of Work
I bought a Big Deal to get my home pressure washed. They did not charge me any extra than the price of the Big Deal.

Category pressure washing

Service Provider Response

So???????
5.0

10/23/2015


Tina P.

They arrived on time and ready to go. They pressured washed the side of the house that had green mold on it and it came out perfectly. For an extra charge of $100 they did the front of the house and the sidewalk which also came out great. It took some time to finally get a date that worked im guessing because they are located in Danbury CT and Im in White Plains NY but once we got that together they were terrific. Would definitely recommend their services.

Description of Work
purchased the $225 home exterior pressure washing.

Category pressure washing, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks sorry for any inconvenience.
5.0

10/18/2015


Thomas M.

They had plenty of ladders for my tall home. The workers were very dedicated. It took 8 1/2 hours. Everything looks beautiful now. You will have to enjoy a little smell of bleaching agent that is necessary for the mold/algae. I priced the job much higher with two other companies. So, this was great deal as well.

Description of Work
Power washed my bluestone patio, complete vinyl sided colonial house, wood railings, back and front steps, bluestone pathway in front.

Category pressure washing, interior painters

1.0

09/21/2015


John R.

The provider was schedule to come on the 8th of September at 0730. At 0745 I called the provider. The provider stated, " his truck broken down the day before". I asked him why he did not call to rescheduled the day before, he had no answer to my question. The next day, I had to call again because he was late again. He arrived 20 minutes later with help. The provider received a detailed work list and walk through of what I wanted completed. The list entailed of covering five holes in the wall on the third floor, sand existing compound on the walls in the living and one of the additional bedrooms. It would have took 2.5 hours to complete the first day and two additional days to ensure the job is completed(ready for paint). The provider was on the hook for 16 hours. I only needed him for 7 1/2 hours. I provided all of the material and additional tools for the provider. The provider put up additional compound on the walls on the third floor, second floor, and the stairway leading to ground floor. The provider did not follow my detailed instructions nor he call me about questions. I accounted 100 new marks of compound added by the provider that was not requested by me. Most of it needed to be sanded and his mess was not cleaned up. The provider left dry compound on my wood floor and dust all over the place. I would understand, if the provider made attempt to clean. The provider took of the switch covers and left them in a pile on the living floor. The provider left dust on newly stained wood doors that has to be done over again. The provider add two additional weeks to process of my house. I had to sand every single compound mark he left and clean up the mess on the walls, baseboards, windows, and on the floors. I engaged this provider about his job and he said use some water to clean the dried up compound on the woods floors or you can pay for another service by him.

Description of Work
The provider gave me addition work for the next 2 week because he did follow detailed instructions, provided me an opportunity to finish his job and clean up his mess.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

they bough this very in need of repairs house, they had big holes six or seven, I spent the day with my partner, crawling behind ceiling walls to screw support two by fours to attach sheet rock, I explained to them that big patches could not be done on a day. they need to dry and rapacht two or three times, I offered them to buy additional time but they said they cant afford it.under Mr. Robinson`s instructions, I patched the major areas upstairs, three rooms and closets, as well as downstairs where needed, unfortunately I could nor come back next day to sand it, but they got a good amount of work for their money.
5.0

08/22/2015


Gregory L R.

It went great! Hear from him two days after purchasing the service. Excellent job done, friendly customer service and recommend him again.

Description of Work
Home power wash

Category pressure washing

5.0

08/06/2015


Sharon H.

Painters were very professional. I bought an advertised deal but contracted with them to do some additional work, and the price was fair. Would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Painted the exterior of the foundation walls and white bay window trim on the house.

Category woodworking, house painters, interior painters

1.0

03/07/2015


Merri M.

After a no-show for the first appointment, they came and gave a $2500 estimate to paint the whole house. I requested they come back to paint my storm windows which were inside my guest house for the $399 I paid before the deal expired Dec 31. They never showed up. I requested a refund and Angie's List refused so I am filing a complaint with the Consumer Finance Bureau.

Description of Work
A&M did perform this Big Deal for 2 exterior painters for a day.

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

She wanted the whole house painted for the 399.00 I tols her the could not be , and gave her the estimate, she was to call back, and never did.
3.0

01/26/2015


Stephen B.

His quote was for the job, he quoted a week's worth of work when I just needed 2 days of work done.

Description of Work
This was a Big Deal for 2 painters for a day.

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

The quote I gave him was solicited by him,at first he wanted to do some scraping and repaint around the house which could `ve been done in 16 hours, but at his asking he was quoted to replace rotten wood on windows,some of them badly compromised, and repaint all the exterior trim, garage doors,as well as the whole front side of the house, I gave him a written estimate, called a few times, he was to get back to me and simply never did.
2.0

12/07/2014


Marcia N.

I tried repeatedly to contact the painter via phone and email. He called once right after I purchased the deal and left a message on my voice mail, but was impossible to reach afterwards and never contacted me again.

Description of Work
.

Category house painters, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Totally untrue custumer never answered the calls, or messages I posted
1.0

11/19/2014


Rosemary S.

I purchased a so-called deal from A&M for 16 hours of painting work for $499. I took weeks to get this contractor to come and look at the job, and when he did come, he told me the job would cost an additional $1500. I called another painter and had all the work done for $1200 (and fewer than 16 hours) - paint and supplies included. Angie's List then refused to refund my money because I requested a refund outside of the 30 day refund period (even though the contractor agreed to refund me my money). This transaction left a very bad taste in my mouth, and I will be canceling my Angie's List membership. I cannot comment on the quality of this contractor's services because he did not do any work for me, but I do know he was overpriced.

Description of Work
Painting "Deal".

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Again I work with certain procedures that cost me a little more and that ,was explained to her, quality work cost a little more, I`ve no control ove what angie`s list does or not.
5.0

11/10/2014


Mark R.

Did a great job of scraping and ensuring the areas were cleaned and prepped before painting. I supplied the paint, and they did all the work.

Description of Work
Painted the trim around the eves of the house - primarily on the second floor areas.

Category house painters, interior painters

5.0

10/31/2014


June W.

It was initially a bit difficult to get hold of the owner - I had paid the $399 Angie's List deal and was expecting to be contacted within a few days. Angie's List was good about getting them to contact me. Once the contact was made, they were responsive, came on time, cleaned up well and did a very nice job. Augie, the owner, is very sweet and even power washed my stone walkways (not part of the job requested). I would recommend them and will use them for other painting jobs.

Description of Work
Painted a very rusty spiral staircase and sanded, sealed the wooden staircase and patio floor.

Category woodworking, interior painters

5.0

10/14/2014


Robert R.

Overall I am very happy with his work. He wants things to be "right" and his prices are fair. The inside painting went off without a hitch. He even made suggestions for matching paints, and how to deal with transition areas. They were punctual, worked at a good pace, cleaned up the site and were neat, with good lines and good coverage. The outside job turned into an adventure. I knew from the home inspection (recently purchased the house) that there were several ceder boards on the deck that were soft in spots and sections needed to be replaced. Once A&M started on this project we found that ALL of the boards were rotten on the bottom and every one needed to be replaced. The job went from $1500 to $2500 plus material. This also included outside painting in the deck area and some outdoor furniture. It was clear that the work really needed to be done and the waterproofing done in past years had not covered the seams well enough. They stayed with the job, working when weather permitted. The end result is a virtually new deck and a nice, even stain. The water beads up like a newly waxed car. Augie had to make a lot of adjustments for material runs and shuffling around other jobs as this turned out to be much bigger than expected. Once he realized we had a bigger problem, he felt compelled to rearrange his schedule so that he didn't leave us with a large mess in the back yard He showed me all material costs, and even got us some price breaks with his contractor status. He is a small business man who wants to get things right and is willing to earn his money. He does need to work on the admin side of the business (invoicing, email, etc) as that part lags behind his other services. His focus is on painting and getting the work done. I will use his company again.

Description of Work
Augie did extensive painting inside, including several rooms and some built in furniture. He also completed a large project that started as a deck staining / sealing and wound up being a deck replacement.

Category deck cleaning, house painters, interior painters

1.0

10/07/2014


tony S.

Never heard from anyone; yet, I was asked to make a payment. No message in my message center. I checked it.

Description of Work
.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Againj I don`t have costumers number untill after the first contact, I emailded the costumer to call my number.
2.0

09/26/2014


Courtney C.

This style of planning did just not work for me and my husband as we both work. Lastly, I wrongly assumed that in purchasing a deal that the work could be done right away but in reality a vendor might be booked out weeks in advance. I would be hesitant to buy a big deal again but I will certainly continue to use Angie's list.

Description of Work
The was my first experience with a big deal on Angie's List. First of all, the vendor was pleasant. While he did come by to see the space, it was a little hard to pin a date down for the actual job. He called me twice with either no notice or a 1/2 a day notice.

Category interior painters

5.0

08/16/2014


Tom T.

First, he was responsive. Second, he was honest and did not try to get more money out of me. He worked on painting and glazing some old windows and some trim. I look forward to using him again.

Description of Work
Painted house for 2 days

Category handyman service, house painters, interior painters

5.0

05/26/2014


Sean M.

Agui was the only contractor who answered his phone. He was very responsive and came out later that day as he was returning from his last job. He was able to do the job right away due to weather. He showed up a little early, both for the estimate and for work, but that was not a problem. The job lasted about 2.5 days. The workmanship was flawless. Not only were the cracks repaired, but the paint job was immaculate. We have yet to find a spot where he missed, or where paint dropped where shouldn't. And I don't think he even used tape (I wasn't there for most of the work). He was very friendly and helpful with the paint scheme. He will be our first call for our next job.

Description of Work
We had some cracks in the plaster in our kitchen which needed repair, then the kitchen needed painting.

Category plastering, interior painters

5.0

05/13/2013


Stephen R.

The prices are reasonable and the quality of work is excellent! I am a president of a homeowners association and I feel comfortable with this company doing work for our neighborhood.

Description of Work
This company I have used over the last few months and will continue to do so. Most recent they painted a whole interior of my house.

Category house painters, interior painters

5.0

05/13/2013


JoAnne D.

Agui was neat and clean and very polite. He protected, patched any holes and sanded as needed so there were smooth surfaces prior to painting. He then primed, painted ceilings first, and then went onto walls and trim. When I brought a few minor needed touch ups to his attention he took care of them immediately. He cleaned up after himself at the end of each day. He performed the carpentry/handyman services very well; everything was installed properly and worked correctly and looked good when he was finished. I will definitely use him again for staining my exterior house shingles and decking and for painting the exterior trim on the house and for handyman services as well.

Description of Work
Agui painted five rooms, two halls and one, two story stairwell including walls, ceiling and trim. I supplied the paint and he supplied all painting materials including protection and all needed painting accessories. He also performed some carpentry/handyman services such as installing a new screen door and replacing an exterior door jamb where the wind had whipped the screen door open and the hinge pulled some of the wood jamb with it.

Category handyman service, woodworking, house painters, interior painters

5.0

04/27/2013


Brian H.

No issues, excellent work and communication

Description of Work
Power washed and sanded decks and repaired woodwork. Then sealed mahogany decks. Agui has worked extensively for me before. He is honest , reliable and very fairly priced. I highly recommend him

Category plastering, pressure washing, house painters, interior painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    AAF Remodeling

    • Award Winning Service • For Over 10 Years, AAF Remodeling has been providing High-Quality Craftsmanship to all of Litchfield, Fairfield, & New Haven Counties! • We Offer a Range of Painting & Remodeling Services: Roofing, Siding, Windows & Window Replacement, Doors, Decks & Porches, & all Carpentry • We Offer Competitive Pricing WITHOUT Sacrificing Quality! • Visit us on Facebook @ https://www.facebook.com/Aafremodeling • Call (203) 490-9711 to Schedule a FREE Estimate or Appointment • Alternate Phone: (203) 917-1586  

    A & A Painting & Carpentry Co

    We are a medium-sized company with 27 years in the painting industry, with 6 full time painters and 1 carpenter. We do not sub-contract our work, we do all the work our self, we ask for 35% deposit, 35% at the half work completed and 30% upon completion of job.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Painting – Interior & Exterior. Wall Paper Removal & Installation. Power Washing. Epoxy Flooring. Water & Smoke Damage. Patios. Light Carpentry. Bathroom & Kitchen Remodeling.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A&M Painting

    How is A&M Painting overall rated?

    A&M Painting is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does A&M Painting provide

    A&M Painting accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal

    Does A&M Painting offer free estimates?

    Yes, A&M Painting offers free project estimates.

    Does A&M Painting offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, A&M Painting does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A&M Painting offer a senior discount?

    No, A&M Painting does not offer a senior discount.

    Does A&M Painting offer emergency services?

    Yes, A&M Painting offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by A&M Painting?

    Yes, A&M Painting offers warranties.

    What services does A&M Painting offer?

    A&M Painting offers the following services: Painting – Interior & Exterior. Wall Paper Removal & Installation. Power Washing. Epoxy Flooring. Water & Smoke Damage. Patios. Light Carpentry. Bathroom & Kitchen Remodeling.

    Are there any services A&M Painting does not offer?

    Ask for details.